$195 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2015 Check-out: Jul 11, 2015

The Mandeville Hotel

4 stars
View map of Mandeville Place, London, W1U 2BE

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Mandeville Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
288 out of 288
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Staten Island NY
Aug 16, 2010

Great Location

Our overall experience at The Mandeville Hotel was great. Perfect location. We walked everywhere. Nice restuarants and pubs right down the street. The rooms were very nice, decorated lovely and very clean. The rooms are small but typical for Europe. The staff was so accomidating and nice. They were there for us for every question we had. The only problem we had was with room service. We arrived late and tried to get something to eat from the hotel but they were only offering Chicken Curry or Pasta not something you want to eat at 11:00 p.m., but the staff came through and ordered us a pizza from out side. Like I said they were very accomidating. We would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lovin' london
Business
los angeles, california
Aug 13, 2010

first time in london

Fantastic location. Super Central - easy to access Bond Street Tube and tons of buses to get you anywhere in the city and more. A variety of cute restaurants in between hotel and Oxford Street. Great Gelato only a block away. Rooms are super clean, the room I had was a good sized for one. Wanted free internet in the room although there is free wi-fi in the lobby. Also wanted more cable tv stations to catch up on good British telly after a long day out walking and sightseeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

If you want to see theater then check out the 1/2 price ticket booth in Leicester Square. Also try to do a day trip to Bath and Windsor Castle - huge highlight of trip.

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Hampshire
Aug 11, 2010

A Place Of Comfort

I had mixed thoughts going in because of the assorted reviews of the hotel. The hotel was close to the tube as many have said and so many great places to eat surrounding the hotel. The room was small but for European standards it was big. The glass door to the bathroom was a non issue as it is frosted and was around the corner from the bed. Our room was on the 7th floor and overlooked the construction, but since we were not in the room during the day it didn't matter. Even when we were it wasn't loud at all. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. I would highly recommend the hotel to my family and friends. We would return in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Cut through St. Christopher's Place to avoid some of the crowds on Oxford Street.

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amanda panda
Business
San dimas, ca
Aug 10, 2010

Perfect location

Our stay was wonderful the staff was very helpful and friendly. We felt welcomed. Room service was fast and efficient. Great breakfast!! The doormen were so sweet and very friendly!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Disappointed by the West End
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Aug 9, 2010

Fancy facade, no substance.

Although it was such a classy hotel, the staff was only attentive on arrival but not during our stay. We couldn't get a hold of either the front desk or the concierge from our room for 10 minutes to request a driver to the airport. When we did hear from someone, they chose to argue with us over what type of car we needed. They still charged for internet, even when we had chosen to upgrade to their deluxe room. Sure the location was great and the hotel was fancy, but my money could have been better spent elsewhere. It's a shame, really. Their doorman was more help than the rest of the staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wafa
Business
saudi arabia
Aug 8, 2010

nice location, good service

was very good hotel, the bar is very lovely, u just feel home

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kentucky
Aug 4, 2010

The Mandeville Hotel

Great hotel, excellent location, friendly staff and nice rooms. The only improvement would be to have larger rooms. The double I had was very nice but a little small. It is by far the best hotel I've stayed in London and I've been going for years. The bed was quite comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The street outside and St. Christopher Place are just steps from the hotel with excellent dining and shopping.

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Aug 2, 2010

Lovely hotel in perfect location

Excellent cafes/stores right down the street. Hotel room was spotless and a value [...] Check into upgrading upon arrival too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is walking distance to Regent's Park, Piccadily Circus, St. James area, and countless others. If you need to use the tube, the Bond St stop is convenient. To avoid walking down busy Oxford St, go down Wigmore or the alley from Christopher's Place.

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
first time trip
Business
columbus ,OH
Jul 30, 2010

good stay

i liked the hole place excet the resteraunt, the food was not the kind I am use to and was too expensive . But the staff at the resuraunt was good. All the staff was helpful and politet they greeted me when I came down and said good by when I left and some even knew my name, The consearge was great and very helpful with tickets and directions on what tube to take to get to where I wanted to go .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are anober of good resturaunts in a short walk from the hotel of many different types so you could find a good place to eat that will please all .

Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Harry K
Business
Cincinnati, OH USA
Jul 30, 2010

Smashing location and impeccable service

My wife and I needed a well located Central London hotel for a 4 night business trip to London and the Mandeville Hotel fit the bill in all respects. It's location on Mandeville Place is only a short walk to Oxford Street where we could find numerous buses and the Bond Street tube station to take us where we needed to go. Despite the fact that the hotel is on a fairly busy street it was perfectly quite at night so we could sleep well in the comfortable queen-sized bed. This is despite the fact that our room was one floor up in the corner room facing the street. Walking in the opposite direction from Oxford Street you will find numerous excellent restaurants and cafes. The hotel concierge was extremely helpful making dinner reservations for us and providing us with London bus maps, doing all the things you would expect a concierge to do. In our room was a pocket sized guide to Marylebone Village the hotel's neighborhood that identified neighborhood places of interest, shopping, and restaurants. We relied on this guide and were not disappointed. The only problems we encountered were that the curtains in the room for the bay window did not draw properly using the draw cords and I had to struggle a bit to pull them closed. In the bathroom like most European hotels, the glass shower enclosure only protects partially so we solved the problem by keeping the glass bathroom door open against the tub to provide additional coverage. It wasn't perfect but it helped. We'd definitely stay here again if we could get a good discount price to bring the cost within reason.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The Mandeville Hotel participates in the I Prefer Guest Benefit Program. If you join (membership is free, see hotel website for link) and tell them at check-in, you will be entitled to a room upgrade if available. In our case this was not available so they gave us free wi-fi internet access for our entire stay.

Back to menu Return to top