$252 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

The Royal Horseguards

5 stars
2 Whitehall Court, Whitehall, London, SW1A 2EJ
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
101 reviews
Mother,daughter getaway

We loved our stay at Royal a Horseguards; it was centrally located to many of the tourist sights &... See full review

  • Canada girls week out
  • Aug 17, 2014
Excellent Staff and Service at The Royal Horseguards Hotel London

The Royal Horseguards Hotel staff were excellent. They always greeted us with warm and friendly... See full review

  • Rich from New Jersey
  • Aug 8, 2014
Charm, elegance and comfort on the banks of the River Thames

The unique blend of 21st century and Victorian decor makes The Royal Horseguards an attraction in itself. Conveniently located near to some of London's most popular attractions, this charming 5-star hotel is the perfect choice for guests travelling for business or leisure. Features of the hotel include a fitness center and an executive lounge. Guests are provided with an elegant dining experience in the hotel's restaurant, which offers a variety of dishes. The hotel also offers a selection of cocktails, which are served in the Equus Bar.

3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Excellent location, with easy access to London's major attractions, including Trafalgar Square and the River Thames

  • Fully equipped modern fitness center located on-site

  • Wide range of guest services offered, including a limousine service and wireless Internet (fees apply)

The Royal Horseguards Rooms

The Royal Horseguards offers spacious guestrooms and suites, all with elegant decor and furnishings and modern amenities. Rooms consist of Standard Single and Double Rooms, Deluxe Double Rooms, Executive Double Rooms and King Suites. All rooms and suites are equipped with an en-suite bathroom with heated flooring, televisions, a minibar, self-controlled temperature system, complimentary wireless internet and tea and coffee-making facilities. A work desk is included in some rooms for the convenience of business guests. For spectacular panoramic views of London and its attractions, guests can opt for an Executive King Room with View, which offers a spacious en-suite bathroom with extra amenities such as bath products and vanity boxes. King Suites are ideal for guests requiring extra space and offer a separate living room area. Some King Suites offer views of the River Thames. Non-smoking rooms and room with disabled access are available upon request.

Things to Do:
  • Charing Cross Station (located just steps from the Royal Horseguards)

  • Trafalgar Square (0.3 mi/0.4 km)

  • The London Eye (0.4 mi/0.6 km))

  • Houses of Parliament (0.6 mi/0.9 km)

  • Covent Garden (0.6 mi/0.9 km)

  • Buckingham Palace (1 mi/1.6 km)

  • West End (1.6 mi/2.5 km)

Policies and fees
  • No Smoking Rooms/Facilities

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

51.5061 -0.1243
Area served
Whitehall, Westminster and Embankment.
Nearby airports
Heathrow, Gatwick, City Airport, Luton, Stanstead.
Area description
Located on the banks of the River Thames, The Royal Horseguards is adjacent to Embankment Underground Station and a short stroll from Charing Cross and Waterloo Main Line Stations. Centrally located for many of the tourist attractions including the London Eye, Houses of Parliament, Trafalgar Square and Theatre Land.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Royal Horseguards also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Royal Horseguards Rooms

Deluxe Double
Proposing a variety of views over London, the Deluxe Doubles, measuring up to 28sqm/300sq ft offer everything from the tailor made business desks, with all the latest in-room facilities, large wall fixed plasma screens, 3 different voltage sockets to suit the global luxury traveller, IPod docking stations and Bose surround sound system and are all fully Wi-Fi equipped. The En-suite bathroom matches the bedroom perfectly from heated towel rails, heated flooring, vanity boxes and luxurious Elemis beauty products, through to the separate plasma TVs in all bathrooms. Practical home comforts are never far away, from room safes with in built power sockets, casual seating, wide choice of lifestyle magazines, sparkling and still water, one's own Tea/Filter Coffee luxury selection, even iced filled buckets at turndown. Complimentary Wi-Fi for all guests.
Executive Double
Executive bedrooms, many of which are King bedded, measuring up to 34sqm/370 sq ft. Large en-suite bathrooms, many with separate shower stalls, under floor heating, heated towel rails, TVs in bath area or shower stall, vanity boxes and luxurious Elemis Beauty products are ideal for couples, small families and long stay guests. The rooms offer everything from the tailor made business desks, with all the latest in-room facilities, large wall fixed plasma screens, 3 different voltage sockets to suit the global luxury traveller, IPod docking stations+ Bose surround sound system, superbly stocked mini bars, large wall safes with built in power sockets, as well as all being fully Wi-Fi equipped. Complimentary Wi-Fi for all guests.
Executive King River View
Stunning views over the key sites of London. The King bedded bedrooms, with their Egyptian cotton duvets and colourful bed spreads, measure up to 37sqm/400 sq ft. The additional space, including a separate casual seating area, enhances the overall stay experience, whether for work or for relaxation. Large en-suite bathrooms, many with to wash basins, separate shower stall, under floor heating, heated towel rails, TVs in bath area or shower stall, vanity boxes and luxurious Elemis Beauty products are perfect. Complimentary Wi-Fi for all guests.
Suite
The Suites at The Royal Horseguards have been individually designed, to provide a unique and luxurious hotel experience. The bathrooms have separate baths and showers, and are lavishly stocked with luxury toiletries. And with our customary attention to detail. Complimentary Wi-Fi for all guests.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.1 mi
  • London School of Economics: 0.1 mi
  • Port of London: 0.1 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.1 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.1 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.2 mi
  • Nelson's Column: 0.2 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 0.2 mi
  • Canada House Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.2 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.3 mi
  • London Eye: 0.3 mi
  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.1 mi
  • London School of Economics: 0.1 mi
  • Port of London: 0.1 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.1 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.1 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.2 mi
  • Nelson's Column: 0.2 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 0.2 mi
  • Canada House Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.2 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.3 mi
  • London Eye: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Festival Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cabinet War Rooms and Churchill Museum: 0.3 mi
  • London Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Big Ben: 0.4 mi
  • River Thames: 0.4 mi
  • Courtauld Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Hayward Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Palace of Westminster: 0.4 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Army Museum: 0.4 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret: 0.4 mi
  • Transport Museum: 0.4 mi
  • the Strand: 0.4 mi
  • St James's Park: 0.4 mi
  • South Bank: 0.4 mi
  • St. James's Park: 0.4 mi
  • Somerset House: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Waterloo station: 0.5 mi
  • Houses of Parliament: 0.5 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Westminster Abbey Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Westminster Dragoons Museum: 0.5 mi
  • West End: 0.5 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Jewel Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.6 mi

Dining

Equus Bar
The Equus Bar with its eclectic fabrics and decor recreates the gentlemens club atmosphere of the hotels past, and celebrates our rich history with a range of contemporary cocktails named after famous former guests, including the George Bernard Shaw, Lord Kitchener, Winston Churchill and William Gladstone. The Equus Bar menu also includes an extensive selection of premium spirits and non alcoholic cocktails, including our A Bit Bitter, Dalal Delight and Refreshing Romp.
One Twenty One Two
The Royal Horseguards Hotel is home to one of London's most celebrated Restaurants, One Twenty One Two. In commemoration of the hotel's former neighbour, Scotland Yard, this restaurant is named after its universally-famous telephone number, Whitehall 1212. One Twenty One Two attracts discerning gourmands from around the world. With fine wines and exemplary service, One Twenty One Two is contemporary dining at its very best. In recognition of this fact, the restaurant has been awarded two AA Rosettes for the quality of its food, and the care and finesse with which it is prepared.
The Terrace
Our delightful outdoor Terrace provides a secluded haven to enjoy al fresco dining, or simply a quiet drink. Away from the hustle and bustle of London life, the Victorian hotel's exterior provides a stunning backdrop - perfect for watching the sun set over the London skyline. The Terrace at The Royal Horseguards Hotel, London is available for hire all year round, weather permitting, for small groups from as few as 10 people. A perfect spot for a summer barbecue, the Terrace can also be sectioned off as required, making it a most flexible outdoor venue.
The Lounge
Our tranquil and elegant Lounge is situated just off the main lobby and it is the ideal place for one to one business meetings, general get together or a place to relax after a long morning of shopping and sightseeing. Offering comfortable ample seating, this bright and airy space offers a wide array of light snacks and drinks throughout the day. Our exquisite selection of Award winning Afternoon teas, many of them themed to a special or seasonal occasion, are a quintessentially British tradition, served daily and accompanied with a live harpist playing Wednesday to Sunday from 2pm until 6pm . A real indulgent treat, whatever the occasion.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
There are few venues in London as prestigious as One Whitehall Place. Our dedicated meetings and events facilities, adjacent to and connecting with The Royal Horseguards, One Whitehall Place offers you truly palatial space, comfort and atmosphere. With its high ceilings, grand marble staircase, glittering chandeliers and spectacular views over the River Thames and the London Eye, it's a magnificent setting for weddings - four of our rooms are licensed for civil ceremonies - and events demanding a sense of opulence and theatre. Luxury London business & meetings facilities Our largest space is the dramatic Gladstone Library. An extravagant Victorian ballroom retaining a wealth of unique original features, which can accommodate up to 250 guests. We also have several large Suites, plus further meeting and event rooms suitable for board and team meetings, training sessions, presentations, interviews and private dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (101)

Ratings and reviews for The Royal Horseguards

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 101
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Royal Horseguards

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rich from New Jersey
Princeton, New Jersey
Aug 8, 2014

Excellent Staff and Service at The Royal Horseguards Hotel London

The Royal Horseguards Hotel staff were excellent. They always greeted us with warm and friendly smiles, were extremely professional and ready to assist whenever we had a need. This was first class service all the way

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the theater district by covent garden area of London. There plenty of nice restaurants for a dinner and show.

Review of The Royal Horseguards

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WJPO
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 1, 2014

A big let-down

Room was superb and comfortable. Location was great for us (very close to the theatres). Staff was inconsistent - had to call down for turn-down service one evening. No water at bedside at night unless we specifically asked for it. Telephone charges were exorbitant (local calls starting at one pound each, with a six-pound charge if calling a UK mobile!!) At least one of the three lifts was out of order for our entire stay making the wait for lifts quite long. If I want to stay in a 5-star I would not pick this one again even though the location was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The breakfast coffee and pastries at Paul's bakery (The Strand) were excellent. There is a Costa coffee shop just under the bridge overpass within 100 meters of the hotel for just a cup of delicious coffee or a quick snack.

Review of The Royal Horseguards

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
UStraveller3478
Misc, USA
Jun 24, 2014

Excellent hotel near many tourist attractions

The hotel was very nice! Walking distance to many tourist attractions. The room was a good size, though the bed was a bit small and hard - probably only a downside for Americans who are used to king-sized memory foam mattresses. Very nice bath with separate shower (great water pressure) and tub. Attentive staff. Recommend skipping the breakfast as it wasn't impressive and there are so many other great spots nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Royal Horseguards

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SecondSteph
Orlando, Florida
Jun 7, 2014

Perfection

Everything about this hotel was great. Beautiful inside and out, excellent service and you can't beat the location. It was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Royal Horseguards

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Conor
Ireland
May 28, 2014

Perfect relaxation

This is not the first time to visit this hotel & as always the service was impeccable. Also dined in the restaurant one night & we considered it to be of the highest quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Royal Horseguards

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
portenia
New York
May 17, 2014

Really very good

I had never staid in a "five star hotel" so I cannot tell whether it deserves five stars or not. It was very good, even if the room was somewhat small and the lights were difficult to use. The Hilton hotel in Jerusalem was certainly better; other than that, this is the best I have staid at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Royal Horseguards

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Usually don't complain
Chicago, IL
May 7, 2014

Terrible Managment!

It was our first trip to Europe and I planned on staying in London for a few day before going to Paris to propose to my now fiancé. We booked this hotel based on reviews so I must tell you tab out my experience. My sim card was stolen from my phone our second day there. I brought this to the attention of the front desk which they sent up Guest Relations Manager Sasank Theeda. He asked what the issue was and I explained. I also pointed out the fact that our entire room had been rearranged and one suitcase even closed up? He said he look into the issue and get back to me. My fiancé and I talked it over and we didn't feel comfortable with how it was handled nor staying there any longer because of "room rummaging." So I went to the front desk and introduced to Matthias Kussner who was the front office manager and senior supervisor on duty. I then began to repeat my dismay to Matthias and proceeded to insult me and ask to search my room personally. (Mind you I searched for over an hour to find my missing SIM card but noticed to many thing rearranged. Nonetheless, after he found nothing and took our garbage can which we thought was odd he said he'd get back to us. Again, all with no apologies, empathy, and with a whole new level of poor customer service. After this my fiancé was upset (on a very special week ) and I was extremely insulted. I proceeded to the front desk and checked out a day early to stay elsewhere where my business is valued and I'm treated courteously. After a 20 minute struggle and TONS of attitude Matthias gave us a partial refund which I thought was nice but far to little to late not to mention I pretty much demanded it. On a side not I asked Matthias if it was the hotels policy and procedure to fold and stow items of guests as well as rearranging personal items. I asked to see an employee handbook and at this time he refused and became aggressively frustrated and combative. Where a simple apology and partial refund after hours of being treated like a liar and ridiculed would have saved my business and I would have over looked the missing SIM card. In closing, I travel all the time to many places. I usually stay at 4 and 5 star accommodations because I'm a firm believer in you get what you pay for. You couldn't pay me to stay here. Mathias ruined a special weekend and because we did get engaged I'll have the pleasure of remembering this terrible experience for the rest of my life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Royal Horseguards

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
graham hotel inspector
sanderstead
Apr 23, 2014

my stay

staff generally very helpful and pleasant. restaurant food very good. set tea looked good to. must come and try it one afternoon. amenity areas are good but service could be a bit slow. bedroom comfortable ,but no wow factor. unfortunately our room was internal facing. because of this it was dark and warm unless you had the air conditioning running. recommend outside facing rooms. also our room had very small wardrobe space . could they pleas put a rail in the second wardrobe of room 517. really good location for tourists. just a few minutes walk from Whitehall Palace , St James Park and Trafalgar Square. even though so near to everything the location is quiet. This is a real 5 star hotel overall but have an outside room and really enjoy your stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

outside room

Review of The Royal Horseguards

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
78965479658231896374
Boston
Apr 7, 2014

LOVED THIS HOTEL!

Everything was perfect. Cannot say enough good things about this place. House keeping was lightening fast in the mornings. The room was large with nice amenities. Great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Clarence pub around the corner is a great place to catch a bite and a pint, particularly if you are arriving late in the evening.

Review of The Royal Horseguards

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jaroid
Ohio, USA
Feb 5, 2014

Great Location for First Time London Travel

The hotel was nice, but expect them to try and upgrade your room at checkin for an additional fee. We reserved a basic room which was fine for us since we were not planning on being in the room much during our stay. The walls were a bit thin as you could hear the TV's in adjoining rooms if they were turned up loud. If you can, ask for a room that is not right next to the elevators, as you end up hearing people coming and going, talking, etc all night long. We used the room service a few times, and the food was good, but if you can avoid it your wallet will thank you as it is very expensive even for small meals. Your better off running over to the Subway sandwich shop or connivence store by the Embankment Tube station (which is SUPER close). Also, you may want to ask them to empty the minibar out before you take possession of the room. Otherwise be sure to keep an eye on your charges as sometimes they will charge you for minibar items by "accident". We had this happen, but all I had to do was email them and they removed the charges. You would be better off not using the express checkout and actually checking your bill before you leave. Overall the location of this hotel and the value you got for it was worth it. Its proximity to the Tube station was fantastic and made taking quick trips to other areas a breeze. From the hotel to Heathrow it was only about an hours ride on the Tube. My final thought is, avoid their hotel restaurant 1TwentyOne2, it is absolutely not worth the price of the food. Avoid it at ALL COSTS!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Great meals at the Tea House Theatre about 1.6 miles away. It's not a bad walk if the weather is nice, or you can take the tube or catch a short ride there. Very affordable and great food. Breakfast served all day! Oh, and really good tea to boot!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search