$282 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 16, 2014 Check-out: Nov 17, 2014

The Mandeville Hotel

4 stars
Mandeville Place, London, W1U 2BE
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
260 reviews
Great Location.

Wonderful stay at the Mandeville. Very close to cafes, shops and restaurants. Walking distance to... See full review

  • 86Jax
  • Jul 14, 2014
Excellent Experience

Overall, my stay at the Mandeville was an excellent experience. My room was small, but clean and... See full review

  • DKC SB
  • Oct 6, 2014
Personalized service, chic design in an indulgent West End oasis

Luxury meets practical in this stylish West End hotel that's both affordable and full-featured. Lavishly designed rooms are equipped with every modern amenity and indulgence, including a flat-screen LCD television, free Wi-Fi and a telephone-equipped marble bathroom. Each room has been designed by an internationally recognized interior designer, resulting in stylish elegance -- an indulgent oasis in an otherwise fast-paced West End location.

Highlights
  • Highly personalized service
  • Bedrooms designed by internationally renowned interior designers
  • Bond Street shops and galleries within easy walking distance
Rooms

Single, double, and deluxe rooms have been meticulously designed by Andre Avedian, with furniture expertly coordinated by Julian Chichester. Penhaligon bath accessories from London's famous fragrance house and power showers grace Italian-marble bathrooms. Other additions include complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour room service, mini-bar, in-room safe, valet service and voice mail.

Features

Standing in sharp contrast to its bustling West End location, the Mandeville Hotel is a sedate urban sanctuary, a welcoming retreat of stylish comfort that embraces both business and leisure travelers.

Personalized service is a signature focus of the Mandeville's management team, a dedication that's reinforced with its stylish surroundings.

Rooms have been created by internationally renowned interior designers, a commitment to luxury and indulgence that affords visitors a truly pampered experience.

And after a long day of power shopping or corporate wheeling-and-dealing, relax and enjoy a stiff whisky or imaginative cocktail at the on-site deVigne Bar, where a local mixologist will offer home-spun area insights and tips. Or dine in the upscale deVille Restaurant, designed by renowned interior designer Stephen Ryan and featuring contemporary dining options for both lunch and dinner.

Transportation
  • Bond Street and Marble Arch tube stations within walking distance
  • Heathrow and Gatwick Airports served via connections through Bond Street Station
Attractions
  • Regent's Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Bond Street galleries and shops (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • The Wallace Collection (walking distance)
  • Madame Tussaud's (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Hyde Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
Business
  • Conference facilities
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Meeting/banquet facilities
  • 24-hour room service
  • Safe deposit box

Hotel Map

51.5164 -0.1514
Area served
London.
Nearby airports
Heathrow International Airport.
Area description
Located in fashionable Marylebone, within a few minutes of Bond Street and some of London's most exciting shops, art galleries, theatres and bars. The Mandeville Hotel is an excellent choice for your leisure, cultural or corporate stays in London.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Mandeville Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Mandeville Hotel Rooms

Superior Room
The room offers one double bed. With superior space and a large double sized bed, these rooms are the perfect excuse for an extended business stay or that long weekend away you have been waiting for. With design by Andre Avedian and furniture beautifully coordinated by Julian Chichester, every room has been crafted to make you feel as if it is a home from home. The room includes Air conditioning, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Iron/Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.
Deluxe Room
The room offers one double bed. In addition to all the standard facilities Deluxe Doubles combine greater space and luxury whilst giving you that extra deluxe touch. The bathrooms are larger and have been built with the most beautiful Italian marble. Delicious bath accessories from Penhaligon are one of London's most famous fragrance houses and the cosiness of a full length bathrobe and monogrammed slippers. The room includes Air conditioning, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, , Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Iron/Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.
Single Room
The room offers one single bed. The bathrooms have been built with the most beautiful Italian marble. Delicious bath accessories from Penhaligon are one of London's most famous fragrance houses and the cosiness of a full length bathrobe and monogrammed slippers. The room includes Air conditioning, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Iron/Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Wallace Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.2 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.2 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.3 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.3 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.4 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.4 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.4 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.4 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.5 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.5 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.2 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.2 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.3 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.3 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.4 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.4 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.4 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.4 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.5 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.5 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Park Lane: 0.6 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 0.6 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.6 mi
  • Kingly Court : 0.6 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 0.7 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.7 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Piccadilly: 0.8 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • University of London: 0.8 mi
  • London Business School: 0.8 mi
  • Soho: 0.8 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.9 mi
  • University College London: 0.9 mi
  • Green Park: 0.9 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.9 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 0.9 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1 mi
  • Leicester Square: 1 mi
  • Birkbeck: 1 mi
  • West End: 1 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 1 mi

Dining

deVille Restaurant
Designed by world renowned interior designer, Stephen Ryan, deVille Restaurant has been fashioned for those who have a passion for London dining in a relaxed and elegant atmosphere, whilst trying the delicious modern British cuisine devised by our Executive Head Chef. The dcor of the dining room is emphasised by the modern, large patterned, floral wallpaper motif punctuated by theatrical clear Perspex framed paintings and Venetian mask wall lights. Silver, Weimeraner brown and white are the key colours of the stylish deVille Mayfair Restaurant. The food speaks for itself with fresh flavours, exciting combinations and seasonal ingredients. Make sure you leave room for the home-made ice cream...organic and made with no artifical additives or preservatives it is a guilt free treat. Breakfast Monday to Friday from 7.00am to 10.00am Saturday and Sunday from 8.00am to 11.00am Lunch is served between 12.30pm and 3.00pm. Dinner is served between 7.00pm and 11.00pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (260)

Ratings and reviews for The Mandeville Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
260 out of 260
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Closet Anglophile
New York, ny
Sep 25, 2012

A Lot Going for It (and for You)

This is a great value for a lovely boutique hotel in the heart of the Marylebone area of London. Convenient to tons of great restaurants and cafes, and about a half hour's walk from the West End theatre district. Also smack in the middle of all sorts of shopping, from the department and chain stores of Oxford Street to the exclusive budget-busting boutiques scattered throughout. The staff were, for the most part, very polite and efficient, and the room (while on the small side) was bright, well appointed and spotlessly clean. My only complaint would be that in this age of wireless technology, it seems curious to charge extra for in-room Wi-fi (£12.50/day), rather than have it as one of the standard amenities. (Although free Wi-fi is available in the lobby.) Overall an extremely positive experience, and I look forward to returning soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Single Twenty Something
Business
New York, NY
May 8, 2009

Great property, perfect location

I was visiting London for pleasure and just checking out the city as I had never been there before. The Mandeville is in an ideal location, right off Oxford Street and within walking distance to everything. It was perfect for a 29 year old single woman exploring the city. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and the room was lovely for the price- definitely small, but perfect for one and aesthetically very well done. I work in the boutique hotel world and this hotel is really very nice. The bar and restaurant were great as well. Only negative is that there are no computers onsite for guests. This would be a big help even just one in the lobby for guests to check things online quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spdtwin
Business
Seattle, WA
May 8, 2009

Nice Central Location

Had fun, if I go again I will learn the bus and tube travel in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Close enough to walk to Soho, and all the Gay Clubs.. Taxis are EXPENSIVE...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Connecticut
May 5, 2009

Great Hotel

The hotel had nice sized rooms for London and it was very comfortable. The staff was helpful and friendly. We received a buffet breakfast which were were happily surprised with as part of our package. The location is fantastic with many restaurants near by and the tube is only a short walk away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy an oyster card for the tube it is very economical.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vermont, USA
May 2, 2009

Lovely London hotel

The hotel staff was always helpful and friendly. The bed was wonderfully comfortable. The hotel is in an excellent location to get around London. And there are wonderful restaurants, parks and markets (and a great pub) within a few blocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
england
Apr 28, 2009

great stay

wonderful guest service/check-in

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Drea "The European Vacation" Princess
Business
New York, NY
Apr 23, 2009

Great customer service!

Great location...we were able to walk to virtually everything from there. The Customer Service was excellent. Very friendly staff. The concierge was very patient with us and helped us map out all of places to visit. The rooms were clean...small but perfect --- we were hardly there. The shower had excellent pressure, BUT the shower doors were only to the half way mark, so after every shower you had a pool of water on the floor. I just felt bad wasting the towels on the floor. London is a lovely place and I'm definitely going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Buy an oyster card, but walk as much of the city as possible. There's tons to see, but things are usually in clusters. We did a bus tour the first night and then fromm there picked out what places we wanted to get and visit. If going to to Buckingham Palace for the changing of the guard...get there early! The place is a zoo, but where else are you going to see that. Also, make sure you check out the changing of the Horse guard. It's not as crowded and you can get up close and personal with the guards.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 22, 2009

The perfect boutique hotel

I loved this hotel -- the rooms were spotless, the staff helpful and friendly, the decor stylish, a great bar and restaurant and wonderful location, just off the busy streets, a haven at the end of the day, but plenty of restaurants etc close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Apr 22, 2009

A Pleasant Interlude

I arrived at the hotel about 8 am London time (2 am EST) and did not expect to be able to check in. I was hoping only to store my bags until check-in time. I walked up to the desk, was greeted with a smile and the question, "Are you checking in?" I said yes. I explained that I was exhausted and the desk clerk who personally showed me up to my room suggested that I go to bed and leave a wake up call which I did. I was woken on time and left for my 7 pm appointment refreshed. The staff could not have been more helpful throughout my stay. My room had been upgraded from a single to a double which was pretty small but clean, comfortable, and beautifully decorated. In all a pleasant stay and I hope to return soon. Centrally located, also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

While only two blocks from Oxford Street, The Mandeville is located in Marylebone with lots of charming shops on Wigmore and Thayer Streets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MKai
Business
Vancouver, BC
Apr 14, 2009

My place in London

The very friendly lady @ reception upgraded me upon check-in. I felt very welcomed. Upon check-out, same thing. Very accommodating. Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Marylebone High Street, Selfridges, great restaurants and shops all within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dublin
Business
Dublin
Mar 30, 2009

Recommended

Would recommend this hotel for location, cleanliness, service, staff attitude and local knowledge, room service food. Value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

When asking for directions in London, clarify how many blocks walk you are from requested destination. Sounds silly, but I received a series of waving arms and hand gestures as directions!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top