$137 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 30, 2015 Check-out: Mar 31, 2015

Thistle Hyde Park

4 stars
View map of 90-92 Lancaster Gate, London, W2 3NR

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
16 reviews
comfrotable, quiet, relaxing

Staff was very friendly, room was very nice with high ceilings and a big window. See full review

  • AEMeyer
  • Aug 1, 2014
Highly recommend

Beautiful Hotel in central location to all London has to offer. It was very simple to navigate... See full review

  • Hols2505
  • Nov 24, 2014
Thistle Hyde Park offers a refined, intimate haven at the heart of London. The hotel, which dates from Victorian times, has a cosy, relaxed atmosphere reminiscent of a Pall Mall private-member's club, with the old and the new blending seamlessly throughout. As the name suggests, our hotel overlooks Hyde Park, once Henry VIII's private hunting ground and now one of London's most famous features. The Serpentine, Rotten Row and Speakers' Corner have been its defining landmarks since the 18th Century; a more recent addition is the memorial to Diana, Princess of Wales. At Thistle Hyde Park, we have 54 luxury bedrooms, including Executive rooms, studios and suites, and three elegant meeting rooms, the largest seating 35 people. There's limited on-site car parking available at an additional charge. With superb views over the Park and Kensington Gardens, we're a comfortable base from which to enjoy the West End's theatres and shops, with Oxford Street, Park Lane and Mayfair all within easy reach. The Thistle Hyde Park is a non-smoking hotel

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Thistle Hyde Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Thistle Hyde Park Rooms

Standard Double Room
Our Standard Double rooms have everything you need for a relaxed and comfortable stay. Boasting LCD TVs and an in-room safe our Standard Double rooms are perfect for business or leisure. Quiet, spacious and decorated in a warm colour palette, they are a welcoming sight for any traveller. Facilities Available: BT Openzone Wi-Fi Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Fridge Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Room Safe Work Desk
Standard Twin Room
The Standard Twin rooms have everything you need for a relaxed and comfortable stay. With two single beds, LCD TV, in-room safe and BT wireless broadband connection, our Standard Twins are perfect for business or leisure guests. Guests booking their reservation online or checking in at the hotel are advised to look into any upgrade packages and special room rate discounts. Facilities Available: BT Openzone Wi-Fi Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Fridge Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Room Safe Work Desk
Deluxe Double Room
Thistle Hyde Park offers spacious luxury Standard and Deluxe bedrooms that are comfortable. More space means there's room for a double size bed, a work desk, in-room safe and a LCD TV. And when you've finished checking your emails or surfing the net via our BT Openzone wireless broadband connection, you can relax in the ensuite bathroom with your complimentary toiletries. Among hotels in Hyde Park and near Paddington, the luxury Thistle Hyde Park Hotel offers great hotel deals and upgrades to its guests. Facilities Available: BT Openzone Wi-Fi Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Fridge Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Room Safe Work Desk
Deluxe Twin Room
All the comforts and amenities of our Standard bedrooms, and then some. More space means there's room for two single beds (and an extra bed if you're travelling with the family), a work desk, in-room safe and a state of the art LCD TV. When you've finished checking your emails or surfing the net via our BT Openzone wireless broadband connection, you can relax in the ensuite bathroom with your complimentary toiletries. Facilities Available: BT Openzone Wi-Fi Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Fridge Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Room Safe Work Desk
Junoir Suite Double Room
Our Suite Doubles are some of our largest rooms; perfect for working, entertaining, marking a special occasion or enjoying a longer stay. Each room comprises of a bedroom with a double bed and a separate lounge area and there's enough space for an extra one or two beds if you're are family. All Suites boast LCD TV, in-room safe and also includes slippers and use of bathrobes. Spacious, discreet and self-contained, our Suites are everything a Suite should be. Facilities Available: Bathrobes BT Openzone Wi-Fi Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Fridge Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Mineral Water Morning Newspaper Room Safe Slippers Work Desk

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • Lancaster Gate: 0.2 mi
  • Queensway: 0.3 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 0.4 mi
  • Paddington Station: 0.5 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.8 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.8 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.8 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.8 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.9 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Imperial College London: 1 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0.2 mi
  • Queensway: 0.3 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 0.4 mi
  • Paddington Station: 0.5 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.8 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.8 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.8 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.8 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.9 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Imperial College London: 1 mi
  • Marble Arch: 1 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1 mi
  • Science Museum London: 1 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 1.1 mi
  • National Art Library: 1.1 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 1.1 mi
  • Harrods: 1.1 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1.1 mi
  • Park Lane: 1.2 mi
  • Lords Cricket Ground: 1.3 mi
  • Selfridges: 1.3 mi
  • Baker Street: 1.3 mi
  • Maida Vale: 1.3 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 1.4 mi
  • London Business School: 1.4 mi
  • Portobello Market: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.4 mi
  • Portobello Road: 1.4 mi
  • Bond Street London: 1.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 1.4 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.5 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 1.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 1.6 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 1.6 mi
  • Oxford Street: 1.6 mi
  • Sloane Square: 1.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our Oak Meeting Room, lined with beautiful oak panelling, seats up to 16 people, making it perfect for banqueting. The Writing Room, which seats 25 for meetings and other events, is lit by crystal chandeliers, and is an ideal small wedding venue. The Lancaster Room is suitable for board and team meetings, training sessions, presentations, interviews and private dining for up to 35 people. All our meeting rooms come fully equipped with Air-conditioning LCD projector and screen BT Openzone wireless internet access

Dining

Lounge Bar Hyde Park
Situated on the ground floor, the Lounge Bar serves a wide range of drinks and snacks in informal surroundings - perfect between meetings, after work or before dinner.
Whites Restaurant Hyde Park
Our Whites Restaurant located on the ground floor, offers a choice of modern British and European dishes in comfortable, contemporary surroundings. We also keep an extensive cellar of classic and New World wines.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Thistle Hyde Park

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 16
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Thistle Hyde Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hols2505
Business
Oregon, USA
Nov 24, 2014

Highly recommend

Beautiful Hotel in central location to all London has to offer. It was very simple to navigate London from this location whether walking or taking public transport. All staff were wonderfully helpful especially those I dealt with more often: Katrina and Miland. Rooms were lovely, comfortable, quiet and clean. Since I was staying by myself my queen room was much smaller than those pictured on the website, but adequate with a lovely balcony overlooking Hyde Park. The hotel restaurant was good, but with limited dinner/room service options however what I ordered was good quality. Depending on your rate, breakfast may or may not be included. Mine wasn't but I was able to purchase a voucher for breakfast at a discount at the front desk. Highly recommend for a great stay with 3-4 stars in mind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

To get to know London on foot, or outlying areas such as Bath or Oxford, I highly recommend London Walks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Hyde Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AEMeyer
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 1, 2014

comfrotable, quiet, relaxing

Staff was very friendly, room was very nice with high ceilings and a big window.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bus routes stop right outside the hotel, and are very convenient to all the big tourist attractions. The bus is also cheaper than the tube and much easier to navigate.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Hyde Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Man of World
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
May 29, 2014

Start with the basics

The room was spacious, the staff was gracious, the hotel is attractive and the location is convenient. However, the toilet wouldn't flush.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Hyde Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Casual weekend traveler
Business
lexington, Massachsetts
Sep 22, 2013

Great Hyde Park location

The stay at the hotel was a good experience. The hotel is centrally located right accross from the park, which makes walking to any park destination easier. Easy walking distance to a couple of food locations, try the Mitre Pub around the corner. The room were confortable and a good size. The staff was very friendly and accomodating for any requests. I would definetly stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Hyde Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
seniors who travel often
Business
Belton, South Carolina
Jul 31, 2013

Pleasant stay in London

We enjoyed our stay at the Thistle Hyde Park Hotel in London in June and again in July. The rooms were spacious for a charming old hotel in London. The rooms were clean and attractive, the beds were comfortable and the air conditioning was adequate. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had no complaints at all. The location was conveniently located between two tube stops and very near a bus stop. We would stay there again. As a 68 year old couple we really did appreciate someone from the staff rushing out to help us get our bags up the steps and to our room and our bags were heavy because needed to pack for a 4 1/2 week trip including two cruises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Hyde Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MicroSmythe
Business
Eastern Tennessee
Apr 26, 2013

Our Stay at the Thistle Lancaster Gate in London

We stayed with friends at the Thistle Lancaster Gate in April 2013. We had visited London before, but this was a first time experience for our friends so we wanted them to have a good time. The location, across Bayswater Road from Kensington Gardens and Hyde Park, couldn't be better as it's right on the Central Underground Line and near many restaurants and pubs and within walking distance of Paddington Station with easy access to Heathrow Express train service to London Heathrow Airport. We took our friends for privately guided tours of the Houses of Parliament and Buckingham Palace, a ride on the London Eye, a cruise on the Thames, a full day excursion by train into the Cotswolds, and a full day in Greenwich. We also introduced them to pub grub and how to cross a busy street without being run down! The staff at the Thistle was very friendly and helpful, our rooms were always spotlessly clean, and the full English breakfast, though a little pricey, was tasty and filling. The only serious criticism I have of the hotel is that the rooms and especially the halls were very warm. We needed to sleep each night with our windows open in the early part of the week, but the later days seemed to have cooled down somewhat. We certainly will return to the Thistle Lancaster Gate when next in London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Visit a London Pub for great food at affordable prices. My favorite is The Coal Hole in the Strand near the Savoy Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Hyde Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Europe Lover 09
Business
Oakland, California
Mar 5, 2013

Nice, clean, location by the park

I really liked staying at the Thistle Hyde Park hotel. It is very convenient to access from Heathrow (15 minutes by train to Paddington, and then a short walk to the hotel), it faces Hyde Park, walking distance to lots of restaurants on Queensway, and Notting Hill. The hotel itself is very clean. We did not try the restaurant, but it looked nice and they were having a special going on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Hyde Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sheila supershopper
Business
Liverpool England
Mar 1, 2013

Wonderful stay

The hotel was perfect and my daughter and I had a wonderful stay, however, the room comfort would have got a perfect five if we could have shut one of the windows to block out the noise and the draft, which woke me during the night - but these were irritations and not a major catastrophe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hyde Park is just across the road and Marble Arch a less than ten minutes away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Hyde Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jack Valentine
Business
Great Yarmouth
Feb 19, 2013

Valentines Weekend

I managed to get myself a very good price on this hotel, which made my overall experience more than satisfactory. The location is excellent, the room size good and the staff and check in process was simple and relaxed. Unfortunately, although we booked a double room, we were put into a twin (on Valentines)! And we were unable to change... The shower. Wasn't exactly a power shower. I've seen babies that produce more dribble than the shower does! In all I'd stay again, despite the couple of hiccups and technical faults.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Hyde Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KittyAuroria
Business
NJ
Feb 12, 2013

Quaint place, but needs a bit of work

This hotel has an excellent location between two large underground stations and many bus stops. The room was small, but well furnished. The staff was very accommodating when we explained that the bed were too hard. Unfortunately the only thing they could do was place two blankets under our covers, but it did help a bit. The toilet is very old and initially it took us 20 tries to get things down. After telling the staff, they explained that it's rather old and you might have to flush twice or 3 times with 15 minutes breaks in between. When I explained how many times we tried, they went up and fixed it. Just be sure to warn your partner if you made a number 2 and are waiting to flush one more time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top