$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

The Mandeville Hotel

4 stars
Mandeville Place, London, W1U 2BE
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
456 reviews
Great Location.

Wonderful stay at the Mandeville. Very close to cafes, shops and restaurants. Walking distance to... See full review

  • 86Jax
  • Jul 14, 2014
Fun for a weekend

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for three days. It was a perfect location--surrounded by many... See full review

  • Kitty Karry All
  • Jul 9, 2014
Personalized service, chic design in an indulgent West End oasis

Luxury meets practical in this stylish West End hotel that's both affordable and full-featured. Lavishly designed rooms are equipped with every modern amenity and indulgence, including a flat-screen LCD television, free Wi-Fi and a telephone-equipped marble bathroom. Each room has been designed by an internationally recognized interior designer, resulting in stylish elegance -- an indulgent oasis in an otherwise fast-paced West End location.

Highlights
  • Highly personalized service
  • Bedrooms designed by internationally renowned interior designers
  • Bond Street shops and galleries within easy walking distance
Rooms

Single, double, and deluxe rooms have been meticulously designed by Andre Avedian, with furniture expertly coordinated by Julian Chichester. Penhaligon bath accessories from London's famous fragrance house and power showers grace Italian-marble bathrooms. Other additions include complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour room service, mini-bar, in-room safe, valet service and voice mail.

Features

Standing in sharp contrast to its bustling West End location, the Mandeville Hotel is a sedate urban sanctuary, a welcoming retreat of stylish comfort that embraces both business and leisure travelers.

Personalized service is a signature focus of the Mandeville's management team, a dedication that's reinforced with its stylish surroundings.

Rooms have been created by internationally renowned interior designers, a commitment to luxury and indulgence that affords visitors a truly pampered experience.

And after a long day of power shopping or corporate wheeling-and-dealing, relax and enjoy a stiff whisky or imaginative cocktail at the on-site deVigne Bar, where a local mixologist will offer home-spun area insights and tips. Or dine in the upscale deVille Restaurant, designed by renowned interior designer Stephen Ryan and featuring contemporary dining options for both lunch and dinner.

Transportation
  • Bond Street and Marble Arch tube stations within walking distance
  • Heathrow and Gatwick Airports served via connections through Bond Street Station
Attractions
  • Regent's Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Bond Street galleries and shops (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • The Wallace Collection (walking distance)
  • Madame Tussaud's (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Hyde Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
Business
  • Conference facilities
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Meeting/banquet facilities
  • 24-hour room service
  • Safe deposit box

The Mandeville Hotel Rooms

Superior Room
The room offers one double bed. With superior space and a large double sized bed, these rooms are the perfect excuse for an extended business stay or that long weekend away you have been waiting for. With design by Andre Avedian and furniture beautifully coordinated by Julian Chichester, every room has been crafted to make you feel as if it is a home from home. The room includes Air conditioning, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Iron/Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.
Deluxe Room
The room offers one double bed. In addition to all the standard facilities Deluxe Doubles combine greater space and luxury whilst giving you that extra deluxe touch. The bathrooms are larger and have been built with the most beautiful Italian marble. Delicious bath accessories from Penhaligon are one of London's most famous fragrance houses and the cosiness of a full length bathrobe and monogrammed slippers. The room includes Air conditioning, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, , Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Iron/Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.
Single Room
The room offers one single bed. The bathrooms have been built with the most beautiful Italian marble. Delicious bath accessories from Penhaligon are one of London's most famous fragrance houses and the cosiness of a full length bathrobe and monogrammed slippers. The room includes Air conditioning, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Iron/Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Mandeville Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

51.5164 -0.1514
Area served
London.
Nearby airports
Heathrow International Airport.
Area description
Located in fashionable Marylebone, within a few minutes of Bond Street and some of London's most exciting shops, art galleries, theatres and bars. The Mandeville Hotel is an excellent choice for your leisure, cultural or corporate stays in London.

Nearby points of interest

  • Wallace Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.2 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.2 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.3 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.3 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.4 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.4 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.4 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.4 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.5 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.5 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.2 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.2 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.3 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.3 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.4 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.4 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.4 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.4 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.5 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.5 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Park Lane: 0.6 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 0.6 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.6 mi
  • Kingly Court : 0.6 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 0.7 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.7 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Piccadilly: 0.8 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • University of London: 0.8 mi
  • London Business School: 0.8 mi
  • Soho: 0.8 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.9 mi
  • University College London: 0.9 mi
  • Green Park: 0.9 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.9 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 0.9 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1 mi
  • Leicester Square: 1 mi
  • Birkbeck: 1 mi
  • West End: 1 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 1 mi

Dining

deVille Restaurant
Designed by world renowned interior designer, Stephen Ryan, deVille Restaurant has been fashioned for those who have a passion for London dining in a relaxed and elegant atmosphere, whilst trying the delicious modern British cuisine devised by our Executive Head Chef. The dcor of the dining room is emphasised by the modern, large patterned, floral wallpaper motif punctuated by theatrical clear Perspex framed paintings and Venetian mask wall lights. Silver, Weimeraner brown and white are the key colours of the stylish deVille Mayfair Restaurant. The food speaks for itself with fresh flavours, exciting combinations and seasonal ingredients. Make sure you leave room for the home-made ice cream...organic and made with no artifical additives or preservatives it is a guilt free treat. Breakfast Monday to Friday from 7.00am to 10.00am Saturday and Sunday from 8.00am to 11.00am Lunch is served between 12.30pm and 3.00pm. Dinner is served between 7.00pm and 11.00pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (456)

Ratings and reviews for The Mandeville Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
456 out of 456
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 14, 2010

Excellent London location, first-class

The staff was very courteous and overall a fine experience. They always ask if there is anything else they can do to assist. You will not find unnecessary extras such as a pool, hot tub, etc. but who needs that when you are visiting a wonderful city and your experience is about town. The rooms are not large, but they are very finely appointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Selfridges on Oxford street, and many streetside dining establishments. Bond tube station is conveniently located nearby.

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV
Apr 14, 2010

Great hotel!

My husband and I stayed 7 nights at this hotel on our first trip to London. We arrived in London on an early morning flight and of course we knew we wouldn't be able to check in right away. We dropped off our luggage and the clerk told us to return in a hour or so and our room would be ready (which was still a few hours earlier than normal check in). We went to get something to eat and when we returned our room was ready. Even though our room was pretty small, we were very comfortable. The only time we spent in the room was at night to sleep so it wasn't a big deal. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. We got a great rate for booking 7 nights and I feel it was an excellent deal for the quality of the room. The lobby was comfortable, I used it every evening to take advantage of their free WiFi in the lobby. Staff was friendly and when I complained that someone was smoking in a room near mine, they took care of it right away (it's a non smoking hotel). The location was outstanding...right next to a lot of restaurants and a couple blocks from Oxford Street which has lots of shopping. The Bond Street Underground station is only a few minutes walk up the street. I don't have any complaints about this hotel. It actually far exceeded my expectations, and I was pleasantly surprised! I would definitely recommend staying here and I would stay here again if I ever decided to visit London again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We enjoyed eating at Pontefract Castle, a pub just a few steps away from the hotel. Great pub food, and a lot cheaper than a lot of restaurants in the area. Fish and chips were delicious!

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
London first timers
Chicago, IL
Jun 21, 2010

EXCELLENT SERVICE, BEYOND EXPECTATIONS!

The service from the staff was excellent. The concierge was unbeatable and helped us in any way possible. They were able to book our London Bridge trip, our open top bus tour, our wax museum tours and more. They were very knowledgeable of the area which was very close to the Bond Street tube station. They even helped us with a problem we had with our electrical outlet converter and wattage adapter. The only slight drawback are the rooms are rather small but who is really in your rooms on a vacation?? I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The only way to travel around London is on the Tube. All you will need to do is purchase an Oyster card for zones 1 and 2 (maybe 3 depending on how far you'll be traveling) and just be able to read the Tube station signs. They are very easy to understand and this saves a large amount of cash compared to taking taxis everywhere.

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DuckDC
Washington, DC, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Second time at the Mandevllie.

Our second stay at the Mandeville. Excellent location and extremely helpful staff. We'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

So close to all the shopping!

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
waynessweetheart
Rancho Mirage, CA
Mar 28, 2010

Very Nice

The whole experience was very nice. We had no suprises. Clean rooms, very friendly and helpful staff. The Bond Street Tube was just a short walk away. There were lots of places to eat nearby and lots of shopping opportunities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We were there to sight see so we purchased an Oyster card in order to ride the Tube and busses. It turned out to be a a great way to have a ticket when you needed it.

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amalgamator
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 15, 2010

Bob's Your Uncle!

Excellent hotel! This hotel will always be my first choice in London. In my opinion, the location is better than the Ritz. The street it's on has excellent restaurants, bars and pubs. It's convenient to shopping on Oxford Street and Regent Street. It's a 5 minute walk to the Bond St station. It was a lovely 20 minute walk to Piccadilly Circus and maybe 25-30 for Buckingham Palace. 10 minutes to Hyde Park and 15 minutes to Regents Park. It's convenient to everything but the area is less congested than the Ritz (near the Green Park station) or anything East of it. Loved it! Loved it! Loved it! Our experience with the hotel staff was not disappointing either. I requested a room with 2 twin beds via e-mail after I had booked a double bed online. They were not able to confirm ahead of time but were accommodating when we arrived. The only one available was on the 1st floor in the rear of the hotel and we were concerned about noise after reading other reviews. He told us if it was a problem to let him know the next morning and he would have other twin rooms available then. Noise was a BIG problem! Not because of the local businesses but because they are doing construction behind the hotel. They moved us to another room without hesitation. The next room was on the second floor in the front of the hotel. I never noticed any noise from any of the local businesses. We were completely happy with it! The only negative thing I would say about the room at all is about the frosted glass door to the bathroom. From a design aspect, it's FABULOUS! Practically it's a little unnerving though. I was there with a girlfriend but I wouldn't be thrilled if it was my husband either. I'm just sayin'... I gave it a "5" for value because we got it for a steal. If I had paid the rack rates, I'm sure that would be a different story. Can't say enough good things about it. We had a great trip and the hotel added to our experience! That doesn't happen very often.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
socon1217
Chicago, IL
Jun 27, 2010

Great Hotel in Wonderful Neighborhood

A wonderful hotel just off of Oxford Street in Central London. The hotel staff is outstanding, particularly the concierge staff who can arrange transport, recommend restaurants and be your personal guide to London. The Mandeville quickly became my London home. Standard rooms are small -- for $30, upgrade to the deluxe room - which is large by London standards. The furnishings are contemporary; the bathrooms are large and beautifully appointed. Don't miss St. Christopher Place around the corner - a great London find... small streets with wonderful shops, restaurants and cafes. And Marylebone High Street is glorious!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not miss St. Christopher Place.

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aly B
Sioux City, IA
Sep 3, 2009

GREAT!!

The upscale location is great for first-timers to London: just a couple blocks to the tube, plus restaurants & shopping all around. The staff was more than friendly and were always available to answer our questions or make recommendations. The rooms are cozy and clean, but I would recommend requesting a room on the street-side. There is a cafe/huka bar in the alley behind the hotel that can be a bit loud for rooms on the first floor. The DeVigne bar is very nice for drinks and they stay open late for hotel guests. Most other pubs/bars within walking distance close around 11 pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out both Regents and Hyde Park. Both are within walking distance of the hotel (maybe 15 minutes). The London Zoo is on the backside of Regents Park & it has performances during the weekends. Hyde Park has a lovely little pond and if you want to see something that is uniquely London, walk by Speaker's Corner on Sunday afternoon.

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis, IN
Jun 23, 2009

The Mandeville Hotel - June 2009

The Mandeville exceeded all of my expectations. The location is perfect - situated very close to Bond Street tube station and the hustle and bustle of Oxford Street (shopping!), but nestled far enough back so that the area was quiet and easy to get around. St Christopher's Place was brilliant - great pubs, restaurants, brasseries, etc. I never wanted to leave that area. The people at the Mandeville were so friendly and always were helpful in finding you a taxi, directions somewhere, or just showing you to your room for the first time or where the bar is. I had a single room which wasn't very big but the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was modern and spotless. The bar is very nice and everyone I encountered was wonderful. I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Lamb & Flag is a great pub just a couple of blocks from the hotel!

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Freehold, New Jersey
Jul 9, 2010

Great Hotel

This hotel is great. It offers a high quality service. The staff is fantastic, they were so helpful,especially the concierge. We stay there for its convenience. It's very near the stores and restaurants. We really enjoyed staying there, we were treated like royalty. The price is just right. I would stay there in my next trip. I would like to thank all these people who make our trip enjoyable. July 10, 2010 Elizabeth Monge

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top