$231 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 19, 2014 Check-out: Sep 20, 2014

The Grosvenor

4 stars
Buckingham Palace Road, London, SW1W 0SJ
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
118 reviews
Very welcoming hotel

Loved the hotel from the minute we arrived at 8:00am after flying all night. Our room was not... See full review

  • Patti M
  • Aug 7, 2014
A great experience

My wife an I visited London for the first time on December 2012. The location was great, a 10... See full review

  • Umpi77
  • Feb 22, 2014
Following a multi-million pound refurbishment, The Grosvenor Hotel has been restored to its former glory, revealing stunning original features that date back to 1862. A Listed building, it retains its distinctive Victorian architecture and character, yet offers guests all the comforts of a 21st Century luxury hotel. Our fully refurbished bedrooms offer a quiet, spacious and comfortable retreat from the bustle of London and the adjoining Victoria mainline station. All bedrooms feature rainfall showers and air conditioning. A large plasma-screen TV, Bose IPod docking stations with surround sound and WIFI access is available in all rooms for guest entertainment. All guests have use of our gym on the 7th floor. The Brasserie bar and restaurant, open all day, is the perfect place for an informal get together. Our traditional Lounge is a must for a full afternoon tea treat. Reunion, our latest addition, is a chic Champagne and Cocktail bar favored by many in the area. For a genuine Cantonese experience, try a meal in the Grand Imperial London. Its superb location is within walking distance of many of London's landmarks including Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abbey and the Houses of Parliament. Getting around is easy too; Victoria mainline, Underground and bus stations are close by. The Grosvenor is a non-smoking hotel.

Hotel Map

51.4957 -0.1455
Area served
London, Victoria Station, Buckingham Palace, Westminster
Nearby airports
Gatwick Airport, (LGW), 35.00, N, miles; Heathrow Airport, (LHR), 20.00, W, miles; City Airport, (LCY), 13.00, W, miles.
Area description
Close to Buckingham Palace and Houses of Parliament, with theatres and all the attractions of the West End a mere 15 minutes journey away. Only 30 minutes from London Gatwick Airport on the Gatwick Express. The hotel is situated at Victoria Station, with easy access to both the Mainline Rail and Coach stations, as well as the underground hub of Victoria.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Grosvenor also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

The Grosvenor Rooms

Standard Single Room
The Grosvenor Standard Single rooms measure up to 20 square metres. Our single rooms have all been refurbished and offer practical working areas along with rainfall showers and air conditioning. Flat screen TVs and Bose docking stations are provided in all rooms for guest entertainment. Facilities: 2 x mineral water Air conditioning Bose docking station Hypnos bed Rainfall shower Flat screen TV Iron and ironing board Tea/coffee making facilities In-room safe Hairdryer Double glazing sound proofing Gym access Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with compliments.
Standard Double Room
Our Standard Double rooms have all been refurbished and offer individually designed rooms from 20 to 27 square metres. All rooms have air conditioning, flat screen TVs and Bose docking stations. Facilities: 2 x mineral water Air conditioning Bose docking station Hypnos bed Rainfall shower Flat screen TV Iron and ironing board Tea/coffee making facilities In-room safe Hairdryer Double glazing sound proofing Gym access Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with compliments.
Standard Twin Room
Standard Twin rooms have all been refurbished and offer individually designed rooms from 20 to 27 square metres. All rooms have air conditioning,flat screen TVs and Bose docking stations. Facilities: 2 x mineral water Air conditioning Bose docking station Hypnos bed Rainfall shower Flat screen TV Iron and ironing board Tea/coffee making facilities In-room safe Hairdryer Double glazing sound proofing Gym access Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with compliments.
Deluxe Twin Room
The Deluxe Twin rooms have been fully refurbished and offer spacious accommodation from 27 to 30 square metres. All rooms offer air conditioning, flat screen TVs and Bose docking stations. Bathrooms have heated tiled floors and rainfall showers for that extra luxury. Deluxe rooms also have bathrobes and slippers along with a nightly turndown service. Facilities: Mini bar Rainfall shower Heated bathroom floors Turndown service Bathrobe and slippers 2 x mineral water Air conditioning Bose docking station Hypnos bed Flat screen TV Iron and ironing board Tea/coffee making facilities In-room safe Hairdryer Double glazing sound proofing Gym access Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with compliments.
Deluxe Double Room
Deluxe Double rooms have been fully refurbished and offer spacious accommodation from 27 to 30 square metres. All rooms offer air conditioning, flat screen TVs and Bose docking stations. Bathrooms have heated tiled floors and rainfall showers for that extra luxury. Deluxe rooms also have bathrobes and slippers along with a nightly turndown service. Facilities: Mini bar Rainfall shower Heated bathroom floors Turndown service Bathrobe and slippers 2 x mineral water Air conditioning Bose docking station Hypnos bed Flat screen TV Iron and ironing board Tea/coffee making facilities In-room safe Hairdryer Double glazing sound proofing Gym access Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with compliments.
Executive King Room
The Grosvenor Executive King rooms have been fully refurbished and offer generously spacious accommodation in excess of 30 square metres. All rooms offer air conditioning, flat screen TVs and Bose docking stations. Bathrooms have Elemis toiletries, heated tiled floors and rainfall showers for that extra luxury. Executive rooms also have bathrobes and slippers along with a nightly turndown service and complimentary soft drinks from the in-room mini bar. Facilities: Settee lounge area Fresh flowers in room Stocked mini bar with complimentary soft drinks Daily newspaper Complimentary internet Welcome fruit Rainfall shower Heated bathroom floors Elemis toiletries Turndown service Bathrobe and slippers 2 x mineral water Air conditioning Bose docking station Hypnos bed Flat screen TV Iron and ironing board Tea/coffee making facilities In-room safe Hairdryer Double glazing sound proofing Gym access Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with compliments.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • St. Ann's Shopping Centre : 0.1 mi
  • Victoria Place Shopping Centre : 0.1 mi
  • Victoria station: 0.1 mi
  • Victoria Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Mews: 0.2 mi
  • Lambeth Palace: 0.3 mi
  • Cardinal Place : 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Queen`s Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Westminster: 0.5 mi
  • Guards Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 0.5 mi
  • Sloane Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Cutty Sark: 0.6 mi
  • St. Ann's Shopping Centre : 0.1 mi
  • Victoria Place Shopping Centre : 0.1 mi
  • Victoria station: 0.1 mi
  • Victoria Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Mews: 0.2 mi
  • Lambeth Palace: 0.3 mi
  • Cardinal Place : 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Queen`s Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Westminster: 0.5 mi
  • Guards Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 0.5 mi
  • Sloane Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Cutty Sark: 0.6 mi
  • Crime Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 0.6 mi
  • Green Park: 0.6 mi
  • Saatchi Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • St. James's Park: 0.7 mi
  • Pimlico: 0.7 mi
  • St James's Park: 0.7 mi
  • Houses of Parliament: 0.8 mi
  • Westminster Dragoons Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Westminster Abbey Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 0.8 mi
  • Chelsea: 0.8 mi
  • Piccadilly: 0.8 mi
  • Harrods: 0.8 mi
  • Royal Hospital Chelsea Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Cabinet War Rooms and Churchill Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Jewel Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Tate Britain: 0.9 mi
  • National Army Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Palace of Westminster: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 1 mi
  • River Thames: 1 mi
  • Park Lane: 1 mi
  • Vauxhall Bridge: 1 mi
  • Big Ben: 1 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 1 mi
  • Battersea Power Station: 1 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 1.1 mi
  • London School of Economics: 1.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our nine meeting and event rooms on the first floor at The Grosvenor Hotel offer you a unique blend of peace and quiet, period detail, natural light and up-to-the-minute technology.

Dining

Grand Imperial Restaurant
Experience the outstanding new fine dining restaurant, Grand Imperial London and savour authentic Hong Kong Cantonese cuisine at its finest.
The Brasserie at The Grosvenor
Located near to Victoria station the stunning Brasserie is perfect for an informal lunch, dinner with friends or a traditional afternoon tea for two in the Lounge.
The Lounge at The Grosvenor
The Grosvenor Lounge is an unrivalled location to hold meetings, or to end a day of sightseeing by sampling the Afternoon Tea. Serving refined refreshments, a selection of loose leaf teas, decadent afternoon tea and cocktails, relax and enjoy the personal service.
Reunion Champagne & Cocktail Bar
Occupying what was once the first-class lounge, our chic new Reunion Bar at The Grosvenor Hotel recalls Victoria Station's historic Continental connections. As the name suggests, this is a place to meet up and spend time together, or wind down after a long day in meetings. A bright, welcoming yet intimate space, with views over the bustling station concourse, Runion offers a wide choice of drinks, including our signature cocktails, Champagnes, martinis and non-alcoholic specialities, plus a selection of elegant snacks - all prepared and served with flair by our skilled, attentive team.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (118)

Ratings and reviews for The Grosvenor

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Grosvenor

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sassychica
Houston
Feb 18, 2013

London Vacation

Wonderful experience!!! Five out five stars!!! Hotel staff was very helpful. This was my first trip to London and I will definetly stay at the Grosvenor on my next trip to London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grosvenor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Janichic
Chicago
Oct 9, 2012

Convenient location

We had a great deal and were not disappointed. The bed was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

You can save on Internet access by using the business center, although it only has one computer...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grosvenor

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beerfest goer
Texas
Sep 25, 2012

Night manager not accommodating

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel until the last day. Room service forgot utensils one day, no big deal. The room service menu could have been better for breakfast items, I think they want you to buy into the buffet. Cleanliness was excellent in the room. Our room was on the top floor was quiet from outside but had some noisy pipes inside the wall. Overall, we were happy with the stay until the very early morning hour of our departure. At approx 3am, we ordered room service, then I called the concierge desk and asked for a 1/2hour late departure from the hotel. We were taking an early tour to Stonehenge and wanted to freshen up when we arrived back to the hotel before departing. The night manager told whoever called our room back that it would be a 10 £ per hour charge. We were really upset, we'd just spent $1000 on the room for 3 nights. We are very frequent world travelers and have never been told that before, we won't be staying at the hotel again. We were very, very disappointed in their lack of courtesy. If they needed to clean it right away and had the room booked we would have understood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grosvenor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Althea The Cat
Boston, MA, USA
Sep 25, 2012

Had a Very Pleasant Stay

I enjoyed staying at this hotel very much. The room was modern, clean, and stylish. It's located immediately next to Victoria Station, so it was nice being able to come & go on rainy days without having to walk outside much. There are plenty of dining options within a five minute walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grosvenor

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LS and DB
Boca Raton, Florida
Sep 16, 2012

Great location.

Location perfect, couldn't get any better. The room was beyond small and the bathroom was extremely uncomfortable and tiny. The hotel is large and our room was located way off into the distance...a little confusing to locate and a trek...Staff was helpful and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grosvenor

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
archaeologist D
New Jersey
Sep 16, 2012

a great hotel

Considering the price I paid, I thought it would be an older, dusty hotel but it was gorgeous. The staff was lovely, the room was just right. It was right next to Victoria Station so that I didn't even have to go far to catch the train or Tube. A beautiful hotel. I'd stay again in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

next to the Victoria train station. Very convenient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grosvenor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jaiunetouriste
Seattle, WA
Sep 12, 2012

Convenient location

Located at Victoria station, close to grocery, drugstore, walking distance to sites or just a hop away on the tube. Took advantage of a sale plus a promotional coupon to make what traveler website rates as a splurge hotel to an affordable hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get breakfast at M&S or Pret a Manger instead of opting for hotel breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grosvenor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
donna9391
Augusta, GA
Sep 5, 2012

Perfect location

My only real complaint is about the subway station near the hotel, no escalator so it was hard to mange our suitcases on the stairs. No free internet and breakfast is very expensive so we bought it in shops much cheaper. The location was awesome, close to the tube and train station and in walking distance to a lot of the things we wanted to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to dinner at Galvin on Baker Street, the food was wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grosvenor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ghost Writer
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 4, 2012

London Vacay

Before booking, we were not familiar with the London area and chose our hotel based on reviews and price. Fortunately, the good reviews were correct and I thought the price was very reasonable. From the moment we first arrived the staff was super friendly and accomodating. The concierge was always ready to help with any questions or requests we had. I found that the room we stayed in was very modern and stylish, which I like. The location was close to multiple transportation methods, including multiple subway and bus stations, which we used all of. It was also close to Buckingham palace, Hyde park, and the theatre Wicked was playing at, an easy walk to all. My stay here resulted in a wonderful vacation. My only complaint was that the room did not have any clocks and even though we requested a wake-up call, we never received one two days in a row (which resulted in missing breakfast).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

During our London vacation, the concierge told us we could buy a day pass for public transportation, including the tube/subway and buses. This saved a lot of money compared to buying everything individually if you plan on using public transportation multiple times during the day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grosvenor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JT the London lover
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 1, 2012

Trip in Time

The Grosvenor Hotel is perfectly located at Victoria station with easy and cheap transportation from Heathrow via the National Express coach service. it's about an hour's ride but only 6 pounds. So easy to use the tube and busses to get any where in London. Or, one could walk to many sights along busy or quiet picturesque streets. The breakfast on weekends in 12 pounds and satisfying in beautiful rooms. However, the same breakfast for 20 pounds during the weeks is definitely not worth it. The Victoria station is full of places to eat and Pret and Starbucks abound in the neighborhood. The hotel has a classic look, atmospheric and well maintained. It's air-conditioned but not usually needed. Some people might complain about hearing announcements from the station but they didn't bother me at all. I would definitely choose this hotel for another stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

For light food and coffee use Pret and Starbucks which seem to be every where in the neighborhood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grosvenor

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Supertwin
Scotland
Aug 31, 2012

Fantastic quality hotel

Lovely atmosphere in a great location, luxurious rooms, excellent staff - couldn't have asked for more!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search