$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 17, 2015 Check-out: May 18, 2015

Thistle City Barbican

3 stars
View map of 120 Central Street, Clerkenwell, London, EC1V 8DS

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Thistle City Barbican

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.6

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Thistle City Barbican

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
P loves traveling
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 25, 2014

Would recommend to future travelers

Great location, friendly and courteous staff, clean and comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle City Barbican

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stuart In Search Of Sun
Business
Chelmsford, UK
Jun 10, 2014

Not best located but reasonable enough

It was clean and the staff very helpful. The breakfast was good: it had a wide selection of foods. The biggest problem is the location. It's about a 15minute walk or a bus ride from a tube stop which isn't the worst unless you have lots of luggage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle City Barbican

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Home Counties Traveller
Business
Reading, Berkshire
May 21, 2014

Spring Trip

Nice hotel, I enjoyed my stay there, but wasn't that keen on the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle City Barbican

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mazza P
Business
Worcester
May 3, 2014

Busy city break

Clean comfortable hotel - sixth floor but good views. Queuing for breakfast Saturday morning not so good but staff worked hard to minimise wait. Good buffet breakfast (included in tariff in this deal so good value) Good location for sightseeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle City Barbican

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RRVALE
Business
IRVINE, CA
Apr 21, 2014

Nice hotel in London

Nice hotel, clean rooms, beautiful lobby, good food. (The rooms are a bit small but OK for Europe) walking distance to metro station (old street and barbican) 8 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a all day (or more days) metro ticket it´s very easy to use, with a station close to everything you must see.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle City Barbican

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maytee
Business
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Apr 16, 2014

An Older but Nice Place to Stay

We stayed here for five nights. The hotel, while older, has been refurbished, including free WiFi, and was quite nice. The room was clean and the housekeeping staff were very intent on making sure we lacked for nothing. The same is true of the staff, in general. The breakfast buffet was excellent and well worth the money we paid for it. The only down side to the hotel is the location. For tourists, like us, it is a bit of a journey to get to the museums and other areas of interests. But, it is only a five minute walk to the closest tube station and from there you can get anywhere. If you want a fancy room, this is not the hotel for you but if you want a nice, comfortable, clean room, this would be a place to consider.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle City Barbican

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SSA14
Business
Baden, Switzerland
Mar 7, 2014

Excellent Business Hotel in heart of London

Hotel well situated for business travellers, especially if wanting to visit the financial heart of London. Good all-round standard very reasonably priced for London. Only ca. 5-10 minutes walk from Old Street Underground. Will definitely look to stay at the Thistle City Barbican on future business trips to London. Hotel even has own gym/fitness area incl. pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle City Barbican

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Eddie Funster
Business
Los Angeles CA
Nov 6, 2013

One Night Only

I stayed here for one night after flying from Chicago. Area is OK but it's a short walk to Islington which is an area I know well and is a more happening area. Room I was in was pretty tiny which is par for the course in London for budget rooms. Staff was super helpful and nice so no problems there. Hotel was sort of non descript looking so I walked right passed it , hailed a cab to take me 3 blocks back from where I was , cab cost was £3.50 , hilarity was priceless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Laundrette across the street was convenient however super expensive , £25 for about 10lbs /5 kgs of clothes for s service wash. RIPPOFF! There are other places that will do it for much less

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle City Barbican

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jennywren
Business
London
Sep 1, 2013

Great girls night

The hotel was imperfect location for our visit to London as art teachers we had come for a one night trip to visit all the galleries . The breakfast was excellent only wish I had got up earlier to eat more ! Very pleasant staff . Only negative was the drinks where to expensive !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle City Barbican

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark greenday
Business
Southampton
Jun 4, 2013

Nice hotel in London

Stayed one night. V nice hotel with friendly staff and good vegitarian options in the Restaraunt we had a v good price through e bookers. The bar was v expensive and we did not have breakfast but went to a lovely little cafe near Angel tube. Would definitely go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top