$131 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 1, 2015 Check-out: Feb 2, 2015

Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

4 stars
Bloomsbury Way, London, WC1A 2SD
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
53 reviews
Great location

Loved my stay here. Great location its near the british museum and holborn tube station and the... See full review

  • Cinn05
  • Jan 26, 2015
Great location and room

Upon arrival we were greeted by the friendly staff. The room was very nice as well, bigger than i... See full review

  • Cinn05
  • Jan 25, 2015
Not many London hotels can claim a place in literary history. But The Kingsley certainly can. Named after Charles Kingsley, author of the classics Westward Ho! and The Water Babies, it was once home to EM Forster, one of the famous 'Bloomsbury Group', who worked on A Room with a View while living here. And from The Kingsley, you'll have a wonderful perspective on the capital too. From the hotel, London landmarks like the British Museum, Covent Garden, Oxford Street, the leafy squares of Bloomsbury and the West End theatres are within easy walking distance. We have 129 bedrooms, including Deluxe and Executive rooms and Junior Suites. With seven meeting rooms, the largest seating 100 people theatre-style, and six syndicate rooms, The Kingsley is an ideal setting for business meetings and events; we're also a popular London wedding venue. London isn't the easiest place to bring a car, but there's parking available nearby at an additional charge. Whether you're in London for work or pleasure, The Kingsley's blend of contemporary comforts and Edwardian charm is definitely something to write home about. The Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley is a non-smoking hotel

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley Rooms

Executive King Rooms
When you fancy a real treat our newly refurbished Executive King rooms offer the perfect retreat at the end of a hectic day. They're larger than our Deluxe rooms, providing space for a king-size bed, a large work desk and a small seating area. Equipped with LCD TVs and in-room safe, all rooms have a contemporary dcor with a vibrant colour palette and luxurious soft furnishings. Your ensuite bathroom has both a bath and a rain shower. .As in all our bedrooms, you'll have BT Openzone wireless broadband connection. Facilities Available: Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Room Safe 24 Hour Room Service Work Desk
Junior Suite Double Rooms
Our Junior Suite Double is one of our largest, most indulgent room; perfect for working, entertaining, marking a special occasion or enjoying a longer stay. It comprises a bedroom with a double bed, a separate lounge and dining area and a ensuite bathroom with bath and rain shower. The dcor is contemporary with a vibrant colour palette and beautiful soft furnishings. Facilities Available: BT Openzone Wi-Fi Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Radio Room Safe to fit Laptop 24 Hour Room Service Work Desk
Deluxe Twin Rooms
The Kingsley's newly refurbished Deluxe Twin rooms have the extra space and amenities you need to make your leisure stay feel more special and your business stay more productive. These rooms are furnished with two large single beds, a spacious work desk and a state of the art LCD TV; And when you've finished checking your emails via our BT Openzone wireless broadband connection, there's a digital safe where you can store your laptop. Located on Bloomsbury Way in Covent Garden near Russell Square, the Kingsley Hotel is easy to locate and even easier to use as a base to travel about London. Facilities Available: BT Openzone Wi-Fi Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Room Safe 24 Hour Room Service Work Desk
Deluxe Double Rooms
Our newly refurbished Deluxe Double rooms have the extra space and amenities you need to make your stay feel just that bit special. With a vibrant colour palette and luxurious soft furnishings all rooms have a contemporary dcor and modern feel. There's room for a spacious work desk and a state of the art LCD TV; And when you've finished checking your emails via our BT Openzone wireless broadband connection, there's a digital safe where you can store your laptop. Facilities Available: BT Openzone Wi-Fi Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Non Smoking Room Safe Room Safe to fit Laptop 24 Hour Room Service Work Desk

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Cartoon Museum: 0 mi
  • British Museum: 0.1 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.2 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.3 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.3 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 0.3 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.3 mi
  • West End: 0.3 mi
  • Soho: 0.4 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.4 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 0 mi
  • British Museum: 0.1 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.2 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.3 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.3 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 0.3 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.3 mi
  • West End: 0.3 mi
  • Soho: 0.4 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.4 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Institute of Education: 0.4 mi
  • Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret: 0.4 mi
  • London Astoria: 0.5 mi
  • Transport Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Courtauld Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • the Strand: 0.5 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Charles Dickens Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.5 mi
  • Somerset House: 0.6 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.6 mi
  • Institute of Archaeology Collections: 0.6 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.6 mi
  • Twinings Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • University of London: 0.6 mi
  • University College London: 0.6 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.6 mi
  • The Brunswick : 0.6 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.7 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.7 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.7 mi
  • British Postal Museum and Archive: 0.7 mi
  • Temple church: 0.7 mi

Dining

Bar at The Kingsley, London
Our bar serves a wide range of drinks, snacks and light meals in informal surroundings - perfect between meetings, after work or before dinner. And if you're starting early, or staying up late, our full room service menu means you can always get hold of a drink, snack or light meal, even out of hours.
Kingsley Two, at The Kingsley, London
At The "Kingsley Two" Brasserie you have a choice of dining right through the day and on into the night. Relaxed and welcoming, our newly refurbished Brasserie has an enticing menu featuring a wide range of British and European dishes, complemented by an extensive wine list.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our largest function room, the Albion Room, seats up to 100 people, making it suitable for conferences and product launches: it's also one of London's most popular wedding venues. We have five further rooms with capacity for between 30 and 75 people. In addition, we have six beautifully appointed syndicate rooms. Seating eight people boardroom-style, they're ideal for board meetings, interviews and small training sessions, or as 'breakout rooms' hired in conjunction with our larger meeting rooms. All our meeting rooms come fully equipped with Air-conditioning LCD projector and screen BT Openzone wireless internet access

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (53)

Ratings and reviews for Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KateLG
Business
Austin, Texas
Apr 7, 2014

Great location but not as described

Room was shabby, not particularly clean, toiletries in bathroom barely enough, towels old, pillows older. Staff friendly enough but completely uneducated as to area, bus routes, tube routes and even the names of some major tourist attractions. Checking in and out were very very slow processes with names and addresses (already entered into forms) having to be spelled over and over again. Only the location lived up to the online information. Disappointing overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Covent Garden is a short stroll away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
May 28, 2007

My review of Thistle Bloomsbury

My previous stays were very satisfactory, otherwise I would not have booked a third time. We were put in a difficult room on the mezzanine which required going up one flight and down a long hallway and then down a narrow flight of stairs. If there were ever a fire we would have been doomed. We are also ladies in our 60's. Fortunately, our telephone did not work on incoming calls and management changed our room to a more accommodating location. Both rooms were quite small. The breakfast was terrbily expensive. We did not need a buffet. Toast and coffee were all we had for 16 pounds each. Breakfast was always included in our room price on previous stays. Otherwise the location was convenient for outside dining and for touring on the hop on off bus. The staff was very accommodating re taxis and information. Very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to casual and formal dining. Close to museums and the hop off and hop on bus lines. Quiet neighborhood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Show Mom
Business
Dublin Ireland
Jul 1, 2014

Kingsley Thistle

We have stayed at thistle hotels previously the most recent in Thistle Euston in December our experience here was far superior. The reception staff were very impersonal and unfriendly, when we reported a problem with the telephone beeping in the room it took 2 calls and a visit to reception to have this rectified. None of the Staff made any effort to engage with us in any way - overall very disappointing as we had picked thistle on past experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very short walk to Holborn tube and within easy walking distance of Covent Garden with lots of shopping restaurants within 5 / 10 mins

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Whitneyje
Business
New York, NY
Dec 1, 2014

Not bad for one night

The hotel is very strict on having only two people in the room at all times. I shared the room with my friend. Her sister came to visit while she was waiting for her friend to arrive in London. As they were leaving out my friend asked for additional blankets to be sent up to the room. When the hotel staff member came to bring the blankets, he yelled at me and questioned how many people were staying in the room. This was at around 11:30 PM after a long day of traveling. It was a bit intimidating as I was a woman alone in the room. The rest of the staff members were pleasant. The location was great. The room was large and clean. My friend and I only stayed for one night. If you will be at the hotel for a short stay, you should be fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Poppa
Business
Marlboro, New Jersey
May 14, 2012

Fantastic Stay!

The Kingsley by Thistle is perfectly located in the heart of the beautiful Covent Gardens section of London. The room I had was very well kept, and included everything I needed for a great stay. Room cleanliness was among the best that I have experienced. All staff that I interacted with were extremely courteous and very professional. The only critique I would offer is; if you are a light sleeper, try to stay away from the first floor rooms, as their proximity to the busy street may be a disruption to your beauty sleep. All-in-all, I would definitely stay at the Kinglsey again - even on the first floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Get the 24hr WiFi voucher for internet connectivity.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amy N.
Business
Boston, MA
May 24, 2012

Clean, modern hotel

This hotel was very nice. The staff was very helpful and friendly, they held our bags after we checked out for free until we could pick them up later in the evening. The room itself was also nice- big bed, good sized room, especially by London standards. The bathroom was super swanky with a fancy, modern shower head, though for all its fanciness it actually was not as effective as a normal shower head. Also had a heated towel rack, which is pretty awesome. Great location if you want to stay near the British Museum. Lots of little cafes and delis nearby, and also within short walking distance to Covent Garden (10-15 mins). It can be a bit noisy if you're on the back side, as there are some residences behind the building so occasionally there were people talking and playing music. It wasn't that bothersome though and I didn't notice it at night. The air conditioning wasn't great-- it cooled down the room a little, but was really noisy. Overall, though, this is a great hotel- clean, modern, good location near the British Museum. Would stay here again, though I do wish it were a bit cheaper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeroen
Business
Doorn
Aug 7, 2012

Great location for London city trip

The location of the hotel is on walking distance of the British Museum and Covent Garden, and if you're willing to walk about 30 minutes to Westminster Abbey, House of Parliament and other great places to visit in London too. Underground stations are nearby. Hotel staff is extremely friendly and service oriented. Our room was small but very quiet. All together definitely worth another visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
That Guy
Business
Berlin, Germany
Mar 6, 2013

Lovely weekend getaway!

Location was impeccable, and we were welcomed very friendly by the staff. We stayed in a Double room which was comfortable, and perfectly clean. Bathroom was also exquisitely clean and came with lovely complimentary toiletries. Really recommend this hotel for anybody who wants to stay in Central London for a weekend or even longer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Finn mail
Business
North Carolina
Apr 1, 2013

Great hotel, but room a little small.

Everything was great about this hotel. It looked nice and was very clean. We got a room with 2 twins and it was small for the price. But the bathroom was spacious and very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Girls Getaway
Business
Ireland
Apr 8, 2013

Great for a city break

Lovely hotel, fantastic staff,very comfortable beds,room a little small .Great location.breakfast good value for ten pounds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top