$241 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 5, 2015

The Windermere Hotel

4 stars
View map of 142/144 Warwick Way, Victoria, London, SW1V 4JE

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
10 reviews
SO wonderful!

What wonderful staff, gloriously comfortable rooms, expansive bathrooms, great breakfast. Cannot... See full review

  • Ham Town
  • Nov 18, 2013
Comfortable

The Windermere is an attractive fully modernized London boutique hotel within about a seven minute... See full review

  • mirodon
  • Oct 12, 2014
The Windermere is an award winning, small London hotel of enormous charm and character, where the atmosphere is relaxed and friendly. Having established a wide reputation, many of the guests are introduced by personal recommendation, a tribute to the individual care and attention given to all.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Windermere Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 1.0 out of 5

The Windermere Hotel Rooms

Classic Double
Double bed, en suite shower room (shower & WC). Room amenities include: tea/coffee making facilities, laptop sized safe, hairdryer, flatscreen TV with digital channels, telephone, free WI-FI & wake-up service.
Classic Twin
Two single beds, en suite shower room (shower & WC). Room amenities include: tea/coffee making facilities, laptop sized safe, hairdryer, flatscreen TV with digital channels, telephone, free WI-FI & wake-up service.
Superior Double
One king or queen size bed, en suite bathroom (bathtub with shower & WC). Room amenities include: tea/coffee making facilities, laptop sized safe, hairdryer, flatscreen TV with digital channels, telephone, free WI-FI & wake-up service.
Superior Twin
Two single beds, en suite bathroom (bathtub with shower & WC). Room amenities include: tea/coffee making facilities, laptop sized safe, hairdryer, flatscreen TV with digital channels, telephone, free WI-FI & wake-up service.
Deluxe Double
One king or queen size bed, en suite bathroom (bathtub with shower & WC). Room amenities include: tea/coffee making facilities, laptop sized safe, hairdryer, flatscreen TV with digital channels, telephone, free WI-FI & wake-up service.
Deluxe Twin
Two single beds, en suite bathroom (bathtub with shower & WC). Room amenities include: tea/coffee making facilities, laptop sized safe, hairdryer, flatscreen TV with digital channels, telephone, free WI-FI & wake-up service.
Triple
3 single beds, or 1 single & 1 double bed (subject to availability), en suite shower room (shower & WC). Room amenities include: tea/coffee making facilities, laptop sized safe, hairdryer, flatscreen TV with digital channels, telephone, free WI-FI & wake-up service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Lambeth Palace: 0.3 mi
  • St. Ann's Shopping Centre : 0.3 mi
  • Victoria Place Shopping Centre : 0.3 mi
  • Victoria station: 0.3 mi
  • Pimlico: 0.4 mi
  • Victoria Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cardinal Place : 0.4 mi
  • Royal Mews: 0.5 mi
  • Crime Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Cutty Sark: 0.6 mi
  • Queen`s Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Tate Britain: 0.6 mi
  • Guards Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Buckingham Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Vauxhall Bridge: 0.6 mi
  • Lambeth Palace: 0.3 mi
  • St. Ann's Shopping Centre : 0.3 mi
  • Victoria Place Shopping Centre : 0.3 mi
  • Victoria station: 0.3 mi
  • Pimlico: 0.4 mi
  • Victoria Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cardinal Place : 0.4 mi
  • Royal Mews: 0.5 mi
  • Crime Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Cutty Sark: 0.6 mi
  • Queen`s Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Tate Britain: 0.6 mi
  • Guards Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Buckingham Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Vauxhall Bridge: 0.6 mi
  • Westminster Dragoons Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Sloane Square: 0.7 mi
  • Westminster Abbey Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Houses of Parliament: 0.7 mi
  • Jewel Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 0.7 mi
  • St. James's Park: 0.8 mi
  • Battersea Power Station: 0.8 mi
  • Saatchi Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • National Army Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Royal Hospital Chelsea Museum: 0.8 mi
  • St James's Park: 0.8 mi
  • Cabinet War Rooms and Churchill Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Green Park: 0.9 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 0.9 mi
  • Palace of Westminster: 0.9 mi
  • River Thames: 0.9 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 0.9 mi
  • Vauxhall: 0.9 mi
  • Big Ben: 0.9 mi
  • Westminster Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Pharmaceutical Society Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Piccadilly: 1.1 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1.1 mi
  • Harrods: 1.1 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 1.1 mi
  • London School of Economics: 1.1 mi
  • Port of London: 1.1 mi
  • London Aquarium: 1.2 mi

Dining

Pimlico Room Restaurant & Bar
Our chef offers a varied menu incorporating modern European with traditional English cuisine. Dinner is served in our relaxed Pimlico Room Restaurant & Bar. Room service is also available. Our famous breakfast is served daily in the Pimlico Room.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Windermere Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 10
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3
Sort by:
Review of The Windermere Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fizzydrink
Business
Bristol, UK
Apr 7, 2014

En route to Victoria

Booked this as we wanted to stay close to Victoria station for an early train the next morning - and it is really close, we just walked up with our cases in the morning. Got a really friendly welcome from Juan when we arrived and he showed us personally to our room. We'd booked a deluxe double room and it was a lovely room, well decorated with a canopied bed, very comfortable and the best hotel mattress I've slept on! We ate in the hotel as well and the chef was also really friendly. Not a huge menu, but the food was excellent and the seabass special was very good. Thought this was a little gem and we'll stay here again when we need a stopover in London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Windermere Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K and M upstate
Business
Staatsburg, NY
Mar 31, 2013

small, quiet and soothing

We enjoyed our stay very much and appreciated that our room was warm and cozy during an unusual cold snap (snow, ice, temperatures around 0 degrees C0. The staff were pleasant and helpful, the included breakfast was very good, and we were able to get around London easily from there--to the V&A, the Saatchi gallery, Westminster Abbey, etc--while not being in a big hotel in the middle of the tourist spots, which we prefer to avoid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Windermere Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sailing away
Business
florida
Dec 20, 2012

perfect location

very close to Victoria station extremely friendly and helpful staff fabulous english breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Windermere Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
David G
Business
Perth, Scotland
Sep 2, 2012

Outstanding

My wife and I have been regular travellers to London for over 25 years and we've finally found the nearest thing to an ideal hotel. The family-owned Windermere is in a pleasant residential district a brief stroll from Victoria rail and tube station (make sure you use the shortcut which the staff will explain) and an even shorter walk from Victoria coach station. The hotel has been refurbished to a very high standard but still manages to be intimate, homely and as far removed from the corporate blandness of the big chains as it's possible to imagine. We stayed in a "classic double" room which was more than adequate for two of us. The bed was so comfortable that on two mornings we slept far longer than we'd meant to! The food is excellent and breakfast is included in the room price. The staff were delightful - the warm welcome from owner Nick when we arrived really set the tone for the rest of our stay. Highly recommended - we'll certainly be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food in the Pimlico brasserie is excellent but if you want a change the Sri Suwoon Thai restaurant on the corner of Hugh Street and Cambridge Street (about three minutes walk from the hotel) is very good and does a pre-theatre menu for a very reasonable £14.95.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top