$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 20, 2014

Thistle City Barbican

3 stars
120 Central Street, Clerkenwell, London, EC1V 8DS
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
29 reviews
Midweek Break

Stayed here for five nights in good location, rooms very warm window wouldn't open properly. Buffet... See full review

  • Paulie Parrott
  • Nov 18, 2014
Ideally situated and good value

Good value, excellent breakfast, ideally situated with a short walk to underground. Downside was... See full review

  • Shopper and Choc taster
  • Jul 29, 2014
Within walking distance from Old Street and Barbican tube stations Thistle City Barbican provides easy access to the whole of London and its many tourist attractions. We have convenient transport links to Farringdon, Euston, King's Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail as well as St Pancras International station for Eurostar. The Barbican Centre, Europe's largest arts centre and home to the London Symphony Orchestra is just a short walk away. Ideally located near the City of London, with the financial district just minutes away, we are also in a prime location for business travellers. Our dedicated conference facilities with 13 flexible meeting rooms will cater for business meetings, corporate special events, private dining and banquets for up to 150 delegates. Inclusive with your hotel booking you can enjoy the Otium Health & Leisure Club for a work out, refreshing swim or simply relax and de-stress in the Jacuzzi, Sauna and Steam room or book a Spa treatment with our in house therapists from Health Aroma . Thistle City Barbican Hotel features 463 bedrooms and The 120 Central Brasserie restaurant offers a choice of British and European dishes in comfortable and contemporary surroundings. Bar 120 serves a wide range of drinks and snacks in informal atmosphere. And for a morning cappuccino or a light meal, our CoMotion Bar is open throughout the day. BT Openzone Wi-Fi is available through-out the hotel For guests travelling to the Hotel by car there are 10 car parking spaces available which are allocated on a first come first serve basis. Alternatively there is a NCP carpark within walking distance. The Thistle City Barbican is a non-smoking hotel

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Thistle City Barbican also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Thistle City Barbican Rooms

Standard Single Room
Our Standard Single rooms have everything you need for a comfortable stay when using the hotel as a base for work or site seeing. The room features a standard size single bed, ensuite bath room, LCD TV with freeview channels tea/coffee making facilities. Our Wi-Fi broadband connection gives you access to your emails and the internet. As you would expect, tea and coffee-making facilities, an iron and ironing board and hairdryer are there for your use. Facilities Available: BT Open zone Wi-Fi Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Direct Dial Telephone Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Radio Spacious Work Desk Complimentary access to the Leisure Club In Room Safe
Standard Twin Room
Our Standard Twin rooms have everything you need for a relaxed and comfortable stay. With two single beds, flat screen TV, and decorated in a warm and welcoming colour palette, they are a welcome sight for any traveller. Our Wi-Fi broadband connection gives you access to your emails and the internet. As you'd expect, tea- and coffee-making facilities, an iron and ironing board and hairdryer are there for your use. Facilities Available: BT Open zone Wi-Fi Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Direct Dial Telephone Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Radio Spacious Work Desk Complimentary access to the Leisure Club In Room Safe
Premium Double Room
Premium Double rooms at Thistle Barbican hotel offer all the comforts and amenities of our Standard bedrooms. The air conditioned room is spacious and has plenty of room for a comfortable double bed, small seating area and a large work desk. Our Wi-Fi broadband connection gives you access to your emails and the internet. As you'd expect, tea- and coffee-making facilities, an iron and ironing board and hairdryer are there for your use. Facilities Available: BT Open zone Wi-Fi Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Direct Dial Telephone Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Radio Spacious Work Desk Complimentary access to the Leisure Club In Room Safe Air Conditioning Mini Bar (Not Stocked)
Standard Family for 4 Room
Our Family Rooms are our largest rooms perfect for working, entertaining, marking a special occasion or enjoying a longer stay. Each Family room comprises of a bedroom with a king-size bed and separate lounge area with a sofa bed, suitable for up to 2 children up to the age of 12. The room is air conditioned, has a flatscreen LCD TV with freeview and free BT Wi-Fi internet access. In the ensuite bathroom there is a selection of complimentary toiletries. Guests staying at the hotel can also enjoy free access to our Otium Healthclub. Facilities Available: Access to Health and Fitness Center Air Conditioning BT wifi Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV with Freeview Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Room Safe Separate Sitting Room Work Desk

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • City University London: 0.3 mi
  • Barbican: 0.4 mi
  • Sadler's Wells Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of the Order of St John: 0.5 mi
  • Clerkenwell: 0.5 mi
  • Trinity College of Music: 0.5 mi
  • Barbican Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Islington Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Guildhall School of Music and Drama: 0.6 mi
  • Farringdon: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of London: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of London Docklands: 0.7 mi
  • St Bartholomew's Hospital Museum: 0.7 mi
  • British Postal Museum and Archive: 0.7 mi
  • Clockmakers' Museum: 0.8 mi
  • City University London: 0.3 mi
  • Barbican: 0.4 mi
  • Sadler's Wells Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of the Order of St John: 0.5 mi
  • Clerkenwell: 0.5 mi
  • Trinity College of Music: 0.5 mi
  • Barbican Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Islington Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Guildhall School of Music and Drama: 0.6 mi
  • Farringdon: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of London: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of London Docklands: 0.7 mi
  • St Bartholomew's Hospital Museum: 0.7 mi
  • British Postal Museum and Archive: 0.7 mi
  • Clockmakers' Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old Bailey: 0.8 mi
  • Broadgate Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Shoreditch: 0.9 mi
  • Charles Dickens Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Liverpool Street Station: 0.9 mi
  • Fleet Street: 0.9 mi
  • St. Pauls Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Bank of England: 1 mi
  • Tower 42: 1 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 1 mi
  • Royal Fusiliers Museum: 1 mi
  • London Canal Museum: 1 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 1.1 mi
  • London Astoria: 1.1 mi
  • the Gherkin: 1.1 mi
  • Temple church: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Immigration and Diversity: 1.2 mi
  • The Brunswick : 1.2 mi
  • Kings Cross-St Pancras station: 1.2 mi
  • Millennium Bridge: 1.2 mi
  • Twinings Museum: 1.2 mi
  • St Pancras railway station: 1.2 mi
  • Women's Library: 1.3 mi
  • Russell Square: 1.3 mi
  • British Library: 1.3 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Tate Modern: 1.4 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Institute of Education: 1.4 mi
  • London Theatre: 1.4 mi

Dining

120 Central Brasserie
Our 120 Central Brasserie restaurant offers a choice of British and European dishes in comfortable and contemporary surroundings. We also keep a cellar of classic and New World wines. Open for breakfast and dinner, this is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a delicious meal.
Bar 120
Enjoy a drink or light snacks in our relaxed and informal atmospheric Bar 120. It's the perfect place to meet after work or for a drink after dinner.
CoMotion Bar
The CoMotion Bar serves a wide range of drinks and snacks in informal surroundings - perfect for a breakfast coffee, between meetings, after work or before dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Thistle City Barbican is the perfect venue for business meetings, trainings and corporate and social events. The venue offers 13 flexible conference rooms which are fully air-conditioned and DDA compliant. Most of our rooms offer ample natural daylight creating a comfortable and productive environment. Our largest room the Clerkenwell Suite seats up to 150 delegates and is also ideal for banqueting events and exhibitions. BT Openzone Wi-Fi internet access is available through the venue. Our catering choices are as extensive and flexible as our meeting facilities. You can choose from wide range of refreshments including Healthy options and dietary requirements You can also just hire the space and make your own catering arrangements.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (29)

Ratings and reviews for Thistle City Barbican

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 29
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.6

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Thistle City Barbican

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stuart In Search Of Sun
Business
Chelmsford, UK
Jun 10, 2014

Not best located but reasonable enough

It was clean and the staff very helpful. The breakfast was good: it had a wide selection of foods. The biggest problem is the location. It's about a 15minute walk or a bus ride from a tube stop which isn't the worst unless you have lots of luggage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle City Barbican

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mazza P
Business
Worcester
May 3, 2014

Busy city break

Clean comfortable hotel - sixth floor but good views. Queuing for breakfast Saturday morning not so good but staff worked hard to minimise wait. Good buffet breakfast (included in tariff in this deal so good value) Good location for sightseeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle City Barbican

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RRVALE
Business
IRVINE, CA
Apr 21, 2014

Nice hotel in London

Nice hotel, clean rooms, beautiful lobby, good food. (The rooms are a bit small but OK for Europe) walking distance to metro station (old street and barbican) 8 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a all day (or more days) metro ticket it´s very easy to use, with a station close to everything you must see.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle City Barbican

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark greenday
Business
Southampton
Jun 4, 2013

Nice hotel in London

Stayed one night. V nice hotel with friendly staff and good vegitarian options in the Restaraunt we had a v good price through e bookers. The bar was v expensive and we did not have breakfast but went to a lovely little cafe near Angel tube. Would definitely go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle City Barbican

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
teccy
Business
manchester
Jun 19, 2012

Weekend Get away

was met by a very friedly staff member, excellent service . I have recomended the hotel already that for everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle City Barbican

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maddog
Business
Harrow London
May 15, 2012

Weekend Visit

I would liked to have known about the free gym and pool for guests before I arrived and also whether or not breakfast was complementary

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle City Barbican

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yeti254
Business
Evesham, Worcestershire WR11, UK
Apr 12, 2012

Sound

Nice hotel, if abit dated. Area looks run down, but close enough to islington night life

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle City Barbican

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
the fast and furious tourist
Business
rancho palos verdes
Jul 29, 2010

good for business not for the vacationer

overall a good hotel, we had a small room. No view. Good breakfast. Good service and assistance as needed. Quite a walk to the undergound.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Our trip to London was only an overnighter. We reccommend the on and off tour bus, to get a general view of the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle City Barbican

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Les T
Business
West Wales
Jul 27, 2010

Mostly Good , One Bad

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The hotel dining, although excellent is expensive. The resturants in Old Street are good and a ten minute walk away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle City Barbican

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Oct 8, 2009

2 nights

We were given an non a/C room though we booked a delux. safe deposit locker was not working. So we changed the room. A/C unit was not working hair dryer did not work one of the lights near dresser needed a new bulb? Staff did not offer any repairs even for 2nd day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top