$131 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

4 stars
Bloomsbury Way, London, WC1A 2SD
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
39 reviews
Very pleased

Einmal nicht Minizimmer, dazu sauber, zuvorkommendes Personal, gute Lage See full review

  • Wonderwriter
  • Jun 3, 2014
Wonderfully located hotel

Getting off the plane at Heathrow after a much delayed flight out of JFK, and finding our hotel, my... See full review

  • CancunHereICome
  • May 30, 2014
Not many London hotels can claim a place in literary history. But The Kingsley certainly can. Named after Charles Kingsley, author of the classics Westward Ho! and The Water Babies, it was once home to EM Forster, one of the famous 'Bloomsbury Group', who worked on A Room with a View while living here. And from The Kingsley, you'll have a wonderful perspective on the capital too. From the hotel, London landmarks like the British Museum, Covent Garden, Oxford Street, the leafy squares of Bloomsbury and the West End theatres are within easy walking distance. We have 129 bedrooms, including Deluxe and Executive rooms and Junior Suites. With seven meeting rooms, the largest seating 100 people theatre-style, and six syndicate rooms, The Kingsley is an ideal setting for business meetings and events; we're also a popular London wedding venue. London isn't the easiest place to bring a car, but there's parking available nearby at an additional charge. Whether you're in London for work or pleasure, The Kingsley's blend of contemporary comforts and Edwardian charm is definitely something to write home about. The Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley is a non-smoking hotel

Hotel Map

51.5177 -0.1247
Area served
Bloomsbury, Covent Garden.
Nearby airports
Heathrow Airport (14 miles): Piccadilly Line Heathrow Express.From Gatwick take the Gatwick Express to Victoria.From Stansted take the Express train to Liverpool Street, then travel by Tube or taxi to the hotel.
Area description
Located in Bloomsbury, near Covent Garden, the British Museum and Oxford Street, The Kingsley (formerly Thistle Bloomsbury) is a 4 star hotel offering 129 bedrooms. The hotel is located on the Northern, Central and Piccadilly Underground Lines, near Holborn and Tottenham Court Road stations, making it an ideal base for business meetings and special events.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley Rooms

Executive King Rooms
When you fancy a real treat our newly refurbished Executive King rooms offer the perfect retreat at the end of a hectic day. They're larger than our Deluxe rooms, providing space for a king-size bed, a large work desk and a small seating area. Equipped with LCD TVs and in-room safe, all rooms have a contemporary dcor with a vibrant colour palette and luxurious soft furnishings. Your ensuite bathroom has both a bath and a rain shower. .As in all our bedrooms, you'll have BT Openzone wireless broadband connection. Facilities Available: Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Room Safe 24 Hour Room Service Work Desk
Junior Suite Double Rooms
Our Junior Suite Double is one of our largest, most indulgent room; perfect for working, entertaining, marking a special occasion or enjoying a longer stay. It comprises a bedroom with a double bed, a separate lounge and dining area and a ensuite bathroom with bath and rain shower. The dcor is contemporary with a vibrant colour palette and beautiful soft furnishings. Facilities Available: BT Openzone Wi-Fi Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Radio Room Safe to fit Laptop 24 Hour Room Service Work Desk
Deluxe Twin Rooms
The Kingsley's newly refurbished Deluxe Twin rooms have the extra space and amenities you need to make your leisure stay feel more special and your business stay more productive. These rooms are furnished with two large single beds, a spacious work desk and a state of the art LCD TV; And when you've finished checking your emails via our BT Openzone wireless broadband connection, there's a digital safe where you can store your laptop. Located on Bloomsbury Way in Covent Garden near Russell Square, the Kingsley Hotel is easy to locate and even easier to use as a base to travel about London. Facilities Available: BT Openzone Wi-Fi Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Room Safe 24 Hour Room Service Work Desk
Deluxe Double Rooms
Our newly refurbished Deluxe Double rooms have the extra space and amenities you need to make your stay feel just that bit special. With a vibrant colour palette and luxurious soft furnishings all rooms have a contemporary dcor and modern feel. There's room for a spacious work desk and a state of the art LCD TV; And when you've finished checking your emails via our BT Openzone wireless broadband connection, there's a digital safe where you can store your laptop. Facilities Available: BT Openzone Wi-Fi Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Non Smoking Room Safe Room Safe to fit Laptop 24 Hour Room Service Work Desk

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Cartoon Museum: 0 mi
  • British Museum: 0.1 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.2 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.3 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.3 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 0.3 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.3 mi
  • West End: 0.3 mi
  • Soho: 0.4 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.4 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 0 mi
  • British Museum: 0.1 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.2 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.3 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.3 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 0.3 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.3 mi
  • West End: 0.3 mi
  • Soho: 0.4 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.4 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Institute of Education: 0.4 mi
  • Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret: 0.4 mi
  • London Astoria: 0.5 mi
  • Transport Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Courtauld Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • the Strand: 0.5 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Charles Dickens Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.5 mi
  • Somerset House: 0.6 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.6 mi
  • Institute of Archaeology Collections: 0.6 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.6 mi
  • Twinings Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • University of London: 0.6 mi
  • University College London: 0.6 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.6 mi
  • The Brunswick : 0.6 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.7 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.7 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.7 mi
  • British Postal Museum and Archive: 0.7 mi
  • Temple church: 0.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our largest function room, the Albion Room, seats up to 100 people, making it suitable for conferences and product launches: it's also one of London's most popular wedding venues. We have five further rooms with capacity for between 30 and 75 people. In addition, we have six beautifully appointed syndicate rooms. Seating eight people boardroom-style, they're ideal for board meetings, interviews and small training sessions, or as 'breakout rooms' hired in conjunction with our larger meeting rooms. All our meeting rooms come fully equipped with Air-conditioning LCD projector and screen BT Openzone wireless internet access

Dining

Bar at The Kingsley, London
Our bar serves a wide range of drinks, snacks and light meals in informal surroundings - perfect between meetings, after work or before dinner. And if you're starting early, or staying up late, our full room service menu means you can always get hold of a drink, snack or light meal, even out of hours.
Kingsley Two, at The Kingsley, London
At The "Kingsley Two" Brasserie you have a choice of dining right through the day and on into the night. Relaxed and welcoming, our newly refurbished Brasserie has an enticing menu featuring a wide range of British and European dishes, complemented by an extensive wine list.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KiMcConnell
Warsaw, Poland
Jan 23, 2014

Great location with style

Went for a few days to meet up with my dad who had business. The hotel is very stylish, looking like it would cost more, and in an excellent location for touring; the British museum is around the corner, as well as a tube stop and a city bike station to make the rest of London easily accessible. Expecting the typical cramped European hotel room I was pleasantly surprised at how big the room was. It was not cramped at all, spacious even with a nice bay window area and with a really nice bathroom that had super hot water, which I like. We rented bikes and hit all the major sites with ease. We also ate at a few random places around the hotel and we're not disappointed. The hotel bar became a stop each night to enjoy a cocktail after a 'tough' day touring. The cocktails were well made, the service excellent and attentive and the atmosphere chic and comfortable. The room had all the amenities you'd hope for, including a real blow dryer, extra pillows, coffee and tea, a safe and a European plug. My dad and I were a little surprised when we first entered the room to find the beds squeezed together to after specifically requesting separate twins, but immediately discovered that they were in fact twins and could be pushed apart easily. A truly great value for your next London stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The city bikes sponsored by Barclays is the BEST bang for 2 pounds you'll ever get. 24 hours access with unlimited rides under 30 minutes. We made stops throughout the city, seeing all the big sites in a day and half on 4 pound. And it was fun!

Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gems
Lloydminster Alberta
Jan 5, 2014

Great staff

Really friendly and helpful staff everyday that we were there. Room was nice and clean and the bed was very comfortable. Great stay overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Telly addict Sue
Dublin, Ireland
Jan 3, 2014

Good Location

Great Location, perfect for West End weekend. Most theatres are within walking distance. Staff are fantastic, very helpful. Breakfast is excellent, good variety, will definitely set you up for the day. Very enjoyable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Browns restaurant next door to the Noel Coward Theatre is worth a visit. Great food & drink at a reasonable price.

Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun Seeker
Birmingham
Jan 2, 2014

"Good Location"

All i can say is if the hotel had a Pool,i would give it 4.9/5!! Great location for All Capital sights,clean rooms,good food and i must say Fantastic staff!! Well Done!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

St Pauls and London Bridge to the left..Trafalgar Square and The Mall to the right. 15 ins either way maximum

Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Irish Opera Buff
Ireland
Sep 29, 2013

Quick Opera Break

Stayed for just one night as going to opera. So close to Covent Garden, only a 5 minute walk. Very close to Oxford street & tube station at Holborn. Arrived early & no prob with leaving baggage with hotel as room wasn't ready. Staff were very friendly & helpful. Only downfall was breakfast. It was okay but £10 was expensive for what you got. The waiters had a habit of taking the plates & cutlery away before you'd finished. But besides that, would definetly stay there again next time I visit London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OAP's
Taunton
Aug 13, 2013

Very good central position

Excellent, but like all hotels in central London it is hellish expensive, but not as expensive as some.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aneva
Cardigan, Wales
Jul 29, 2013

Great location, great people!

Overnight stay only at this hotel - but we were made to feel welcome immediately - cannot praise the attentiveness and friendlienss of the staff enough. We did not eat in the restaurant (which is why it is only four stars) but did have a sandwich in the bar - and they offer gluten-free bread as standard along with the usual white/brown. Great for someone like me who cannot tolerate wheat. The location cannot be bettered - just around the corner from Museum Street and the British Museum and a 10 minute walk from Covent Garden. Rooms were very comfortable (we were in a twin room) with all the amenities wer required. We will be back for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Just around the corner in Museum Street try the Bush and Field Cafe for a cheap but good lunch and great coffee

Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pdboutin
Vermont, USA
Jun 23, 2013

Great location

For museums and shows, this is a great location. Plus a beautifully renovated building and charming, helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kazzy
West Yorkshire
Jun 17, 2013

Great for a weekend breakaway for two

this hotel is very well located for the Shaftesbury theatre ( & other) which is why we booked it. The staff were all very friendly and experienced. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of full or continental. We didn't try the restaurant in the evening but the menu looked very good and reasonably priced. There is a lovely bar with lots of sofas to relax on after a long day sightseeing. The room we had was a little small and overlooked a busy road but had everything you could want. All in all we couldn't have had a nicer place to stay. Highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Shaftesbury Theatre

Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PeterFN
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 9, 2013

Great for a quick 2 nights in London

Awesome location yet still a really good value. We enjoyed out stay and it made the first stop on our honeymoon go very well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top