$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

4 stars
View map of Bloomsbury Way, London, WC1A 2SD

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
70 reviews
Very nice hotel

Very good hotel in a good location. Staff was friendly and knowledgeable. I would stay here again. See full review

  • rastko s.
  • May 3, 2015
Great location

I never knew how much of London was walkable until I stayed here. Few minutes walk to British... See full review

  • Ana C.
  • May 2, 2015
Not many London hotels can claim a place in literary history. But The Kingsley certainly can. Named after Charles Kingsley, author of the classics Westward Ho! and The Water Babies, it was once home to EM Forster, one of the famous 'Bloomsbury Group', who worked on A Room with a View while living here. And from The Kingsley, you'll have a wonderful perspective on the capital too. From the hotel, London landmarks like the British Museum, Covent Garden, Oxford Street, the leafy squares of Bloomsbury and the West End theatres are within easy walking distance. We have 129 bedrooms, including Deluxe and Executive rooms and Junior Suites. With seven meeting rooms, the largest seating 100 people theatre-style, and six syndicate rooms, The Kingsley is an ideal setting for business meetings and events; we're also a popular London wedding venue. London isn't the easiest place to bring a car, but there's parking available nearby at an additional charge. Whether you're in London for work or pleasure, The Kingsley's blend of contemporary comforts and Edwardian charm is definitely something to write home about. The Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley is a non-smoking hotel

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley Rooms

Executive King Rooms
When you fancy a real treat our newly refurbished Executive King rooms offer the perfect retreat at the end of a hectic day. They're larger than our Deluxe rooms, providing space for a king-size bed, a large work desk and a small seating area. Equipped with LCD TVs and in-room safe, all rooms have a contemporary dcor with a vibrant colour palette and luxurious soft furnishings. Your ensuite bathroom has both a bath and a rain shower. .As in all our bedrooms, you'll have BT Openzone wireless broadband connection. Facilities Available: Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Room Safe 24 Hour Room Service Work Desk
Junior Suite Double Rooms
Our Junior Suite Double is one of our largest, most indulgent room; perfect for working, entertaining, marking a special occasion or enjoying a longer stay. It comprises a bedroom with a double bed, a separate lounge and dining area and a ensuite bathroom with bath and rain shower. The dcor is contemporary with a vibrant colour palette and beautiful soft furnishings. Facilities Available: BT Openzone Wi-Fi Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Radio Room Safe to fit Laptop 24 Hour Room Service Work Desk
Deluxe Twin Rooms
The Kingsley's newly refurbished Deluxe Twin rooms have the extra space and amenities you need to make your leisure stay feel more special and your business stay more productive. These rooms are furnished with two large single beds, a spacious work desk and a state of the art LCD TV; And when you've finished checking your emails via our BT Openzone wireless broadband connection, there's a digital safe where you can store your laptop. Located on Bloomsbury Way in Covent Garden near Russell Square, the Kingsley Hotel is easy to locate and even easier to use as a base to travel about London. Facilities Available: BT Openzone Wi-Fi Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Room Safe 24 Hour Room Service Work Desk
Deluxe Double Rooms
Our newly refurbished Deluxe Double rooms have the extra space and amenities you need to make your stay feel just that bit special. With a vibrant colour palette and luxurious soft furnishings all rooms have a contemporary dcor and modern feel. There's room for a spacious work desk and a state of the art LCD TV; And when you've finished checking your emails via our BT Openzone wireless broadband connection, there's a digital safe where you can store your laptop. Facilities Available: BT Openzone Wi-Fi Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Non Smoking Room Safe Room Safe to fit Laptop 24 Hour Room Service Work Desk

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Cartoon Museum: 0 mi
  • British Museum: 0.1 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.2 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.3 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.3 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 0.3 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.3 mi
  • West End: 0.3 mi
  • Soho: 0.4 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.4 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 0 mi
  • British Museum: 0.1 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.2 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.3 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.3 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 0.3 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.3 mi
  • West End: 0.3 mi
  • Soho: 0.4 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.4 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Institute of Education: 0.4 mi
  • Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret: 0.4 mi
  • London Astoria: 0.5 mi
  • Transport Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Courtauld Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • the Strand: 0.5 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Charles Dickens Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.5 mi
  • Somerset House: 0.6 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.6 mi
  • Institute of Archaeology Collections: 0.6 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.6 mi
  • Twinings Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • University of London: 0.6 mi
  • University College London: 0.6 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.6 mi
  • The Brunswick : 0.6 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.7 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.7 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.7 mi
  • British Postal Museum and Archive: 0.7 mi
  • Temple church: 0.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our largest function room, the Albion Room, seats up to 100 people, making it suitable for conferences and product launches: it's also one of London's most popular wedding venues. We have five further rooms with capacity for between 30 and 75 people. In addition, we have six beautifully appointed syndicate rooms. Seating eight people boardroom-style, they're ideal for board meetings, interviews and small training sessions, or as 'breakout rooms' hired in conjunction with our larger meeting rooms. All our meeting rooms come fully equipped with Air-conditioning LCD projector and screen BT Openzone wireless internet access

Dining

Bar at The Kingsley, London
Our bar serves a wide range of drinks, snacks and light meals in informal surroundings - perfect between meetings, after work or before dinner. And if you're starting early, or staying up late, our full room service menu means you can always get hold of a drink, snack or light meal, even out of hours.
Kingsley Two, at The Kingsley, London
At The "Kingsley Two" Brasserie you have a choice of dining right through the day and on into the night. Relaxed and welcoming, our newly refurbished Brasserie has an enticing menu featuring a wide range of British and European dishes, complemented by an extensive wine list.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stephen Northern NV
Reno, NV
Jan 28, 2013

Ideal for British Museum

This hotel is among the best available in Bloomsbury. The staff was very attentive to one's needs and the place was spotless!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Francesca Z
Business
sunnyvale
May 7, 2015

overall good value and location

staffs are very friendly and helpful. Great location, 5-10 mins walk to Holborn underground. Great breadfast deal. However, before changing room, i was on the top floor, lots of noise probably from the water pipes and the heater is not working properly. Changed room the next day, much better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rastko s.
Business
San Francisco
May 3, 2015

Very nice hotel

Very good hotel in a good location. Staff was friendly and knowledgeable. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris P.
Business
N/A
May 3, 2015

enjoyable stay

the overall experience was simply great (staff, cleanliness, room etc)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ana C.
Business
Sunnyvale
May 2, 2015

Great location

I never knew how much of London was walkable until I stayed here. Few minutes walk to British Museum. 20 minutes to Covent Garden, Leicester Square. Would definitely stay here again next time I'm in London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MR. T
Business
N/A
Apr 10, 2015

WEEKEND BREAK

Lovely Hotel in the center of London.Excellent friendly staff. Ideal hotel for a weekend break..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David Steves
Business
San Mateo
Apr 6, 2015

Nice hotel at a good location

Pros: 1. Nice location - close to British Museum and subway station. 2. Clean and well maintained room 3. Very nice housing keeping service, friendly and helpful front desk and concierge. Cons: 1. Building is old. Insulation is not good (there are no double-pane windows). You can hear your neighbor flushing toilets at night. 2. Room is small. Bathroom is even smaller. 3. Pricey (but probably is true for most hotels in London)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ryan B.
Business
West Hollywood
Apr 6, 2015

Great London place

The location of this hotel is awesome. Holborn is a wonderful area! It's within walking distance to Covent Garden and it's well-connected to everything via tube or bus. The hotel is very clean and unpretentious but still nice. The room was a bit smaller than what I'm used to but in London, this should be expected. I did hear my neighbor snoring a bit but the guy sounded like a jet plane taking off so I don't really blame the hotel for this, as I didn't hear any other neighbors (and the hotel was packed over the weekend).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Helen O.
Business
N/A
Mar 16, 2015

Lovely Hotel

Just back from a lovely 3 night stay and couldn't fault the hotel at all. The staff were really friendly and helpful, food was excellent and is well placed to walk to most of the sights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rebecca L.
Business
Mosman Park
Mar 13, 2015

Superb hotel

One of my new favourite hotels. Very close to Holburn station. Fantastic room - very big, high ceilings, bright. Kind and courteous staff. Good value for money for a London hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The modern wanderer
Business
Abu Dhabi
Feb 23, 2015

Primary location

Fantastic staff, close proximity to tube stations, and many other amenities within the vicinity. The bar and room service menu is a nice addition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top