$309 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 19, 2014 Check-out: Oct 20, 2014

The Montague on the Gardens Hotel London

4 stars
15, Montague Street, London, WC1B 5BJ
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
13 reviews
Excellent stay

Excellent stay. Small room as is the case in central London, but very comfortable. The Concierge... See full review

  • Maggio soleggiato
  • May 21, 2014
Wonderful as Always

This is my third time staying at The Montague on The Gardens. As always the staff were welcoming... See full review

  • kittykitty
  • Oct 8, 2013
Timeless glamour with a modern flavor in London
Entering the hotel feels like stepping into an old movie where whitewashed walls and old English-style streetlights adorn the entrance. The Montague on the Gardens highlights grandeur with royal reds and golden fixtures in the lobby. Guests enjoy the seclusion and ambience of the hotel’s private gardens, or indulge in afternoon tea served in the restaurant. Delicious cocktails are served on the Cigar Terrace, and guests watch the Wood Deck transform into a wintry wonderland during the Christmas season. 
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Recipient of the Award of Excellence for high-quality afternoon tea service
  • Located next to The British Museum and many other London attractions
  • Beautiful secluded gardens and terraces
The Montague on the Gardens Rooms
Modern-style rooms contrast with the traditional style of the entrance and lobby at The Montague on the Gardens. The hotel offers deluxe guest rooms and luxury suites. Calm blue and white hues create a calm, serene atmosphere. Rooms also offer heating and air conditioning systems, 24-hour room service, cable television with on-demand movies, bathrobes, plus tea and coffee-making facilities. Suites include magnificent garden views, king-size beds, mini-bars and CD players. Guests can choose either a Junior suite or Master suite for their stay at The Montague on the Gardens. Both suite types feature sitting areas, bedrooms and stylish marble bathrooms. Internet access is available (fees may apply). 
Things to Do:
  • Bloomsbury Square Gardens (0.2 mi/0.3 km) 
  • Bloomsbury Theater (0.6 mi/1 km) 
  • Foundling Museum (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • The Charles Dickens Museum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Soho (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • The British Museum (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Oxford Street (1.3 mi/2 km)

Hotel Map

51.5205 -0.1263
Area served
London.
Nearby airports
London Heathrow Airport. London Gatwick International Airport.
Area description
The vibrant area of Covent Garden, the shopper's paradise of Oxford Street, Bond Street and the thriving City of London's Financial District, are just minutes away. West End Theatres, Soho, Russell Square & Bloomsbury Square are all within walking distance.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Montague on the Gardens Hotel London also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

The Montague on the Gardens Hotel London Rooms

Single Room
Room offers a single bed, room amenities include air conditioning, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, WIFI and LAN internet access, iron/ironing board, kettle, modem/data port connection, non smoking rooms, pay TV, pay-per-view-movies, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and valet service.
Double/Twin Room
Room offers two single beds or one queen size double bed, room amenities include air conditioning, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, WIFI and LAN internet access, iron/ironing board, kettle, modem/data port connection, non smoking rooms, pay TV, pay-per-view-movies, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and valet service.
King Room
Room offers a king size double bed with an extra bed option, room amenities include air conditioning, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, WIFI and LAN internet access, iron/ironing board, kettle, modem/data port connection, non smoking rooms, pay TV, pay-per-view-movies, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and valet service.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • British Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.1 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.1 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of Education: 0.2 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.2 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.4 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Institute of Archaeology Collections: 0.4 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • University College London: 0.4 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.4 mi
  • British Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.1 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.1 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of Education: 0.2 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.2 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.4 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Institute of Archaeology Collections: 0.4 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • University College London: 0.4 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.4 mi
  • Soho: 0.4 mi
  • University of London: 0.5 mi
  • The Brunswick : 0.5 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Charles Dickens Museum: 0.5 mi
  • West End: 0.5 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 0.6 mi
  • London Astoria: 0.6 mi
  • British Library: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret: 0.6 mi
  • Euston: 0.6 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • British Postal Museum and Archive: 0.6 mi
  • St Pancras railway station: 0.7 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Transport Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Kings Cross-St Pancras station: 0.7 mi
  • Courtauld Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • the Strand: 0.7 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.7 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.7 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.7 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.7 mi
  • Twinings Museum: 0.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The Blue Door Bistro provides a welcoming and informal bistro-style setting, with a menu to match. Light and airy at lunchtime, warm, cosy and candlelit by evening, the room is decorated on three sides with a panoramic view of London circa 1849: together with the rich mahogany panelled walls, effective use of mirrored glass, and contemporary wrought iron wall lights, an ambience rooted in the hotel's location is beautifully achieved. As any true food lover knows, plain and simple is often the mark of excellence, and with fine ingredients properly prepared, seasoned with the freshest of herbs from Chef's kitchen garden, the Blue Door Bistro exemplifies this principle to delicious effect. With a wide range of vegetarian dishes and salads, commended with it's first AA rosette for it's cuisine, you can rely on good honest food and impeccable service. We also make every effort to avoid using any genetically modified foods and insist on only the freshest of ingredients.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (13)

Ratings and reviews for The Montague on the Gardens Hotel London

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 13
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Montague on the Gardens Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christmas in London
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Christmas in London

The Montague is lovely at Christmas-- a smiling staff, festive decorations, and the view on to the beautiful gardens is not to be missed. The hotel decor has a great deal of character, the rooms are very comfortable, and we appreciated the cleanliness of the accommodations. We booked a package, then were asked GBP 10 a night to assure a suite facing towards the back. A small reason for concern: five bar charges, some of them substantial, were made to our room, without our knowledge. They were taken off when we informed the hotel they were not ours, however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Montague on the Gardens Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maggio soleggiato
Columbus, Ohio
May 21, 2014

Excellent stay

Excellent stay. Small room as is the case in central London, but very comfortable. The Concierge staff was particularly helpful as was all of the staff. Would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Montague on the Gardens Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jjki
Naperville, IL
Apr 28, 2014

romantic getaway

Fantatic! The staff was very attentive and the room was very clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Montague on the Gardens Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
aridon99
Business
Palo Alto, CA
Apr 7, 2014

Great location, very central for London

Pros: - Lovely staff, always wonderful & helpful. 5 stars! - Great location next to British Museum, 3 tube stops nearby to choose from. - 2 blocks from Tottenham Court Rd for grocery, coffee, restaurants, Maplin (radio shack equiv). - Bed and pillows were very supportive. - Very good heavy blackout curtains so you can sleep when you want. - AC works reasonably well. - Very quiet street and they even have 2 layers of windows, so noise from the street is never the problem. But... Cons: - The floors squeak horribly. If you're not staying on the top floor, you're guaranteed to be woken by people walking and squeaking above you late night and early morning. You're at their mercy. Stayed here for a week, and couldn't sleep-in once. - Rooms are tiny. You just have a little walk space around the bed. It was hard to find a patch of floor big enough just to do push-ups. There was about 1 foot of space between the tip of the toilet and the tub. Joke. - The elevator call button beeps loudly. If your room is anywhere close to the elevator door, you'll constantly think you left something in the microwave. - The gym is a joke. Just ask them if they can get you a temp pass to a real gym nearby. - Even with the 'room service' lights and signs, maids still knock on every door around 8,9ish. This has a chance of waking you up. Lovely location and hotel. More like 3.5 stars for some of the maintenance they really should be doing and lack of a real gym. At this price point, suppose it's okay for NYC or London, but it would't fly anywhere else in the US. Tip#1: Call them ahead for a private car service from the Airport. It's the same $$ as black cab but much better service and it's usually in a new Mercedes sedan. Tip#2: Don't stay anywhere but the top floor. You're floors could still squeak, but you won't be squeaked upon. Tip#3: Ask to arrange a guest pass to a real gym. Tip#4: Russell Square tube stop is super close just across the little park. Recommended, only for 3rd floor stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Montague on the Gardens Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dbest
Portland, OR
Apr 1, 2014

Great location, nice decor

The room was average size based on US standards and nicely furnished. My room was not set up for convenient access to an AC outlet for charging things. The hallway to the room is very narrow and many swinging doors to go through to get to the room. The location is ideal if you want to be centrally located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

All the shows are about a 15 minute walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Montague on the Gardens Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kittykitty
Sheffield
Oct 8, 2013

Wonderful as Always

This is my third time staying at The Montague on The Gardens. As always the staff were welcoming and friendly. The room was immaculate and this time we got some lovely complementary biscuits. I do think they should include breakfast with the rooms though, i think an additional £20 per person is a little steep when you have already spent £200 on the room. The location of the hotel is brilliant. Walking distance to the Thames, Covent Garden and Soho to name but a few, and the Hotel is located on a quiet street so you get a good nights sleep. What i have found with this hotel is that you can't hear people in the other rooms like you can in some hotels which is great. Overall i love this hotel and will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Montague on the Gardens Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveler HH
Hilton Head Island, SC
Sep 26, 2013

Simply Wonderful!

The Montague was the find of our trip. Adorable hotel with an incredible staff! The food and service were outstanding. Simply the best!!! A five minute walk to the tube.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast in the breakfast room, lunch on the back garden porch, and dinner inside or out was fantastic! After a full day of touring it is wonderful to come home to a fantastic dinner and fantastic staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Montague on the Gardens Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PatriciaLynne
Phoenix, Arizona
Mar 11, 2013

Beautiful Hotel and Great Staff

I love the Montague on the Gardens Hotel. It is on a beautiful side street that is quiet but close to the hustle and bustle. But be warned that even some seasoned cabbies don't recognize its name or location so be prepared to have the specific address available or say "next to the British Museum". The front desk staff is completely delightful and they honestly care about your stay and if everything is to your liking. If you have a little problem such as I did printing a boarding pass, they follow up until you are completely satisfied. This includes the front desk, the concierge, the doormen and management. The big drawback to the Montague on the Gardens is the tiny room. I had a double as I was traveling alone. The front desk pushed me to upgrade to the deluxe double but I was only staying one night so declined. When the bellman brought my suitcase up and asked me where he should put it, I laughed because there was absolutely no space in the room big enough to sit a suitcase. So he put it on the bed and then I had to lug it over to the floor in front of the door and slide it around when I needed to come in or out. Having said that, the room was lovely and the bathroom modern just unfathomably small with no space to walk around or put your bag. The bed was a bit saggy also but the linens were very nice. I would stay again in a heartbeat but only if I chose to spend the extra money on a larger room. It is pricey but I just really like this hotel. Only had breakfast in the restaurant but the dinner menu looks great, again pretty pricey. I recommend it but beware the size of the room. Two people could not have maneuvered in the space of my little double.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Nice and close to London theatre district. Lovely walk if you have the time. Short cab ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Montague on the Gardens Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chickiepoosmom
Queens, NY
Feb 6, 2013

Nice, but small room

Booked this hotel because of the reviews and it was a nice hotel, but as most people stated ... the rooms are SMALL. Overall, a good experience, deferential staff, allowed for an early check-in when our flight was changed by the airline at the last minute, turn down service, etc. That said, by NY standards not as swanky as it is hyped to be. By London standards, a charming, intimate and IDEALLY located hotel. Bottom line: nice hotel, a bit expensive and not really worth the extra money as there are plenty of hotels to choose from, but a sure bet when traveling a long distance and not wanting to take a risk guessing which reviewer is right. Tip: If you aren't happy with the room, ASK for a different one; I was too chicken to ask, though in retrospect, I'm sure they would have accomodated me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Montague on the Gardens Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weary traveler 2013
Business
Palo Alto, CA
Feb 2, 2013

Great hotel in central London

Very nice rooms, excellent bed & shower. Very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Montague on the Gardens Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christmas in London
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Christmas in London

The Montague is lovely at Christmas-- a smiling staff, festive decorations, and the view on to the beautiful gardens is not to be missed. The hotel decor has a great deal of character, the rooms are very comfortable, and we appreciated the cleanliness of the accommodations. We booked a package, then were asked GBP 10 a night to assure a suite facing towards the back. A small reason for concern: five bar charges, some of them substantial, were made to our room, without our knowledge. They were taken off when we informed the hotel they were not ours, however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search