$173 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

The Mandeville Hotel

4 stars
Mandeville Place, London, W1U 2BE
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
262 reviews
Brilliant

Always stay in Marylebone, first time at this hotel- will now be an option to my other favorite hotel! See full review

  • BOC MAN
  • Dec 22, 2014
Great Location.

Wonderful stay at the Mandeville. Very close to cafes, shops and restaurants. Walking distance to... See full review

  • 86Jax
  • Jul 14, 2014
Personalized service, chic design in an indulgent West End oasis

Luxury meets practical in this stylish West End hotel that's both affordable and full-featured. Lavishly designed rooms are equipped with every modern amenity and indulgence, including a flat-screen LCD television, free Wi-Fi and a telephone-equipped marble bathroom. Each room has been designed by an internationally recognized interior designer, resulting in stylish elegance -- an indulgent oasis in an otherwise fast-paced West End location.

Highlights
  • Highly personalized service
  • Bedrooms designed by internationally renowned interior designers
  • Bond Street shops and galleries within easy walking distance
Rooms

Single, double, and deluxe rooms have been meticulously designed by Andre Avedian, with furniture expertly coordinated by Julian Chichester. Penhaligon bath accessories from London's famous fragrance house and power showers grace Italian-marble bathrooms. Other additions include complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour room service, mini-bar, in-room safe, valet service and voice mail.

Features

Standing in sharp contrast to its bustling West End location, the Mandeville Hotel is a sedate urban sanctuary, a welcoming retreat of stylish comfort that embraces both business and leisure travelers.

Personalized service is a signature focus of the Mandeville's management team, a dedication that's reinforced with its stylish surroundings.

Rooms have been created by internationally renowned interior designers, a commitment to luxury and indulgence that affords visitors a truly pampered experience.

And after a long day of power shopping or corporate wheeling-and-dealing, relax and enjoy a stiff whisky or imaginative cocktail at the on-site deVigne Bar, where a local mixologist will offer home-spun area insights and tips. Or dine in the upscale deVille Restaurant, designed by renowned interior designer Stephen Ryan and featuring contemporary dining options for both lunch and dinner.

Transportation
  • Bond Street and Marble Arch tube stations within walking distance
  • Heathrow and Gatwick Airports served via connections through Bond Street Station
Attractions
  • Regent's Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Bond Street galleries and shops (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • The Wallace Collection (walking distance)
  • Madame Tussaud's (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Hyde Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
Business
  • Conference facilities
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Meeting/banquet facilities
  • 24-hour room service
  • Safe deposit box

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Mandeville Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Mandeville Hotel Rooms

Superior Room
The room offers one double bed. With superior space and a large double sized bed, these rooms are the perfect excuse for an extended business stay or that long weekend away you have been waiting for. With design by Andre Avedian and furniture beautifully coordinated by Julian Chichester, every room has been crafted to make you feel as if it is a home from home. The room includes Air conditioning, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Iron/Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.
Deluxe Room
The room offers one double bed. In addition to all the standard facilities Deluxe Doubles combine greater space and luxury whilst giving you that extra deluxe touch. The bathrooms are larger and have been built with the most beautiful Italian marble. Delicious bath accessories from Penhaligon are one of London's most famous fragrance houses and the cosiness of a full length bathrobe and monogrammed slippers. The room includes Air conditioning, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, , Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Iron/Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.
Single Room
The room offers one single bed. The bathrooms have been built with the most beautiful Italian marble. Delicious bath accessories from Penhaligon are one of London's most famous fragrance houses and the cosiness of a full length bathrobe and monogrammed slippers. The room includes Air conditioning, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Iron/Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Wallace Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.2 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.2 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.3 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.3 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.4 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.4 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.4 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.4 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.5 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.5 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.2 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.2 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.3 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.3 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.4 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.4 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.4 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.4 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.5 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.5 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Park Lane: 0.6 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 0.6 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.6 mi
  • Kingly Court : 0.6 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 0.7 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.7 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Piccadilly: 0.8 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • University of London: 0.8 mi
  • London Business School: 0.8 mi
  • Soho: 0.8 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.9 mi
  • University College London: 0.9 mi
  • Green Park: 0.9 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.9 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 0.9 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1 mi
  • Leicester Square: 1 mi
  • Birkbeck: 1 mi
  • West End: 1 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 1 mi

Dining

deVille Restaurant
Designed by world renowned interior designer, Stephen Ryan, deVille Restaurant has been fashioned for those who have a passion for London dining in a relaxed and elegant atmosphere, whilst trying the delicious modern British cuisine devised by our Executive Head Chef. The dcor of the dining room is emphasised by the modern, large patterned, floral wallpaper motif punctuated by theatrical clear Perspex framed paintings and Venetian mask wall lights. Silver, Weimeraner brown and white are the key colours of the stylish deVille Mayfair Restaurant. The food speaks for itself with fresh flavours, exciting combinations and seasonal ingredients. Make sure you leave room for the home-made ice cream...organic and made with no artifical additives or preservatives it is a guilt free treat. Breakfast Monday to Friday from 7.00am to 10.00am Saturday and Sunday from 8.00am to 11.00am Lunch is served between 12.30pm and 3.00pm. Dinner is served between 7.00pm and 11.00pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (262)

Ratings and reviews for The Mandeville Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
262 out of 262
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, VA
Sep 14, 2009

Great Location and reasonable price.

The hotel was in a great location, was clean and many food choices just steps away. Great value... I have been chareged more for much less in London before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of food choices just steps away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Semi traveller
Business
Washington, DC
Sep 14, 2009

Great experience here

Hotel in great location, 5-10 min walk to tube, market, shopping. The location will make you feel like a local Londoner but have access to everything you need. Very helpful and cheery staff, from receptionist to doorman to housecleaning staff. Rooms are tidied 3 times a day and look immaculate. Very comfortable beds. Extra umbrella in the closet for your personal use. The one thing is the TV is a little small, but who's watching TV while touring in London? I did not hear neighbors through the walls or ceiling which I was happy about so it felt very private. The deluxe room has a double bed and 2 showers. Very cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping is a short walk from the hotel, including food halls (Marks & Spencer) to clothes shopping (very good for ladies) and cheap souvenirs. Internet Cafe is on Holles St off of Oxford St, next to John Lewis. Tons of excellent restaurants nearby, I ate very happily on this trip! Try Wagamama (noodle bar), James Rotisserie Cafe (breakfast cafe), Ayoush (African/Moroccan), John Lewis (afternoon tea including sandwiches and desserts for 10 pounds).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shockey Monkey
Business
Charlotte, NC
Feb 15, 2010

First Class

This hotel was absolutely first class. Right from the moment we approached the hotel and our luggage was carried in, and the doorman in top hat and tails greeted us, we felt welcome. The hotel is compact when compared to hotels in the US, but had everything we needed and was extremely comfortable, and spotlessly cleaned twice a day. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are lots of great restaurants within a minutes walk of the hotel. Take St Peters south and you'll find everything from burgers to Moroccan and Indian. Turn left at the Lamb and Flag for Sofra Moroccan, featuring game birds like Quail and Pheasant, or turn right for a great hole in the wall Indian. Or for a good taste of England including a Sunday Roast, stop in at the Pontefract 50 yds from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amalgamator
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 15, 2010

Bob's Your Uncle!

Excellent hotel! This hotel will always be my first choice in London. In my opinion, the location is better than the Ritz. The street it's on has excellent restaurants, bars and pubs. It's convenient to shopping on Oxford Street and Regent Street. It's a 5 minute walk to the Bond St station. It was a lovely 20 minute walk to Piccadilly Circus and maybe 25-30 for Buckingham Palace. 10 minutes to Hyde Park and 15 minutes to Regents Park. It's convenient to everything but the area is less congested than the Ritz (near the Green Park station) or anything East of it. Loved it! Loved it! Loved it! Our experience with the hotel staff was not disappointing either. I requested a room with 2 twin beds via e-mail after I had booked a double bed online. They were not able to confirm ahead of time but were accommodating when we arrived. The only one available was on the 1st floor in the rear of the hotel and we were concerned about noise after reading other reviews. He told us if it was a problem to let him know the next morning and he would have other twin rooms available then. Noise was a BIG problem! Not because of the local businesses but because they are doing construction behind the hotel. They moved us to another room without hesitation. The next room was on the second floor in the front of the hotel. I never noticed any noise from any of the local businesses. We were completely happy with it! The only negative thing I would say about the room at all is about the frosted glass door to the bathroom. From a design aspect, it's FABULOUS! Practically it's a little unnerving though. I was there with a girlfriend but I wouldn't be thrilled if it was my husband either. I'm just sayin'... I gave it a "5" for value because we got it for a steal. If I had paid the rack rates, I'm sure that would be a different story. Can't say enough good things about it. We had a great trip and the hotel added to our experience! That doesn't happen very often.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aly B
Business
Sioux City, IA
Sep 3, 2009

GREAT!!

The upscale location is great for first-timers to London: just a couple blocks to the tube, plus restaurants & shopping all around. The staff was more than friendly and were always available to answer our questions or make recommendations. The rooms are cozy and clean, but I would recommend requesting a room on the street-side. There is a cafe/huka bar in the alley behind the hotel that can be a bit loud for rooms on the first floor. The DeVigne bar is very nice for drinks and they stay open late for hotel guests. Most other pubs/bars within walking distance close around 11 pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out both Regents and Hyde Park. Both are within walking distance of the hotel (maybe 15 minutes). The London Zoo is on the backside of Regents Park & it has performances during the weekends. Hyde Park has a lovely little pond and if you want to see something that is uniquely London, walk by Speaker's Corner on Sunday afternoon.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orland Park IL.
Mar 20, 2011

"OUTSTANDING*

This hotel is amazing, The staff here goes above and beyond any expectations you may have !! I have found my London "Home away from Home" !!! Very Clean, the rooms are bigger than you would think, the food is great (prompt friendly room service) Oxford street is a 2 minute walk , the Tube is the same. There are many dining options within walking distance, pups and unlimited shopping !!! If you're going back to Heathrow, have the concierge arrange a car service for you , only 55pounds and more comfortable than the standard mini cab/taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

St Christophers court is right around the corner with coffee shops and quick food and fine dining , Turkish , Italian , Thai , French .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PHLtraveler
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Oct 2, 2011

Perfect Location in London

The Mandeville Hotel, just a short distance from Paddington Station, was a fantastic place to stay on my recent trip to London. The hotel was clean, the room was a nicely decorated and of typical size for Europe, the staff were friendly (though the concierge wasn't particularly helpful), and the location as great. It is about a 5 minute walk to the Underground (Bond Street stop) which enables one to get to most points within the city with at most 1 subway transfer. The hotel itself is setback about a block from Oxford Street and on a residential street, which was nice because there was very little street noise. It was also adjacent to St. Christophers Square which had multiple restaurants, pubs, and cafes. For those who like to go out at night, the hotel is about 2 Underground stops (same line) to SoHo/West End where there are many nightspots and theaters. Overall, the Mandeville is a great option for a vacation to London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

St. Christopher's Square has multiple dining options at all price ranges, pubs, and people watching.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
US
Nov 18, 2009

Ideal location

Since I am a woman traveling alone to London, I needed a nice hotel in a great location. I found this and more at the Mandeville Hotel. My room was well appointed, spotless, just what I needed. I also want to note the hotel's location is a five minute walk to the nearest tube station which is Bond Street. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Mandeville and will definitely stay there again when I return to London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A modest restaurant called Tootsies offered traditional English food at a reasonable price. This restaurant is located on the corner of Picton and James street. I dined here several times during my stay. They serve breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Jul 6, 2010

Very Nice Hotel

Top notch hotel located just a few steps from shopping. A 5 minute walk to Marble Arch and Hyde Park. Spacious room with queen size bed and very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several restuarants with outside seating just a short walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cello fellow
Business
Cleveland OH
Jul 30, 2009

outstanding in every department

This is an outstanding hotel. I was in want for nothing. The staff did above and beyond their duties. It is a very interesting walk from the tube station. All kinds of restaurants are located on this path. It seemed like the room was cleaned twice or possibly three times(?) a day. You just could not be without a full compliment of towels for more than a few hours. It was always spotless. This is a great deal from Orbitz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sofra is a very nice restaurant in a little square between the tube stop and the hotel. It is a little pricy but very good. Unlike past trips to London we did not have a bad meal. Also for a splurge we ate at Gordon Ramsey at the Claridge. WOW what a meal and location. Big bucks but well spent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top