$133 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

4 stars
View map of Bloomsbury Way, London, WC1A 2SD

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
70 reviews
Very nice hotel

Very good hotel in a good location. Staff was friendly and knowledgeable. I would stay here again. See full review

  • rastko s.
  • May 3, 2015
Great location

I never knew how much of London was walkable until I stayed here. Few minutes walk to British... See full review

  • Ana C.
  • May 2, 2015
Not many London hotels can claim a place in literary history. But The Kingsley certainly can. Named after Charles Kingsley, author of the classics Westward Ho! and The Water Babies, it was once home to EM Forster, one of the famous 'Bloomsbury Group', who worked on A Room with a View while living here. And from The Kingsley, you'll have a wonderful perspective on the capital too. From the hotel, London landmarks like the British Museum, Covent Garden, Oxford Street, the leafy squares of Bloomsbury and the West End theatres are within easy walking distance. We have 129 bedrooms, including Deluxe and Executive rooms and Junior Suites. With seven meeting rooms, the largest seating 100 people theatre-style, and six syndicate rooms, The Kingsley is an ideal setting for business meetings and events; we're also a popular London wedding venue. London isn't the easiest place to bring a car, but there's parking available nearby at an additional charge. Whether you're in London for work or pleasure, The Kingsley's blend of contemporary comforts and Edwardian charm is definitely something to write home about. The Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley is a non-smoking hotel

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley Rooms

Executive King Rooms
When you fancy a real treat our newly refurbished Executive King rooms offer the perfect retreat at the end of a hectic day. They're larger than our Deluxe rooms, providing space for a king-size bed, a large work desk and a small seating area. Equipped with LCD TVs and in-room safe, all rooms have a contemporary dcor with a vibrant colour palette and luxurious soft furnishings. Your ensuite bathroom has both a bath and a rain shower. .As in all our bedrooms, you'll have BT Openzone wireless broadband connection. Facilities Available: Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Room Safe 24 Hour Room Service Work Desk
Junior Suite Double Rooms
Our Junior Suite Double is one of our largest, most indulgent room; perfect for working, entertaining, marking a special occasion or enjoying a longer stay. It comprises a bedroom with a double bed, a separate lounge and dining area and a ensuite bathroom with bath and rain shower. The dcor is contemporary with a vibrant colour palette and beautiful soft furnishings. Facilities Available: BT Openzone Wi-Fi Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Radio Room Safe to fit Laptop 24 Hour Room Service Work Desk
Deluxe Twin Rooms
The Kingsley's newly refurbished Deluxe Twin rooms have the extra space and amenities you need to make your leisure stay feel more special and your business stay more productive. These rooms are furnished with two large single beds, a spacious work desk and a state of the art LCD TV; And when you've finished checking your emails via our BT Openzone wireless broadband connection, there's a digital safe where you can store your laptop. Located on Bloomsbury Way in Covent Garden near Russell Square, the Kingsley Hotel is easy to locate and even easier to use as a base to travel about London. Facilities Available: BT Openzone Wi-Fi Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Room Safe 24 Hour Room Service Work Desk
Deluxe Double Rooms
Our newly refurbished Deluxe Double rooms have the extra space and amenities you need to make your stay feel just that bit special. With a vibrant colour palette and luxurious soft furnishings all rooms have a contemporary dcor and modern feel. There's room for a spacious work desk and a state of the art LCD TV; And when you've finished checking your emails via our BT Openzone wireless broadband connection, there's a digital safe where you can store your laptop. Facilities Available: BT Openzone Wi-Fi Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Non Smoking Room Safe Room Safe to fit Laptop 24 Hour Room Service Work Desk

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Cartoon Museum: 0 mi
  • British Museum: 0.1 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.2 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.3 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.3 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 0.3 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.3 mi
  • West End: 0.3 mi
  • Soho: 0.4 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.4 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 0 mi
  • British Museum: 0.1 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.2 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.3 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.3 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 0.3 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.3 mi
  • West End: 0.3 mi
  • Soho: 0.4 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.4 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Institute of Education: 0.4 mi
  • Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret: 0.4 mi
  • London Astoria: 0.5 mi
  • Transport Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Courtauld Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • the Strand: 0.5 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Charles Dickens Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.5 mi
  • Somerset House: 0.6 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.6 mi
  • Institute of Archaeology Collections: 0.6 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.6 mi
  • Twinings Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • University of London: 0.6 mi
  • University College London: 0.6 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.6 mi
  • The Brunswick : 0.6 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.7 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.7 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.7 mi
  • British Postal Museum and Archive: 0.7 mi
  • Temple church: 0.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our largest function room, the Albion Room, seats up to 100 people, making it suitable for conferences and product launches: it's also one of London's most popular wedding venues. We have five further rooms with capacity for between 30 and 75 people. In addition, we have six beautifully appointed syndicate rooms. Seating eight people boardroom-style, they're ideal for board meetings, interviews and small training sessions, or as 'breakout rooms' hired in conjunction with our larger meeting rooms. All our meeting rooms come fully equipped with Air-conditioning LCD projector and screen BT Openzone wireless internet access

Dining

Bar at The Kingsley, London
Our bar serves a wide range of drinks, snacks and light meals in informal surroundings - perfect between meetings, after work or before dinner. And if you're starting early, or staying up late, our full room service menu means you can always get hold of a drink, snack or light meal, even out of hours.
Kingsley Two, at The Kingsley, London
At The "Kingsley Two" Brasserie you have a choice of dining right through the day and on into the night. Relaxed and welcoming, our newly refurbished Brasserie has an enticing menu featuring a wide range of British and European dishes, complemented by an extensive wine list.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gems
Business
Lloydminster Alberta
Jan 5, 2014

Great staff

Really friendly and helpful staff everyday that we were there. Room was nice and clean and the bed was very comfortable. Great stay overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KiMcConnell
Business
Warsaw, Poland
Jan 23, 2014

Great location with style

Went for a few days to meet up with my dad who had business. The hotel is very stylish, looking like it would cost more, and in an excellent location for touring; the British museum is around the corner, as well as a tube stop and a city bike station to make the rest of London easily accessible. Expecting the typical cramped European hotel room I was pleasantly surprised at how big the room was. It was not cramped at all, spacious even with a nice bay window area and with a really nice bathroom that had super hot water, which I like. We rented bikes and hit all the major sites with ease. We also ate at a few random places around the hotel and we're not disappointed. The hotel bar became a stop each night to enjoy a cocktail after a 'tough' day touring. The cocktails were well made, the service excellent and attentive and the atmosphere chic and comfortable. The room had all the amenities you'd hope for, including a real blow dryer, extra pillows, coffee and tea, a safe and a European plug. My dad and I were a little surprised when we first entered the room to find the beds squeezed together to after specifically requesting separate twins, but immediately discovered that they were in fact twins and could be pushed apart easily. A truly great value for your next London stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The city bikes sponsored by Barclays is the BEST bang for 2 pounds you'll ever get. 24 hours access with unlimited rides under 30 minutes. We made stops throughout the city, seeing all the big sites in a day and half on 4 pound. And it was fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Batman In Phoenix
Business
Phoenix
Mar 22, 2014

Perfect place for a London visit

I have stayed at dozens of other properties in the UK and London specifically. The hotel was perfect. The bathroom perfect. The closet space perfect. The desk and chairs perfect. Elevator was large. The staff always smiled and professional. The proximity to the underground and all the theatre halls were an easy walk off that dessert perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GreenyLeeds
Business
Leeds
Apr 9, 2014

Great location, lovely room, more than helpful staff!

Location was brilliant, 5 min walk from holborn tube, and 15 min walk to Covent garden/soho! Hotel was spacious, modern, clean and very comfortable. The staff were lovely and so helpful from the moment we arrived to the last second we walked out of the door! Would definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kimmy
Business
Maidstone
Aug 20, 2012

Fantastic birthday stay

We thoroughly enjoyed our one-night stay. The room was large, luxurious and clean; the hotel is in a perfect location with a relaxing bar. The staff were friendly and professional throughout, especially the wonderful receptionist who arranged a room change for us and asked if we needed any help finding our way around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dbg on vacation
Business
seattle
Jan 1, 2013

Excellent Hotel Experience

There were problems with the room we were given when we first checked in. The staff appologized and moved us right away to a perfect room. The hotel is first rate, but it was the staff at the front desk, restaurant and bar that made this a great place to stay. They were all fantastic. The location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Adkgreek
Business
Upstate New York
Jan 4, 2013

Excellent location staff and property

A wonderfully situated hotel perfect for the independent traveler clean stylish modern reasonable. Outstanding staff that was most helpful especially Louise who is the bright spot of our stay. Would recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stephen Northern NV
Business
Reno, NV
Jan 28, 2013

Ideal for British Museum

This hotel is among the best available in Bloomsbury. The staff was very attentive to one's needs and the place was spotless!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveler 2612
Business
Washington,DC
Mar 31, 2013

Like a King, er Queen at the Kingsley

From the moment you interact with the uber-polite and helpful reception staff, the Kingsley was superb accommodation. The modern baths with rain-shower heads and heated towel racks were delightful after cold snowy days in London. Linens were lovely. Wifi reliable and free. Location, just blocks from the Tube, the British Museum, shopping, grocery store was ideal. For wedding-based weekend it was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CanS
Business
İstanbul
Apr 24, 2013

Very good

Good stay, comfortable , modern, clean rooms. The hotel looks new. Recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Covent Garden but dont try the main road. Ask concierge for shortcut

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top