$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

The Mandeville Hotel

4 stars
Mandeville Place, London, W1U 2BE
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
261 reviews
Great Location.

Wonderful stay at the Mandeville. Very close to cafes, shops and restaurants. Walking distance to... See full review

  • 86Jax
  • Jul 14, 2014
Perfect location

This hotel is ideally located in close proximity to London's major shopping streets. Restaurants... See full review

  • Traveller MA
  • Oct 27, 2014
Personalized service, chic design in an indulgent West End oasis

Luxury meets practical in this stylish West End hotel that's both affordable and full-featured. Lavishly designed rooms are equipped with every modern amenity and indulgence, including a flat-screen LCD television, free Wi-Fi and a telephone-equipped marble bathroom. Each room has been designed by an internationally recognized interior designer, resulting in stylish elegance -- an indulgent oasis in an otherwise fast-paced West End location.

Highlights
  • Highly personalized service
  • Bedrooms designed by internationally renowned interior designers
  • Bond Street shops and galleries within easy walking distance
Rooms

Single, double, and deluxe rooms have been meticulously designed by Andre Avedian, with furniture expertly coordinated by Julian Chichester. Penhaligon bath accessories from London's famous fragrance house and power showers grace Italian-marble bathrooms. Other additions include complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour room service, mini-bar, in-room safe, valet service and voice mail.

Features

Standing in sharp contrast to its bustling West End location, the Mandeville Hotel is a sedate urban sanctuary, a welcoming retreat of stylish comfort that embraces both business and leisure travelers.

Personalized service is a signature focus of the Mandeville's management team, a dedication that's reinforced with its stylish surroundings.

Rooms have been created by internationally renowned interior designers, a commitment to luxury and indulgence that affords visitors a truly pampered experience.

And after a long day of power shopping or corporate wheeling-and-dealing, relax and enjoy a stiff whisky or imaginative cocktail at the on-site deVigne Bar, where a local mixologist will offer home-spun area insights and tips. Or dine in the upscale deVille Restaurant, designed by renowned interior designer Stephen Ryan and featuring contemporary dining options for both lunch and dinner.

Transportation
  • Bond Street and Marble Arch tube stations within walking distance
  • Heathrow and Gatwick Airports served via connections through Bond Street Station
Attractions
  • Regent's Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Bond Street galleries and shops (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • The Wallace Collection (walking distance)
  • Madame Tussaud's (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Hyde Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
Business
  • Conference facilities
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Meeting/banquet facilities
  • 24-hour room service
  • Safe deposit box

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Mandeville Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Mandeville Hotel Rooms

Superior Room
The room offers one double bed. With superior space and a large double sized bed, these rooms are the perfect excuse for an extended business stay or that long weekend away you have been waiting for. With design by Andre Avedian and furniture beautifully coordinated by Julian Chichester, every room has been crafted to make you feel as if it is a home from home. The room includes Air conditioning, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Iron/Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.
Deluxe Room
The room offers one double bed. In addition to all the standard facilities Deluxe Doubles combine greater space and luxury whilst giving you that extra deluxe touch. The bathrooms are larger and have been built with the most beautiful Italian marble. Delicious bath accessories from Penhaligon are one of London's most famous fragrance houses and the cosiness of a full length bathrobe and monogrammed slippers. The room includes Air conditioning, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, , Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Iron/Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.
Single Room
The room offers one single bed. The bathrooms have been built with the most beautiful Italian marble. Delicious bath accessories from Penhaligon are one of London's most famous fragrance houses and the cosiness of a full length bathrobe and monogrammed slippers. The room includes Air conditioning, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Iron/Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Wallace Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.2 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.2 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.3 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.3 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.4 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.4 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.4 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.4 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.5 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.5 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.1 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.2 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.2 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.3 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.3 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.4 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.4 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.4 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.4 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.5 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.5 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Park Lane: 0.6 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 0.6 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.6 mi
  • Kingly Court : 0.6 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 0.7 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.7 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Piccadilly: 0.8 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • University of London: 0.8 mi
  • London Business School: 0.8 mi
  • Soho: 0.8 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.9 mi
  • University College London: 0.9 mi
  • Green Park: 0.9 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.9 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 0.9 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1 mi
  • Leicester Square: 1 mi
  • Birkbeck: 1 mi
  • West End: 1 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 1 mi

Dining

deVille Restaurant
Designed by world renowned interior designer, Stephen Ryan, deVille Restaurant has been fashioned for those who have a passion for London dining in a relaxed and elegant atmosphere, whilst trying the delicious modern British cuisine devised by our Executive Head Chef. The dcor of the dining room is emphasised by the modern, large patterned, floral wallpaper motif punctuated by theatrical clear Perspex framed paintings and Venetian mask wall lights. Silver, Weimeraner brown and white are the key colours of the stylish deVille Mayfair Restaurant. The food speaks for itself with fresh flavours, exciting combinations and seasonal ingredients. Make sure you leave room for the home-made ice cream...organic and made with no artifical additives or preservatives it is a guilt free treat. Breakfast Monday to Friday from 7.00am to 10.00am Saturday and Sunday from 8.00am to 11.00am Lunch is served between 12.30pm and 3.00pm. Dinner is served between 7.00pm and 11.00pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (261)

Ratings and reviews for The Mandeville Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
261 out of 261
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sadzco
Business
Detroit, MI, USA
Apr 22, 2012

Disappointed.

My reservation was for a regular room, I was given a handicapped room which I did not need, and could of been used by someone in need of these services. I would not use this over priced and over rated hotel ever again. Cheerio

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vic pas
Business
Norway
Apr 23, 2014

Terrible service

Terrible service ! Straff not vert helpfull . Weird

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
normally loves london
Business
chicago, illinois
Aug 20, 2010

Very Disappointed

There is no free wireless internet in the very tiny rooms.In order to access the free internet, you had to go into their very tiny lobby and sit in certain areas on uncomfortable furniture.The staff is not very well informed about London, i.e. directions to places, suggestions.They would give you directions and they would be incorrect, always missing the key turn.I asked the concierge to make a dinner reservation for my daughter and I.When we arrived at the restaurant, the reservation was incorrect.The staff has difficulty hailing cabs for their patrons.It takes them quite a while to find one, unlike other hotels which have cabs waiting for their patrons.If you are a smoker, they ask you to stand in a corner outside of the hotel.Other hotels I have stayed in London have some umbrella'd tables and a nice area for their patrons.When I went to check out, they tried to charge me an accommodation charge. [...] When I questioned it, they told me it was my discretion if i wanted to pay for it.I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and I wouldn't return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Rules Restaurant in Covent Gardens has the best steak and kidney pie and sticky toffee pudding. Reservations strongly recommended.Also, Airport taxi from Heathrow to London, only 28 pounds:08000968096 (toll free).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SquishedInLondon
Business
Orem, UT
Mar 30, 2011

Tiny and not great design at all

I'll admit, hopefully this experience can get better. But right now, I'm in a room that is just like the "Single room" picture on Mandeville's website. But I paid for a Superior Double room. I asked the front desk, and the gentleman said to the effect that's just how it is, and he rather likes the orange colors in the room. The design is cramped (don't be fooled by the photos--we have to climb over the bed at one corner because that's the only spot for a suitcase). The orange bedspread with mustard yellow curtains feels like an unrenovated Motel 6. The rate is decent, but had I known this is what I'd get, I would have gone with a Marriott. At least Marriott has standards that cut down on surprises. [...] Since TV and the telephone are in the room, I made the assumption that so was wi-fi. [...] go with a brand hotel you can trust.I just came from the Conrad (part of Hilton Hotels) in Dublin, and that hotel was wonderful in comparison to this. Oddly, Mandeville is rated 4 stars [...]. I don't understand how.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

In getting to here from Heathrow, try hummingbirdcars.co.uk--much cheaper than a cab. We would have taken the subway/tube, but in coming in at midnight thanks to airline delays, it didn't seem the safest thing to do in a city that's new to us. You do have to order it at least 5 hours before your arrival.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Sep 4, 2009

A good place to stay

A very plesant hotel which is very well located. The staffc was pleasant and attentive. The Hotel is well maintained. The dining room serves well prepared dishes.The rooms are small as is usual with most hotels in Great Britain. I particularly recommend it for leisure travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a restaurant row down the street with numerous good places and a variety of cuisines.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mid-life Explorer
Business
Kingsport, TN
Jul 16, 2009

Had Better

The television did not work(it was eventually fixed), the bathroom light did not work(never was fixed). Be prepared for cramped quarters but the bed was comfortable and the sheets seemed clean. The morning staff was helpful and charming but their replacements at night were useless and rude. I would urge anyone to find another hotel closer to an Underground, it is almost three blocks to the closest bus and underground. If you like the area this hotel is in, look farther south for your stay, by the Bond Street Underground entrance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

For the price, St. Paul's offers the least amount of value. Much of what you can see here can be seen in other cathedrals and abbeys for much less. If you are going especially for the purported mysteries of the Whispering Gallery, don't. You do not here anything other than the chatter of the various groups throughout the ENTIRE cathedral, not your friend whispering you a message across the way. Many people were trying to do that(quite unsuccessfully) while I was there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nyc
Oct 27, 2009

Rooms too small;drawer space limited

Because the space was so limited, we canceled a week of our stay and moved to another hotel. This hotel is probably best for an overnight stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
smljecl
Business
Virginia USA
Oct 23, 2010

Mandeville Hotel, London UK

The Mandeville Hotel is located in the West End section of London and is very close (2 blocks) from the primary shopping area of London (Oxford and Bond Street.) It is also only 2 blocks to the Bond Street Underground entrance. If you plan to shop this is the place to be. If you are interested in seeing the primary sites of London you have to take the underground or take trains. Plan on lots of walking including through the underground and train stations. There are little if any tourist sites near or within reasonable walking distance of the hotel. Oxford and Bond Street are also very crowded with shoppers. Think Manhatten. The Concierge staff was very helpful in providing tourist suggestions, and directions, purchasing tickets, taxis, etc. They also have a doorman.The Hotel is attractive and the rooms nicely appointed but very small at least for the price we paid ($2100 for 6 nights.) Rather on the expensive side considering its location away from tourist locations. Service was excellent but there are no complimentary perks. No free coffee or breakfast. U.K. Newspapers are free but not if you have them delivered to your room. There is a charge for that. Expect to pay approximately $40-50 per person for afternoon tea and more for dinner in the hotel. Rooms are small for the price and barely could accomodate two suitcases and/or a carry on luggage or backpack. I also felt that because we booked through [...] and the rate was less than they normally charge that we were given one of their least desirable rooms. Upon check in they immediately tried a bait and switch to an upgraded room for an additional $20 pounds ($36) per night. We declined. Our room was tiny and backed onto a contruction site with hammering and construction noise starting around 8:00AM. We complained and they did switch us to another room that faced the front of the hotel and was slightly larger due to not having a minibar in it. The first room did. The room was adequate for the amount of time we spent in it. To save energy the rooms use a timer system for lights that proved annoying. You insert you key card in a slot to turn the lights on otherwise they go out after a few minutes. You could not turn some of the ceiling lights on or off without getting out of bed to turn the mainswitch on or off. If you turned the main switch off you had no lights at all, except for the bathroom. Also there was a light sensor in the ceiling so if the curtains were open during the day the lights would not go on. You had to shut the curtain and drapes to get the lights to turn on. So, in essence no small fridge, no free wifi, no free coffee, no ice buckets or ice, etc. And there is a 3 pound per night charge for maid service. You are also expected to tip the Concierge staff although it is discretionary.We enjoyed our stay in London immensely but I would not stay at the Mandeville on any return trip.Getting around London was quite easy. The Underground is well marked and the maps pretty easy to read. All of the station and ticket attendants were very friendly and very helpful. We purchased day passes allowing us to travel all day for approximately $8.50 each. We saw all of the tourist sites using the underground and took a train out to Windsor to see Windsor Castle. We also were easily able to get discounted tickets to a play. London is very expensive especially with a 19.5% VAT tax on everything. Shopping at top end stores in the U.S. (Louis Vuitton, Hugo Boss, Armani, Burberry, Ferragamo, etc. for merchandise is significantly cheaper than in London.We had a great time. People were friendly and helpful and getting around was very easy. Certainly, no car or taxis needed to get to all of the major sites. I also enjoyed the clever names for many of the local pubs. They are everywhere and surprisingly the food in London was very good. We came to London from Paris so were really surprised at how good the food was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Svetlana
Business
Bethesda MD
Jun 9, 2011

Great Location

The hotel is located in the West End of London, which makes it convenient to great shopping, bars and entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago,Il
Oct 16, 2012

Great location, decent accommodations

The hotel room was small and spartan but adequate for our purposes. The staff was helpful if not always friendly. The location is excellent if you're in London to sight-see. It's just a few block from the Bomd St. tube station and the hustle and bustle of Oxford St.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top