$146 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

4 stars
View map of Bloomsbury Way, London, WC1A 2SD

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
88 reviews
Great first trip to London

This was my first trip to London and I had no complaints. Hotel staff was very friendly. As soon as... See full review

  • Harvey G.
  • Aug 26, 2015
good location

It was good. Location is the best! Also service is good. See full review

  • AYM
  • Aug 24, 2015
Not many London hotels can claim a place in literary history. But The Kingsley certainly can. Named after Charles Kingsley, author of the classics Westward Ho! and The Water Babies, it was once home to EM Forster, one of the famous 'Bloomsbury Group', who worked on A Room with a View while living here. And from The Kingsley, you'll have a wonderful perspective on the capital too. From the hotel, London landmarks like the British Museum, Covent Garden, Oxford Street, the leafy squares of Bloomsbury and the West End theatres are within easy walking distance. We have 129 bedrooms, including Deluxe and Executive rooms and Junior Suites. With seven meeting rooms, the largest seating 100 people theatre-style, and six syndicate rooms, The Kingsley is an ideal setting for business meetings and events; we're also a popular London wedding venue. London isn't the easiest place to bring a car, but there's parking available nearby at an additional charge. Whether you're in London for work or pleasure, The Kingsley's blend of contemporary comforts and Edwardian charm is definitely something to write home about. The Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley is a non-smoking hotel

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$203
4.2 / 5 109 reviews
★★★★
$168
4.3 / 5 82 reviews
★★★★
$235
4.3 / 5 109 reviews
★★★★
$185
4.0 / 5 44 reviews
★★★★
$125
3.8 / 5 250 reviews
★★★★★
$257
4.4 / 5 85 reviews
★★★★
$209
4.0 / 5 48 reviews
★★★
$105
3.7 / 5 20 reviews

Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley Rooms

Executive King Rooms
When you fancy a real treat our newly refurbished Executive King rooms offer the perfect retreat at the end of a hectic day. They're larger than our Deluxe rooms, providing space for a king-size bed, a large work desk and a small seating area. Equipped with LCD TVs and in-room safe, all rooms have a contemporary dcor with a vibrant colour palette and luxurious soft furnishings. Your ensuite bathroom has both a bath and a rain shower. .As in all our bedrooms, you'll have BT Openzone wireless broadband connection. Facilities Available: Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Room Safe 24 Hour Room Service Work Desk
Junior Suite Double Rooms
Our Junior Suite Double is one of our largest, most indulgent room; perfect for working, entertaining, marking a special occasion or enjoying a longer stay. It comprises a bedroom with a double bed, a separate lounge and dining area and a ensuite bathroom with bath and rain shower. The dcor is contemporary with a vibrant colour palette and beautiful soft furnishings. Facilities Available: BT Openzone Wi-Fi Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Radio Room Safe to fit Laptop 24 Hour Room Service Work Desk
Deluxe Twin Rooms
The Kingsley's newly refurbished Deluxe Twin rooms have the extra space and amenities you need to make your leisure stay feel more special and your business stay more productive. These rooms are furnished with two large single beds, a spacious work desk and a state of the art LCD TV; And when you've finished checking your emails via our BT Openzone wireless broadband connection, there's a digital safe where you can store your laptop. Located on Bloomsbury Way in Covent Garden near Russell Square, the Kingsley Hotel is easy to locate and even easier to use as a base to travel about London. Facilities Available: BT Openzone Wi-Fi Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Room Safe 24 Hour Room Service Work Desk
Deluxe Double Rooms
Our newly refurbished Deluxe Double rooms have the extra space and amenities you need to make your stay feel just that bit special. With a vibrant colour palette and luxurious soft furnishings all rooms have a contemporary dcor and modern feel. There's room for a spacious work desk and a state of the art LCD TV; And when you've finished checking your emails via our BT Openzone wireless broadband connection, there's a digital safe where you can store your laptop. Facilities Available: BT Openzone Wi-Fi Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Non Smoking Room Safe Room Safe to fit Laptop 24 Hour Room Service Work Desk

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Cartoon Museum: 0 mi
  • British Museum: 0.1 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.2 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.3 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.3 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 0.3 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.3 mi
  • West End: 0.3 mi
  • Soho: 0.4 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.4 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 0 mi
  • British Museum: 0.1 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.2 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.3 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.3 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 0.3 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.3 mi
  • West End: 0.3 mi
  • Soho: 0.4 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.4 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Institute of Education: 0.4 mi
  • Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret: 0.4 mi
  • London Astoria: 0.5 mi
  • Transport Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Courtauld Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • the Strand: 0.5 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Charles Dickens Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.5 mi
  • Somerset House: 0.6 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.6 mi
  • Institute of Archaeology Collections: 0.6 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.6 mi
  • Twinings Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • University of London: 0.6 mi
  • University College London: 0.6 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.6 mi
  • The Brunswick : 0.6 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.7 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.7 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.7 mi
  • British Postal Museum and Archive: 0.7 mi
  • Temple church: 0.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our largest function room, the Albion Room, seats up to 100 people, making it suitable for conferences and product launches: it's also one of London's most popular wedding venues. We have five further rooms with capacity for between 30 and 75 people. In addition, we have six beautifully appointed syndicate rooms. Seating eight people boardroom-style, they're ideal for board meetings, interviews and small training sessions, or as 'breakout rooms' hired in conjunction with our larger meeting rooms. All our meeting rooms come fully equipped with Air-conditioning LCD projector and screen BT Openzone wireless internet access

Dining

Bar at The Kingsley, London
Our bar serves a wide range of drinks, snacks and light meals in informal surroundings - perfect between meetings, after work or before dinner. And if you're starting early, or staying up late, our full room service menu means you can always get hold of a drink, snack or light meal, even out of hours.
Kingsley Two, at The Kingsley, London
At The "Kingsley Two" Brasserie you have a choice of dining right through the day and on into the night. Relaxed and welcoming, our newly refurbished Brasserie has an enticing menu featuring a wide range of British and European dishes, complemented by an extensive wine list.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stephen Northern NV
Couples
Reno, NV
Jan 28, 2013

Ideal for British Museum

This hotel is among the best available in Bloomsbury. The staff was very attentive to one's needs and the place was spotless!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Harvey G.
Friends
N/A
Aug 26, 2015

Great first trip to London

This was my first trip to London and I had no complaints. Hotel staff was very friendly. As soon as I arrived they kept my bags locked in storage due to no rooms being available so early. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AYM
Single
Tokyo
Aug 24, 2015

good location

It was good. Location is the best! Also service is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Geert P.
Business
N/A
Aug 24, 2015

Rendez-vous London

Very good hotel, for a short or a longer stay. Excellent location, great atmosphere...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dream Come True
Couples
N/A
Aug 22, 2015

Great hotel in a great location

Extremely friendly staff, particularly the girl who checked us in and out. Great location, only a few minutes walk from the British Museum, Holborn tube station and Oxford Street. Our room was small, which was the only drawback, but very comfortable and cleaned to a high standard each day. The room we were allocated was on the 6th floor at the back of the hotel and was nice and quiet. I was impressed that the girl checking us in asked us if we had any preference regarding the location of our room. We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on the quality of the food, but we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for couples whose primary reason for visiting London is for a sight-seeing/shopping break.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
superandoy
Family
N/A
Aug 22, 2015

great location, perfect hotel

our hotel room was enough size for both of us. bathroom is clean. there's a restaurant downstairs and a bar which was open if you needed beer or coffee after dinner. the staff from front desk, concierge to cleaning lady were helpful. just let them know what you need. a lot of resto around the hotel since the brit muaeam is just behind. closest station is holborn but bus38 stops directly in front of the hotel steps which is so convenient after long walks or drinking too much. i recommend this place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jared A.
Couples
N/A
Aug 16, 2015

Functional and Good Location

The hotel was well situated with theaters, restaurants, shopping, museums, etc. close by. Tube station just around the corner. Room was efficient. Little use of AC anywhere in the city was a slight adjustment for us from USA, however it really didn't affect my stay. I would stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karen S.
Family
Astoria
Aug 15, 2015

Excellent choice

Very convenient location, friendly staff, comfortable beds,clean room not spacious but who comes to London to sit in the room gracious feel to the space, attractive decor. There was a fire alarm while we were there and the stuff responded professionally. Breakfast very good- be sure to get it included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Betsy KM.
Couples
N/A
Aug 14, 2015

Central and Comfortable for Short London Stay

This hotel was perfect for our brief trip to London. It was in the heart of a great walking-around neighborhood, and easy to get from there to anywhere else we wanted to go. The hotel itself was staffed with friendly, knowledgeable folks and our room (though up one staircase and down another) was lovely, if a bit small (which is the norm in London...this was bigger than many). Restaurant was good, too. We would absolutely stay there again and will recommend to others!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lixin y.
Friends
N/A
Aug 13, 2015

not every Thistle is as nice....

location is perfect ! Thistle Holborn is beautiful, staff helpful and friendly but i have passed by another Thistle which was shocking, as the building was prettry run-down...just a word of Caution, not all Thistles are the same. jly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frank H.
Couples
Castro Valley
Aug 2, 2015

Good trip

Close to British Museum. Easy to walk to the parliament. Hard to walk from the subway station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top