$164 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 18, 2015 Check-out: Jan 20, 2015

The Rembrandt Hotel

4 stars
11 Thurloe Place, London, SW7 2RS
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
40 reviews
Perfect Location

I'm so pleased I chose to stay in this hotel. The location was perfectly accessible to anywhere you... See full review

  • Dimitry33
  • Sep 11, 2014
Nice location in London for the museums and buses.

The staff at the Rembrandt was friendly and helpful from the minute we arrived. The full English... See full review

  • msdeb21
  • Jul 6, 2014
Style, comfort and top quality service in Knightsbridge
The Rembrandt, Knightsbridge provides guests with a full and sumptuous taste of Edwardian style, with grand architecture and exquisite fittings complementing its range of quality modern services and amenities. The Rembrandt, Knightsbridge is well situated for access to the top sights in the city of London, with some of the best museums being close at hand and easily reached on foot. The hotel itself is home to its own selection of attractions, with a top class lounge bar and a full restaurant.
3 Reasons To Stay
 

  • Excellent central London location
  • Elegant and ornate Edwardian features
  • 24-hour room service, stylish lounge bar and full restaurant
The Rembrandt Hotel Rooms
Rooms at the Rembrandt, Knightsbridge put guests right at the heart of the city of London, with easy access to many of the top tourist attractions and historic monuments. Fine furnishings and ornate decorations greet guests at the hotel, and rooms are fully equipped with modern amenities to meet the needs of each visitor. Free wireless Internet access is also available and interactive television services are provided at the push of a button. Rooms combine fine luxury with peace of mind, as there are extensive security features to make every stay in London as safe as it is comfortable. Every room has an individual flavor and top-class service makes guests feel welcome and at ease in the center of the city. Other facilities include direct access to the hotel fitness center, indoor pool and health club, which only add to the enjoyment of a stay in one of the most famous cities in the world.


Things To Do

  • Victoria and Albert Museum (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Natural History Museum (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Harrods in Knightsbridge (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Buckingham Palace (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • The London Eye (2.6 mi/4.2 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Rembrandt Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Rembrandt Hotel Rooms

SUPERIOR - TWIN
Superior room with two twin beds, approx 20 Sq Meters Ensuite air-conditioned-internet access-desk. Each room has two twin beds with comfortable duvet, ensuite bathroom, hospitality tray, mini bar, ironing centre, hairdryer, pay movies, satellite television and safe. For the business traveler there is a desk and direct dial telephone. Most of these rooms have been recently refurbished.
EXECUTIVE - DOUBLE
Executive room with one double bed (150cm wide), approx 20 square meters. Ensuite air-conditioned, internet access, desk. Each room has an ensuite bathroom, most feature a spa bath (subject to availability), independently controlled air-conditioning, comfortable duvets, hospitality tray, mini bar, bathrobe, ironing centre, hairdryer, pay movies, satellite television and a safety deposit box. For the business traveler there is ample desk space, direct dial telephone and separate dial up connection port for internet access. For the leisure traveler there is additional space and a seating area. Some rooms feature views of the Victoria and Albert Museum.
EXECUTIVE - TWIN
Executive room with two twin beds, approx 25 square meters Ensuite air-conditioned, internet access, desk. Each room has two twin beds with an ensuite bathroom, most feature a spa bath (subject to availability), independently controlled air-conditioning, hospitality tray, mini bar, bathrobe, ironing centre, hairdryer, pay movies, satellite television and a safety deposit box. For the business traveler there is ample desk space, direct dial telephone and separate dial up connection port for internet access. For the leisure traveler there is additional space, and seating area. Some rooms feature views of the Victoria and Albert Museum.
EXECUTIVE - KING
Executive room with a king sized bed (180cm wide), approx 25 square meters. Each room has an ensuite bathroom, most feature a spa bath (subject to availability), independently controlled air-conditioning, hospitality tray, mini bar, bathrobe, ironing centre, hairdryer, pay movies, satellite television and a safety deposit box. For the business traveler there is ample desk space, direct dial telephone and separate dial up connection port for internet access. For the leisure traveler there is additional space and seating area. Some rooms feature views of the Victoria and Albert Museum.
SUPERIOR - DOUBLE
Superior room with one double bed (150cm wide). Approx 20 Sq Meters Ensuite air-conditioned-internet access-desk. Each room has a slightly larger than normal double bed with comfortable duvet, ensuite bathroom, hospitality tray, mini bar, ironing centre, hairdryer, mini bar, pay movies, satellite television and safe. For the business traveler there is a desk and direct dial telephone. Most of these rooms have been recently refurbished.

Amenities

  • Free full breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Free full breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • National Art Library: 0 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.2 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.2 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.4 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.4 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Harrods: 0.4 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.5 mi
  • Royal Institute of British Architects Collections: 0.6 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 0.6 mi
  • National Art Library: 0 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.2 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.2 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.4 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.4 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Harrods: 0.4 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.5 mi
  • Royal Institute of British Architects Collections: 0.6 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 0.6 mi
  • King's Road: 0.6 mi
  • Saatchi Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Sloane Square: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Hospital Chelsea Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 0.9 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 1 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1 mi
  • Couper Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 1.1 mi
  • Victoria Place Shopping Centre : 1.1 mi
  • St. Ann's Shopping Centre : 1.1 mi
  • Park Lane: 1.1 mi
  • City of Westminster: 1.1 mi
  • Royal Mews: 1.1 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Victoria station: 1.2 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.2 mi
  • Victoria Palace Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Buckingham Palace: 1.3 mi
  • Marble Arch: 1.3 mi
  • Stamford Bridge: 1.3 mi
  • Green Park: 1.3 mi
  • Cardinal Place : 1.4 mi
  • Lambeth Palace: 1.4 mi
  • Queensway: 1.4 mi
  • Queen`s Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Selfridges: 1.5 mi
  • Piccadilly: 1.5 mi

Dining

Palette Restaurant
An extensive breakfast buffet is provided every day offering a wide variety of options. Lunch and dinner are a variety of seasonally inspired dishes.
1606 Lounge Bar
A contemporary and stylish lounge bar with sultry lighting, luxurious sofas and a sophisticated choice of drinks. Unobtrusive table service is provided throughout each day. Enjoy a coffee in the morning, afternoon tea between three and five or a glass of champagne or two in the evening.
Room Service
24 hour room service is also available.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Rembrandt is an outstanding Knightsbridge conference and meeting venue, the flexibility of the rooms make it an ideal choice for Knightsbridge conferences, business meetings, training and dinner dances. The hotel offers six fully air conditioned conference rooms which all have natural daylight and a private lobby area. A number of syndicate rooms are also available. 6 air conditioned conference rooms with natural daylight. air conditioned syndicate rooms with natural daylight. Free wireless broadband in all meeting rooms. 1 air conditioned boardroom. Private conference lobby. Business services and full AV equipment available. Can accommodate conferences from 2 to 200 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for The Rembrandt Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Rembrandt Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Porter
Business
Dublin
Jul 7, 2012

Better places to stay

Location is lovely but very poor service. Wouldn't recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

El Gaucho Steak House

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Rembrandt Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 12, 2009

Rembrandt Hotel London

The rooms are really not very clean looking although the bathrooms are not bad. But it is really small. It is a hotel only good for a night if you are just passing by London or last minute reservations. The carpet is really dirty makes you feel not comfortable in the room. They have a pool but they have a charge for the hotel guest. This really suprised me because there is no mention of it in the internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bombay Restaurant is pretty good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Rembrandt Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Boston Jack
Business
Boston
Oct 12, 2011

Great Location; Room way too small.

Pros: Best feature: Ideal location in London. Breakfast included. Cons: Room was way too small by any standard - double bed with one side against a wall! Although a request was made and acknowledged days earlier for early arrival (overnight flight and medical requirements), our request was ignored at check-in. Extra cost for internet access,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Research the Oyster Card before your trip so you'll be prepared for what you really need.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Rembrandt Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Berry S.
Business
Kalamazoo,MI
May 29, 2013

noisy

I thought the location of the hotel was great. The breakfast was very good too. My ony complaint is that the room was a bit noisy. One could hear doors slamming in the halls and the next door guest noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Victoria and Albert Museum, Harrod;s , and the Kensington Underground station close by

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Rembrandt Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jet lagged in Seattle
Business
Seattle
Sep 22, 2009

A good choice for Knightsbridge

Stayed here overnight before flying home to the US. Decent price and convenient location when arriving from Gatwick and departing from Heathrow but it's not my favorite location. Too much traffic and not that great for restaurants, coffee houses, or picking up necessities. Reasonably comfortable and reasonably attractive, good location for Kensington/ Knightsbridge (V&A, Harrods, etc.) but did not compare well on service and price to other hotels I used on this trip, including a Grange hotel in London. Reception staff were spectacularly perfunctory at check in, giving a first impression that was impersonal at best. Slightly warmer upon check out, but not much. However, when I stopped by to ask a question, it was handled cheerfully and well. So - hit or miss on reception. Concierge was courteous and helpful when I left bags after checking out. The single room was small as expected for London, with a hideous interior courtyard "view". A couple of the amenities mentioned by Orbitz were missing - bathrobe and "hospitality tray." Couldn't make a cup of coffee or tea, let alone find a biscuit. Far less expensive hotels are routinely more generous in this respect. I feel Orbitz and the hotel should communicate better on these points. I also think 1 bath towel and 1 hand towel is a bit chintzy even for a single room. Would have been nice to have a dry towel in the morning or one to dry my hair with. The daily internet charges are outrageous. Here again, less expensive hotels may treat their guests better and apparently are not looking for a revenue stream at every turn. Breakfast almost made up for the above quibbles. The restaurant staff were fine. The restaurant is good sized and the tables are spread out which makes dining alone pleasant. The buffet is was generous, of good quality, and provided all the ingredients of a full English breakfast as well as continental items. I would stay here again if I felt I was getting a good deal and particularly wanted to visit the museums in Kensington or to shop in Knightsbridge. Otherwise, probably not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Natural History Museum, Victoria & Albert Museum

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Rembrandt Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wombleton
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 9, 2014

OK price, good location, chilly reception - Spa basically inaccesible

Not a bad deal for the most part, but we found the reception desk workers a bit gruff- the place seems understaffed. The doorman was nice as was the concierge but they were overworked. It took over thirty minutes to get a baggage cart to our room when we were leaving for the airport- barely made it! We were traveling with an infant and the three times we attempted to use the pool during our stay we could not get in (twice they were hosting swimming classes and the other time was after 6m- no kids). The pool (even with an additional admission charge) was a big reason we selected the hotel- to give our kid something fun and mellow to do while staying in the busy, big city. So the fact we did not get him a swim was irritating to say the least. No fan in our bathroom so it fogged up to the point that we were getting ready to go out still wet, wiping the mirror etc. Also the front entrance was under construction and messy looking. We were charged 32 pounds (over $50) to make one five minute toll-free phone call to our bank in America. This place looks great in theory but in reality, it's not any real bargain whatsoever. We're returning to London in three weeks and will try somewhere else, despite this being in a really convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Rembrandt Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TMA12
Business
Columbus, OH, USA
Jan 3, 2012

London England for New Years

GreatLlocation with very helpful staff. Breakfast is a great deal in London and is a full English breakfast. Free wireless internet inthe lobby with cable internet free in the rooms. Would highly recommend this hotel. TMA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Rembrandt Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jonasgbg
Business
Sweden
Apr 14, 2012

Good location and friendly staff

The location doesn't get much better than this. Unfortunately, the seat of the toilet was in much need of repair, but that was about the only negative I found my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The gym next to the hotel has good prices for guests, more than 50% off the normal entrance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Rembrandt Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave and Lorena
Business
Cupertino, California
Oct 30, 2012

Comfy and Classy Hotel, Perfect Location

We found the Rembrandt Hotel to be comfortable, clean, and even modestly classy. The staff were superb, they made us feel like we were staying in the Ritz Carlton. The location is amazing for a tourist, right across from the Victoria & Albert museum, Natural History museum, Kensington Park, a short walk to Harrod's, and too much more to list. The South Kensington tube station is right down the street. There are plenty of very good restaurants within a few minutes walk. It is hard to criticize the hotel, we had minor problem with the air conditioning which the staff fixed the next day. The included breakfast was a bit dull, although quite plentiful. These are minor criticisms though. Frequent tourists in the UK and continental Europe know hotel experiences can be "interesting" to say the least, but we would recommend the Rembrandt to anyone. And the internet price we got was less than we expected for downtown London. All in all, a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Le Pain Quotidien cafe is an amazing breakfast spot - the best coffee and bakery we have every experienced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Rembrandt Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Retired
Business
UK
May 2, 2013

Comfortable and Hotel very convenient for central London.

The Hotel was comfortable and the staff helpful and attentive. The air conditioning in the room was faulty being very hot for two days and then cold air only for the next two days. The matter was reported on day one and with more concern on day three. A separate heater was provided on day three but no feed back as to what action had or was being taken to repair the problem. This was disappointing and marred an otherwise enjoyable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top