$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

The Mandeville Hotel

4 stars
Mandeville Place, London, W1U 2BE
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
456 reviews
Great Location.

Wonderful stay at the Mandeville. Very close to cafes, shops and restaurants. Walking distance to... See full review

  • 86Jax
  • Jul 14, 2014
Fun for a weekend

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for three days. It was a perfect location--surrounded by many... See full review

  • Kitty Karry All
  • Jul 9, 2014
Personalized service, chic design in an indulgent West End oasis

Luxury meets practical in this stylish West End hotel that's both affordable and full-featured. Lavishly designed rooms are equipped with every modern amenity and indulgence, including a flat-screen LCD television, free Wi-Fi and a telephone-equipped marble bathroom. Each room has been designed by an internationally recognized interior designer, resulting in stylish elegance -- an indulgent oasis in an otherwise fast-paced West End location.

Highlights
  • Highly personalized service
  • Bedrooms designed by internationally renowned interior designers
  • Bond Street shops and galleries within easy walking distance
Rooms

Single, double, and deluxe rooms have been meticulously designed by Andre Avedian, with furniture expertly coordinated by Julian Chichester. Penhaligon bath accessories from London's famous fragrance house and power showers grace Italian-marble bathrooms. Other additions include complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour room service, mini-bar, in-room safe, valet service and voice mail.

Features

Standing in sharp contrast to its bustling West End location, the Mandeville Hotel is a sedate urban sanctuary, a welcoming retreat of stylish comfort that embraces both business and leisure travelers.

Personalized service is a signature focus of the Mandeville's management team, a dedication that's reinforced with its stylish surroundings.

Rooms have been created by internationally renowned interior designers, a commitment to luxury and indulgence that affords visitors a truly pampered experience.

And after a long day of power shopping or corporate wheeling-and-dealing, relax and enjoy a stiff whisky or imaginative cocktail at the on-site deVigne Bar, where a local mixologist will offer home-spun area insights and tips. Or dine in the upscale deVille Restaurant, designed by renowned interior designer Stephen Ryan and featuring contemporary dining options for both lunch and dinner.

Transportation
  • Bond Street and Marble Arch tube stations within walking distance
  • Heathrow and Gatwick Airports served via connections through Bond Street Station
Attractions
  • Regent's Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Bond Street galleries and shops (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • The Wallace Collection (walking distance)
  • Madame Tussaud's (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Hyde Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
Business
  • Conference facilities
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Meeting/banquet facilities
  • 24-hour room service
  • Safe deposit box

The Mandeville Hotel Rooms

Superior Room
The room offers one double bed. With superior space and a large double sized bed, these rooms are the perfect excuse for an extended business stay or that long weekend away you have been waiting for. With design by Andre Avedian and furniture beautifully coordinated by Julian Chichester, every room has been crafted to make you feel as if it is a home from home. The room includes Air conditioning, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Iron/Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.
Deluxe Room
The room offers one double bed. In addition to all the standard facilities Deluxe Doubles combine greater space and luxury whilst giving you that extra deluxe touch. The bathrooms are larger and have been built with the most beautiful Italian marble. Delicious bath accessories from Penhaligon are one of London's most famous fragrance houses and the cosiness of a full length bathrobe and monogrammed slippers. The room includes Air conditioning, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, , Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Iron/Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.
Single Room
The room offers one single bed. The bathrooms have been built with the most beautiful Italian marble. Delicious bath accessories from Penhaligon are one of London's most famous fragrance houses and the cosiness of a full length bathrobe and monogrammed slippers. The room includes Air conditioning, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Iron/Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

51.5164 -0.1514
Area served
London.
Nearby airports
Heathrow International Airport.
Area description
Located in fashionable Marylebone, within a few minutes of Bond Street and some of London's most exciting shops, art galleries, theatres and bars. The Mandeville Hotel is an excellent choice for your leisure, cultural or corporate stays in London.

Nearby points of interest

  • Wallace Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.2 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.2 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.3 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.3 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.4 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.4 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.4 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.4 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.5 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.5 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.2 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.2 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.3 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.3 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.4 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.4 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.4 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.4 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.5 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.5 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Park Lane: 0.6 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 0.6 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.6 mi
  • Kingly Court : 0.6 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 0.7 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.7 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Piccadilly: 0.8 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • University of London: 0.8 mi
  • London Business School: 0.8 mi
  • Soho: 0.8 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.9 mi
  • University College London: 0.9 mi
  • Green Park: 0.9 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.9 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 0.9 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1 mi
  • Leicester Square: 1 mi
  • Birkbeck: 1 mi
  • West End: 1 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 1 mi

Dining

deVille Restaurant
Designed by world renowned interior designer, Stephen Ryan, deVille Restaurant has been fashioned for those who have a passion for London dining in a relaxed and elegant atmosphere, whilst trying the delicious modern British cuisine devised by our Executive Head Chef. The dcor of the dining room is emphasised by the modern, large patterned, floral wallpaper motif punctuated by theatrical clear Perspex framed paintings and Venetian mask wall lights. Silver, Weimeraner brown and white are the key colours of the stylish deVille Mayfair Restaurant. The food speaks for itself with fresh flavours, exciting combinations and seasonal ingredients. Make sure you leave room for the home-made ice cream...organic and made with no artifical additives or preservatives it is a guilt free treat. Breakfast Monday to Friday from 7.00am to 10.00am Saturday and Sunday from 8.00am to 11.00am Lunch is served between 12.30pm and 3.00pm. Dinner is served between 7.00pm and 11.00pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (456)

Ratings and reviews for The Mandeville Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
456 out of 456
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Truly Kala
Houston, TX
Oct 30, 2012

Quite lovely without pretension

From the moment we walked up the front steps, we were greeted by a knowlegdable staff eager to ensure a delightful stay. Though able to maintain "English" sensibilities, the Mandeville created a very warm and personable atmosphere. Located in the West End, the Mandeville's location cannot be beat. Two large windows enabled natural light (when the sun chose to make an appearance) to flood the otherwise medium size yet comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy an Oyster card if you're planning on taking the Tube frequently. Not only is it cheaper then paying per ride, but you also get each ride at a discounted rate.

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sadzco
Business
Detroit, MI, USA
Apr 22, 2012

Disappointed.

My reservation was for a regular room, I was given a handicapped room which I did not need, and could of been used by someone in need of these services. I would not use this over priced and over rated hotel ever again. Cheerio

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
normally loves london
chicago, illinois
Aug 20, 2010

Very Disappointed

There is no free wireless internet in the very tiny rooms.In order to access the free internet, you had to go into their very tiny lobby and sit in certain areas on uncomfortable furniture.The staff is not very well informed about London, i.e. directions to places, suggestions.They would give you directions and they would be incorrect, always missing the key turn.I asked the concierge to make a dinner reservation for my daughter and I.When we arrived at the restaurant, the reservation was incorrect.The staff has difficulty hailing cabs for their patrons.It takes them quite a while to find one, unlike other hotels which have cabs waiting for their patrons.If you are a smoker, they ask you to stand in a corner outside of the hotel.Other hotels I have stayed in London have some umbrella'd tables and a nice area for their patrons.When I went to check out, they tried to charge me an accommodation charge. [...] When I questioned it, they told me it was my discretion if i wanted to pay for it.I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and I wouldn't return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Rules Restaurant in Covent Gardens has the best steak and kidney pie and sticky toffee pudding. Reservations strongly recommended.Also, Airport taxi from Heathrow to London, only 28 pounds:08000968096 (toll free).

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
normally loves london
chicago, illinois
Aug 20, 2010

Very Disappointed

There is no free wireless internet in the very tiny rooms.In order to access the free internet, you had to go into their very tiny lobby and sit in certain areas on uncomfortable furniture.The staff is not very well informed about London, i.e. directions to places, suggestions.They would give you directions and they would be incorrect, always missing the key turn.I asked the concierge to make a dinner reservation for my daughter and I.When we arrived at the restaurant, the reservation was incorrect.The staff has difficulty hailing cabs for their patrons.It takes them quite a while to find one, unlike other hotels which have cabs waiting for their patrons.If you are a smoker, they ask you to stand in a corner outside of the hotel.Other hotels I have stayed in London have some umbrella'd tables and a nice area for their patrons.When I went to check out, they tried to charge me an accommodation charge. [...] When I questioned it, they told me it was my discretion if i wanted to pay for it.I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and I wouldn't return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Rules Restaurant in Covent Gardens has the best steak and kidney pie and sticky toffee pudding. Reservations strongly recommended.Also, Airport taxi from Heathrow to London, only 28 pounds:08000968096 (toll free).

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vic pas
Norway
Apr 23, 2014

Terrible service

Terrible service ! Straff not vert helpfull . Weird

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mid-life Explorer
Kingsport, TN
Jul 16, 2009

Had Better

The television did not work(it was eventually fixed), the bathroom light did not work(never was fixed). Be prepared for cramped quarters but the bed was comfortable and the sheets seemed clean. The morning staff was helpful and charming but their replacements at night were useless and rude. I would urge anyone to find another hotel closer to an Underground, it is almost three blocks to the closest bus and underground. If you like the area this hotel is in, look farther south for your stay, by the Bond Street Underground entrance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

For the price, St. Paul's offers the least amount of value. Much of what you can see here can be seen in other cathedrals and abbeys for much less. If you are going especially for the purported mysteries of the Whispering Gallery, don't. You do not here anything other than the chatter of the various groups throughout the ENTIRE cathedral, not your friend whispering you a message across the way. Many people were trying to do that(quite unsuccessfully) while I was there.

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mid-life Explorer
Kingsport, TN
Jul 16, 2009

Had Better

The television did not work(it was eventually fixed), the bathroom light did not work(never was fixed). Be prepared for cramped quarters but the bed was comfortable and the sheets seemed clean. The morning staff was helpful and charming but their replacements at night were useless and rude. I would urge anyone to find another hotel closer to an Underground, it is almost three blocks to the closest bus and underground. If you like the area this hotel is in, look farther south for your stay, by the Bond Street Underground entrance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

For the price, St. Paul's offers the least amount of value. Much of what you can see here can be seen in other cathedrals and abbeys for much less. If you are going especially for the purported mysteries of the Whispering Gallery, don't. You do not here anything other than the chatter of the various groups throughout the ENTIRE cathedral, not your friend whispering you a message across the way. Many people were trying to do that(quite unsuccessfully) while I was there.

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SquishedInLondon
Orem, UT
Mar 30, 2011

Tiny and not great design at all

I'll admit, hopefully this experience can get better. But right now, I'm in a room that is just like the "Single room" picture on Mandeville's website. But I paid for a Superior Double room. I asked the front desk, and the gentleman said to the effect that's just how it is, and he rather likes the orange colors in the room. The design is cramped (don't be fooled by the photos--we have to climb over the bed at one corner because that's the only spot for a suitcase). The orange bedspread with mustard yellow curtains feels like an unrenovated Motel 6. The rate is decent, but had I known this is what I'd get, I would have gone with a Marriott. At least Marriott has standards that cut down on surprises. [...] Since TV and the telephone are in the room, I made the assumption that so was wi-fi. [...] go with a brand hotel you can trust.I just came from the Conrad (part of Hilton Hotels) in Dublin, and that hotel was wonderful in comparison to this. Oddly, Mandeville is rated 4 stars [...]. I don't understand how.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

In getting to here from Heathrow, try hummingbirdcars.co.uk--much cheaper than a cab. We would have taken the subway/tube, but in coming in at midnight thanks to airline delays, it didn't seem the safest thing to do in a city that's new to us. You do have to order it at least 5 hours before your arrival.

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SquishedInLondon
Orem, UT
Mar 30, 2011

Tiny and not great design at all

I'll admit, hopefully this experience can get better. But right now, I'm in a room that is just like the "Single room" picture on Mandeville's website. But I paid for a Superior Double room. I asked the front desk, and the gentleman said to the effect that's just how it is, and he rather likes the orange colors in the room. The design is cramped (don't be fooled by the photos--we have to climb over the bed at one corner because that's the only spot for a suitcase). The orange bedspread with mustard yellow curtains feels like an unrenovated Motel 6. The rate is decent, but had I known this is what I'd get, I would have gone with a Marriott. At least Marriott has standards that cut down on surprises. [...] Since TV and the telephone are in the room, I made the assumption that so was wi-fi. [...] go with a brand hotel you can trust.I just came from the Conrad (part of Hilton Hotels) in Dublin, and that hotel was wonderful in comparison to this. Oddly, Mandeville is rated 4 stars [...]. I don't understand how.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

In getting to here from Heathrow, try hummingbirdcars.co.uk--much cheaper than a cab. We would have taken the subway/tube, but in coming in at midnight thanks to airline delays, it didn't seem the safest thing to do in a city that's new to us. You do have to order it at least 5 hours before your arrival.

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York City
Sep 4, 2009

A good place to stay

A very plesant hotel which is very well located. The staffc was pleasant and attentive. The Hotel is well maintained. The dining room serves well prepared dishes.The rooms are small as is usual with most hotels in Great Britain. I particularly recommend it for leisure travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a restaurant row down the street with numerous good places and a variety of cuisines.

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York City
Sep 4, 2009

A good place to stay

A very plesant hotel which is very well located. The staffc was pleasant and attentive. The Hotel is well maintained. The dining room serves well prepared dishes.The rooms are small as is usual with most hotels in Great Britain. I particularly recommend it for leisure travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a restaurant row down the street with numerous good places and a variety of cuisines.

Back to menu Return to top