$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 13, 2015 Check-out: Apr 14, 2015

The Mandeville Hotel

4 stars
View map of Mandeville Place, London, W1U 2BE

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Mandeville Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
267 out of 267
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Closet Anglophile
New York, ny
Sep 25, 2012

A Lot Going for It (and for You)

This is a great value for a lovely boutique hotel in the heart of the Marylebone area of London. Convenient to tons of great restaurants and cafes, and about a half hour's walk from the West End theatre district. Also smack in the middle of all sorts of shopping, from the department and chain stores of Oxford Street to the exclusive budget-busting boutiques scattered throughout. The staff were, for the most part, very polite and efficient, and the room (while on the small side) was bright, well appointed and spotlessly clean. My only complaint would be that in this age of wireless technology, it seems curious to charge extra for in-room Wi-fi (£12.50/day), rather than have it as one of the standard amenities. (Although free Wi-fi is available in the lobby.) Overall an extremely positive experience, and I look forward to returning soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
local gone home
Business
Washington, DC
May 27, 2009

a great hotel package

This hotel was just great in every way - customer service, clean and accommodating rooms, quiet, close to underground. I am already recommending it. The only minus I have was that upon arrival, the person at the desk tried to sell me a more expensive room. Also, I should say that the price (airfare plus 4 nights in hotel) was right, otherwise, it would have been out of my reach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karma Galore
Business
Ottawa, Canada
May 26, 2009

I can recommend for value & location

The location of this hotel is a fab jumping off point for sightseeing & shopping. Tube access just a few blocks aways has you to & from London Heathrow in 30 minutes. Ultra friendly staff make you feel welcome. I would defintely go back to this hotel & recommend to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are travelling on holidays, check your tube station access ahead of time. Don't be surprised by a closed line & lose precious time. Always be prepared with an alternate route - lines can suddenly stop unexpectedly. I was 2 for 2 on tube availability to get me to rail & air connections - both time needing to find an alternate way to get to my connection on time; once, a quick taxi to the nearest open line station, another, backtracking on the tube to a another junction & line station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bakes
Business
Orlando, FL
May 22, 2009

London Honeymoon

It was great. If we ever go to London again I would stay there. Really enjoyed the complementary breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Loved India
Business
Tucson AZ
May 21, 2009

A Reservoir of Calm in Hectic London

Lovely location close to shopping, great restaurants, transportation, and convenient for meeting up with local British friends. The hotel atmosphere was quiet and calm while also having a happening buzz with a modern decor and lovely bar and restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
American Guy in London
Business
Washington, DC
May 20, 2009

Lost in London

The Mandeville Hotel prides itself on offering a highly personalized service under the direction of its expert management team and they achieved that goal. Overall, the decor is very nice, the place is super clean and the staff was great. You can not get a better location in LDN, i was a block from the tube and seconds from some of London"s best shopping. The room I had was small but nice, the decor in the room in my opinion could have been a bit more updated with things such as Ipod docs, etc. I also wish that the hotel would get WiFi in the entire building instead of just the lobby. Would I stay there again, you ask... Definitely!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Experience some of LDN's street vendors, the food is GREAT.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
May 18, 2009

Good hotel, small rooms

This is a great hotel in a perfect location, particularly given that fact that you won't want to spend huge amounts of time in the very small ("superior") rooms. They're lovely and well designed, spotlessly clean, and perfectly comfortable - but they're really too small for two people to hang out in. Wake up, get out, and return to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pammers L.
Business
Walnut Creek, CA
May 12, 2009

First class all the way!

We were greeted at the door and had excellent service throughout our 7 night stay. Everything was great, the little extras like the weather report on our pillows for the following day's forecast made our stay very pleasurable. I loved this place. Clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spdtwin
Business
Seattle, WA
May 8, 2009

Nice Central Location

Had fun, if I go again I will learn the bus and tube travel in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Close enough to walk to Soho, and all the Gay Clubs.. Taxis are EXPENSIVE...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Single Twenty Something
Business
New York, NY
May 8, 2009

Great property, perfect location

I was visiting London for pleasure and just checking out the city as I had never been there before. The Mandeville is in an ideal location, right off Oxford Street and within walking distance to everything. It was perfect for a 29 year old single woman exploring the city. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and the room was lovely for the price- definitely small, but perfect for one and aesthetically very well done. I work in the boutique hotel world and this hotel is really very nice. The bar and restaurant were great as well. Only negative is that there are no computers onsite for guests. This would be a big help even just one in the lobby for guests to check things online quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Connecticut
May 5, 2009

Great Hotel

The hotel had nice sized rooms for London and it was very comfortable. The staff was helpful and friendly. We received a buffet breakfast which were were happily surprised with as part of our package. The location is fantastic with many restaurants near by and the tube is only a short walk away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy an oyster card for the tube it is very economical.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top