$251 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

The Royal Horseguards

5 stars
View map of 2 Whitehall Court, Whitehall, London, SW1A 2EJ

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Royal Horseguards

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Royal Horseguards

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
78965479658231896374
Business
Boston
Apr 7, 2014

LOVED THIS HOTEL!

Everything was perfect. Cannot say enough good things about this place. House keeping was lightening fast in the mornings. The room was large with nice amenities. Great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Clarence pub around the corner is a great place to catch a bite and a pint, particularly if you are arriving late in the evening.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Horseguards

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lynn in VT
Business
Vermont
Feb 23, 2014

First visit to London

We stayed 4 nights there. The personnel is very friendly and makes you feel at home. The hotel overall is fantastic and the location very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

We loved Boroughs Market on the South side, what a great place to have lunch, and a very area to visit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Horseguards

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jaroid
Business
Ohio, USA
Feb 5, 2014

Great Location for First Time London Travel

The hotel was nice, but expect them to try and upgrade your room at checkin for an additional fee. We reserved a basic room which was fine for us since we were not planning on being in the room much during our stay. The walls were a bit thin as you could hear the TV's in adjoining rooms if they were turned up loud. If you can, ask for a room that is not right next to the elevators, as you end up hearing people coming and going, talking, etc all night long. We used the room service a few times, and the food was good, but if you can avoid it your wallet will thank you as it is very expensive even for small meals. Your better off running over to the Subway sandwich shop or connivence store by the Embankment Tube station (which is SUPER close). Also, you may want to ask them to empty the minibar out before you take possession of the room. Otherwise be sure to keep an eye on your charges as sometimes they will charge you for minibar items by "accident". We had this happen, but all I had to do was email them and they removed the charges. You would be better off not using the express checkout and actually checking your bill before you leave. Overall the location of this hotel and the value you got for it was worth it. Its proximity to the Tube station was fantastic and made taking quick trips to other areas a breeze. From the hotel to Heathrow it was only about an hours ride on the Tube. My final thought is, avoid their hotel restaurant 1TwentyOne2, it is absolutely not worth the price of the food. Avoid it at ALL COSTS!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Great meals at the Tea House Theatre about 1.6 miles away. It's not a bad walk if the weather is nice, or you can take the tube or catch a short ride there. Very affordable and great food. Breakfast served all day! Oh, and really good tea to boot!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Horseguards

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
1st Trip to London
Business
San Antonio
Dec 1, 2013

Perfect Location

Everything about this hotel was wonderful, and the location made walking to major attractions easy. Underground stations and a river bus pier were right around the corner, making access to all areas easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Horseguards

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DM and LA
Business
Seattle, WA
Oct 17, 2013

The hotel stay I always wanted

Fantastic hotel, very "5 star". Robes, well decorated rooms (big for a European hotel), fantastic service and evening turn down service. Sure it was a bit higher than I would normally spend, but for once or twice a year its a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just walk around 2-3 blocks - Jamie Oliver's Italian is just a 5 minute walk and Gordon's wine bar is on the way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Horseguards

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Two plus Two makes 8
Business
Monroe, WA
Oct 3, 2013

Home away from home..

What a great place to stay. All the conveniences that you need. The staff is cordial and willing to help with your needs be it a location of an attraction or something for your room. It is centrally located to just about anything you would like to see. If we do return to London we will certainly consider staying again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to just about everything but if you need transportation, take the bus but be sure to buy an Oyster card available at any of the Underground stations. A five pound deposit and you can load it at anytime..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Horseguards

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sandy P.
Business
Washington, PA
Sep 19, 2013

Great Location for Sightseers!

Easy walking distance to all the sights. Underground stations very near by. Whether it's pleasure or business this is an ideal location at a very comfortable, well-staffed hotel. Our room, overlooking the park and embankment was, well appointed. We would definitely be repeat customers and would recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

For those history buffs, an easy walk to the Cabinet War Rooms, the Horseguards, No. 10, Buckingham Palace, Trafalgar Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Horseguards

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pacekelly
Business
tyler, tx
Sep 12, 2013

wonderful

great amenities, easy to get in and out. Close to food and sites

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Horseguards

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ronald Neal
Business
New Jersey
Jul 25, 2013

A Royal good time

I have been privileged to stay in many places throughout the world and found this to be amongst the very highest top tier ! Thank you for a most pleasant experience. I would return. And I would encourage my family and friends to go as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Horseguards

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NeoArcadian
Business
Florida
Jul 4, 2013

Okay...but too many lapses.

We asked to get into our room early if possible and they said yes, of course.....then forgot about us! Left us sitting in the lobby. We got into our rooms eventually and slept a little, having not slept a wink on the flight over. Next thing we know, an employee is banging on our door so he can put two bottles of beer in the mini bar. The sign on the door said, "Do not disturb." We paid over three hundred dollars a night, and then they charged us $50 a day EACH for ordinary breakfasts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't rely on the hotel doorman to get you a taxi if you're in a rush. Walk a few yards and hail your own cab from a busy street. Cabs are never more than thirty seconds away on most London streets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top