$181 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 12, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

4 stars
Bloomsbury Way, London, WC1A 2SD
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
48 reviews
Perfect in every way

Have stayed agh the Thistle Kingsley several times and will continue to do so each time we visit... See full review

  • Fozzy
  • Sep 1, 2014
Luxury, hospitality & location at a good price

A two minute walk from Holborn Station: an easy transfer from Heathrow. Beautiful design, a warm... See full review

  • Mountain Ma'am
  • Sep 1, 2014
Not many London hotels can claim a place in literary history. But The Kingsley certainly can. Named after Charles Kingsley, author of the classics Westward Ho! and The Water Babies, it was once home to EM Forster, one of the famous 'Bloomsbury Group', who worked on A Room with a View while living here. And from The Kingsley, you'll have a wonderful perspective on the capital too. From the hotel, London landmarks like the British Museum, Covent Garden, Oxford Street, the leafy squares of Bloomsbury and the West End theatres are within easy walking distance. We have 129 bedrooms, including Deluxe and Executive rooms and Junior Suites. With seven meeting rooms, the largest seating 100 people theatre-style, and six syndicate rooms, The Kingsley is an ideal setting for business meetings and events; we're also a popular London wedding venue. London isn't the easiest place to bring a car, but there's parking available nearby at an additional charge. Whether you're in London for work or pleasure, The Kingsley's blend of contemporary comforts and Edwardian charm is definitely something to write home about. The Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley is a non-smoking hotel

Hotel Map

51.5177 -0.1247
Area served
Bloomsbury, Covent Garden.
Nearby airports
Heathrow Airport (14 miles): Piccadilly Line Heathrow Express.From Gatwick take the Gatwick Express to Victoria.From Stansted take the Express train to Liverpool Street, then travel by Tube or taxi to the hotel.
Area description
Located in Bloomsbury, near Covent Garden, the British Museum and Oxford Street, The Kingsley (formerly Thistle Bloomsbury) is a 4 star hotel offering 129 bedrooms. The hotel is located on the Northern, Central and Piccadilly Underground Lines, near Holborn and Tottenham Court Road stations, making it an ideal base for business meetings and special events.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley Rooms

Executive King Rooms
When you fancy a real treat our newly refurbished Executive King rooms offer the perfect retreat at the end of a hectic day. They're larger than our Deluxe rooms, providing space for a king-size bed, a large work desk and a small seating area. Equipped with LCD TVs and in-room safe, all rooms have a contemporary dcor with a vibrant colour palette and luxurious soft furnishings. Your ensuite bathroom has both a bath and a rain shower. .As in all our bedrooms, you'll have BT Openzone wireless broadband connection. Facilities Available: Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Room Safe 24 Hour Room Service Work Desk
Junior Suite Double Rooms
Our Junior Suite Double is one of our largest, most indulgent room; perfect for working, entertaining, marking a special occasion or enjoying a longer stay. It comprises a bedroom with a double bed, a separate lounge and dining area and a ensuite bathroom with bath and rain shower. The dcor is contemporary with a vibrant colour palette and beautiful soft furnishings. Facilities Available: BT Openzone Wi-Fi Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Radio Room Safe to fit Laptop 24 Hour Room Service Work Desk
Deluxe Twin Rooms
The Kingsley's newly refurbished Deluxe Twin rooms have the extra space and amenities you need to make your leisure stay feel more special and your business stay more productive. These rooms are furnished with two large single beds, a spacious work desk and a state of the art LCD TV; And when you've finished checking your emails via our BT Openzone wireless broadband connection, there's a digital safe where you can store your laptop. Located on Bloomsbury Way in Covent Garden near Russell Square, the Kingsley Hotel is easy to locate and even easier to use as a base to travel about London. Facilities Available: BT Openzone Wi-Fi Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Room Safe 24 Hour Room Service Work Desk
Deluxe Double Rooms
Our newly refurbished Deluxe Double rooms have the extra space and amenities you need to make your stay feel just that bit special. With a vibrant colour palette and luxurious soft furnishings all rooms have a contemporary dcor and modern feel. There's room for a spacious work desk and a state of the art LCD TV; And when you've finished checking your emails via our BT Openzone wireless broadband connection, there's a digital safe where you can store your laptop. Facilities Available: BT Openzone Wi-Fi Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Non Smoking Room Safe Room Safe to fit Laptop 24 Hour Room Service Work Desk

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Cartoon Museum: 0 mi
  • British Museum: 0.1 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.2 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.3 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.3 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 0.3 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.3 mi
  • West End: 0.3 mi
  • Soho: 0.4 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.4 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 0 mi
  • British Museum: 0.1 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.2 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.3 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.3 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 0.3 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.3 mi
  • West End: 0.3 mi
  • Soho: 0.4 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.4 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Institute of Education: 0.4 mi
  • Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret: 0.4 mi
  • London Astoria: 0.5 mi
  • Transport Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Courtauld Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • the Strand: 0.5 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Charles Dickens Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.5 mi
  • Somerset House: 0.6 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.6 mi
  • Institute of Archaeology Collections: 0.6 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.6 mi
  • Twinings Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • University of London: 0.6 mi
  • University College London: 0.6 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.6 mi
  • The Brunswick : 0.6 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.7 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.7 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.7 mi
  • British Postal Museum and Archive: 0.7 mi
  • Temple church: 0.7 mi

Dining

Bar at The Kingsley, London
Our bar serves a wide range of drinks, snacks and light meals in informal surroundings - perfect between meetings, after work or before dinner. And if you're starting early, or staying up late, our full room service menu means you can always get hold of a drink, snack or light meal, even out of hours.
Kingsley Two, at The Kingsley, London
At The "Kingsley Two" Brasserie you have a choice of dining right through the day and on into the night. Relaxed and welcoming, our newly refurbished Brasserie has an enticing menu featuring a wide range of British and European dishes, complemented by an extensive wine list.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our largest function room, the Albion Room, seats up to 100 people, making it suitable for conferences and product launches: it's also one of London's most popular wedding venues. We have five further rooms with capacity for between 30 and 75 people. In addition, we have six beautifully appointed syndicate rooms. Seating eight people boardroom-style, they're ideal for board meetings, interviews and small training sessions, or as 'breakout rooms' hired in conjunction with our larger meeting rooms. All our meeting rooms come fully equipped with Air-conditioning LCD projector and screen BT Openzone wireless internet access

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 48
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.5

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Telly addict Sue
Dublin, Ireland
Jan 3, 2014

Good Location

Great Location, perfect for West End weekend. Most theatres are within walking distance. Staff are fantastic, very helpful. Breakfast is excellent, good variety, will definitely set you up for the day. Very enjoyable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Browns restaurant next door to the Noel Coward Theatre is worth a visit. Great food & drink at a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aneva
Cardigan, Wales
Jul 29, 2013

Great location, great people!

Overnight stay only at this hotel - but we were made to feel welcome immediately - cannot praise the attentiveness and friendlienss of the staff enough. We did not eat in the restaurant (which is why it is only four stars) but did have a sandwich in the bar - and they offer gluten-free bread as standard along with the usual white/brown. Great for someone like me who cannot tolerate wheat. The location cannot be bettered - just around the corner from Museum Street and the British Museum and a 10 minute walk from Covent Garden. Rooms were very comfortable (we were in a twin room) with all the amenities wer required. We will be back for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Just around the corner in Museum Street try the Bush and Field Cafe for a cheap but good lunch and great coffee

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pdboutin
Vermont, USA
Jun 23, 2013

Great location

For museums and shows, this is a great location. Plus a beautifully renovated building and charming, helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Girls Getaway
Ireland
Apr 8, 2013

Great for a city break

Lovely hotel, fantastic staff,very comfortable beds,room a little small .Great location.breakfast good value for ten pounds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ibiza
Jul 16, 2007

nice

this is a nice hotel and has great value. it is hard to not notice that this hotel is old. very helpful staff and worth staying at again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

very close to the british museum and walking distance to many restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, FL
May 28, 2007

My review of Thistle Bloomsbury

My previous stays were very satisfactory, otherwise I would not have booked a third time. We were put in a difficult room on the mezzanine which required going up one flight and down a long hallway and then down a narrow flight of stairs. If there were ever a fire we would have been doomed. We are also ladies in our 60's. Fortunately, our telephone did not work on incoming calls and management changed our room to a more accommodating location. Both rooms were quite small. The breakfast was terrbily expensive. We did not need a buffet. Toast and coffee were all we had for 16 pounds each. Breakfast was always included in our room price on previous stays. Otherwise the location was convenient for outside dining and for touring on the hop on off bus. The staff was very accommodating re taxis and information. Very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to casual and formal dining. Close to museums and the hop off and hop on bus lines. Quiet neighborhood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search