$211 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 17, 2014 Check-out: Oct 18, 2014

The Grosvenor

4 stars
Buckingham Palace Road, London, SW1W 0SJ
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
118 reviews
Very welcoming hotel

Loved the hotel from the minute we arrived at 8:00am after flying all night. Our room was not... See full review

  • Patti M
  • Aug 7, 2014
A great experience

My wife an I visited London for the first time on December 2012. The location was great, a 10... See full review

  • Umpi77
  • Feb 22, 2014
Following a multi-million pound refurbishment, The Grosvenor Hotel has been restored to its former glory, revealing stunning original features that date back to 1862. A Listed building, it retains its distinctive Victorian architecture and character, yet offers guests all the comforts of a 21st Century luxury hotel. Our fully refurbished bedrooms offer a quiet, spacious and comfortable retreat from the bustle of London and the adjoining Victoria mainline station. All bedrooms feature rainfall showers and air conditioning. A large plasma-screen TV, Bose IPod docking stations with surround sound and WIFI access is available in all rooms for guest entertainment. All guests have use of our gym on the 7th floor. The Brasserie bar and restaurant, open all day, is the perfect place for an informal get together. Our traditional Lounge is a must for a full afternoon tea treat. Reunion, our latest addition, is a chic Champagne and Cocktail bar favored by many in the area. For a genuine Cantonese experience, try a meal in the Grand Imperial London. Its superb location is within walking distance of many of London's landmarks including Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abbey and the Houses of Parliament. Getting around is easy too; Victoria mainline, Underground and bus stations are close by. The Grosvenor is a non-smoking hotel.

Hotel Map

51.4957 -0.1455
Area served
London, Victoria Station, Buckingham Palace, Westminster
Nearby airports
Gatwick Airport, (LGW), 35.00, N, miles; Heathrow Airport, (LHR), 20.00, W, miles; City Airport, (LCY), 13.00, W, miles.
Area description
Close to Buckingham Palace and Houses of Parliament, with theatres and all the attractions of the West End a mere 15 minutes journey away. Only 30 minutes from London Gatwick Airport on the Gatwick Express. The hotel is situated at Victoria Station, with easy access to both the Mainline Rail and Coach stations, as well as the underground hub of Victoria.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Grosvenor also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

The Grosvenor Rooms

Standard Single Room
The Grosvenor Standard Single rooms measure up to 20 square metres. Our single rooms have all been refurbished and offer practical working areas along with rainfall showers and air conditioning. Flat screen TVs and Bose docking stations are provided in all rooms for guest entertainment. Facilities: 2 x mineral water Air conditioning Bose docking station Hypnos bed Rainfall shower Flat screen TV Iron and ironing board Tea/coffee making facilities In-room safe Hairdryer Double glazing sound proofing Gym access Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with compliments.
Standard Double Room
Our Standard Double rooms have all been refurbished and offer individually designed rooms from 20 to 27 square metres. All rooms have air conditioning, flat screen TVs and Bose docking stations. Facilities: 2 x mineral water Air conditioning Bose docking station Hypnos bed Rainfall shower Flat screen TV Iron and ironing board Tea/coffee making facilities In-room safe Hairdryer Double glazing sound proofing Gym access Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with compliments.
Standard Twin Room
Standard Twin rooms have all been refurbished and offer individually designed rooms from 20 to 27 square metres. All rooms have air conditioning,flat screen TVs and Bose docking stations. Facilities: 2 x mineral water Air conditioning Bose docking station Hypnos bed Rainfall shower Flat screen TV Iron and ironing board Tea/coffee making facilities In-room safe Hairdryer Double glazing sound proofing Gym access Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with compliments.
Deluxe Twin Room
The Deluxe Twin rooms have been fully refurbished and offer spacious accommodation from 27 to 30 square metres. All rooms offer air conditioning, flat screen TVs and Bose docking stations. Bathrooms have heated tiled floors and rainfall showers for that extra luxury. Deluxe rooms also have bathrobes and slippers along with a nightly turndown service. Facilities: Mini bar Rainfall shower Heated bathroom floors Turndown service Bathrobe and slippers 2 x mineral water Air conditioning Bose docking station Hypnos bed Flat screen TV Iron and ironing board Tea/coffee making facilities In-room safe Hairdryer Double glazing sound proofing Gym access Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with compliments.
Deluxe Double Room
Deluxe Double rooms have been fully refurbished and offer spacious accommodation from 27 to 30 square metres. All rooms offer air conditioning, flat screen TVs and Bose docking stations. Bathrooms have heated tiled floors and rainfall showers for that extra luxury. Deluxe rooms also have bathrobes and slippers along with a nightly turndown service. Facilities: Mini bar Rainfall shower Heated bathroom floors Turndown service Bathrobe and slippers 2 x mineral water Air conditioning Bose docking station Hypnos bed Flat screen TV Iron and ironing board Tea/coffee making facilities In-room safe Hairdryer Double glazing sound proofing Gym access Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with compliments.
Executive King Room
The Grosvenor Executive King rooms have been fully refurbished and offer generously spacious accommodation in excess of 30 square metres. All rooms offer air conditioning, flat screen TVs and Bose docking stations. Bathrooms have Elemis toiletries, heated tiled floors and rainfall showers for that extra luxury. Executive rooms also have bathrobes and slippers along with a nightly turndown service and complimentary soft drinks from the in-room mini bar. Facilities: Settee lounge area Fresh flowers in room Stocked mini bar with complimentary soft drinks Daily newspaper Complimentary internet Welcome fruit Rainfall shower Heated bathroom floors Elemis toiletries Turndown service Bathrobe and slippers 2 x mineral water Air conditioning Bose docking station Hypnos bed Flat screen TV Iron and ironing board Tea/coffee making facilities In-room safe Hairdryer Double glazing sound proofing Gym access Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with compliments.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • St. Ann's Shopping Centre : 0.1 mi
  • Victoria Place Shopping Centre : 0.1 mi
  • Victoria station: 0.1 mi
  • Victoria Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Mews: 0.2 mi
  • Lambeth Palace: 0.3 mi
  • Cardinal Place : 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Queen`s Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Westminster: 0.5 mi
  • Guards Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 0.5 mi
  • Sloane Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Cutty Sark: 0.6 mi
  • St. Ann's Shopping Centre : 0.1 mi
  • Victoria Place Shopping Centre : 0.1 mi
  • Victoria station: 0.1 mi
  • Victoria Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Mews: 0.2 mi
  • Lambeth Palace: 0.3 mi
  • Cardinal Place : 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Queen`s Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Westminster: 0.5 mi
  • Guards Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 0.5 mi
  • Sloane Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Cutty Sark: 0.6 mi
  • Crime Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 0.6 mi
  • Green Park: 0.6 mi
  • Saatchi Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • St. James's Park: 0.7 mi
  • Pimlico: 0.7 mi
  • St James's Park: 0.7 mi
  • Houses of Parliament: 0.8 mi
  • Westminster Dragoons Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Westminster Abbey Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 0.8 mi
  • Chelsea: 0.8 mi
  • Piccadilly: 0.8 mi
  • Harrods: 0.8 mi
  • Royal Hospital Chelsea Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Cabinet War Rooms and Churchill Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Jewel Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Tate Britain: 0.9 mi
  • National Army Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Palace of Westminster: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 1 mi
  • River Thames: 1 mi
  • Park Lane: 1 mi
  • Vauxhall Bridge: 1 mi
  • Big Ben: 1 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 1 mi
  • Battersea Power Station: 1 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 1.1 mi
  • London School of Economics: 1.1 mi

Dining

Grand Imperial Restaurant
Experience the outstanding new fine dining restaurant, Grand Imperial London and savour authentic Hong Kong Cantonese cuisine at its finest.
The Brasserie at The Grosvenor
Located near to Victoria station the stunning Brasserie is perfect for an informal lunch, dinner with friends or a traditional afternoon tea for two in the Lounge.
The Lounge at The Grosvenor
The Grosvenor Lounge is an unrivalled location to hold meetings, or to end a day of sightseeing by sampling the Afternoon Tea. Serving refined refreshments, a selection of loose leaf teas, decadent afternoon tea and cocktails, relax and enjoy the personal service.
Reunion Champagne & Cocktail Bar
Occupying what was once the first-class lounge, our chic new Reunion Bar at The Grosvenor Hotel recalls Victoria Station's historic Continental connections. As the name suggests, this is a place to meet up and spend time together, or wind down after a long day in meetings. A bright, welcoming yet intimate space, with views over the bustling station concourse, Runion offers a wide choice of drinks, including our signature cocktails, Champagnes, martinis and non-alcoholic specialities, plus a selection of elegant snacks - all prepared and served with flair by our skilled, attentive team.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our nine meeting and event rooms on the first floor at The Grosvenor Hotel offer you a unique blend of peace and quiet, period detail, natural light and up-to-the-minute technology.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (118)

Ratings and reviews for The Grosvenor

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Grosvenor

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Juan Pelado
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Jan 27, 2014

A great pleasure to visit london

It was my second time in London. The first was in a hotel in the area of Notting Hill, and this time opted for one more central. Actually my stay at the Grosvenor was tops. Its location close to Buckingham Palace and the main attractions, the subway, etc. make London a pleasure to stroll through. The Grosvenor Hotel is a beautiful period building in perfect condition and adapted in decorating the rooms in contemporary style. The very attentive staff at all times. Very good experience. I recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Any Pub's in London is a beautiful place to drink, dinner and spend time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grosvenor

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hurricane Bridgette
Belgium via USA
Aug 23, 2012

Elegant, Great Location and Affordable

When I come to London I normally choose to stay at the St. Pancras Reniensance Hotel right near the International train station and Kings Cross Underground stop. But when saw pictures of The Grosvenor I wanted to check it out. That it is attached to another major underground stop and huge train station like Victoria was a bonus. The hotel and the room were decorated wonderfully, staff was beyond helpful and friendly and the location was fantastic. I will be trying to stay here again and recomending this place to people coming to London in the future. Especially want to say that it is due to the overnight manager that was on duty the weekend I stayed there ( Aug 18-20) who upon us girls returning from a late show at the Apollo and finding nothing we wanted to eat, had the closed kitchen(except for room service) make us some sandwhiches, brought them to us and insured we were taken care of in the bar area. It was like the cherry on the sundae for the service and stay. Thank you!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It is right near the Apollo theatre that currently has Wicked showing there. It is a wonderful show that anyone who likes musicals should go see.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grosvenor

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Trudy a true Anglophile
Wisconsin
Nov 8, 2012

Grosvenor Hotel is spectacular!

Conveniently located next to Victoria Station, the Grosvenor is within very easy walking distance of Buckingham Palace, St. James Park, Churchill War Rooms as well as Big Ben and Parliament. The staff is superb, very accommodating and concerned that each guest is taken care of very well. The buffet breakfast is terrific; didn't even need to eat lunch as the selection is amazingly diverse and beautifully prepared for both the palate and the eye. We would stay at the Grosvenor anytime we are in London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grosvenor

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
norway lee
Norway
Jul 25, 2012

great location

wonderful location ,but room is small. friendly staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grosvenor

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Supertwin
Scotland
Aug 31, 2012

Fantastic quality hotel

Lovely atmosphere in a great location, luxurious rooms, excellent staff - couldn't have asked for more!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grosvenor

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
arthur from florida
florida
Sep 22, 2013

special place

room 527 was perfect ! Super quiet for an excellent night's sleep. Convenient to all London because of Victoria station. Easy travel to all tourist sites and home again to our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grosvenor

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DCWanderer
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Apr 30, 2012

Great London Hotel

Traveling on business, I've stayed in a great many London hotels over the past 15 years and have to say that The Grosvenor Hotel compares favorably to some of the best hotels in which I’ve stayed. If you're a history buff, The Grosvenor is one of England's original railroad hotels, grand hotels developed in the 1800s to accommodate the growing number of people traveling via train. Its origins can clearly be seen in its location right next to Victoria Station, its private entrance from the station floor, and its grand Victorian architecture. The Grosvenor has recently undergone a major renovation, and it’s clear that no expense was spared. The public spaces are, well, majestic. But this is no stuffy, old fashioned hotel; The Grosvenor has been redone in a way that tastefully combines its classic architectural features with a modern sensibility that is unapologetically cool. The hotel is also centrally located, a stone’s throw from major tourist sites (Buckingham Palace, Westminster) on one hand and some of London’s poshest neighborhoods on the other (Belgravia, Mayfair, and Knightsbridge). The Grosvenor also sports a bistro, a rather lively bar, and one of England’s finest Chinese restaurants (The Grand Imperial). To top it all off, the hotel staff was friendly, professional, and very helpful. Room rates at The Grosvenor also offer a sort of value, at least by London’s outrageously priced standards: not inexpensive but below those of peer hotels. I highly recommend The Grosvenor Hotel. (Date of stay: April 24, 2012)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Upscale shopping on Pimlico Road, one of Belgravia's "high streets," is a 5 minute walk away from The Grosvenor Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grosvenor

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kimberly D.
Michigan
May 19, 2013

London Holiday

Perfect location everything is within walking distance or the tube and bus station are right outside the hotel. The staff was helpful, the rooms were clean and comfortable, if not to small, but your in London and who wants to waste that time in a hotel room anyway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If its to much of a distance to walk, take the tube or bus, the taxi costs are high.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grosvenor

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
885885747
Salt Lake City, Utah
Nov 11, 2013

Fantastic

The Grosvenor was a fantastic hotel. It is right above the Victoria Station which means you can come from anywhere in London by Underground and go right to your room. Very nice. There were plenty of staff to help with whatever I needed. I stayed in a single bedroom. It was small, but clean and well maintained. The bed was comfortable and the room quiet. There was a little street noise, but not enough to keep me awake. Overall a very pleasant experience. The hotel is within a 10-15 minute walk of Buckingham Palace and a short Underground ride to most other attractions. There are shops and fast food in Victoria Station, so always plenty of choices to please everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Victoria Station (right down the stairs) has plenty of fast food choices: Burger King, McDonalds, Krispy Kreme as well as a bunch of local bakery type food. It also has a few stores for your needs as well as some clothing stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grosvenor

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tonyhodgson71
Kent
Jul 24, 2012

Great deal for a great hotel

Having found a great deal for this hotel I was a little worried why I could get such a great deal in the centre of London on a sat night... As soon as I walked in the lobby I could tell I had indeed got a great deal and found the check in staff along with the bar staff & housekeeping staff to be very helpful and polite, the room was lovely a little on the small side but this didn't affect how we enjoyed our stay & would def stay there again for our next London trip... And can def recommend this hotel... And the black bison cocktails in the bar!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search