$173 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

The Mandeville Hotel

4 stars
Mandeville Place, London, W1U 2BE
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
263 reviews
Brilliant

Always stay in Marylebone, first time at this hotel- will now be an option to my other favorite hotel! See full review

  • BOC MAN
  • Dec 22, 2014
Great Location.

Wonderful stay at the Mandeville. Very close to cafes, shops and restaurants. Walking distance to... See full review

  • 86Jax
  • Jul 14, 2014
Personalized service, chic design in an indulgent West End oasis

Luxury meets practical in this stylish West End hotel that's both affordable and full-featured. Lavishly designed rooms are equipped with every modern amenity and indulgence, including a flat-screen LCD television, free Wi-Fi and a telephone-equipped marble bathroom. Each room has been designed by an internationally recognized interior designer, resulting in stylish elegance -- an indulgent oasis in an otherwise fast-paced West End location.

Highlights
  • Highly personalized service
  • Bedrooms designed by internationally renowned interior designers
  • Bond Street shops and galleries within easy walking distance
Rooms

Single, double, and deluxe rooms have been meticulously designed by Andre Avedian, with furniture expertly coordinated by Julian Chichester. Penhaligon bath accessories from London's famous fragrance house and power showers grace Italian-marble bathrooms. Other additions include complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour room service, mini-bar, in-room safe, valet service and voice mail.

Features

Standing in sharp contrast to its bustling West End location, the Mandeville Hotel is a sedate urban sanctuary, a welcoming retreat of stylish comfort that embraces both business and leisure travelers.

Personalized service is a signature focus of the Mandeville's management team, a dedication that's reinforced with its stylish surroundings.

Rooms have been created by internationally renowned interior designers, a commitment to luxury and indulgence that affords visitors a truly pampered experience.

And after a long day of power shopping or corporate wheeling-and-dealing, relax and enjoy a stiff whisky or imaginative cocktail at the on-site deVigne Bar, where a local mixologist will offer home-spun area insights and tips. Or dine in the upscale deVille Restaurant, designed by renowned interior designer Stephen Ryan and featuring contemporary dining options for both lunch and dinner.

Transportation
  • Bond Street and Marble Arch tube stations within walking distance
  • Heathrow and Gatwick Airports served via connections through Bond Street Station
Attractions
  • Regent's Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Bond Street galleries and shops (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • The Wallace Collection (walking distance)
  • Madame Tussaud's (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Hyde Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
Business
  • Conference facilities
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Meeting/banquet facilities
  • 24-hour room service
  • Safe deposit box

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Mandeville Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Mandeville Hotel Rooms

Superior Room
The room offers one double bed. With superior space and a large double sized bed, these rooms are the perfect excuse for an extended business stay or that long weekend away you have been waiting for. With design by Andre Avedian and furniture beautifully coordinated by Julian Chichester, every room has been crafted to make you feel as if it is a home from home. The room includes Air conditioning, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Iron/Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.
Deluxe Room
The room offers one double bed. In addition to all the standard facilities Deluxe Doubles combine greater space and luxury whilst giving you that extra deluxe touch. The bathrooms are larger and have been built with the most beautiful Italian marble. Delicious bath accessories from Penhaligon are one of London's most famous fragrance houses and the cosiness of a full length bathrobe and monogrammed slippers. The room includes Air conditioning, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, , Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Iron/Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.
Single Room
The room offers one single bed. The bathrooms have been built with the most beautiful Italian marble. Delicious bath accessories from Penhaligon are one of London's most famous fragrance houses and the cosiness of a full length bathrobe and monogrammed slippers. The room includes Air conditioning, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Iron/Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Wallace Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.2 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.2 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.3 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.3 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.4 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.4 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.4 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.4 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.5 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.5 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.2 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.2 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.3 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.3 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.4 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.4 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.4 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.4 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.5 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.5 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Park Lane: 0.6 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 0.6 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.6 mi
  • Kingly Court : 0.6 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 0.7 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.7 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Piccadilly: 0.8 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • University of London: 0.8 mi
  • London Business School: 0.8 mi
  • Soho: 0.8 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.9 mi
  • University College London: 0.9 mi
  • Green Park: 0.9 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.9 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 0.9 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1 mi
  • Leicester Square: 1 mi
  • Birkbeck: 1 mi
  • West End: 1 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 1 mi

Dining

deVille Restaurant
Designed by world renowned interior designer, Stephen Ryan, deVille Restaurant has been fashioned for those who have a passion for London dining in a relaxed and elegant atmosphere, whilst trying the delicious modern British cuisine devised by our Executive Head Chef. The dcor of the dining room is emphasised by the modern, large patterned, floral wallpaper motif punctuated by theatrical clear Perspex framed paintings and Venetian mask wall lights. Silver, Weimeraner brown and white are the key colours of the stylish deVille Mayfair Restaurant. The food speaks for itself with fresh flavours, exciting combinations and seasonal ingredients. Make sure you leave room for the home-made ice cream...organic and made with no artifical additives or preservatives it is a guilt free treat. Breakfast Monday to Friday from 7.00am to 10.00am Saturday and Sunday from 8.00am to 11.00am Lunch is served between 12.30pm and 3.00pm. Dinner is served between 7.00pm and 11.00pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (263)

Ratings and reviews for The Mandeville Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
263 out of 263
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling Nanny
Business
Daytona Beach, FL USA
Oct 27, 2010

A trip for One.

The hotel was great! The staff was wonderful. [...], and [...] at the concierge were such a tremendous help! The room service, and food was great as well. You also can't ask for better service at the bar. The location is also great as well! Located just a few minutes walk from shopping, and the tube! I highly rate this hotel, and would be the first hotel I stay at, when I visit London again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
First-time to Paris
Business
Riverside, CA
Oct 27, 2010

Great hotel for the price

My wife and I stayed at the Mandeville from August 30- September 7, 2010. Our flight from the U.S. to Heathrow arrived early in the morning. We went to the hotel to check our baggage in and walk around the city until check-in time. However, the staff gave us our room key at 8:30am with no additional charge for an early check-in. The hotel does not have a restaurant, but there is plenty of excellent dining options close-by. Shopping is also located right around the corner on Oxford Street and Regents. The Bond tube station is a couple minute walk away. The hotel location is excellent for tourists. Some sights are within walking distance, others are a few minute ride on the tube. The room functioned perfectly. It's not large, but worth the price. The staff is very friendly and helpful. If you plan on doing day excursions with companies like Evan and Evan tours, they pick-up at the Churchill Hyatt and is only a 5 minute walk away. We were very pleased with our 8 day stay at the Mandeville and highly recommend the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Explore the different restaurants nearby on James Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Londonophile
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 26, 2010

Excellent experience overall

I stayed in a single room at the Mandeville for 7 nights. [...] The hotel's location is both central and charming--a stone's throw from Oxford St. but in the upscale urban village of Marylebone. My single room was tiny (with no desk) but very clean; the bathroom was sparkling and well-appointed. My voicemail didn't work properly, but I appreciated the gracious little touches like evening turndown service and a little box of chocolates left on the pillow every night. Most staff members were helpful and professional. I'd definitely return to the Mandeville[...]!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal, Canada
Oct 24, 2010

We loved the hotel

We were there after a cruise on the Queen Mary II for 4 very wonderful days. We saw Museums and Plays. The hotel was excellent and so was the service. We have not been to London for a number of years. We will recommend the hotel and we will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Museums and the theater

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
redshikari
Business
New York, NY
Oct 24, 2010

Great location!

We loved this location near St. Christopher's Place - lots of restaurants and cafes, and easily walkable to most of the main attractions if you're up for a good 40 minute walk. We rarely took the tube, though it was located nearby. Hotel staff was helpful, room was clean. Hotel itself was a bit more upper class than anticipated, and as we're a very relaxed, young couple, we felt out of place and never used their bar/restaurant. Wi-fi free only in lobby, not in room, which was annoying. And construction outside our window every day was obnoxious but not their fault. All in all a good hotel at a good price and in a fantastic location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get an Oyster Card for Tube travel!! Or walk instead!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
smljecl
Business
Virginia USA
Oct 23, 2010

Mandeville Hotel, London UK

The Mandeville Hotel is located in the West End section of London and is very close (2 blocks) from the primary shopping area of London (Oxford and Bond Street.) It is also only 2 blocks to the Bond Street Underground entrance. If you plan to shop this is the place to be. If you are interested in seeing the primary sites of London you have to take the underground or take trains. Plan on lots of walking including through the underground and train stations. There are little if any tourist sites near or within reasonable walking distance of the hotel. Oxford and Bond Street are also very crowded with shoppers. Think Manhatten. The Concierge staff was very helpful in providing tourist suggestions, and directions, purchasing tickets, taxis, etc. They also have a doorman.The Hotel is attractive and the rooms nicely appointed but very small at least for the price we paid ($2100 for 6 nights.) Rather on the expensive side considering its location away from tourist locations. Service was excellent but there are no complimentary perks. No free coffee or breakfast. U.K. Newspapers are free but not if you have them delivered to your room. There is a charge for that. Expect to pay approximately $40-50 per person for afternoon tea and more for dinner in the hotel. Rooms are small for the price and barely could accomodate two suitcases and/or a carry on luggage or backpack. I also felt that because we booked through [...] and the rate was less than they normally charge that we were given one of their least desirable rooms. Upon check in they immediately tried a bait and switch to an upgraded room for an additional $20 pounds ($36) per night. We declined. Our room was tiny and backed onto a contruction site with hammering and construction noise starting around 8:00AM. We complained and they did switch us to another room that faced the front of the hotel and was slightly larger due to not having a minibar in it. The first room did. The room was adequate for the amount of time we spent in it. To save energy the rooms use a timer system for lights that proved annoying. You insert you key card in a slot to turn the lights on otherwise they go out after a few minutes. You could not turn some of the ceiling lights on or off without getting out of bed to turn the mainswitch on or off. If you turned the main switch off you had no lights at all, except for the bathroom. Also there was a light sensor in the ceiling so if the curtains were open during the day the lights would not go on. You had to shut the curtain and drapes to get the lights to turn on. So, in essence no small fridge, no free wifi, no free coffee, no ice buckets or ice, etc. And there is a 3 pound per night charge for maid service. You are also expected to tip the Concierge staff although it is discretionary.We enjoyed our stay in London immensely but I would not stay at the Mandeville on any return trip.Getting around London was quite easy. The Underground is well marked and the maps pretty easy to read. All of the station and ticket attendants were very friendly and very helpful. We purchased day passes allowing us to travel all day for approximately $8.50 each. We saw all of the tourist sites using the underground and took a train out to Windsor to see Windsor Castle. We also were easily able to get discounted tickets to a play. London is very expensive especially with a 19.5% VAT tax on everything. Shopping at top end stores in the U.S. (Louis Vuitton, Hugo Boss, Armani, Burberry, Ferragamo, etc. for merchandise is significantly cheaper than in London.We had a great time. People were friendly and helpful and getting around was very easy. Certainly, no car or taxis needed to get to all of the major sites. I also enjoyed the clever names for many of the local pubs. They are everywhere and surprisingly the food in London was very good. We came to London from Paris so were really surprised at how good the food was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Oct 20, 2010

Great location and quaint hotel

We stayed at the Mandeville for 5 days last week. The location was perfect; we were near all the shopping and underground stations. Oxford street is a block over; shopping mecca and plenty of restaurants. Seyfridges dept store is a must see for the fashionistas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across from the hotel is plenty of reasonable priced restaurants. A small store is also nearby for snacks for the room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles, ca
Oct 16, 2010

mandeville

Great location for Frieze Art Fair, New Bond St., the tube, many restaurants and shops. The windows are not soundproof and the central air unit makes loud noise, even when not turned on. I put "Do Not Disturb" door tag, instead of knocking on my door, they called me on the room phone, which was equally disturbing when asleep. The shower has only 1/2 screen, which did not prevent the water from splashing onto the floor. Good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty restaurants and bars on James St, which is right outside the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tiny100
Business
New York
Oct 10, 2010

The Mandeville: Honest Pros and cons

Pros: Location is good (close to Bond Street Underground Station, Hyde Park, restaurants, shopping) Free WiFi in lobby Friendly Staff Cons: The hotel is currently right next to a very active construction site (we were just there, Oct 3-9, '10) and every morning (including Saturday) the workers would arrive at 7am and loud work would begin by 8:15am. No Fitness Room or Pool on site *Note: the reason I would NOT recommend this hotel for the next few months at least is that you will NOT get any sleep due to the construction (and add that on to the jetlag you will be experiencing).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping is right down the street - and that goes for clothing, shoes, etc. but also for food. Selfridge & Co and Marks & Spencer are about 4 blocks away so you can buy some stuff for your fridge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Germany
Oct 8, 2010

Charming!

The front desk staff were fine, but the doormen and the concierge were top notch! There are many great restaurants nearby for a cozy breakfast, and at a much more affordable price! This hotel is in a great area where getting around the city is a breeze! However, if you book this hotel be certain to request a room away from the constuction if you wish to sleep later than 8:00am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top