$196 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 8, 2015 Check-out: Feb 9, 2015

The Mandeville Hotel

4 stars
Mandeville Place, London, W1U 2BE
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
267 reviews
Great service and location

Thoroughly enjoyed everything about the hotel. Good bar and food attached as well. See full review

  • David K.
  • Dec 30, 2014
Brilliant

Always stay in Marylebone, first time at this hotel- will now be an option to my other favorite hotel! See full review

  • BOC MAN
  • Dec 22, 2014
Personalized service, chic design in an indulgent West End oasis

Luxury meets practical in this stylish West End hotel that's both affordable and full-featured. Lavishly designed rooms are equipped with every modern amenity and indulgence, including a flat-screen LCD television, free Wi-Fi and a telephone-equipped marble bathroom. Each room has been designed by an internationally recognized interior designer, resulting in stylish elegance -- an indulgent oasis in an otherwise fast-paced West End location.

Highlights
  • Highly personalized service
  • Bedrooms designed by internationally renowned interior designers
  • Bond Street shops and galleries within easy walking distance
Rooms

Single, double, and deluxe rooms have been meticulously designed by Andre Avedian, with furniture expertly coordinated by Julian Chichester. Penhaligon bath accessories from London's famous fragrance house and power showers grace Italian-marble bathrooms. Other additions include complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour room service, mini-bar, in-room safe, valet service and voice mail.

Features

Standing in sharp contrast to its bustling West End location, the Mandeville Hotel is a sedate urban sanctuary, a welcoming retreat of stylish comfort that embraces both business and leisure travelers.

Personalized service is a signature focus of the Mandeville's management team, a dedication that's reinforced with its stylish surroundings.

Rooms have been created by internationally renowned interior designers, a commitment to luxury and indulgence that affords visitors a truly pampered experience.

And after a long day of power shopping or corporate wheeling-and-dealing, relax and enjoy a stiff whisky or imaginative cocktail at the on-site deVigne Bar, where a local mixologist will offer home-spun area insights and tips. Or dine in the upscale deVille Restaurant, designed by renowned interior designer Stephen Ryan and featuring contemporary dining options for both lunch and dinner.

Transportation
  • Bond Street and Marble Arch tube stations within walking distance
  • Heathrow and Gatwick Airports served via connections through Bond Street Station
Attractions
  • Regent's Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Bond Street galleries and shops (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • The Wallace Collection (walking distance)
  • Madame Tussaud's (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Hyde Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
Business
  • Conference facilities
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Meeting/banquet facilities
  • 24-hour room service
  • Safe deposit box

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Mandeville Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Mandeville Hotel Rooms

Superior Room
The room offers one double bed. With superior space and a large double sized bed, these rooms are the perfect excuse for an extended business stay or that long weekend away you have been waiting for. With design by Andre Avedian and furniture beautifully coordinated by Julian Chichester, every room has been crafted to make you feel as if it is a home from home. The room includes Air conditioning, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Iron/Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.
Deluxe Room
The room offers one double bed. In addition to all the standard facilities Deluxe Doubles combine greater space and luxury whilst giving you that extra deluxe touch. The bathrooms are larger and have been built with the most beautiful Italian marble. Delicious bath accessories from Penhaligon are one of London's most famous fragrance houses and the cosiness of a full length bathrobe and monogrammed slippers. The room includes Air conditioning, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, , Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Iron/Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.
Single Room
The room offers one single bed. The bathrooms have been built with the most beautiful Italian marble. Delicious bath accessories from Penhaligon are one of London's most famous fragrance houses and the cosiness of a full length bathrobe and monogrammed slippers. The room includes Air conditioning, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Iron/Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Wallace Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.2 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.2 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.3 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.3 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.4 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.4 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.4 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.4 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.5 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.5 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.2 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.2 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.3 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.3 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.4 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.4 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.4 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.4 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.5 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.5 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Park Lane: 0.6 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 0.6 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.6 mi
  • Kingly Court : 0.6 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 0.7 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.7 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Piccadilly: 0.8 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • University of London: 0.8 mi
  • London Business School: 0.8 mi
  • Soho: 0.8 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.9 mi
  • University College London: 0.9 mi
  • Green Park: 0.9 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.9 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 0.9 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1 mi
  • Leicester Square: 1 mi
  • Birkbeck: 1 mi
  • West End: 1 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 1 mi

Dining

deVille Restaurant
Designed by world renowned interior designer, Stephen Ryan, deVille Restaurant has been fashioned for those who have a passion for London dining in a relaxed and elegant atmosphere, whilst trying the delicious modern British cuisine devised by our Executive Head Chef. The dcor of the dining room is emphasised by the modern, large patterned, floral wallpaper motif punctuated by theatrical clear Perspex framed paintings and Venetian mask wall lights. Silver, Weimeraner brown and white are the key colours of the stylish deVille Mayfair Restaurant. The food speaks for itself with fresh flavours, exciting combinations and seasonal ingredients. Make sure you leave room for the home-made ice cream...organic and made with no artifical additives or preservatives it is a guilt free treat. Breakfast Monday to Friday from 7.00am to 10.00am Saturday and Sunday from 8.00am to 11.00am Lunch is served between 12.30pm and 3.00pm. Dinner is served between 7.00pm and 11.00pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (267)

Ratings and reviews for The Mandeville Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
267 out of 267
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston USA
May 10, 2010

Fabulous Location and attentive staff

The location is unbeatable as you are within a reasonable walking distance of everything Mayfair has to offer. The area immediately surrounding the hotel is full of restaurants and small shops, and is always lively. The Bond Street Tube is a 3 minute walk away from the front door. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The bar is beautifully appointed, has an amazing drinks menu and is lively later in the evening, if quite pricey. The only downside is the construction noise, which is obviously beyond the control of the hotel. However, if you are a late sleeper, then this neighborhood is not for you. It is quite loud and annoying, going, for what I could tell, most of the day. But if you are up and out of your hotel every day, then this would not be a problem. While the rooms are small, they are laid out well and scrupulously clean. All in all, I quite enjoyed my stay. The location and hotel appointments far exceeded the price that I paid, probably due to the construction, which was not really a bother as I was out during the day. I will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Duke and Oxford Streets both within a short walk. St. Christopher's place, just across the street from the hotel, has loads of small, fun boutique shops, cafes, pubs and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baiting Hollow, NY
Mar 10, 2010

Location, Location!

The Mandeville's location is wonderful for any visitor. It was just a short walk to the tube which made it very accessible to any where you may want to visit. The hotel was beautiful and the staff was very helpful. My only disappointment was the fee for internet access in the room. It was almost $20.00 for a 24 hour period. In this day and age, with the technology that most people use everyday, I felt that internet access should be included in the price of the stay, no matter which room you are staying in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lovin' london
Business
los angeles, california
Aug 13, 2010

first time in london

Fantastic location. Super Central - easy to access Bond Street Tube and tons of buses to get you anywhere in the city and more. A variety of cute restaurants in between hotel and Oxford Street. Great Gelato only a block away. Rooms are super clean, the room I had was a good sized for one. Wanted free internet in the room although there is free wi-fi in the lobby. Also wanted more cable tv stations to catch up on good British telly after a long day out walking and sightseeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

If you want to see theater then check out the 1/2 price ticket booth in Leicester Square. Also try to do a day trip to Bath and Windsor Castle - huge highlight of trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Staten Island NY
Aug 16, 2010

Great Location

Our overall experience at The Mandeville Hotel was great. Perfect location. We walked everywhere. Nice restuarants and pubs right down the street. The rooms were very nice, decorated lovely and very clean. The rooms are small but typical for Europe. The staff was so accomidating and nice. They were there for us for every question we had. The only problem we had was with room service. We arrived late and tried to get something to eat from the hotel but they were only offering Chicken Curry or Pasta not something you want to eat at 11:00 p.m., but the staff came through and ordered us a pizza from out side. Like I said they were very accomidating. We would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Staten Island, NY
Aug 26, 2010

Great Location

The Mandeville Hotel is located right near the heart of the city, just blocks away from teh Bond Street Station. You cannot get a better location and there are some cute cafes and good shopping nearby. The rooms were pretty nice - small but that is expected in Europe. Service was very friendly and helpful. I loved the relatively quiet block it was on and I only considered it noisy because there is an opera singer in the neighborhood, practicing (No joke).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Prof L
Business
Amherst, MA
Jul 20, 2009

Upscale feel, friendly service

This hotel is excellently located in the heart of London. I walked to major museums, libraries, tourist destinations, restaurants, theaters. The building is historic and beautiful, and the personnel are professional, dignified, and friendly. I would have felt a bit more at home had internet service been supplied to the rooms either for free or for a more reasonable fee. The rooms were snug but very well appointed. Everything looked clean except the carpets on the floor, which were stained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Lebanese restaurant around the corner. Expect to be blown away by the floor show and the regular clientele as well as the food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tonemeister
Business
owings mills. M.d.
Aug 29, 2010

Our stay at the Mandeville

Right in the heart of the West End. Lots of shops and interesting places to eat nearby.The Bond street tube station is nearby so you can go almost anywhere in London. The staff was friendly and was helpful in arranging cabs etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a London travel pass and ride the tube or buses all you want cheaply. however,it must be sent to your home address as it's a discount for tourists.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vermont, USA
May 2, 2009

Lovely London hotel

The hotel staff was always helpful and friendly. The bed was wonderfully comfortable. The hotel is in an excellent location to get around London. And there are wonderful restaurants, parks and markets (and a great pub) within a few blocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Apr 8, 2010

Nice Place in a Great Location

I had never been to London before and had spent a lot of time researching hotels and various neighborhoods. I wanted a place that had a boutique hotel feel, was near a bunch of restaurants and close to a Tube station. The Mandeville Hotel seemed fit all those criteria, so I booked it. When I arrived, I was so glad that I picked the hotel! It was in the perfect location - centrally situated, less than a five minute walk to Oxford St and Bond St as well as the Bond St Tube station, but also set back a few blocks so you aren't right next to all the noise of those busy streets. It's only a few Tube stops away from all the tourist attractions to the east and just a few stops from all the sights and shopping to the west and south. Also St. Christopher's Place - between the hotel and Oxford St - is adorable and filled with all kinds of cute restaurants and pubs, and only steps away from the hotel's front door. The room itself was nice - I sprung for a deluxe room and I'm glad I did because even that wasn't huge, but it had a queen-sized bed (which was very comfy, but no top sheet which I think is weird). The bathroom was also nice. Also, I loved the lighting system in the room - you needed the key to go in a certain slot in order to turn on the lights. It is energy efficient and also insures you never leave without your key! I thought the service was pretty good - they provided a paper each morning and each night offered a turn down service. They also delivered the next day's weather report to the room each evening. The people at the front desk were alright, but those at the concierge desk were particularly helpful in nearly every way - confirming reservations, calling taxis, providing maps and tourist suggestions, recommending local eateries...they also called the airline for me to change something with my flight. The restaurant attached (deVille) was delicious! Guests of the hotel received 25% off when I was there, and though it is a pricey place it is absolutely wonderful and worth the money. If you are there on the weekend, the atmosphere might be a little better - I was there on a weeknight and there was only one other couple in the whole place, which was a little awkward. But apparently the place fills up on the weekend so it might feel less like dining in a private room. Unless you like that sort of thing. The drawbacks were few, but these stood out: first, the television was TINY. The screen was literally as tall as a pen (I measured). Plus it was soooo far across the room from the bed it was funny. They also only had very few TV stations, less than any other hotel I've been in. I know you don't spend a ton of time in the hotel room necessarily while on a trip, but the television service was very sub-par. Secondly, the website promises free wi-fi, which is true...if you are in the lobby. Otherwise, in your room it is 25 pounds a day! I stuck to checking my email in the hotel lobby, along with most other guests. Also, they charged me a pound each for several local calls and a water bottle that I did not take out of the mini-bar, so inspect your bill closely on your way out. Finally, I'd read a lot of comments about noise, and I did hear someone complaining while I was there about construction noise and asked to be moved to a different room. However, I personally didn't find the place to be noisy at all. I'd definitely recommend this place and stay here again myself. Have fun on your trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

When you're planning your trip on the Tube (which you should - it's a great and inexpensive way to get around), note how close together some of the stops are. There are areas where there are several stops that aren't far away from each other AT ALL. It takes longer to go through the all of the hallways, stairs, etc. then just walking to where you're going above ground. Plus it's a nicer view, and you never know what you might see on the way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
massachusetts
Jun 2, 2010

lovely small hotel

wonderful location in marleybone, close to shopping, theatre restaurants. the room was lovely though not large and thhe staff was helpful and polite, except for one concierge who couldn't add and seemed unfamiliar with normal requests..the others were very very helpful. like a small boutique hotel. i would definitely stay there again. very reasonably priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top