$196 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

The Mandeville Hotel

4 stars
View map of Mandeville Place, London, W1U 2BE

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Mandeville Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
260 out of 260
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
T&J Pampered Travelers
Couples
Greenville, South Carolina, USA
May 4, 2011

Cheers for The Mandeville

What a delight it was to stay here  for easy access to sightseeing including the Royal Wedding of Will and Kate! This was a clean, well-run, boutique style hotel with good sized rooms and a friendly staff, who will gladly offer assistance for all requests. Our room was immaculate and of a very good size. Reviews we read before booking which complain of room size do not reflect an informed view of London/European room size and cost, in my opinion. Spend the minimal amount to upgrade to a deluxe, as we did, or upgrade to a suite if you prefer more space. However, as somewhat picky travelers, the deluxe was more than adequate for us. The location is excellent.  The street itself is two-lane with a "London neighborhood" feel, yet a one minute walk in either direction to nearby restaurants, shops, and boutiques. Transportation to all of London's sites is easily done via foot, tube, taxi, or bus. Tube or taxi to and from Paddington station and the Heathrow express is very short and easy.   The reviews we read of the over-priced bar and restaurant are true only if you make that a daily choice, which is quite unnecessary with the nearby options. In my opinion, both the bar and restaurant are designed to enhance service and atmosphere  for hotel guests. Room service was reasonably priced and prompt. The Mandeville is an excellent choice if you prefer a clean,  personalized hotel experience on a "London neighborhood" street yet within a one minute walk to  a great variety of restaurants, shops, and transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Inspect the restaurants both north and south of (up and down) the street. Great dining and variety of all prices is available both ways with short waits.

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Royal Wedding Visitor
Single
Deerfield Beach, FL
May 2, 2011

Loved The Mandeville

Great location. Easy to take the tube from Heathrow to Bond Street and walk a few blocks to the hotel. I loved the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are lots of small places to have great meals in the few blocks from the hotel entrance to Oxford Street. All reasonably oriced.

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Cary, NC
Apr 18, 2011

Great hotel and location!

This was my fifth trip to London, and the Mandeville hotel has been the best of the five hotels I have stayed at. The service is excellent at all levels. The lead concierge (Ian) does a fantastic job. The hotel is modern, clean, and has very professional service. The only downside is no wireless in the rooms, only ethernet (which does not work with Ipads). Needless to say, I lobbied them to change this!....ha. Also as important is the location. You cannot beat the Marylebone area. It is amazing....very nice high end neighborhood with great stores and restaurants right outside the hotels door. Central London location makes it easy to get to many key sites in London with subway and bus stops just a block or two away. I would recommend this hotel and area for couples and travellers who appreciate nice things, professional service, and just a great area for shopping, dining, and enjoying London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Mandeville is two blocks from the London Subway central line....you can get almost anywhere starting from this subway station. Save your money, use the subway, not the cabs. Get a day ticket for 6.6 pounds a day and use it all you want that day. We saved a lot of money using the subway to get to all the places we wanted to go, including back to Heathrow.

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Orlando, FL
Apr 17, 2011

Fantastic Time in London

The Hotel was really nice and a terrific location. The people working there were all really great! We ran into a loud night due to a restaurant in the back of the Hotel. The manager of the Hotel made it right for us. We want to go back and will stay at this Hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

London's Shopping district is 2 blocks away. All the shopping you want.

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peace on earth
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 15, 2011

Fabulous location, chic and trendy

I was in London for business by day but the hotel was so close to all shops and venues that by night I was able to cram some shopping and sightseeing in as well. Lovely hotel although a bit small compared to the rooms in the states but quaint nonetheless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SquishedInLondon
Couples
Orem, UT
Mar 30, 2011

Tiny and not great design at all

I'll admit, hopefully this experience can get better. But right now, I'm in a room that is just like the "Single room" picture on Mandeville's website. But I paid for a Superior Double room. I asked the front desk, and the gentleman said to the effect that's just how it is, and he rather likes the orange colors in the room. The design is cramped (don't be fooled by the photos--we have to climb over the bed at one corner because that's the only spot for a suitcase). The orange bedspread with mustard yellow curtains feels like an unrenovated Motel 6. The rate is decent, but had I known this is what I'd get, I would have gone with a Marriott. At least Marriott has standards that cut down on surprises. [...] Since TV and the telephone are in the room, I made the assumption that so was wi-fi. [...] go with a brand hotel you can trust.I just came from the Conrad (part of Hilton Hotels) in Dublin, and that hotel was wonderful in comparison to this. Oddly, Mandeville is rated 4 stars [...]. I don't understand how.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

In getting to here from Heathrow, try hummingbirdcars.co.uk--much cheaper than a cab. We would have taken the subway/tube, but in coming in at midnight thanks to airline delays, it didn't seem the safest thing to do in a city that's new to us. You do have to order it at least 5 hours before your arrival.

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Orland Park IL.
Mar 20, 2011

"OUTSTANDING*

This hotel is amazing, The staff here goes above and beyond any expectations you may have !! I have found my London "Home away from Home" !!! Very Clean, the rooms are bigger than you would think, the food is great (prompt friendly room service) Oxford street is a 2 minute walk , the Tube is the same. There are many dining options within walking distance, pups and unlimited shopping !!! If you're going back to Heathrow, have the concierge arrange a car service for you , only 55pounds and more comfortable than the standard mini cab/taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

St Christophers court is right around the corner with coffee shops and quick food and fine dining , Turkish , Italian , Thai , French .

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Mar 2, 2011

Feb 2011 stay

[...] The helpfulness of the hotel staff is spotty. I asked the concierge about getting to the Titanic exibit at the O2 and he was clueless. I tried to have lunch in the restaurant before leaving for the airport at shortly after noon and it was not open for lunch but I told it opened at noon..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks from Oxford Street and lots of shopping. There are also many restaurants nearby. I also like that its close to the Bond Street tube station.

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Calypso Duo
Family
Peoria, IL
Feb 15, 2011

Fantastic Experience

Absolutely perfect location, two blocks from Oxford Street shopping and Underground. The room was quite small, but typical for large European cities. Very clean, very quiet, several wonderful restaurants nearby. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous. A fantastic experience and I will definitely be staying here again when I visit London!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
andreino76
Couples
Catania, Italy
Feb 15, 2011

a perfect holiday in heart of London

I was been at Mandeville hotel many times and always found myself very well. it is close to the central Oxford Street, but also it is in the heart of quiet Marylebone Village. the hotel is clean and the staff is always very kind. Near the hotel there are many restaurants, especially in Saint Christopher Place. nearby there are also many shops, including Selfridges and the famous boutiques of Bond Street. I highly recommend this hotel for its location, cleanliness, quality of staff and the beauty of the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top