$194 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 25, 2014 Check-out: Jul 26, 2014

The Montcalm At The Brewery London City

5 stars
52 Chiswell Street, London, EC1Y 4SD
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
8 reviews
Fantastic!

Great hotel, great staff and I actually think it's fantastic value for money compared to other... See full review

  • Becca15273849
  • May 28, 2014
Weekend in London

Our stay at The Montcalm was just wonderful from the moment we arrived to when we collected our... See full review

  • Paula A T
  • Feb 16, 2014
Sleek, chic and contemporary, The Montcalm at the Brewery London City presents a completely new experience in the heart of The Barbican, London City. The hotel accents luxurious comfort and offers a superb choice of lavish accommodation, whilst preserving heritage values. The bedrooms are tastefully designed with stylish en-suite bathrooms complete with rain showers and accented with luxury toiletries. Up-to-the-minute technology for communication and entertainment includes high-speed wired and wireless Internet access, Telephone with voice-mail, ipod docking station plus a selection of 40 international satellite television channels. Hotel's luxury suites are characterized by a loving attention to detail to make your stay an experience you'll always remember. The Jugged Hare Pub features a classic yet modern style in a truly relaxing atmosphere.Featuring Heritage ales and a modern wine selection, hotel's stylish destination pub is the perfect place for both the city business person and the Hotel guest to relax with their favorite drink and enjoy a selection of savory delights.Quintessentially English Afternoon Tea is available throughout hotel's lounges where you can enjoy specialty teas, herbal infusions and a selection of scrumptious pastries.

Hotel Map

51.5208 -0.0901
Area served
London.
Nearby airports
By Railway: Take the Heathrow Express train to Paddington Station. Change for the Hammersmith and City Line or the Circle Line to Barbican station and walk for 7 minutes or walk for 9 minutes to the Hotel.
Area description
Barbican station on the Hammersmith and City Line, Circle Line and the Metropolitan Line and Moorgate station on the Northern Line, Hammersmith and City Line, Circle Line, Metropolitan Line and National Rail are the closest underground stations which are less than 5 minutes to the hotel. Alternatively, Liverpool Street station (Central Line, Hammersmith and City Line, Circle Line, Metropolitan Line and National Rail) and Old Street station (Northern Line) are within walking distance to the hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Montcalm At The Brewery London City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

The Montcalm At The Brewery London City Rooms

Executive Double
The City Deluxe Double Rooms are spacious and luxurious, designed to reflect the elegance of The Montcalm At The Brewery London City. They offer super comfortable UK king-sized beds for the ultimate sleep experience, Marble Bathroom with luxurious rain showers and bespoke toiletries.
Club Double
Spoil yourself in one of hotel's spacious City Club Rooms, elegantly designed with complimentary access to Club Lounge. These rooms are lavishly furnished with super comfortable bed, hand-made woolen carpets, marble bathrooms, luxury rain shower feature with bespoke toiletries.
Superior Double
The City Double Rooms are beautifully designed with a touch of luxury and furnished with a breathtaking range of facilities to make your stay comfortable. These rooms are beautifully appointed and perfectly equipped for the ultimate hotel experience.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Barbican Art Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Guildhall School of Music and Drama: 0.1 mi
  • Trinity College of Music: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of London: 0.3 mi
  • Clockmakers' Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of London Docklands: 0.4 mi
  • Barbican: 0.4 mi
  • Liverpool Street Station: 0.4 mi
  • Broadgate Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Tower 42: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of England: 0.5 mi
  • St Bartholomew's Hospital Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Fusiliers Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of the Order of St John: 0.5 mi
  • Barbican Art Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Guildhall School of Music and Drama: 0.1 mi
  • Trinity College of Music: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of London: 0.3 mi
  • Clockmakers' Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of London Docklands: 0.4 mi
  • Barbican: 0.4 mi
  • Liverpool Street Station: 0.4 mi
  • Broadgate Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Tower 42: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of England: 0.5 mi
  • St Bartholomew's Hospital Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Fusiliers Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of the Order of St John: 0.5 mi
  • Shoreditch: 0.6 mi
  • the Gherkin: 0.6 mi
  • Old Bailey: 0.6 mi
  • St. Pauls Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Farringdon: 0.6 mi
  • City University London: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Immigration and Diversity: 0.8 mi
  • Women's Library: 0.8 mi
  • Fleet Street: 0.8 mi
  • Millennium Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Clerkenwell: 0.9 mi
  • Sadler's Wells Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Clink Prison Museum: 1 mi
  • Tate Modern: 1 mi
  • British Postal Museum and Archive: 1 mi
  • Rose Theatre Exhibition: 1 mi
  • Aldgate: 1 mi
  • Tower Hill: 1 mi
  • Southwark Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Kenwood House: 1 mi
  • Temple church: 1 mi
  • HMS Belfast: 1 mi
  • Tower of London: 1.1 mi
  • London Bridge Station: 1.1 mi
  • Winston Churchill's Britain At War Experience: 1.1 mi
  • London Dungeon: 1.1 mi
  • Islington Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Whitechapel Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Twinings Museum: 1.1 mi
  • London Astoria: 1.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (8)

Ratings and reviews for The Montcalm At The Brewery London City

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 8
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Montcalm At The Brewery London City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Becca15273849
Cambridge, England
May 28, 2014

Fantastic!

Great hotel, great staff and I actually think it's fantastic value for money compared to other London 5* hotels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a lovely cote just across the road for breakfast in the morning!

Review of The Montcalm At The Brewery London City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChrisHN
NYC
Apr 16, 2014

Upscale stylish with extraordinary staff

Two small comments: room was small and the lighting operations too complicated. Despite those minor items had great time - good location, comfortable bed, one of the best staffs I've ever had the pleasure of welcoming us at any hotel globally. The Jugged Hare, their pub/restaurant, was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Montcalm At The Brewery London City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paula A T
Staffs
Feb 16, 2014

Weekend in London

Our stay at The Montcalm was just wonderful from the moment we arrived to when we collected our luggage. The Clubrooms were spacious, warm and very comfortable. The use of the club room was fabulous for breakfast and in the evening before we went out. Breakfast in the Jugged Hare was amazing. The staff at the hotel were genuinely welcoming and courteous, nothing was too much trouble. Next time I'm in London, will definitely rebook. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Montcalm At The Brewery London City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kalide
San Francisco
Dec 31, 2013

Lovely, boutique style classy hotel in a good city location

This is a lovely hotel. The location is right across from the Barbican center. The building is a converted brewery so lots of corridors to get to your room, but the building is magnificent. Being a former brewery, its fitting that the hotel has an adjoining pub which serves independent ales and has superb food. Its high end classic british with a modern twist. I have to say overall, food in London has improved out of sight from decade ago - and the Jugged Hare s up there with the best. Breakfast was nice too - the hotel ran out of room in the Club area so we were treated to a breakfast in the pub/restaurant downstairs. Very elegant and great service. The hotel rooms are very nice - firm but comfy beds, well appointed bathroom and the Club Room we had was plenty big enough and on the larger side for a London hotel. Transport is easy - Moorgate Tube is a 5 minute walk, and Barbican Tube is about 3 minutes. This was my second stay - first was on business, the second time with my wife. The Montcalm made for an elegant end to our week in London. I would stay again, especially as we got an excellent rate. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Farringdon too which is a great spot for clubs, pubs and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Tip - see if you can pick up a last minute ticket in the returns counter at the Barbican. We managed to pick up fantastic seats to Richard II with David Tennant - an excellent Shakespeare production.

Review of The Montcalm At The Brewery London City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DeeM
Dublin
Apr 30, 2013

Great escape!

Arrived rather flustered as got lost from nearby Moorgate Underground! Staff couldn't be nicer, visually a beautiful hotel, the luxury fairly screamed "look at me!" We had occasion to need help with the bath taps at midnight & the concierge did the work himself! We did have food & drinks in the lounge ... rather shocked at the price (even if was both delicious and visually pleasing!) the location is quiet during the weekend as its the "business end" of town I'll consider going back on my next London visit & have already recommended it to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Montcalm At The Brewery London City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raveh
Business
Tel Aviv Israel
Nov 6, 2012

Great for business travellers

Nice, comfortable rooms with free wifi and fresh fruit. Getting to the room may require a map as the old building is built like a maze, but this is part of the experience. The gym could be seriously improved (even a workout bench would be an important addition).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Jugged Hare pub, just downstairs.

Review of The Montcalm At The Brewery London City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London
Jul 20, 2012

The best one

Love their free facilities of WiFi, English breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Montcalm At The Brewery London City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grateful in illinois
Business
Illinois
May 23, 2012

Great place but staff make it exceptional

I stayed here on a recent business trip and was very pleased with the hotel. It was very comfortable and had good pubs just down the street. I was extremely pleased with the concierge and staff however as I left an item behind upon checkout and they were incredibly helpful in securing it and sending it back to me in the US. Very happy with their assistance and will stay here again if I have the chance!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top