$145 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

The Mandeville Hotel

4 stars
View map of Mandeville Place, London, W1U 2BE

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Mandeville Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
267 out of 267
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
england cd
Business
Denver, CO
Sep 19, 2010

Comfortable

the hotel was very nice, very clean and i felt very safe staying there as a woman traveling alone. however be prepared for a cost to just about anything you would like above and beyond a bed and bath. there is a 3 pound a day fee charged for them servicing your room. Door men were great though! Very friendly and always with smiles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cheung
Business
West New York, NJ
Sep 17, 2010

Will stay again

I was there by myself for a business trip. For a hotel in central London the room was large enough. Very clean & modern feel. I had a street facing room so good sunlight which I like and sound proofing was very good so hardly any street noise. Bathroom was very clean which is very important to me. Staffs were generally friendly, some more than others. Recall the bellman being very friendly & polite, concierge so-so. Two blocks from the Bond Street tube station (Central Line)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of resturants within walkable distance of the hotel and shopping too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
virgin of spain
Business
Canton, Ohio
Sep 15, 2010

i could not get a better hotel!!

The hotel was lovely... clean, beautiful. Typically small rooms in Europe, but so nice it didn't matter. The bathrooms were all new, great housekeeping services. I cannot say enough about the friendly staff. Every person from Richard the doorman, Carlos, Madi, Stephen, Piotre.... and all the rest were fantastic. Do not hesitate to ask for anything. There is construction behind, but if like me you're up by 830, its not a problem. Location... two blocks off Oxford by Selfridges, and Marks and Spencer and the Wallace collection. Bond Street tube station is only 2.5 blocks away... nice pubs and restaurant all around. Don't miss the toast and jelly deli, behind the hotel, if you like Greek, The Hellenic up the street, can't be missed. You will love this hotel. I'll be back. :) and it does have free wifi in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hyde park is a short walk from the Mandeville, see Peter Pan statue and the Lady Di fountain... also...the Wallace Art collection is practically across the street. its free, and wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lakeland, FL
Sep 13, 2010

Stay at the Hotel Mandeville

The staff at the Mandeville were extremely courteous, professional and helpful. They took care of every request and paid attention to every detail. The hotel is located in a very popular area of town; there are many good restaurants, pubs and plenty of shopping. It was only a ten minute walk to Marble Arch and Hyde Park and all the attractions and famous sites are at most a ten-minute ride on the tube. This was a wonderful holiday and we hope to do it again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get the Oyster Card with a seven-day travel card, it makes travel easy and inexpensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 8, 2010

Great Hotel

Really lovely little European hotel and location can not be beat. It is close to the Tube with access to everything and has lots of great shops and restaurants nearby. Across the street is James St with lots of little cafes, coffee shops, a creperie, and a great Pub. Room was clean and modern, and although it was small, it was perfectly sufficient for our 6-day stay. Staff was friendly and very helpful. I was traveling with my 16-year old daughter and we both loved the Hotel and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many options for breakfast just down the block. It got us up and out in the morning and was one of my favorite times of the day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tonemeister
Business
owings mills. M.d.
Aug 29, 2010

Our stay at the Mandeville

Right in the heart of the West End. Lots of shops and interesting places to eat nearby.The Bond street tube station is nearby so you can go almost anywhere in London. The staff was friendly and was helpful in arranging cabs etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a London travel pass and ride the tube or buses all you want cheaply. however,it must be sent to your home address as it's a discount for tourists.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Staten Island, NY
Aug 26, 2010

Great Location

The Mandeville Hotel is located right near the heart of the city, just blocks away from teh Bond Street Station. You cannot get a better location and there are some cute cafes and good shopping nearby. The rooms were pretty nice - small but that is expected in Europe. Service was very friendly and helpful. I loved the relatively quiet block it was on and I only considered it noisy because there is an opera singer in the neighborhood, practicing (No joke).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kaorder1
Business
New York City, NY
Aug 21, 2010

Hip & convenient location.

My wife and I will definitely return to this hotel if we make our way back to London. The rooms were kinda cramped by US standards (but not small by any means except for the bathrooms), but we weren't there to have our vacation in our room. Our room were cleaned twice a day (morning & afternoon) while we were there. You can tell that the hotel has been remodeled and updated recently and had central air. Wifi service is available for a charge in your room, but it is complimentary at the hotel lobby. So, just use the wifi at the hotel lobby if you need to check the e-mail. The location of the hotel is perfect. It's within walking distance to Oxford & Bond St. These two streets are in central London and you really can't ask for a better location for food and transportation (Tube is about 2 blocks away). Once you get on the Tube, you can go just about everywhere in London. Buy your travel card or oyster card as soon as you land at the airport. Take the regular underground instead of the express and save yourself some money. The journey may take an extra 30 min, but it's all part of the experience. We stayed at the hotel for 8 nights and visited all of London. All the sights were well worth my time (except maybe the Notting Hill's Portobella Market - way too crowded even for this New Yorker). Dress nicely as most everyone in Europe are very meticulous with their appearances. Afternoon tea is a must and the Pub scene is something that everyone should try at least once. The Mandeville Hotel did charge us 3 pounds a day for their service in cleaning our rooms everyday. They told us upfront as we checked into our room. The fees were basically tips for the cleaning staff and concierge of the hotel (which were both very helpful and polite). I had no issues with this charge as I always tip them anyway when I travel. These are charges that you can't avoid during your travel. I actually find it kind of helpful because it saves me the time and effort to figure out how much to tip these guys.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Know where your local Tesco or Mark & Spencer stores are in London. Soda, water, fruits and sandwiches can be bought here for a quick lunch or dinner to save you a lot of money. There are also some nice little cafes that serves a traditional English breakfast for around 4-5 pounds on the same street of the hotel (the opposite direction of Oxford St.).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
normally loves london
Business
chicago, illinois
Aug 20, 2010

Very Disappointed

There is no free wireless internet in the very tiny rooms.In order to access the free internet, you had to go into their very tiny lobby and sit in certain areas on uncomfortable furniture.The staff is not very well informed about London, i.e. directions to places, suggestions.They would give you directions and they would be incorrect, always missing the key turn.I asked the concierge to make a dinner reservation for my daughter and I.When we arrived at the restaurant, the reservation was incorrect.The staff has difficulty hailing cabs for their patrons.It takes them quite a while to find one, unlike other hotels which have cabs waiting for their patrons.If you are a smoker, they ask you to stand in a corner outside of the hotel.Other hotels I have stayed in London have some umbrella'd tables and a nice area for their patrons.When I went to check out, they tried to charge me an accommodation charge. [...] When I questioned it, they told me it was my discretion if i wanted to pay for it.I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and I wouldn't return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Rules Restaurant in Covent Gardens has the best steak and kidney pie and sticky toffee pudding. Reservations strongly recommended.Also, Airport taxi from Heathrow to London, only 28 pounds:08000968096 (toll free).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
M&K
Business
Windermere FL
Aug 18, 2010

you won't regret this stay!

this hotel is a jewel...close to the tube, shopping and restaurants. It really is a great hotel with its engaging/friendly staff. I will stay here again if in London. The room was ready when I arrived...a thrill since I had just traveled all night. They knew where I was coming from and made it possible!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top