$195 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2015 Check-out: Jul 11, 2015

The Mandeville Hotel

4 stars
View map of Mandeville Place, London, W1U 2BE

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Mandeville Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
288 out of 288
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Nov 3, 2010

Classy, Expensive, Great Neighborhood

We spent 7 nights at the Mandeville. It's a wonderful neighborhood within easy walking distance of Bond Street tube station and nice cafes and pubs. My only complaints are the small room and the lack of free internet in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great food and shopping on St. Christoper's Place one block south.

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling Nanny
Business
Daytona Beach, FL USA
Oct 27, 2010

A trip for One.

The hotel was great! The staff was wonderful. [...], and [...] at the concierge were such a tremendous help! The room service, and food was great as well. You also can't ask for better service at the bar. The location is also great as well! Located just a few minutes walk from shopping, and the tube! I highly rate this hotel, and would be the first hotel I stay at, when I visit London again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
First-time to Paris
Business
Riverside, CA
Oct 27, 2010

Great hotel for the price

My wife and I stayed at the Mandeville from August 30- September 7, 2010. Our flight from the U.S. to Heathrow arrived early in the morning. We went to the hotel to check our baggage in and walk around the city until check-in time. However, the staff gave us our room key at 8:30am with no additional charge for an early check-in. The hotel does not have a restaurant, but there is plenty of excellent dining options close-by. Shopping is also located right around the corner on Oxford Street and Regents. The Bond tube station is a couple minute walk away. The hotel location is excellent for tourists. Some sights are within walking distance, others are a few minute ride on the tube. The room functioned perfectly. It's not large, but worth the price. The staff is very friendly and helpful. If you plan on doing day excursions with companies like Evan and Evan tours, they pick-up at the Churchill Hyatt and is only a 5 minute walk away. We were very pleased with our 8 day stay at the Mandeville and highly recommend the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Explore the different restaurants nearby on James Street.

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Londonophile
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 26, 2010

Excellent experience overall

I stayed in a single room at the Mandeville for 7 nights. [...] The hotel's location is both central and charming--a stone's throw from Oxford St. but in the upscale urban village of Marylebone. My single room was tiny (with no desk) but very clean; the bathroom was sparkling and well-appointed. My voicemail didn't work properly, but I appreciated the gracious little touches like evening turndown service and a little box of chocolates left on the pillow every night. Most staff members were helpful and professional. I'd definitely return to the Mandeville[...]!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal, Canada
Oct 24, 2010

We loved the hotel

We were there after a cruise on the Queen Mary II for 4 very wonderful days. We saw Museums and Plays. The hotel was excellent and so was the service. We have not been to London for a number of years. We will recommend the hotel and we will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Museums and the theater

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
redshikari
Business
New York, NY
Oct 24, 2010

Great location!

We loved this location near St. Christopher's Place - lots of restaurants and cafes, and easily walkable to most of the main attractions if you're up for a good 40 minute walk. We rarely took the tube, though it was located nearby. Hotel staff was helpful, room was clean. Hotel itself was a bit more upper class than anticipated, and as we're a very relaxed, young couple, we felt out of place and never used their bar/restaurant. Wi-fi free only in lobby, not in room, which was annoying. And construction outside our window every day was obnoxious but not their fault. All in all a good hotel at a good price and in a fantastic location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get an Oyster Card for Tube travel!! Or walk instead!

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
smljecl
Business
Virginia USA
Oct 23, 2010

Mandeville Hotel, London UK

The Mandeville Hotel is located in the West End section of London and is very close (2 blocks) from the primary shopping area of London (Oxford and Bond Street.) It is also only 2 blocks to the Bond Street Underground entrance. If you plan to shop this is the place to be. If you are interested in seeing the primary sites of London you have to take the underground or take trains. Plan on lots of walking including through the underground and train stations. There are little if any tourist sites near or within reasonable walking distance of the hotel. Oxford and Bond Street are also very crowded with shoppers. Think Manhatten. The Concierge staff was very helpful in providing tourist suggestions, and directions, purchasing tickets, taxis, etc. They also have a doorman.The Hotel is attractive and the rooms nicely appointed but very small at least for the price we paid ($2100 for 6 nights.) Rather on the expensive side considering its location away from tourist locations. Service was excellent but there are no complimentary perks. No free coffee or breakfast. U.K. Newspapers are free but not if you have them delivered to your room. There is a charge for that. Expect to pay approximately $40-50 per person for afternoon tea and more for dinner in the hotel. Rooms are small for the price and barely could accomodate two suitcases and/or a carry on luggage or backpack. I also felt that because we booked through [...] and the rate was less than they normally charge that we were given one of their least desirable rooms. Upon check in they immediately tried a bait and switch to an upgraded room for an additional $20 pounds ($36) per night. We declined. Our room was tiny and backed onto a contruction site with hammering and construction noise starting around 8:00AM. We complained and they did switch us to another room that faced the front of the hotel and was slightly larger due to not having a minibar in it. The first room did. The room was adequate for the amount of time we spent in it. To save energy the rooms use a timer system for lights that proved annoying. You insert you key card in a slot to turn the lights on otherwise they go out after a few minutes. You could not turn some of the ceiling lights on or off without getting out of bed to turn the mainswitch on or off. If you turned the main switch off you had no lights at all, except for the bathroom. Also there was a light sensor in the ceiling so if the curtains were open during the day the lights would not go on. You had to shut the curtain and drapes to get the lights to turn on. So, in essence no small fridge, no free wifi, no free coffee, no ice buckets or ice, etc. And there is a 3 pound per night charge for maid service. You are also expected to tip the Concierge staff although it is discretionary.We enjoyed our stay in London immensely but I would not stay at the Mandeville on any return trip.Getting around London was quite easy. The Underground is well marked and the maps pretty easy to read. All of the station and ticket attendants were very friendly and very helpful. We purchased day passes allowing us to travel all day for approximately $8.50 each. We saw all of the tourist sites using the underground and took a train out to Windsor to see Windsor Castle. We also were easily able to get discounted tickets to a play. London is very expensive especially with a 19.5% VAT tax on everything. Shopping at top end stores in the U.S. (Louis Vuitton, Hugo Boss, Armani, Burberry, Ferragamo, etc. for merchandise is significantly cheaper than in London.We had a great time. People were friendly and helpful and getting around was very easy. Certainly, no car or taxis needed to get to all of the major sites. I also enjoyed the clever names for many of the local pubs. They are everywhere and surprisingly the food in London was very good. We came to London from Paris so were really surprised at how good the food was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
smljecl
Business
Virginia USA
Oct 23, 2010

Mandeville Hotel, London UK

The Mandeville Hotel is located in the West End section of London and is very close (2 blocks) from the primary shopping area of London (Oxford and Bond Street.) It is also only 2 blocks to the Bond Street Underground entrance. If you plan to shop this is the place to be. If you are interested in seeing the primary sites of London you have to take the underground or take trains. Plan on lots of walking including through the underground and train stations. There are little if any tourist sites near or within reasonable walking distance of the hotel. Oxford and Bond Street are also very crowded with shoppers. Think Manhatten. The Concierge staff was very helpful in providing tourist suggestions, and directions, purchasing tickets, taxis, etc. They also have a doorman.The Hotel is attractive and the rooms nicely appointed but very small at least for the price we paid ($2100 for 6 nights.) Rather on the expensive side considering its location away from tourist locations. Service was excellent but there are no complimentary perks. No free coffee or breakfast. U.K. Newspapers are free but not if you have them delivered to your room. There is a charge for that. Expect to pay approximately $40-50 per person for afternoon tea and more for dinner in the hotel. Rooms are small for the price and barely could accomodate two suitcases and/or a carry on luggage or backpack. I also felt that because we booked through [...] and the rate was less than they normally charge that we were given one of their least desirable rooms. Upon check in they immediately tried a bait and switch to an upgraded room for an additional $20 pounds ($36) per night. We declined. Our room was tiny and backed onto a contruction site with hammering and construction noise starting around 8:00AM. We complained and they did switch us to another room that faced the front of the hotel and was slightly larger due to not having a minibar in it. The first room did. The room was adequate for the amount of time we spent in it. To save energy the rooms use a timer system for lights that proved annoying. You insert you key card in a slot to turn the lights on otherwise they go out after a few minutes. You could not turn some of the ceiling lights on or off without getting out of bed to turn the mainswitch on or off. If you turned the main switch off you had no lights at all, except for the bathroom. Also there was a light sensor in the ceiling so if the curtains were open during the day the lights would not go on. You had to shut the curtain and drapes to get the lights to turn on. So, in essence no small fridge, no free wifi, no free coffee, no ice buckets or ice, etc. And there is a 3 pound per night charge for maid service. You are also expected to tip the Concierge staff although it is discretionary.We enjoyed our stay in London immensely but I would not stay at the Mandeville on any return trip.Getting around London was quite easy. The Underground is well marked and the maps pretty easy to read. All of the station and ticket attendants were very friendly and very helpful. We purchased day passes allowing us to travel all day for approximately $8.50 each. We saw all of the tourist sites using the underground and took a train out to Windsor to see Windsor Castle. We also were easily able to get discounted tickets to a play. London is very expensive especially with a 19.5% VAT tax on everything. Shopping at top end stores in the U.S. (Louis Vuitton, Hugo Boss, Armani, Burberry, Ferragamo, etc. for merchandise is significantly cheaper than in London.We had a great time. People were friendly and helpful and getting around was very easy. Certainly, no car or taxis needed to get to all of the major sites. I also enjoyed the clever names for many of the local pubs. They are everywhere and surprisingly the food in London was very good. We came to London from Paris so were really surprised at how good the food was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Oct 20, 2010

Great location and quaint hotel

We stayed at the Mandeville for 5 days last week. The location was perfect; we were near all the shopping and underground stations. Oxford street is a block over; shopping mecca and plenty of restaurants. Seyfridges dept store is a must see for the fashionistas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across from the hotel is plenty of reasonable priced restaurants. A small store is also nearby for snacks for the room.

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles, ca
Oct 16, 2010

mandeville

Great location for Frieze Art Fair, New Bond St., the tube, many restaurants and shops. The windows are not soundproof and the central air unit makes loud noise, even when not turned on. I put "Do Not Disturb" door tag, instead of knocking on my door, they called me on the room phone, which was equally disturbing when asleep. The shower has only 1/2 screen, which did not prevent the water from splashing onto the floor. Good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty restaurants and bars on James St, which is right outside the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top