$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2015 Check-out: Jul 11, 2015

The Mandeville Hotel

4 stars
View map of Mandeville Place, London, W1U 2BE

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Mandeville Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
288 out of 288
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 8, 2010

Great Hotel

Really lovely little European hotel and location can not be beat. It is close to the Tube with access to everything and has lots of great shops and restaurants nearby. Across the street is James St with lots of little cafes, coffee shops, a creperie, and a great Pub. Room was clean and modern, and although it was small, it was perfectly sufficient for our 6-day stay. Staff was friendly and very helpful. I was traveling with my 16-year old daughter and we both loved the Hotel and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many options for breakfast just down the block. It got us up and out in the morning and was one of my favorite times of the day.

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Troy, AL
Jul 5, 2010

Superb location and great hotel

My wife and me have spent a week in this hotel. We absolutely loved it. Rooms are rather small but perfectly clean and convinient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are plenty of restaurants and publs located within 5 minute walk distance from the hotel.

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
London Traveler S
Business
Seoul, Korea
Jun 30, 2009

Hidden Jem!

Most attentive and personalized service! The location is right between the busy touristic area & the cozy true london. Can't get any better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of chic restaurants on James Street - Hope everyone enjoys them!

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CT
May 31, 2010

A great hotel

Hotel is surrounded by good reasonably priced restaurants and is accessible to the "Tube." The room was clean and very comfortable and the staff were attentive and helpful. We will stay at the Mandeville again any time we are in London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bethannsd
Business
La Costa, CA
Sep 10, 2009

Nice hotel in very convenient location.

The location is superb, with the tube close by, as well as many cafes, pubs and restuarants. The concierge is very professional and helpful...a true asset to the hotel. Rooms were adequate size for downtown London, good ac and water pressure, bed and linens very comfortable. Only negative is the half-shower/tub door where water gets on the floor when in use. But other than that...no problems in any way. We would definately stay here again. This is my 9th or 10th trip to London and this is a hotel I will come back to. Free internet in lobby also a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cck and Lion Pub and Mimosa Restaurant are a block away and are wonderful and reasonably priced. There were many others as well, we just did not have the time to try any others.

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Single Twenty Something
Business
New York, NY
May 8, 2009

Great property, perfect location

I was visiting London for pleasure and just checking out the city as I had never been there before. The Mandeville is in an ideal location, right off Oxford Street and within walking distance to everything. It was perfect for a 29 year old single woman exploring the city. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and the room was lovely for the price- definitely small, but perfect for one and aesthetically very well done. I work in the boutique hotel world and this hotel is really very nice. The bar and restaurant were great as well. Only negative is that there are no computers onsite for guests. This would be a big help even just one in the lobby for guests to check things online quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, VA
Sep 14, 2009

Great Location and reasonable price.

The hotel was in a great location, was clean and many food choices just steps away. Great value... I have been chareged more for much less in London before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of food choices just steps away.

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Semi traveller
Business
Washington, DC
Sep 14, 2009

Great experience here

Hotel in great location, 5-10 min walk to tube, market, shopping. The location will make you feel like a local Londoner but have access to everything you need. Very helpful and cheery staff, from receptionist to doorman to housecleaning staff. Rooms are tidied 3 times a day and look immaculate. Very comfortable beds. Extra umbrella in the closet for your personal use. The one thing is the TV is a little small, but who's watching TV while touring in London? I did not hear neighbors through the walls or ceiling which I was happy about so it felt very private. The deluxe room has a double bed and 2 showers. Very cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping is a short walk from the hotel, including food halls (Marks & Spencer) to clothes shopping (very good for ladies) and cheap souvenirs. Internet Cafe is on Holles St off of Oxford St, next to John Lewis. Tons of excellent restaurants nearby, I ate very happily on this trip! Try Wagamama (noodle bar), James Rotisserie Cafe (breakfast cafe), Ayoush (African/Moroccan), John Lewis (afternoon tea including sandwiches and desserts for 10 pounds).

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shockey Monkey
Business
Charlotte, NC
Feb 15, 2010

First Class

This hotel was absolutely first class. Right from the moment we approached the hotel and our luggage was carried in, and the doorman in top hat and tails greeted us, we felt welcome. The hotel is compact when compared to hotels in the US, but had everything we needed and was extremely comfortable, and spotlessly cleaned twice a day. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are lots of great restaurants within a minutes walk of the hotel. Take St Peters south and you'll find everything from burgers to Moroccan and Indian. Turn left at the Lamb and Flag for Sofra Moroccan, featuring game birds like Quail and Pheasant, or turn right for a great hole in the wall Indian. Or for a good taste of England including a Sunday Roast, stop in at the Pontefract 50 yds from the hotel.

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amalgamator
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 15, 2010

Bob's Your Uncle!

Excellent hotel! This hotel will always be my first choice in London. In my opinion, the location is better than the Ritz. The street it's on has excellent restaurants, bars and pubs. It's convenient to shopping on Oxford Street and Regent Street. It's a 5 minute walk to the Bond St station. It was a lovely 20 minute walk to Piccadilly Circus and maybe 25-30 for Buckingham Palace. 10 minutes to Hyde Park and 15 minutes to Regents Park. It's convenient to everything but the area is less congested than the Ritz (near the Green Park station) or anything East of it. Loved it! Loved it! Loved it! Our experience with the hotel staff was not disappointing either. I requested a room with 2 twin beds via e-mail after I had booked a double bed online. They were not able to confirm ahead of time but were accommodating when we arrived. The only one available was on the 1st floor in the rear of the hotel and we were concerned about noise after reading other reviews. He told us if it was a problem to let him know the next morning and he would have other twin rooms available then. Noise was a BIG problem! Not because of the local businesses but because they are doing construction behind the hotel. They moved us to another room without hesitation. The next room was on the second floor in the front of the hotel. I never noticed any noise from any of the local businesses. We were completely happy with it! The only negative thing I would say about the room at all is about the frosted glass door to the bathroom. From a design aspect, it's FABULOUS! Practically it's a little unnerving though. I was there with a girlfriend but I wouldn't be thrilled if it was my husband either. I'm just sayin'... I gave it a "5" for value because we got it for a steal. If I had paid the rack rates, I'm sure that would be a different story. Can't say enough good things about it. We had a great trip and the hotel added to our experience! That doesn't happen very often.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top