$153 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 5, 2015

The Mandeville Hotel

4 stars
View map of Mandeville Place, London, W1U 2BE

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Mandeville Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
267 out of 267
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vermont, USA
May 2, 2009

Lovely London hotel

The hotel staff was always helpful and friendly. The bed was wonderfully comfortable. The hotel is in an excellent location to get around London. And there are wonderful restaurants, parks and markets (and a great pub) within a few blocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Apr 8, 2010

Nice Place in a Great Location

I had never been to London before and had spent a lot of time researching hotels and various neighborhoods. I wanted a place that had a boutique hotel feel, was near a bunch of restaurants and close to a Tube station. The Mandeville Hotel seemed fit all those criteria, so I booked it. When I arrived, I was so glad that I picked the hotel! It was in the perfect location - centrally situated, less than a five minute walk to Oxford St and Bond St as well as the Bond St Tube station, but also set back a few blocks so you aren't right next to all the noise of those busy streets. It's only a few Tube stops away from all the tourist attractions to the east and just a few stops from all the sights and shopping to the west and south. Also St. Christopher's Place - between the hotel and Oxford St - is adorable and filled with all kinds of cute restaurants and pubs, and only steps away from the hotel's front door. The room itself was nice - I sprung for a deluxe room and I'm glad I did because even that wasn't huge, but it had a queen-sized bed (which was very comfy, but no top sheet which I think is weird). The bathroom was also nice. Also, I loved the lighting system in the room - you needed the key to go in a certain slot in order to turn on the lights. It is energy efficient and also insures you never leave without your key! I thought the service was pretty good - they provided a paper each morning and each night offered a turn down service. They also delivered the next day's weather report to the room each evening. The people at the front desk were alright, but those at the concierge desk were particularly helpful in nearly every way - confirming reservations, calling taxis, providing maps and tourist suggestions, recommending local eateries...they also called the airline for me to change something with my flight. The restaurant attached (deVille) was delicious! Guests of the hotel received 25% off when I was there, and though it is a pricey place it is absolutely wonderful and worth the money. If you are there on the weekend, the atmosphere might be a little better - I was there on a weeknight and there was only one other couple in the whole place, which was a little awkward. But apparently the place fills up on the weekend so it might feel less like dining in a private room. Unless you like that sort of thing. The drawbacks were few, but these stood out: first, the television was TINY. The screen was literally as tall as a pen (I measured). Plus it was soooo far across the room from the bed it was funny. They also only had very few TV stations, less than any other hotel I've been in. I know you don't spend a ton of time in the hotel room necessarily while on a trip, but the television service was very sub-par. Secondly, the website promises free wi-fi, which is true...if you are in the lobby. Otherwise, in your room it is 25 pounds a day! I stuck to checking my email in the hotel lobby, along with most other guests. Also, they charged me a pound each for several local calls and a water bottle that I did not take out of the mini-bar, so inspect your bill closely on your way out. Finally, I'd read a lot of comments about noise, and I did hear someone complaining while I was there about construction noise and asked to be moved to a different room. However, I personally didn't find the place to be noisy at all. I'd definitely recommend this place and stay here again myself. Have fun on your trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

When you're planning your trip on the Tube (which you should - it's a great and inexpensive way to get around), note how close together some of the stops are. There are areas where there are several stops that aren't far away from each other AT ALL. It takes longer to go through the all of the hallways, stairs, etc. then just walking to where you're going above ground. Plus it's a nicer view, and you never know what you might see on the way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
massachusetts
Jun 2, 2010

lovely small hotel

wonderful location in marleybone, close to shopping, theatre restaurants. the room was lovely though not large and thhe staff was helpful and polite, except for one concierge who couldn't add and seemed unfamiliar with normal requests..the others were very very helpful. like a small boutique hotel. i would definitely stay there again. very reasonably priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southborough, MA
Oct 26, 2009

Great location. Very nice hotel.

I liked The Mandeville Hotel and would definitely stay there again. The location at the base of Marylebone was fantastic. Oxford Street, with Selfridges and the Bond Street Underground, was just a couple of blocks away to the south, yet we were out of the hustle and bustle. The staff was courteous and the doorman found us taxis quickly when we needed them. The elevator was small but adequate. The double room was small, but that is to be expected. The room looked very nice, though the carpets were a little worn. The bed was comfortable and made up nicely. Lighting was good. The bathroom was well-sized. Flat-screen TV was quite small, but we weren't there to watch TV. There was free wifi in the lobby. We chose not to pay for room wifi as we weren't there very much. There was plenty of room to sit in the lobby. Up the street towards Marylebone, there were lots of local and good restaurants and shops. Down the next block toward Oxford Street was St. Christopher's Place with many more restaurants. We ate breakfast out every morning as the breakfast at the Mandeville was quite expensive, but there were plenty of cafes and local spots and a convenience store down the block for water, etc. We did not eat dinner there or go to the bar. There was no coffee or tea in the room. We had breakfast at James Rotisserie and Cafe, and at Paul Rothe & Sons, which was a great local spot. We ate at the Golden Hind for possibly the best fish and chips to be had. And we had tapas at La Tasca. All of these places were just a few minutes walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Golden Hind on 73 Marylebone Lane. Great fish and chips. BYOB with a wine/beer store right near by, and no corkage fee.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Sep 16, 2009

The Mandeville Hotel

The staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. I fell ill while there and the hotel concierge called a dr to come see me in my room. They were unfailingly polite and concerned about our welfare. The rooms are very clean and cozy but quite small if you get the standard. The continental breakfast includes yogurt, fruit, cereals, toast, and various pastries, along with tea/coffee and juice. The location in the heart of London is excellent--just a short Tube ride from many major museums and other tourist sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy an Oyster Card online before you go; use the Tube to get from Heathrow to your hotel--very easy and affordable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jul 26, 2011

Mandeville Hotel

Everything was fine, except that the single room was so small that one could not do anything in it but sleep. There is no room even for a small desk and chair. I had room service one night because I got in very late, I was starved and there was nowhere to stop for a bite. When they brought the tray, I had no choice but to eat on the floor. Otherwise the staff was helpful, it was clean, and the bathroom was well-appointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
American Guy in London
Business
Washington, DC
May 20, 2009

Lost in London

The Mandeville Hotel prides itself on offering a highly personalized service under the direction of its expert management team and they achieved that goal. Overall, the decor is very nice, the place is super clean and the staff was great. You can not get a better location in LDN, i was a block from the tube and seconds from some of London"s best shopping. The room I had was small but nice, the decor in the room in my opinion could have been a bit more updated with things such as Ipod docs, etc. I also wish that the hotel would get WiFi in the entire building instead of just the lobby. Would I stay there again, you ask... Definitely!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Experience some of LDN's street vendors, the food is GREAT.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Hampshire
Aug 11, 2010

A Place Of Comfort

I had mixed thoughts going in because of the assorted reviews of the hotel. The hotel was close to the tube as many have said and so many great places to eat surrounding the hotel. The room was small but for European standards it was big. The glass door to the bathroom was a non issue as it is frosted and was around the corner from the bed. Our room was on the 7th floor and overlooked the construction, but since we were not in the room during the day it didn't matter. Even when we were it wasn't loud at all. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. I would highly recommend the hotel to my family and friends. We would return in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Cut through St. Christopher's Place to avoid some of the crowds on Oxford Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MKai
Business
Vancouver, BC
Apr 14, 2009

My place in London

The very friendly lady @ reception upgraded me upon check-in. I felt very welcomed. Upon check-out, same thing. Very accommodating. Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Marylebone High Street, Selfridges, great restaurants and shops all within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
May 18, 2009

Good hotel, small rooms

This is a great hotel in a perfect location, particularly given that fact that you won't want to spend huge amounts of time in the very small ("superior") rooms. They're lovely and well designed, spotlessly clean, and perfectly comfortable - but they're really too small for two people to hang out in. Wake up, get out, and return to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top