$255 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

The Royal Horseguards

5 stars
View map of 2 Whitehall Court, Whitehall, London, SW1A 2EJ

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Royal Horseguards

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Royal Horseguards

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
UStraveller3478
Couples
Misc, USA
Jun 24, 2014

Excellent hotel near many tourist attractions

The hotel was very nice! Walking distance to many tourist attractions. The room was a good size, though the bed was a bit small and hard - probably only a downside for Americans who are used to king-sized memory foam mattresses. Very nice bath with separate shower (great water pressure) and tub. Attentive staff. Recommend skipping the breakfast as it wasn't impressive and there are so many other great spots nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Royal Horseguards

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SecondSteph
Couples
Orlando, Florida
Jun 7, 2014

Perfection

Everything about this hotel was great. Beautiful inside and out, excellent service and you can't beat the location. It was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Royal Horseguards

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Conor
Couples
Ireland
May 28, 2014

Perfect relaxation

This is not the first time to visit this hotel & as always the service was impeccable. Also dined in the restaurant one night & we considered it to be of the highest quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Royal Horseguards

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
portenia
Couples
New York
May 17, 2014

Really very good

I had never staid in a "five star hotel" so I cannot tell whether it deserves five stars or not. It was very good, even if the room was somewhat small and the lights were difficult to use. The Hilton hotel in Jerusalem was certainly better; other than that, this is the best I have staid at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Royal Horseguards

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr A
Business
Jeddah
May 8, 2014

One of the best hotels in London

I stayed for 7 nights during April and everything was perfect. The staff were too friendly and helpful, nice building, good food, quick and easy check in and out and accurate billing. On the other hand, the menu at the restaurant and the in-room dining is poor and the hotel needs to improve it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Royal Horseguards

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Usually don't complain
Couples
Chicago, IL
May 7, 2014

Terrible Managment!

It was our first trip to Europe and I planned on staying in London for a few day before going to Paris to propose to my now fiancé. We booked this hotel based on reviews so I must tell you tab out my experience. My sim card was stolen from my phone our second day there. I brought this to the attention of the front desk which they sent up Guest Relations Manager Sasank Theeda. He asked what the issue was and I explained. I also pointed out the fact that our entire room had been rearranged and one suitcase even closed up? He said he look into the issue and get back to me. My fiancé and I talked it over and we didn't feel comfortable with how it was handled nor staying there any longer because of "room rummaging." So I went to the front desk and introduced to Matthias Kussner who was the front office manager and senior supervisor on duty. I then began to repeat my dismay to Matthias and proceeded to insult me and ask to search my room personally. (Mind you I searched for over an hour to find my missing SIM card but noticed to many thing rearranged. Nonetheless, after he found nothing and took our garbage can which we thought was odd he said he'd get back to us. Again, all with no apologies, empathy, and with a whole new level of poor customer service. After this my fiancé was upset (on a very special week ) and I was extremely insulted. I proceeded to the front desk and checked out a day early to stay elsewhere where my business is valued and I'm treated courteously. After a 20 minute struggle and TONS of attitude Matthias gave us a partial refund which I thought was nice but far to little to late not to mention I pretty much demanded it. On a side not I asked Matthias if it was the hotels policy and procedure to fold and stow items of guests as well as rearranging personal items. I asked to see an employee handbook and at this time he refused and became aggressively frustrated and combative. Where a simple apology and partial refund after hours of being treated like a liar and ridiculed would have saved my business and I would have over looked the missing SIM card. In closing, I travel all the time to many places. I usually stay at 4 and 5 star accommodations because I'm a firm believer in you get what you pay for. You couldn't pay me to stay here. Mathias ruined a special weekend and because we did get engaged I'll have the pleasure of remembering this terrible experience for the rest of my life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Royal Horseguards

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
graham hotel inspector
Couples
sanderstead
Apr 23, 2014

my stay

staff generally very helpful and pleasant. restaurant food very good. set tea looked good to. must come and try it one afternoon. amenity areas are good but service could be a bit slow. bedroom comfortable ,but no wow factor. unfortunately our room was internal facing. because of this it was dark and warm unless you had the air conditioning running. recommend outside facing rooms. also our room had very small wardrobe space . could they pleas put a rail in the second wardrobe of room 517. really good location for tourists. just a few minutes walk from Whitehall Palace , St James Park and Trafalgar Square. even though so near to everything the location is quiet. This is a real 5 star hotel overall but have an outside room and really enjoy your stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

outside room

Review of The Royal Horseguards

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Young Jung
Business
Seoul
Apr 19, 2014

Best & Best

Best location for London Eye, Westminster, Big Ben etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Best location for London Eye, Westminster, Big Ben etc.

Review of The Royal Horseguards

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
78965479658231896374
Couples
Boston
Apr 7, 2014

LOVED THIS HOTEL!

Everything was perfect. Cannot say enough good things about this place. House keeping was lightening fast in the mornings. The room was large with nice amenities. Great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Clarence pub around the corner is a great place to catch a bite and a pint, particularly if you are arriving late in the evening.

Review of The Royal Horseguards

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jaroid
Couples
Ohio, USA
Feb 5, 2014

Great Location for First Time London Travel

The hotel was nice, but expect them to try and upgrade your room at checkin for an additional fee. We reserved a basic room which was fine for us since we were not planning on being in the room much during our stay. The walls were a bit thin as you could hear the TV's in adjoining rooms if they were turned up loud. If you can, ask for a room that is not right next to the elevators, as you end up hearing people coming and going, talking, etc all night long. We used the room service a few times, and the food was good, but if you can avoid it your wallet will thank you as it is very expensive even for small meals. Your better off running over to the Subway sandwich shop or connivence store by the Embankment Tube station (which is SUPER close). Also, you may want to ask them to empty the minibar out before you take possession of the room. Otherwise be sure to keep an eye on your charges as sometimes they will charge you for minibar items by "accident". We had this happen, but all I had to do was email them and they removed the charges. You would be better off not using the express checkout and actually checking your bill before you leave. Overall the location of this hotel and the value you got for it was worth it. Its proximity to the Tube station was fantastic and made taking quick trips to other areas a breeze. From the hotel to Heathrow it was only about an hours ride on the Tube. My final thought is, avoid their hotel restaurant 1TwentyOne2, it is absolutely not worth the price of the food. Avoid it at ALL COSTS!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Great meals at the Tea House Theatre about 1.6 miles away. It's not a bad walk if the weather is nice, or you can take the tube or catch a short ride there. Very affordable and great food. Breakfast served all day! Oh, and really good tea to boot!

Back to menu Return to top