$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The Mandeville Hotel

4 stars
View map of Mandeville Place, London, W1U 2BE

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Mandeville Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
285 out of 285
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
first time trip
Business
columbus ,OH
Jul 30, 2010

good stay

i liked the hole place excet the resteraunt, the food was not the kind I am use to and was too expensive . But the staff at the resuraunt was good. All the staff was helpful and politet they greeted me when I came down and said good by when I left and some even knew my name, The consearge was great and very helpful with tickets and directions on what tube to take to get to where I wanted to go .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are anober of good resturaunts in a short walk from the hotel of many different types so you could find a good place to eat that will please all .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Harry K
Business
Cincinnati, OH USA
Jul 30, 2010

Smashing location and impeccable service

My wife and I needed a well located Central London hotel for a 4 night business trip to London and the Mandeville Hotel fit the bill in all respects. It's location on Mandeville Place is only a short walk to Oxford Street where we could find numerous buses and the Bond Street tube station to take us where we needed to go. Despite the fact that the hotel is on a fairly busy street it was perfectly quite at night so we could sleep well in the comfortable queen-sized bed. This is despite the fact that our room was one floor up in the corner room facing the street. Walking in the opposite direction from Oxford Street you will find numerous excellent restaurants and cafes. The hotel concierge was extremely helpful making dinner reservations for us and providing us with London bus maps, doing all the things you would expect a concierge to do. In our room was a pocket sized guide to Marylebone Village the hotel's neighborhood that identified neighborhood places of interest, shopping, and restaurants. We relied on this guide and were not disappointed. The only problems we encountered were that the curtains in the room for the bay window did not draw properly using the draw cords and I had to struggle a bit to pull them closed. In the bathroom like most European hotels, the glass shower enclosure only protects partially so we solved the problem by keeping the glass bathroom door open against the tub to provide additional coverage. It wasn't perfect but it helped. We'd definitely stay here again if we could get a good discount price to bring the cost within reason.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The Mandeville Hotel participates in the I Prefer Guest Benefit Program. If you join (membership is free, see hotel website for link) and tell them at check-in, you will be entitled to a room upgrade if available. In our case this was not available so they gave us free wi-fi internet access for our entire stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frequent London traveller
Business
Chicago
Jul 24, 2010

A great place in the best location

The Mandeville is a gem. You really feel like you're in London because the hotel is in a neighborhood right off Oxford Street near St. Christopher's Lane, the Bond Street tube stop, and lot's of places to eat, many with tables outside. The staff couldn't be more helpful to make sure everything is right. It's become the only hotel I stay at in London and I've stayed at many.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC, NY
Jul 22, 2010

Perfect location without a view

I reached the hotel after overnight flight at 1:15 PM and was told by the hotel that the room is not ready (because the check in time was 2:00 PM). I waited until 2:05 PM and the room was still not ready. I had to make some noise/complain and finally they gave us a choice to select either a room which had fresh paint smell or a room with a construction site view. We took the latter one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TravelSeeker
Business
Seattle, Washington
Jul 22, 2010

Accommodating staff with beautiful decor

We were very happy with our stay at the Mandeville. We stayed at seven 4 star hotels during our trip and this was in the top three for room size, comfort, and amenities. We would rate it number one of the seven hotels for most comfortable bedding and mattress. It provided a great night's sleep. [...] there was a constant whirring sound coming from above in this older room. The next morning we packed our bags and asked to be moved to a new room if possible. When we returned that night, we had a beautifully decorated and quiet room. The staff were friendly and helpful providing theater information, maps, and directions. Upon check out they took care of checking us into our flight and printing our boarding passes for us. One feature we really enjoyed was the complimentary ihome dock we checked out for our room. The location is an affordable cab ride from Paddington Station where the Express trains from the airport drop off. They are also within walking distance of the Tube station, which we used daily. We didn't eat at the restaurant on site. It looked great, but we can not comment on the quality. This is a great hotel! We would definitely recommend it to others and would return on our next visit to London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were 3 Starbucks on the way to the Tube station. Coming from Seattle, this was a huge bonus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
Jul 21, 2010

Great home away from home.

The staff was very professional and treated you as a special guest. I would have liked to have two beds in the room instead of one. I had to pay extra for a room big enough to have a fold out bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
In a run traveller
Business
Lisbon
Jul 19, 2010

Exceptional service and location

The service was exceptional, all the staff was very helpfull, and the hotel is just steps from Oxford street, so it was very easy to navigate the stores near the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mazeppa
Business
USA
Jul 19, 2010

Nice hotel

Great location. Very clean. Quiet (except one day somebody was hammering on he wall). Nice stuff. Small TV ( more like a computer monitor ). Good shopping/dining/sight-seeing location. Nice hotel to stay with children. Highly recommend despite few little blemishes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
isangeles
Business
Orlando, FL
Jul 18, 2010

Quiet, comfortable, convenient

Not the most central hotel, but if your business is nearby or if you don't mind having to switch Tube trains it's a very comfortable place to stay. Close to the shopping of Oxford Road (without being on it, so it's quiet), with varied and wonderful dining options nearby so you don't have to eat in the overpriced hotel restaurant. Service is excellent; staff is friendly and very competent and will take care of you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You can find just about any sort of cuisine you could want (steak, Italian, Middle Eastern, French, Greek, and more) within 2 blocks of the hotel - or you can go for basic pub grub in the same area. Ask the concierges for suggestions - they'll point you to nearby hidden gems.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Troy, MI
Jul 13, 2010

Great location, low-key luxury

Lovely, elegant hotel just 2-3 blocks from Bond Street tube station in one directon and great eating in the other. Staff were friendly and accommodating, even though we got there at 10 in the morning before the room was ready. They took our bags and delivered them to the room before we got back from sightseeing. The concierge desk folks were very helpful. The room was not big, but air conditioned, which was especially nice given we were there during temps in the upper 80's F/28-31 C. Very comfortable bed. Did not try the restaurant, and it didn't seem very busy even when the neighborhood eateries were crammed with people. The bar has a nice selection of whiskeys. We will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks up the street from the hotel is High Marylebone Street, with a fabulous choice of restaurants ranging from The Golden Hind (perfect English fish and chips) to Le Providores (upscale trendy but delicious tapas and delicious New Zealand wine list). We ate at four restaurants up there and had four great meals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top