$256 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 4, 2014

The Royal Horseguards

5 stars
2 Whitehall Court, Whitehall, London, SW1A 2EJ
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
63 reviews
Great business stay

Couldn't fault it. Booked a bargain deluxe double which I was expecting to be small - but it wasn't... See full review

  • Liz E
  • Oct 19, 2014
Celebrating Anniversary in London

We were greeted with smiles during the entire stay. The entire staff was the friendliest, Concierge... See full review

  • JanetHenry
  • Oct 12, 2014
Charm, elegance and comfort on the banks of the River Thames

The unique blend of 21st century and Victorian decor makes The Royal Horseguards an attraction in itself. Conveniently located near to some of London's most popular attractions, this charming 5-star hotel is the perfect choice for guests travelling for business or leisure. Features of the hotel include a fitness center and an executive lounge. Guests are provided with an elegant dining experience in the hotel's restaurant, which offers a variety of dishes. The hotel also offers a selection of cocktails, which are served in the Equus Bar.

3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Excellent location, with easy access to London's major attractions, including Trafalgar Square and the River Thames

  • Fully equipped modern fitness center located on-site

  • Wide range of guest services offered, including a limousine service and wireless Internet (fees apply)

The Royal Horseguards Rooms

The Royal Horseguards offers spacious guestrooms and suites, all with elegant decor and furnishings and modern amenities. Rooms consist of Standard Single and Double Rooms, Deluxe Double Rooms, Executive Double Rooms and King Suites. All rooms and suites are equipped with an en-suite bathroom with heated flooring, televisions, a minibar, self-controlled temperature system, complimentary wireless internet and tea and coffee-making facilities. A work desk is included in some rooms for the convenience of business guests. For spectacular panoramic views of London and its attractions, guests can opt for an Executive King Room with View, which offers a spacious en-suite bathroom with extra amenities such as bath products and vanity boxes. King Suites are ideal for guests requiring extra space and offer a separate living room area. Some King Suites offer views of the River Thames. Non-smoking rooms and room with disabled access are available upon request.

Things to Do:
  • Charing Cross Station (located just steps from the Royal Horseguards)

  • Trafalgar Square (0.3 mi/0.4 km)

  • The London Eye (0.4 mi/0.6 km))

  • Houses of Parliament (0.6 mi/0.9 km)

  • Covent Garden (0.6 mi/0.9 km)

  • Buckingham Palace (1 mi/1.6 km)

  • West End (1.6 mi/2.5 km)

Policies and fees
  • No Smoking Rooms/Facilities

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

51.5061 -0.1243
Area served
Whitehall, Westminster and Embankment.
Nearby airports
Heathrow, Gatwick, City Airport, Luton, Stanstead.
Area description
Located on the banks of the River Thames, The Royal Horseguards is adjacent to Embankment Underground Station and a short stroll from Charing Cross and Waterloo Main Line Stations. Centrally located for many of the tourist attractions including the London Eye, Houses of Parliament, Trafalgar Square and Theatre Land.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Royal Horseguards also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Royal Horseguards Rooms

Deluxe Double
Proposing a variety of views over London, the Deluxe Doubles, measuring up to 28sqm/300sq ft offer everything from the tailor made business desks, with all the latest in-room facilities, large wall fixed plasma screens, 3 different voltage sockets to suit the global luxury traveller, IPod docking stations and Bose surround sound system and are all fully Wi-Fi equipped. The En-suite bathroom matches the bedroom perfectly from heated towel rails, heated flooring, vanity boxes and luxurious Elemis beauty products, through to the separate plasma TVs in all bathrooms. Practical home comforts are never far away, from room safes with in built power sockets, casual seating, wide choice of lifestyle magazines, sparkling and still water, one's own Tea/Filter Coffee luxury selection, even iced filled buckets at turndown. Complimentary Wi-Fi for all guests.
Executive Double
Executive bedrooms, many of which are King bedded, measuring up to 34sqm/370 sq ft. Large en-suite bathrooms, many with separate shower stalls, under floor heating, heated towel rails, TVs in bath area or shower stall, vanity boxes and luxurious Elemis Beauty products are ideal for couples, small families and long stay guests. The rooms offer everything from the tailor made business desks, with all the latest in-room facilities, large wall fixed plasma screens, 3 different voltage sockets to suit the global luxury traveller, IPod docking stations+ Bose surround sound system, superbly stocked mini bars, large wall safes with built in power sockets, as well as all being fully Wi-Fi equipped. Complimentary Wi-Fi for all guests.
Executive King River View
Stunning views over the key sites of London. The King bedded bedrooms, with their Egyptian cotton duvets and colourful bed spreads, measure up to 37sqm/400 sq ft. The additional space, including a separate casual seating area, enhances the overall stay experience, whether for work or for relaxation. Large en-suite bathrooms, many with to wash basins, separate shower stall, under floor heating, heated towel rails, TVs in bath area or shower stall, vanity boxes and luxurious Elemis Beauty products are perfect. Complimentary Wi-Fi for all guests.
Suite
The Suites at The Royal Horseguards have been individually designed, to provide a unique and luxurious hotel experience. The bathrooms have separate baths and showers, and are lavishly stocked with luxury toiletries. And with our customary attention to detail. Complimentary Wi-Fi for all guests.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.1 mi
  • London School of Economics: 0.1 mi
  • Port of London: 0.1 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.1 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.1 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.2 mi
  • Nelson's Column: 0.2 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 0.2 mi
  • Canada House Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.2 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.3 mi
  • London Eye: 0.3 mi
  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.1 mi
  • London School of Economics: 0.1 mi
  • Port of London: 0.1 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.1 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.1 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.2 mi
  • Nelson's Column: 0.2 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 0.2 mi
  • Canada House Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.2 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.3 mi
  • London Eye: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Festival Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cabinet War Rooms and Churchill Museum: 0.3 mi
  • London Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Big Ben: 0.4 mi
  • River Thames: 0.4 mi
  • Courtauld Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Hayward Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Palace of Westminster: 0.4 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Army Museum: 0.4 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret: 0.4 mi
  • Transport Museum: 0.4 mi
  • the Strand: 0.4 mi
  • St James's Park: 0.4 mi
  • South Bank: 0.4 mi
  • St. James's Park: 0.4 mi
  • Somerset House: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Waterloo station: 0.5 mi
  • Houses of Parliament: 0.5 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Westminster Abbey Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Westminster Dragoons Museum: 0.5 mi
  • West End: 0.5 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Jewel Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.6 mi

Dining

Equus Bar
The Equus Bar with its eclectic fabrics and decor recreates the gentlemens club atmosphere of the hotels past, and celebrates our rich history with a range of contemporary cocktails named after famous former guests, including the George Bernard Shaw, Lord Kitchener, Winston Churchill and William Gladstone. The Equus Bar menu also includes an extensive selection of premium spirits and non alcoholic cocktails, including our A Bit Bitter, Dalal Delight and Refreshing Romp.
One Twenty One Two
The Royal Horseguards Hotel is home to one of London's most celebrated Restaurants, One Twenty One Two. In commemoration of the hotel's former neighbour, Scotland Yard, this restaurant is named after its universally-famous telephone number, Whitehall 1212. One Twenty One Two attracts discerning gourmands from around the world. With fine wines and exemplary service, One Twenty One Two is contemporary dining at its very best. In recognition of this fact, the restaurant has been awarded two AA Rosettes for the quality of its food, and the care and finesse with which it is prepared.
The Terrace
Our delightful outdoor Terrace provides a secluded haven to enjoy al fresco dining, or simply a quiet drink. Away from the hustle and bustle of London life, the Victorian hotel's exterior provides a stunning backdrop - perfect for watching the sun set over the London skyline. The Terrace at The Royal Horseguards Hotel, London is available for hire all year round, weather permitting, for small groups from as few as 10 people. A perfect spot for a summer barbecue, the Terrace can also be sectioned off as required, making it a most flexible outdoor venue.
The Lounge
Our tranquil and elegant Lounge is situated just off the main lobby and it is the ideal place for one to one business meetings, general get together or a place to relax after a long morning of shopping and sightseeing. Offering comfortable ample seating, this bright and airy space offers a wide array of light snacks and drinks throughout the day. Our exquisite selection of Award winning Afternoon teas, many of them themed to a special or seasonal occasion, are a quintessentially British tradition, served daily and accompanied with a live harpist playing Wednesday to Sunday from 2pm until 6pm . A real indulgent treat, whatever the occasion.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
There are few venues in London as prestigious as One Whitehall Place. Our dedicated meetings and events facilities, adjacent to and connecting with The Royal Horseguards, One Whitehall Place offers you truly palatial space, comfort and atmosphere. With its high ceilings, grand marble staircase, glittering chandeliers and spectacular views over the River Thames and the London Eye, it's a magnificent setting for weddings - four of our rooms are licensed for civil ceremonies - and events demanding a sense of opulence and theatre. Luxury London business & meetings facilities Our largest space is the dramatic Gladstone Library. An extravagant Victorian ballroom retaining a wealth of unique original features, which can accommodate up to 250 guests. We also have several large Suites, plus further meeting and event rooms suitable for board and team meetings, training sessions, presentations, interviews and private dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (63)

Ratings and reviews for The Royal Horseguards

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Royal Horseguards

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lynn in VT
Business
Vermont
Feb 23, 2014

First visit to London

We stayed 4 nights there. The personnel is very friendly and makes you feel at home. The hotel overall is fantastic and the location very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

We loved Boroughs Market on the South side, what a great place to have lunch, and a very area to visit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Horseguards

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jaroid
Business
Ohio, USA
Feb 5, 2014

Great Location for First Time London Travel

The hotel was nice, but expect them to try and upgrade your room at checkin for an additional fee. We reserved a basic room which was fine for us since we were not planning on being in the room much during our stay. The walls were a bit thin as you could hear the TV's in adjoining rooms if they were turned up loud. If you can, ask for a room that is not right next to the elevators, as you end up hearing people coming and going, talking, etc all night long. We used the room service a few times, and the food was good, but if you can avoid it your wallet will thank you as it is very expensive even for small meals. Your better off running over to the Subway sandwich shop or connivence store by the Embankment Tube station (which is SUPER close). Also, you may want to ask them to empty the minibar out before you take possession of the room. Otherwise be sure to keep an eye on your charges as sometimes they will charge you for minibar items by "accident". We had this happen, but all I had to do was email them and they removed the charges. You would be better off not using the express checkout and actually checking your bill before you leave. Overall the location of this hotel and the value you got for it was worth it. Its proximity to the Tube station was fantastic and made taking quick trips to other areas a breeze. From the hotel to Heathrow it was only about an hours ride on the Tube. My final thought is, avoid their hotel restaurant 1TwentyOne2, it is absolutely not worth the price of the food. Avoid it at ALL COSTS!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Great meals at the Tea House Theatre about 1.6 miles away. It's not a bad walk if the weather is nice, or you can take the tube or catch a short ride there. Very affordable and great food. Breakfast served all day! Oh, and really good tea to boot!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Horseguards

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
1st Trip to London
Business
San Antonio
Dec 1, 2013

Perfect Location

Everything about this hotel was wonderful, and the location made walking to major attractions easy. Underground stations and a river bus pier were right around the corner, making access to all areas easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Horseguards

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DM and LA
Business
Seattle, WA
Oct 17, 2013

The hotel stay I always wanted

Fantastic hotel, very "5 star". Robes, well decorated rooms (big for a European hotel), fantastic service and evening turn down service. Sure it was a bit higher than I would normally spend, but for once or twice a year its a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just walk around 2-3 blocks - Jamie Oliver's Italian is just a 5 minute walk and Gordon's wine bar is on the way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Horseguards

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Two plus Two makes 8
Business
Monroe, WA
Oct 3, 2013

Home away from home..

What a great place to stay. All the conveniences that you need. The staff is cordial and willing to help with your needs be it a location of an attraction or something for your room. It is centrally located to just about anything you would like to see. If we do return to London we will certainly consider staying again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to just about everything but if you need transportation, take the bus but be sure to buy an Oyster card available at any of the Underground stations. A five pound deposit and you can load it at anytime..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Horseguards

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sandy P.
Business
Washington, PA
Sep 19, 2013

Great Location for Sightseers!

Easy walking distance to all the sights. Underground stations very near by. Whether it's pleasure or business this is an ideal location at a very comfortable, well-staffed hotel. Our room, overlooking the park and embankment was, well appointed. We would definitely be repeat customers and would recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

For those history buffs, an easy walk to the Cabinet War Rooms, the Horseguards, No. 10, Buckingham Palace, Trafalgar Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Horseguards

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pacekelly
Business
tyler, tx
Sep 12, 2013

wonderful

great amenities, easy to get in and out. Close to food and sites

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Horseguards

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ronald Neal
Business
New Jersey
Jul 25, 2013

A Royal good time

I have been privileged to stay in many places throughout the world and found this to be amongst the very highest top tier ! Thank you for a most pleasant experience. I would return. And I would encourage my family and friends to go as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Horseguards

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NeoArcadian
Business
Florida
Jul 4, 2013

Okay...but too many lapses.

We asked to get into our room early if possible and they said yes, of course.....then forgot about us! Left us sitting in the lobby. We got into our rooms eventually and slept a little, having not slept a wink on the flight over. Next thing we know, an employee is banging on our door so he can put two bottles of beer in the mini bar. The sign on the door said, "Do not disturb." We paid over three hundred dollars a night, and then they charged us $50 a day EACH for ordinary breakfasts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't rely on the hotel doorman to get you a taxi if you're in a rush. Walk a few yards and hail your own cab from a busy street. Cabs are never more than thirty seconds away on most London streets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Horseguards

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JohnTchtv
Business
New York City, NY
Jun 26, 2013

Fabulous hotel near everything!

I stayed at the Horseguards for three nights and found the Hotel to be perfect in almost every way. The staff was very attentive and polite. The only issue I had was that the American power outlet wasn't working, and they were not able to fix it during my stay. I purchased an adapter (which I'll use on other trips) so I'm okay with this. The location was perfect as well - adjacent to Trifalgur Square, and a 5 minute walk from Westminster.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the Embankment underground stop (minutes from the hotel) for access to most of the main lines.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top