$228 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 8, 2015

The Mandeville Hotel

4 stars
View map of Mandeville Place, London, W1U 2BE

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Mandeville Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
286 out of 286
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aly B
Business
Sioux City, IA
Sep 3, 2009

GREAT!!

The upscale location is great for first-timers to London: just a couple blocks to the tube, plus restaurants & shopping all around. The staff was more than friendly and were always available to answer our questions or make recommendations. The rooms are cozy and clean, but I would recommend requesting a room on the street-side. There is a cafe/huka bar in the alley behind the hotel that can be a bit loud for rooms on the first floor. The DeVigne bar is very nice for drinks and they stay open late for hotel guests. Most other pubs/bars within walking distance close around 11 pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out both Regents and Hyde Park. Both are within walking distance of the hotel (maybe 15 minutes). The London Zoo is on the backside of Regents Park & it has performances during the weekends. Hyde Park has a lovely little pond and if you want to see something that is uniquely London, walk by Speaker's Corner on Sunday afternoon.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orland Park IL.
Mar 20, 2011

"OUTSTANDING*

This hotel is amazing, The staff here goes above and beyond any expectations you may have !! I have found my London "Home away from Home" !!! Very Clean, the rooms are bigger than you would think, the food is great (prompt friendly room service) Oxford street is a 2 minute walk , the Tube is the same. There are many dining options within walking distance, pups and unlimited shopping !!! If you're going back to Heathrow, have the concierge arrange a car service for you , only 55pounds and more comfortable than the standard mini cab/taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

St Christophers court is right around the corner with coffee shops and quick food and fine dining , Turkish , Italian , Thai , French .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PHLtraveler
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Oct 2, 2011

Perfect Location in London

The Mandeville Hotel, just a short distance from Paddington Station, was a fantastic place to stay on my recent trip to London. The hotel was clean, the room was a nicely decorated and of typical size for Europe, the staff were friendly (though the concierge wasn't particularly helpful), and the location as great. It is about a 5 minute walk to the Underground (Bond Street stop) which enables one to get to most points within the city with at most 1 subway transfer. The hotel itself is setback about a block from Oxford Street and on a residential street, which was nice because there was very little street noise. It was also adjacent to St. Christophers Square which had multiple restaurants, pubs, and cafes. For those who like to go out at night, the hotel is about 2 Underground stops (same line) to SoHo/West End where there are many nightspots and theaters. Overall, the Mandeville is a great option for a vacation to London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

St. Christopher's Square has multiple dining options at all price ranges, pubs, and people watching.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
US
Nov 18, 2009

Ideal location

Since I am a woman traveling alone to London, I needed a nice hotel in a great location. I found this and more at the Mandeville Hotel. My room was well appointed, spotless, just what I needed. I also want to note the hotel's location is a five minute walk to the nearest tube station which is Bond Street. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Mandeville and will definitely stay there again when I return to London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A modest restaurant called Tootsies offered traditional English food at a reasonable price. This restaurant is located on the corner of Picton and James street. I dined here several times during my stay. They serve breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Jul 6, 2010

Very Nice Hotel

Top notch hotel located just a few steps from shopping. A 5 minute walk to Marble Arch and Hyde Park. Spacious room with queen size bed and very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several restuarants with outside seating just a short walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cello fellow
Business
Cleveland OH
Jul 30, 2009

outstanding in every department

This is an outstanding hotel. I was in want for nothing. The staff did above and beyond their duties. It is a very interesting walk from the tube station. All kinds of restaurants are located on this path. It seemed like the room was cleaned twice or possibly three times(?) a day. You just could not be without a full compliment of towels for more than a few hours. It was always spotless. This is a great deal from Orbitz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sofra is a very nice restaurant in a little square between the tube stop and the hotel. It is a little pricy but very good. Unlike past trips to London we did not have a bad meal. Also for a splurge we ate at Gordon Ramsey at the Claridge. WOW what a meal and location. Big bucks but well spent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TravelSeeker
Business
Seattle, Washington
Jul 22, 2010

Accommodating staff with beautiful decor

We were very happy with our stay at the Mandeville. We stayed at seven 4 star hotels during our trip and this was in the top three for room size, comfort, and amenities. We would rate it number one of the seven hotels for most comfortable bedding and mattress. It provided a great night's sleep. [...] there was a constant whirring sound coming from above in this older room. The next morning we packed our bags and asked to be moved to a new room if possible. When we returned that night, we had a beautifully decorated and quiet room. The staff were friendly and helpful providing theater information, maps, and directions. Upon check out they took care of checking us into our flight and printing our boarding passes for us. One feature we really enjoyed was the complimentary ihome dock we checked out for our room. The location is an affordable cab ride from Paddington Station where the Express trains from the airport drop off. They are also within walking distance of the Tube station, which we used daily. We didn't eat at the restaurant on site. It looked great, but we can not comment on the quality. This is a great hotel! We would definitely recommend it to others and would return on our next visit to London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were 3 Starbucks on the way to the Tube station. Coming from Seattle, this was a huge bonus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Jun 5, 2009

Excellent stay

Wonderful location...helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Oxford Street short walk away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling Nanny
Business
Daytona Beach, FL USA
Oct 27, 2010

A trip for One.

The hotel was great! The staff was wonderful. [...], and [...] at the concierge were such a tremendous help! The room service, and food was great as well. You also can't ask for better service at the bar. The location is also great as well! Located just a few minutes walk from shopping, and the tube! I highly rate this hotel, and would be the first hotel I stay at, when I visit London again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shreveport, LA
Jun 6, 2011

Mother-Daughter Trip

What an incredible stay we had at the Mandeville?! Simply fantastic. Our daughter's were Seniors in high school and we found this hotel on [...]. Perfect location. Most amazing staff. [...], the doorman, greeted us with a warm smile and always provided precise directions. Ian, our concierge, was amazing. Even though he was on holiday a couple of days in Spain.....he was superb in his recommendations. Thanks for the tip on "War Horse". It was moving, dynamic and something everyone should see. We also adored [...], he did a fantastic job with dinner reservations and taking care of all our needs. My daughter celebrated her 18th birthday and it was especially memorable. Thank you!Our favorite things - St. Christopher's Place -- amazing dinner, perfect place for a glass of wine or afternoon coffee. Great breakfast in the morning. Bond Street Tube - perfect location. Train to Windsor Castle - loved it! The Royal Mews. Whistle - great shopping. The deVille - fabulous bar in the hotel. Great place to gather. The War Rooms. All the hype for the Royal Wedding.....so much fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Loved the Portabello Road Market on Saturday.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top