The Mandeville Hotel

4 stars
Mandeville Place, London, W1U 2BE
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
454 reviews
Fun for a weekend

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for three days. It was a perfect location--surrounded by many... See full review

  • Kitty Karry All
  • Jul 9, 2014
Perfect Location!

This was my first stay in London and I am glad that I selected The Mandeville. It is close to... See full review

  • Niagara Rob
  • May 20, 2014
Personalized service, chic design in an indulgent West End oasis

Luxury meets practical in this stylish West End hotel that's both affordable and full-featured. Lavishly designed rooms are equipped with every modern amenity and indulgence, including a flat-screen LCD television, free Wi-Fi and a telephone-equipped marble bathroom. Each room has been designed by an internationally recognized interior designer, resulting in stylish elegance -- an indulgent oasis in an otherwise fast-paced West End location.

Highlights
  • Highly personalized service
  • Bedrooms designed by internationally renowned interior designers
  • Bond Street shops and galleries within easy walking distance
Rooms

Single, double, and deluxe rooms have been meticulously designed by Andre Avedian, with furniture expertly coordinated by Julian Chichester. Penhaligon bath accessories from London's famous fragrance house and power showers grace Italian-marble bathrooms. Other additions include complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour room service, mini-bar, in-room safe, valet service and voice mail.

Features

Standing in sharp contrast to its bustling West End location, the Mandeville Hotel is a sedate urban sanctuary, a welcoming retreat of stylish comfort that embraces both business and leisure travelers.

Personalized service is a signature focus of the Mandeville's management team, a dedication that's reinforced with its stylish surroundings.

Rooms have been created by internationally renowned interior designers, a commitment to luxury and indulgence that affords visitors a truly pampered experience.

And after a long day of power shopping or corporate wheeling-and-dealing, relax and enjoy a stiff whisky or imaginative cocktail at the on-site deVigne Bar, where a local mixologist will offer home-spun area insights and tips. Or dine in the upscale deVille Restaurant, designed by renowned interior designer Stephen Ryan and featuring contemporary dining options for both lunch and dinner.

Transportation
  • Bond Street and Marble Arch tube stations within walking distance
  • Heathrow and Gatwick Airports served via connections through Bond Street Station
Attractions
  • Regent's Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Bond Street galleries and shops (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • The Wallace Collection (walking distance)
  • Madame Tussaud's (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Hyde Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
Business
  • Conference facilities
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Meeting/banquet facilities
  • 24-hour room service
  • Safe deposit box

The Mandeville Hotel Rooms

Superior Room
The room offers one double bed. With superior space and a large double sized bed, these rooms are the perfect excuse for an extended business stay or that long weekend away you have been waiting for. With design by Andre Avedian and furniture beautifully coordinated by Julian Chichester, every room has been crafted to make you feel as if it is a home from home. The room includes Air conditioning, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Iron/Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.
Deluxe Room
The room offers one double bed. In addition to all the standard facilities Deluxe Doubles combine greater space and luxury whilst giving you that extra deluxe touch. The bathrooms are larger and have been built with the most beautiful Italian marble. Delicious bath accessories from Penhaligon are one of London's most famous fragrance houses and the cosiness of a full length bathrobe and monogrammed slippers. The room includes Air conditioning, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, , Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Iron/Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.
Single Room
The room offers one single bed. The bathrooms have been built with the most beautiful Italian marble. Delicious bath accessories from Penhaligon are one of London's most famous fragrance houses and the cosiness of a full length bathrobe and monogrammed slippers. The room includes Air conditioning, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Iron/Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

51.5164 -0.1514
Area served
London.
Nearby airports
Heathrow International Airport.
Area description
Located in fashionable Marylebone, within a few minutes of Bond Street and some of London's most exciting shops, art galleries, theatres and bars. The Mandeville Hotel is an excellent choice for your leisure, cultural or corporate stays in London.

Nearby points of interest

  • Wallace Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.2 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.2 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.3 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.3 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.4 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.4 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.4 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.4 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.5 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.5 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.2 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.2 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.3 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.3 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.4 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.4 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.4 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.4 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.5 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.5 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Park Lane: 0.6 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 0.6 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.6 mi
  • Kingly CourtĀ : 0.6 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.6 mi
  • Royal ArcadeĀ : 0.7 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.7 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Piccadilly: 0.8 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • University of London: 0.8 mi
  • London Business School: 0.8 mi
  • Soho: 0.8 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.9 mi
  • University College London: 0.9 mi
  • Green Park: 0.9 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.9 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 0.9 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1 mi
  • Leicester Square: 1 mi
  • Birkbeck: 1 mi
  • West End: 1 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 1 mi

Dining

deVille Restaurant
Designed by world renowned interior designer, Stephen Ryan, deVille Restaurant has been fashioned for those who have a passion for London dining in a relaxed and elegant atmosphere, whilst trying the delicious modern British cuisine devised by our Executive Head Chef. The dcor of the dining room is emphasised by the modern, large patterned, floral wallpaper motif punctuated by theatrical clear Perspex framed paintings and Venetian mask wall lights. Silver, Weimeraner brown and white are the key colours of the stylish deVille Mayfair Restaurant. The food speaks for itself with fresh flavours, exciting combinations and seasonal ingredients. Make sure you leave room for the home-made ice cream...organic and made with no artifical additives or preservatives it is a guilt free treat. Breakfast Monday to Friday from 7.00am to 10.00am Saturday and Sunday from 8.00am to 11.00am Lunch is served between 12.30pm and 3.00pm. Dinner is served between 7.00pm and 11.00pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (454)

Ratings and reviews for The Mandeville Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
454 out of 454
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto
Mar 22, 2010

Terrific...but tiny

Buy your Oyster card at Heathrow and take the underground to Bond Street - the hotel is only a five minute walk away. Lovely hotel in a great area. The construction next door was only a noise concern during the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't make any long distance calls from the hotel without a phone card - we erroneously thought that a number that would have been toll free in Canada would also be toll free in London - a costly mistake.

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baiting Hollow, NY
Mar 10, 2010

Location, Location!

The Mandeville's location is wonderful for any visitor. It was just a short walk to the tube which made it very accessible to any where you may want to visit. The hotel was beautiful and the staff was very helpful. My only disappointment was the fee for internet access in the room. It was almost $20.00 for a 24 hour period. In this day and age, with the technology that most people use everyday, I felt that internet access should be included in the price of the stay, no matter which room you are staying in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baiting Hollow, NY
Mar 10, 2010

Location, Location!

The Mandeville's location is wonderful for any visitor. It was just a short walk to the tube which made it very accessible to any where you may want to visit. The hotel was beautiful and the staff was very helpful. My only disappointment was the fee for internet access in the room. It was almost $20.00 for a 24 hour period. In this day and age, with the technology that most people use everyday, I felt that internet access should be included in the price of the stay, no matter which room you are staying in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deb Syracuse mom
Cranston, RI
Mar 7, 2010

Great location!

I went to London to visit my son who is studying abroad for the semester. Our stay at The Mandeville was a very pleasant experience. It is centrally located within an exciting area. Oxford Street shopping is a very close walk down the street along with a short walk to the "Tube" stations. The area also has lots of wonderful locally run restaurants that were excellent. Our room was small, but when I researched many of the hotels, that was the norm. The room was always spotless and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful with finding me local church service times, a notary public and arranging a car to bring us back to the airport. Internet is not included in the room and the price was high. There was a lot of street noise too, such as trash pick-up and store deliveries. I would go back to this hotel if I were to return to London, we enjoyed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk down the street is Oxford Street, which is the busiest street in all of London. The stores are endless, including many high-end stores to budget-minded ones.

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deb Syracuse mom
Cranston, RI
Mar 7, 2010

Great location!

I went to London to visit my son who is studying abroad for the semester. Our stay at The Mandeville was a very pleasant experience. It is centrally located within an exciting area. Oxford Street shopping is a very close walk down the street along with a short walk to the "Tube" stations. The area also has lots of wonderful locally run restaurants that were excellent. Our room was small, but when I researched many of the hotels, that was the norm. The room was always spotless and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful with finding me local church service times, a notary public and arranging a car to bring us back to the airport. Internet is not included in the room and the price was high. There was a lot of street noise too, such as trash pick-up and store deliveries. I would go back to this hotel if I were to return to London, we enjoyed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk down the street is Oxford Street, which is the busiest street in all of London. The stores are endless, including many high-end stores to budget-minded ones.

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChicagoWorldTraveler
Chicago, IL
Feb 24, 2010

Good Location, Depends Though...

The area was absolutely charming...Marylebone is a quaint, upscale neighborhood, somewhat off the beaten path. So you get a great taste of all things local (including French boulangerie Paul), but is somewhat far from the Tube (more than 10 minutes of walking). Yes, small rooms, but lots of character! Be mindful of the construction going on in the area (it can get noisy in the mornings).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Paul Boulangerie; EAT (a chain you will find all over London, in fact); Waitrose (food store filled with organic produce and take-away meals).

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChicagoWorldTraveler
Chicago, IL
Feb 24, 2010

Good Location, Depends Though...

The area was absolutely charming...Marylebone is a quaint, upscale neighborhood, somewhat off the beaten path. So you get a great taste of all things local (including French boulangerie Paul), but is somewhat far from the Tube (more than 10 minutes of walking). Yes, small rooms, but lots of character! Be mindful of the construction going on in the area (it can get noisy in the mornings).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Paul Boulangerie; EAT (a chain you will find all over London, in fact); Waitrose (food store filled with organic produce and take-away meals).

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Just back from London
New England, USA
Feb 22, 2010

Nice People, Nice Place

very good. great location. only negative, was the quirky, very expensive attached bar. but...the bartenders there were very nice and helpful. but 8-10 dollars for a beer is a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of pubs and restaurants just outside the front door.

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Just back from London
New England, USA
Feb 22, 2010

Nice People, Nice Place

very good. great location. only negative, was the quirky, very expensive attached bar. but...the bartenders there were very nice and helpful. but 8-10 dollars for a beer is a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of pubs and restaurants just outside the front door.

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amalgamator
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 15, 2010

Bob's Your Uncle!

Excellent hotel! This hotel will always be my first choice in London. In my opinion, the location is better than the Ritz. The street it's on has excellent restaurants, bars and pubs. It's convenient to shopping on Oxford Street and Regent Street. It's a 5 minute walk to the Bond St station. It was a lovely 20 minute walk to Piccadilly Circus and maybe 25-30 for Buckingham Palace. 10 minutes to Hyde Park and 15 minutes to Regents Park. It's convenient to everything but the area is less congested than the Ritz (near the Green Park station) or anything East of it. Loved it! Loved it! Loved it! Our experience with the hotel staff was not disappointing either. I requested a room with 2 twin beds via e-mail after I had booked a double bed online. They were not able to confirm ahead of time but were accommodating when we arrived. The only one available was on the 1st floor in the rear of the hotel and we were concerned about noise after reading other reviews. He told us if it was a problem to let him know the next morning and he would have other twin rooms available then. Noise was a BIG problem! Not because of the local businesses but because they are doing construction behind the hotel. They moved us to another room without hesitation. The next room was on the second floor in the front of the hotel. I never noticed any noise from any of the local businesses. We were completely happy with it! The only negative thing I would say about the room at all is about the frosted glass door to the bathroom. From a design aspect, it's FABULOUS! Practically it's a little unnerving though. I was there with a girlfriend but I wouldn't be thrilled if it was my husband either. I'm just sayin'... I gave it a "5" for value because we got it for a steal. If I had paid the rack rates, I'm sure that would be a different story. Can't say enough good things about it. We had a great trip and the hotel added to our experience! That doesn't happen very often.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top