The Mandeville Hotel

4 stars
View map of Mandeville Place, London, W1U 2BE

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Mandeville Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
259 out of 259
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Truly Kala
Houston, TX
Oct 30, 2012

Quite lovely without pretension

From the moment we walked up the front steps, we were greeted by a knowlegdable staff eager to ensure a delightful stay. Though able to maintain "English" sensibilities, the Mandeville created a very warm and personable atmosphere. Located in the West End, the Mandeville's location cannot be beat. Two large windows enabled natural light (when the sun chose to make an appearance) to flood the otherwise medium size yet comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy an Oyster card if you're planning on taking the Tube frequently. Not only is it cheaper then paying per ride, but you also get each ride at a discounted rate.

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PankWest
Business
Ireland
Dec 15, 2014

Great Location

Excellent hotel for shopping between Oxford street & Marylebone High street. Independent hotel very helpful and friendly staff. Generous twin room very comfortable bed, frosted glass door to bathroom not ideal and bath towels on the skimpy side. Nespresso machine in room great 3 pods provided but shame they charge you £1.50 per pod after that buy 10 in selfridges for £3. Overall very happy with our one night stay would definitely book here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fishers Marelybone High Street excellent brunch

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveller MA
Business
Malta
Oct 27, 2014

Perfect location

This hotel is ideally located in close proximity to London's major shopping streets. Restaurants around are also great. The hotel is clean and staff are friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DKC SB
Business
Santa Barbara, California
Oct 6, 2014

Excellent Experience

Overall, my stay at the Mandeville was an excellent experience. My room was small, but clean and comfortable. Decor was simple and contemporary. Good bed; limited closet space. With one notable exception, the staff made my stay. Unfortunately, that one exception was the clerk serving at the reception desk the evening I arrived. She was rude, insisted my booking did not include breakfast though I showed her on my confirmation print out that it did, and was unapologetic after she called the booking company to confirm what I'd told her. She said she would inform the restaurant and didn't. Not a good first impression. The rest of the staff, however, were wonderful. They were helpful, courteous and went out of their way to make sure I had anything and everything I needed. The food and beverage manager, who was the one who finally sorted out the breakfast issue, was the consummate professional. When I arrived for breakfast the first morning, grumpy and jet lagged, only to find my room number was not "on the list," he soothed my irritation, brought me coffee and juice and told me not to worry, he would take care of it. Throughout my stay, he and his staff went above and beyond to ensure all of my experiences in the bar and restaurant were memorable, and I mean that in the best way possible. They more than made up for the one rude staff member I encountered. I have already booked a return stay at the Mandeville.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SPE World traveler
Business
Richardson, TX
Sep 19, 2014

First time

This was my first visit. I found it comfortable and very convenient to anything you might want.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of dining options nearby

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Soul boy
Business
Derby
Sep 18, 2014

Alan

Welcomed by very friendly staff. Room small but very well furnished. Best of all the room was very quiet throughout the night. Excellent value, good location and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of independent choices nearby

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
flyc23
Business
New York
Aug 18, 2014

A good solid hotel in central london

This is a good solid boutique hotel choice. Very central and easy walking distance to lots of London attractions - this is a fairly small well run hotel which is a good choice as a base for sightseeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Grab a yummy baked breakfast at PAUL patisserie which is a short walk down the street

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
86Jax
Business
Melbourne, Australia
Jul 14, 2014

Great Location.

Wonderful stay at the Mandeville. Very close to cafes, shops and restaurants. Walking distance to the tube and the famous shopping strip Oxford Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kitty Karry All
Business
USA
Jul 9, 2014

Fun for a weekend

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for three days. It was a perfect location--surrounded by many cute shops and restaurants. We really couldn't have asked for a better location. The staff was also very nice and accommodating. My complaint, which is minor, is the room size. We had a queen size bed in the room and it took up the majority of the room. Seriously, three people standing in the room would be uncomfortably cramped. We weren't really in the room much, it wasn't a big deal. Also, the free WIFI speed was abysmal. The time it took to just check email tested my patience. Overall, my experience was good. I will stay here in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Niagara Rob
Business
Niagara Falls, New York
May 20, 2014

Perfect Location!

This was my first stay in London and I am glad that I selected The Mandeville. It is close to Ocford and Marlybone, walking distance to Piccadilly and SOHO. The hotel staff very helpful. Quite modern and upscale, worthy of the four star rating. Will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

in any direction

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Neal 58
Business
Des Moines, Iowa
May 6, 2014

Properly managed and good location

This hotel staff was always responsive and obviously knew how to do their job. Room and common area were quite clean and tidy. The location worked great for us because it was a good place to walk during the day or evening. There is not much congestion in the immediate area but a very large selection of restaurants within 3 blocks. Bond St Station for the underground is about 3 block south as well as bus lines. This was my first trip to London and don't have any regrets about choosing this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top