$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

The Mandeville Hotel

4 stars
Mandeville Place, London, W1U 2BE
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
456 reviews
Great Location.

Wonderful stay at the Mandeville. Very close to cafes, shops and restaurants. Walking distance to... See full review

  • 86Jax
  • Jul 14, 2014
Fun for a weekend

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for three days. It was a perfect location--surrounded by many... See full review

  • Kitty Karry All
  • Jul 9, 2014
Personalized service, chic design in an indulgent West End oasis

Luxury meets practical in this stylish West End hotel that's both affordable and full-featured. Lavishly designed rooms are equipped with every modern amenity and indulgence, including a flat-screen LCD television, free Wi-Fi and a telephone-equipped marble bathroom. Each room has been designed by an internationally recognized interior designer, resulting in stylish elegance -- an indulgent oasis in an otherwise fast-paced West End location.

Highlights
  • Highly personalized service
  • Bedrooms designed by internationally renowned interior designers
  • Bond Street shops and galleries within easy walking distance
Rooms

Single, double, and deluxe rooms have been meticulously designed by Andre Avedian, with furniture expertly coordinated by Julian Chichester. Penhaligon bath accessories from London's famous fragrance house and power showers grace Italian-marble bathrooms. Other additions include complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour room service, mini-bar, in-room safe, valet service and voice mail.

Features

Standing in sharp contrast to its bustling West End location, the Mandeville Hotel is a sedate urban sanctuary, a welcoming retreat of stylish comfort that embraces both business and leisure travelers.

Personalized service is a signature focus of the Mandeville's management team, a dedication that's reinforced with its stylish surroundings.

Rooms have been created by internationally renowned interior designers, a commitment to luxury and indulgence that affords visitors a truly pampered experience.

And after a long day of power shopping or corporate wheeling-and-dealing, relax and enjoy a stiff whisky or imaginative cocktail at the on-site deVigne Bar, where a local mixologist will offer home-spun area insights and tips. Or dine in the upscale deVille Restaurant, designed by renowned interior designer Stephen Ryan and featuring contemporary dining options for both lunch and dinner.

Transportation
  • Bond Street and Marble Arch tube stations within walking distance
  • Heathrow and Gatwick Airports served via connections through Bond Street Station
Attractions
  • Regent's Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Bond Street galleries and shops (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • The Wallace Collection (walking distance)
  • Madame Tussaud's (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Hyde Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
Business
  • Conference facilities
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Meeting/banquet facilities
  • 24-hour room service
  • Safe deposit box

Hotel Map

51.5164 -0.1514
Area served
London.
Nearby airports
Heathrow International Airport.
Area description
Located in fashionable Marylebone, within a few minutes of Bond Street and some of London's most exciting shops, art galleries, theatres and bars. The Mandeville Hotel is an excellent choice for your leisure, cultural or corporate stays in London.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Mandeville Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Mandeville Hotel Rooms

Superior Room
The room offers one double bed. With superior space and a large double sized bed, these rooms are the perfect excuse for an extended business stay or that long weekend away you have been waiting for. With design by Andre Avedian and furniture beautifully coordinated by Julian Chichester, every room has been crafted to make you feel as if it is a home from home. The room includes Air conditioning, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Iron/Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.
Deluxe Room
The room offers one double bed. In addition to all the standard facilities Deluxe Doubles combine greater space and luxury whilst giving you that extra deluxe touch. The bathrooms are larger and have been built with the most beautiful Italian marble. Delicious bath accessories from Penhaligon are one of London's most famous fragrance houses and the cosiness of a full length bathrobe and monogrammed slippers. The room includes Air conditioning, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, , Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Iron/Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.
Single Room
The room offers one single bed. The bathrooms have been built with the most beautiful Italian marble. Delicious bath accessories from Penhaligon are one of London's most famous fragrance houses and the cosiness of a full length bathrobe and monogrammed slippers. The room includes Air conditioning, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Iron/Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Wallace Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.2 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.2 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.3 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.3 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.4 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.4 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.4 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.4 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.5 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.5 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.2 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.2 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.3 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.3 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.4 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.4 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.4 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.4 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.5 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.5 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Park Lane: 0.6 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 0.6 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.6 mi
  • Kingly Court : 0.6 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 0.7 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.7 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Piccadilly: 0.8 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • University of London: 0.8 mi
  • London Business School: 0.8 mi
  • Soho: 0.8 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.9 mi
  • University College London: 0.9 mi
  • Green Park: 0.9 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.9 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 0.9 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1 mi
  • Leicester Square: 1 mi
  • Birkbeck: 1 mi
  • West End: 1 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 1 mi

Dining

deVille Restaurant
Designed by world renowned interior designer, Stephen Ryan, deVille Restaurant has been fashioned for those who have a passion for London dining in a relaxed and elegant atmosphere, whilst trying the delicious modern British cuisine devised by our Executive Head Chef. The dcor of the dining room is emphasised by the modern, large patterned, floral wallpaper motif punctuated by theatrical clear Perspex framed paintings and Venetian mask wall lights. Silver, Weimeraner brown and white are the key colours of the stylish deVille Mayfair Restaurant. The food speaks for itself with fresh flavours, exciting combinations and seasonal ingredients. Make sure you leave room for the home-made ice cream...organic and made with no artifical additives or preservatives it is a guilt free treat. Breakfast Monday to Friday from 7.00am to 10.00am Saturday and Sunday from 8.00am to 11.00am Lunch is served between 12.30pm and 3.00pm. Dinner is served between 7.00pm and 11.00pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (456)

Ratings and reviews for The Mandeville Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
456 out of 456
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Apr 8, 2010

Nice Place in a Great Location

I had never been to London before and had spent a lot of time researching hotels and various neighborhoods. I wanted a place that had a boutique hotel feel, was near a bunch of restaurants and close to a Tube station. The Mandeville Hotel seemed fit all those criteria, so I booked it. When I arrived, I was so glad that I picked the hotel! It was in the perfect location - centrally situated, less than a five minute walk to Oxford St and Bond St as well as the Bond St Tube station, but also set back a few blocks so you aren't right next to all the noise of those busy streets. It's only a few Tube stops away from all the tourist attractions to the east and just a few stops from all the sights and shopping to the west and south. Also St. Christopher's Place - between the hotel and Oxford St - is adorable and filled with all kinds of cute restaurants and pubs, and only steps away from the hotel's front door. The room itself was nice - I sprung for a deluxe room and I'm glad I did because even that wasn't huge, but it had a queen-sized bed (which was very comfy, but no top sheet which I think is weird). The bathroom was also nice. Also, I loved the lighting system in the room - you needed the key to go in a certain slot in order to turn on the lights. It is energy efficient and also insures you never leave without your key! I thought the service was pretty good - they provided a paper each morning and each night offered a turn down service. They also delivered the next day's weather report to the room each evening. The people at the front desk were alright, but those at the concierge desk were particularly helpful in nearly every way - confirming reservations, calling taxis, providing maps and tourist suggestions, recommending local eateries...they also called the airline for me to change something with my flight. The restaurant attached (deVille) was delicious! Guests of the hotel received 25% off when I was there, and though it is a pricey place it is absolutely wonderful and worth the money. If you are there on the weekend, the atmosphere might be a little better - I was there on a weeknight and there was only one other couple in the whole place, which was a little awkward. But apparently the place fills up on the weekend so it might feel less like dining in a private room. Unless you like that sort of thing. The drawbacks were few, but these stood out: first, the television was TINY. The screen was literally as tall as a pen (I measured). Plus it was soooo far across the room from the bed it was funny. They also only had very few TV stations, less than any other hotel I've been in. I know you don't spend a ton of time in the hotel room necessarily while on a trip, but the television service was very sub-par. Secondly, the website promises free wi-fi, which is true...if you are in the lobby. Otherwise, in your room it is 25 pounds a day! I stuck to checking my email in the hotel lobby, along with most other guests. Also, they charged me a pound each for several local calls and a water bottle that I did not take out of the mini-bar, so inspect your bill closely on your way out. Finally, I'd read a lot of comments about noise, and I did hear someone complaining while I was there about construction noise and asked to be moved to a different room. However, I personally didn't find the place to be noisy at all. I'd definitely recommend this place and stay here again myself. Have fun on your trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

When you're planning your trip on the Tube (which you should - it's a great and inexpensive way to get around), note how close together some of the stops are. There are areas where there are several stops that aren't far away from each other AT ALL. It takes longer to go through the all of the hallways, stairs, etc. then just walking to where you're going above ground. Plus it's a nicer view, and you never know what you might see on the way.

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Apr 8, 2010

Nice Place in a Great Location

I had never been to London before and had spent a lot of time researching hotels and various neighborhoods. I wanted a place that had a boutique hotel feel, was near a bunch of restaurants and close to a Tube station. The Mandeville Hotel seemed fit all those criteria, so I booked it. When I arrived, I was so glad that I picked the hotel! It was in the perfect location - centrally situated, less than a five minute walk to Oxford St and Bond St as well as the Bond St Tube station, but also set back a few blocks so you aren't right next to all the noise of those busy streets. It's only a few Tube stops away from all the tourist attractions to the east and just a few stops from all the sights and shopping to the west and south. Also St. Christopher's Place - between the hotel and Oxford St - is adorable and filled with all kinds of cute restaurants and pubs, and only steps away from the hotel's front door. The room itself was nice - I sprung for a deluxe room and I'm glad I did because even that wasn't huge, but it had a queen-sized bed (which was very comfy, but no top sheet which I think is weird). The bathroom was also nice. Also, I loved the lighting system in the room - you needed the key to go in a certain slot in order to turn on the lights. It is energy efficient and also insures you never leave without your key! I thought the service was pretty good - they provided a paper each morning and each night offered a turn down service. They also delivered the next day's weather report to the room each evening. The people at the front desk were alright, but those at the concierge desk were particularly helpful in nearly every way - confirming reservations, calling taxis, providing maps and tourist suggestions, recommending local eateries...they also called the airline for me to change something with my flight. The restaurant attached (deVille) was delicious! Guests of the hotel received 25% off when I was there, and though it is a pricey place it is absolutely wonderful and worth the money. If you are there on the weekend, the atmosphere might be a little better - I was there on a weeknight and there was only one other couple in the whole place, which was a little awkward. But apparently the place fills up on the weekend so it might feel less like dining in a private room. Unless you like that sort of thing. The drawbacks were few, but these stood out: first, the television was TINY. The screen was literally as tall as a pen (I measured). Plus it was soooo far across the room from the bed it was funny. They also only had very few TV stations, less than any other hotel I've been in. I know you don't spend a ton of time in the hotel room necessarily while on a trip, but the television service was very sub-par. Secondly, the website promises free wi-fi, which is true...if you are in the lobby. Otherwise, in your room it is 25 pounds a day! I stuck to checking my email in the hotel lobby, along with most other guests. Also, they charged me a pound each for several local calls and a water bottle that I did not take out of the mini-bar, so inspect your bill closely on your way out. Finally, I'd read a lot of comments about noise, and I did hear someone complaining while I was there about construction noise and asked to be moved to a different room. However, I personally didn't find the place to be noisy at all. I'd definitely recommend this place and stay here again myself. Have fun on your trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

When you're planning your trip on the Tube (which you should - it's a great and inexpensive way to get around), note how close together some of the stops are. There are areas where there are several stops that aren't far away from each other AT ALL. It takes longer to go through the all of the hallways, stairs, etc. then just walking to where you're going above ground. Plus it's a nicer view, and you never know what you might see on the way.

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
V.I.
Apr 6, 2010

Great location, price and friendly staff

Exactly as indicated in reviews and descriptions. Staff was very helpful and nice. Small, intimate hotel in a great location. Very close to the Bond St. tube and felt safe there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
V.I.
Apr 6, 2010

Great location, price and friendly staff

Exactly as indicated in reviews and descriptions. Staff was very helpful and nice. Small, intimate hotel in a great location. Very close to the Bond St. tube and felt safe there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Susanlf
Pleasantville, New York
Apr 3, 2010

Great Hotel, Great Location!

We were so pleased to see that the Mandeville was in such an attractive neighborhood in London. There are many terrific restaurants and shops all around the hotel. Turn right when you walk out of the hotel and you will be on Marleybone High Street, which is an upscale street with all kinds of Patisseries- try Valerie, restaurants, food markets- try Waitrose and boutiques.Turn left and walk 3 blocks to the tube stop, Bond Street, which is on Oxford Street. Oxford Street is London's major shopping street. (Selfridges is a block away.)From there, you can get anywhere you want to go in London. The hotel was so clean and stylishly decorated. I slept better there than I did at home- the bed was very comfortable and the heavy curtains blocked out light in the morning. We had a great stay at the Mandeville!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Golden Hind is an excellent fish and chips restaurant in the area.

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Susanlf
Pleasantville, New York
Apr 3, 2010

Great Hotel, Great Location!

We were so pleased to see that the Mandeville was in such an attractive neighborhood in London. There are many terrific restaurants and shops all around the hotel. Turn right when you walk out of the hotel and you will be on Marleybone High Street, which is an upscale street with all kinds of Patisseries- try Valerie, restaurants, food markets- try Waitrose and boutiques.Turn left and walk 3 blocks to the tube stop, Bond Street, which is on Oxford Street. Oxford Street is London's major shopping street. (Selfridges is a block away.)From there, you can get anywhere you want to go in London. The hotel was so clean and stylishly decorated. I slept better there than I did at home- the bed was very comfortable and the heavy curtains blocked out light in the morning. We had a great stay at the Mandeville!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Golden Hind is an excellent fish and chips restaurant in the area.

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Apr 2, 2010

Honeymoon Vacation

The hotel was in a great location, but unfortunately, there was construction going on right next to our room. There was a large crane and workers there most of the time. The noise was only annoying in the morning and didn't affect our days. The room was very nice, but quite small. We were unaware of the internet charge in the room, so we brought our computer down to the lobby for free wifi. There were many restaurants and coffee shops nearby and the tube was very close, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Apr 2, 2010

Honeymoon Vacation

The hotel was in a great location, but unfortunately, there was construction going on right next to our room. There was a large crane and workers there most of the time. The noise was only annoying in the morning and didn't affect our days. The room was very nice, but quite small. We were unaware of the internet charge in the room, so we brought our computer down to the lobby for free wifi. There were many restaurants and coffee shops nearby and the tube was very close, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hanover, NH
Mar 29, 2010

Great hotel and location for the price

The Mandeville was a terrific hotel and value. We will certainly consider it when we return to London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is two blocks from Oxford Street which put the bus system and tube near so that any point in London (shopping, dining, shows and music) was only moments away.

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hanover, NH
Mar 29, 2010

Great hotel and location for the price

The Mandeville was a terrific hotel and value. We will certainly consider it when we return to London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is two blocks from Oxford Street which put the bus system and tube near so that any point in London (shopping, dining, shows and music) was only moments away.

Back to menu Return to top