$231 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 15, 2015 Check-out: Jan 16, 2015

The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London

4 stars
39 Buckingham Palace Road, London, SW1W 0PS
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
42 reviews
Rubens at the Palace

Excellent hotel, with outstanding service. Would defiantly return to the hotel. Great location. See full review

  • Pogats
  • May 24, 2014
Very good, but expensive

A great location, and generally excellent service as well. The price, however, was high, even with... See full review

  • Robertson
  • Dec 2, 2013
Regal residence in the heart of London

Located directly across from Buckingham Palace, The Rubens at the Palace offers guest a regal experience in London. Guests can watch palace guardsmen from the windows, or take a walk around London. Guests can explore Sloane Street, Oxford Street and King's Road for the ultimate shopping experience. Culture can be found at some of the most famous museums including the Natural History Museum.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Prime location across from Buckingham Palace

  • Located near some of London's famous museums

  • Hotel's South African-themed Bbar voted one of the top three bars in the world by British Airways High Life Magazine

The Rubens at the Palace Rooms

Rooms are majestic at The Rubens at the Palace with regal reds, royal blues, and patterned fabrics. Beautiful drapes hang over balconies with views of Buckingham Palace, and 24-hour room service adds to the overall theme of the hotel. Classic rooms have single, double, queen, or king beds – each draped in crisp white sheets for guests' comfort. These rooms are equipped with cable television and on-demand movies, air conditioning, tea and coffee-making facilities. All rooms have complimentary Internet access. There is also a selection of bath products and bathrobes. Suites at The Rubens at the Palace have additional facilities including a living area, king-size bed, entertainment unit and mini-bar.

Things To Do:
  • Buckingham Palace (0.3 mi/0.6 km)

  • Buckingham Palace Gardens (0.3 mi/0.6 km)

  • Westminster Chapel (0.3 mi/0.6 km)

  • The Guards Museum (0.8 mi/1.2 km)

  • Churchill Museum and Cabinet War Rooms (0.9 mi/1.5 km)

  • Her Majesty's Theatre (1 mi/1.6 km)

  • The Natural History Museum (1.6 mi/2.5 km)

  • Victoria and Albert Museum (1.6 mi/2.5 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London Rooms

Executive Suites
Amongst the Executive suites in our regal surrounds are the famed African Queen, Henry VII, and Queen Suites. Rich fabrics and fine furniture combine to create three unforgettably escapist moods. All three suites feature their own sofa sitting area allowing guests to relax. This is luxury on a royal scale.
Junior Suites
A hotel suite makes you feel special. It is not just the space but the thoughtful extras " marble bathroom, luxurious assortment of toiletries, evening turndown, soft bathrobes, and secure in-room safe " that make our Junior Suites so memorable. These magnificently decorated studio-style suites include a splendid king-size bed, a spacious seating area, and a comprehensive entertainment unit.
Master Suite
A master suite offers luxury on a lavish scale: a bedroom featuring a magnificent four-poster bed, plus a separate lounge with dining table, chairs, and an eye-catching animal-print sofa among the soft furnishings. There's even a Jacuzzi in the bathroom. There are antiques, paintings, books, and as much discreet technology as you could wish for. This is the ideal Central London hideaway.
Single Room
A classic room for single occupancy featuring a classic single bed (1 US Twin Bed) with stylish furnishings and all the modern conveniences you may need. All rooms offer individually controlled air-conditioning, voicemail, 24-hour room service and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities.
Double Room
A luxurious room with all the latest facilities to make your stay both enjoyable and comfortable. These rooms feature a queen size bed or for a twin room two classic single beds. All rooms offer 24 hour room service as well as tea and coffee making facilities.
King Room
A luxurious room with all the latest facilities, as well as a spacious desk working area with swivel chair and complimentary business stationary and equipment. All rooms are spacious in size and feature a king size bed. All rooms offer individually controlled air-conditioning, voicemail, 24-hour room service and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities.
Royal Room
Make the most of the regal location this property enjoys and check into one of eight Royal Rooms. These majestic rooms are all situated in an exclusively private wing of the property and capture the imagination with opulent designs inspired from great British monarchs of the past. Stretching from Queen Elizabeth I to Queen Victoria, these are the ideal rooms to envelop yourself in the grandeur and sumptuousness of their reigns. Each room is as unique and opulent as the era that inspired it.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Royal Mews: 0.1 mi
  • Victoria Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Victoria station: 0.1 mi
  • Cardinal Place : 0.2 mi
  • Buckingham Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Queen`s Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Lambeth Palace: 0.2 mi
  • St. Ann's Shopping Centre : 0.3 mi
  • Victoria Place Shopping Centre : 0.3 mi
  • Guards Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Green Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 0.4 mi
  • Cutty Sark: 0.4 mi
  • Crime Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Mews: 0.1 mi
  • Victoria Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Victoria station: 0.1 mi
  • Cardinal Place : 0.2 mi
  • Buckingham Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Queen`s Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Lambeth Palace: 0.2 mi
  • St. Ann's Shopping Centre : 0.3 mi
  • Victoria Place Shopping Centre : 0.3 mi
  • Guards Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Green Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 0.4 mi
  • Cutty Sark: 0.4 mi
  • Crime Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 0.5 mi
  • St. James's Park: 0.6 mi
  • St James's Park: 0.6 mi
  • Piccadilly: 0.6 mi
  • Houses of Parliament: 0.7 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Westminster Dragoons Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Sloane Square: 0.7 mi
  • Cabinet War Rooms and Churchill Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Westminster Abbey Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Jewel Tower: 0.7 mi
  • National Army Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 0.8 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Palace of Westminster: 0.8 mi
  • Saatchi Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • River Thames: 0.8 mi
  • Park Lane: 0.8 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 0.8 mi
  • Pimlico: 0.9 mi
  • Big Ben: 0.9 mi
  • Harrods: 0.9 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 0.9 mi
  • Tate Britain: 0.9 mi
  • London School of Economics: 0.9 mi
  • Port of London: 0.9 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.9 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.9 mi
  • Nelson's Column: 0.9 mi
  • Canada House Gallery: 0.9 mi

Dining

The Library Restaurant
bbar & Restaurant, facing the Royal Mews of Buckingham Palace, is a South African themed venue also run by the family-owned Red Carnation Hotel Collection. It is just on your left as you exit reception at The Rubens. Sporting vintage photographs of big game, faux giraffe skin fabrics, ethnic carvings, leopard spotted lampshades and polished zebrano wood table tops it's a funky mix of safari chic and colonial cool. The menu is international, but with a strong South African accent lent by dishes like Springbok fillet, Grilled Boerewors Sausages and Bobotie Spring Rolls.The two bars serve an impressive 110 wines (over 50 by the glass) from an eclectic list of old and new world producers including Bouchard Finalyson, a vineyard in South Africa, also belonging to The Red Carnation Hotel Collection. Passionate mixologists prepare over 60 cocktails, from the classics to the more exotic, while the warm and relaxed service creates an invitingly intimate atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (42)

Ratings and reviews for The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maple Grove, MN
Sep 25, 2010

Excellent hotel

Fantastic location very close to Victoria Station. The room was lovely, the staff was helpful and best of all- we had an exceptional breakfast included with our room! This was a pleasant surprise- when I was booking I couldn't find many hotels with complimentary breakfast in London so I gave up. Upon check in we learned that our King room included full English breakfast which was fantastic! Free wireless internet was also appreciated. Not a lot of tv channels, but we were able to rent a movie on our tv, which made for a nice night in after tons of walking visiting tourist sites. Very comfy bed with lots of pillows too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel was near a few very large looking theaters. If you're going to catch a show, this hotel is in a very good spot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
London Times Three
Business
Stafford Springs, CT
Jul 15, 2010

Best Location in London

The hotel staff was very helpful, especially after we left and our daughter forgot her passports and documents in her room safe. Everything got to Heathrow with time to spare. Hotel breakfast was a wonderful buffet that filled you until tea time. The Library Restaurant had a wonderful Chatobriand for Two that was excellent. Everyone was very pleasant and helpful at all times. Would definitely stay there again. The ony bad thing was that the television channels did not have the selection we are used to having in the States.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boisjolie
Business
San DIego, CA
Jun 28, 2010

Excellent stay.

Excellent. Hotel staff was always ready and helpful. Concierge office was helpful, and able to arrange tours flexibly. The ONLY downside was the room was small- but in Europe, what do you expect? I was surprised to see every room has air conditioning and a personal bathroom. The hotel was excellent, and I'd stay there again if given the opportunity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't dine at the hotel. It's *upscale* which translates to EXPENSIVE! Go down the street and find some food- it'll be half the price, and quite fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
krazykatkb
Business
Greenville, SC
Nov 22, 2009

Top Notch

The Rubens provides the most excellent of accommodations. Superior staff and location are the highlights of the lodging. Rooms are finely appointed, but a bit small in comparison to US lodgings. Breakfast buffet is excellent. Food and drink from Calvary Lounge also very good. Room service is timely and finely appointed. Location cannot be beat. Right across the road from the Royal Mews, it is a very short walk to the front of Buckingham Palace. Not a bad stroll to Parliament Square and the Thames. Victoria Station is right around the corner, so transportation is not an issue. The Rubens cannot be beat for a carefree stay in London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New Eng Dad
Business
NH
Sep 24, 2009

wonderful location

We've stayed at Rubens several times -- you can't beat the location across from Palace and the staff and furnishings are quite nice. We booked a modest queen bed and got wonderful king overlooking the Royal Mews. I was, however, very surprised there was no mattress pad/cover under the bottom sheet... and I was really surprised to see a stained (albeit firm)mattress under the sheet. Probably a housekeeping oversight.. Check if out BEFORE 11pm

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 23, 2009

Great hotel!

We had a great stay at Rubens! The location is really good - right across from Buckingham Palace. Only a few minute walk to Victoria station and we were able to take the tube everywhere. We were able to walk to Westminster via the birdcage walk, which was very pretty. It was at least 20 mins though. You are night in the hopping area where all the nightlife is, but the area felt safe at night. The rooms are small (but normal for London) and really nice. Definitely ask for a renovated room. They are much nicer than the ones that have not yet been updated. The staff was nice and helpful. They have free internet (one computer set up for the entire hotel). We did not eat or drink at the hotel because there are much less expensive options all over. All in all - a really good stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JJLondon
Business
Florida
Sep 18, 2009

Rubens Hotel

The staff was wonderful and helpful. The location was superb as we overlooked Buckingham Palace and we were only 2 blocks from Victoria Station. We had afternoon tea at the hotel - a highlight of our stay. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

In August and September, Buckingham Palace is open for public tours. Very interesting and almost at the door of the hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Iamhappy
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 12, 2009

Great location and Friendly Staff

My niece and I stayed at the Rubens from 8/3-8/11/09. When we arrived at the hotel, we found out that our reservation had been canceled by mistake by the company that had booked our vacation. The staff at the hotel was very helpful in solving this matter in a timely and professional manner. It didn't take them long in getting us a room; we were very grateful that they were able to get us our room quickly because we were very tired after a ten and half hour flight. During our stay, the staff was always friendly, our room was clean and our bed very comfortable. It is a beautiful well kept hotel and it is located in a great area. It is literally located across the street from Buckingham Palace; it is also just two blocks from the tube and three blocks from Victoria Coach Station which made it easy for us to get to the places we wanted to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dibear
Business
St Charles Il
Jul 9, 2009

Best service

The first room they showed us was not acceptable to us. the staff took just a few minutes to find us a room that was great. the staff was very helpful. the lounge was very good. alittle high priced but great food and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
May 20, 2009

Excellent Location, Friendly Staff

Located close to Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abbey, Green Park, Hyde Park, Victoria Train Station and many more tourist attractions. The staff is very informative and friendly. The rooms are a little small by american standards but I wouldn't let that stop me from staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top