$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 27, 2015 Check-out: Sep 28, 2015

The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London

4 stars
View map of 39 Buckingham Palace Road, London, SW1W 0PS

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SAU Alum
Couples
Michigan
Mar 21, 2011

Great Hotel -- Great Staff

Great location. Well appointed Room. Very accommodating staff. Would choose it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Wilmington, Delaware
Mar 14, 2011

OMG!!! What a great location!!!!

Traveled with my adult child for a mom and daughter extended weekend away. Great location...large rooms for Europe. The Tube(aka-Train)is incrediably easy to use. One block from the hotel. It can get you to all the main attractions in London. The hotel was across the street from Buckingham Palace, down the block from the theater district and a few blocks over from Westminster Cathedral. Would return to this hotel without question. Loved the basket of apples that are always available at the front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loads of small restaurants around the hotel. Any type of ethnic food can be found for a very reasonable price.

Review of The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dave in Mass
Couples
Westborough, MA
Dec 15, 2010

Rubens - Nice but a bit overrated

The location is OK, but as we discovered there are other sections of London that would be even better for tourists. The hotel accommodations are a bit mixed. Very nice public areas downstairs (e.g., restaurants, bar). The room we stayed in was a King room and was cramped (though I guess this is usual for Europe). Not enough space for luggage and clothes for a long stay. The bathroom was decently appointed, but also small. And the half-plexiglass door on the bathtub/shower allowed water from the shower to spray everywhere. No way to stop it. They need to do some upgrading to the rooms. I don't see this as a four-star establishment. 3.5 stars at best. Not a great value proposition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very near the Victoria station, with access to the tube (subway) and various trains. Reasonable shopping nearby and not far from the great stores (like Harrad's) in Kensington.

Review of The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Tampa, Florida
Sep 27, 2010

hotel is very nice, staff is more polite

I know it's close to Buckinham Palace and Victoria Station. But everything else is, well, cheesy. (just my opinion, I did notconsult my wife for this review)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Maple Grove, MN
Sep 25, 2010

Excellent hotel

Fantastic location very close to Victoria Station. The room was lovely, the staff was helpful and best of all- we had an exceptional breakfast included with our room! This was a pleasant surprise- when I was booking I couldn't find many hotels with complimentary breakfast in London so I gave up. Upon check in we learned that our King room included full English breakfast which was fantastic! Free wireless internet was also appreciated. Not a lot of tv channels, but we were able to rent a movie on our tv, which made for a nice night in after tons of walking visiting tourist sites. Very comfy bed with lots of pillows too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel was near a few very large looking theaters. If you're going to catch a show, this hotel is in a very good spot.

Review of The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
London Times Three
Family
Stafford Springs, CT
Jul 15, 2010

Best Location in London

The hotel staff was very helpful, especially after we left and our daughter forgot her passports and documents in her room safe. Everything got to Heathrow with time to spare. Hotel breakfast was a wonderful buffet that filled you until tea time. The Library Restaurant had a wonderful Chatobriand for Two that was excellent. Everyone was very pleasant and helpful at all times. Would definitely stay there again. The ony bad thing was that the television channels did not have the selection we are used to having in the States.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boisjolie
Couples
San DIego, CA
Jun 28, 2010

Excellent stay.

Excellent. Hotel staff was always ready and helpful. Concierge office was helpful, and able to arrange tours flexibly. The ONLY downside was the room was small- but in Europe, what do you expect? I was surprised to see every room has air conditioning and a personal bathroom. The hotel was excellent, and I'd stay there again if given the opportunity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't dine at the hotel. It's *upscale* which translates to EXPENSIVE! Go down the street and find some food- it'll be half the price, and quite fun.

Review of The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
krazykatkb
Family
Greenville, SC
Nov 22, 2009

Top Notch

The Rubens provides the most excellent of accommodations. Superior staff and location are the highlights of the lodging. Rooms are finely appointed, but a bit small in comparison to US lodgings. Breakfast buffet is excellent. Food and drink from Calvary Lounge also very good. Room service is timely and finely appointed. Location cannot be beat. Right across the road from the Royal Mews, it is a very short walk to the front of Buckingham Palace. Not a bad stroll to Parliament Square and the Thames. Victoria Station is right around the corner, so transportation is not an issue. The Rubens cannot be beat for a carefree stay in London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Chicago, IL
Sep 23, 2009

Great hotel!

We had a great stay at Rubens! The location is really good - right across from Buckingham Palace. Only a few minute walk to Victoria station and we were able to take the tube everywhere. We were able to walk to Westminster via the birdcage walk, which was very pretty. It was at least 20 mins though. You are night in the hopping area where all the nightlife is, but the area felt safe at night. The rooms are small (but normal for London) and really nice. Definitely ask for a renovated room. They are much nicer than the ones that have not yet been updated. The staff was nice and helpful. They have free internet (one computer set up for the entire hotel). We did not eat or drink at the hotel because there are much less expensive options all over. All in all - a really good stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dibear
Family
St Charles Il
Jul 9, 2009

Best service

The first room they showed us was not acceptable to us. the staff took just a few minutes to find us a room that was great. the staff was very helpful. the lounge was very good. alittle high priced but great food and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top