$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

The Gresham

3 stars
116 Sussex Gardens, London, W2 1UH
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
37 reviews
Best hotel i tried out of 6 hotels i tried before in london

I most certainly want to go again Comfortable Clean Quiet Besides an important train... See full review

  • Essam damatty
  • Feb 1, 2014
Excellent value and location

An easy walk from Paddington , this hotel was plain but had everything we needed, including free... See full review

  • Very proud OSU grad's mom
  • Apr 21, 2014
Basic comfort, personal service close to Paddington Station

The Gresham is a smart choice for travelers seeking service and convenience without sacrificing quality. The hotel's prime central London location is just steps away from the Natural History Museum and other top sites. Rooms are basic yet comfortable and feature Wi-Fi (fees apply), mini-bar and coffee and tea making facilities, typical comforts that make the hotel appropriate and relevant for anyone seeking 3-star quality.

Highlights
  • Prime location minutes from Paddington Station
  • Triple and quad rooms available
  • Handsome neo-Georgian style building
Rooms

The Gresham's rooms are comfortable yet simple and feature cable and satellite TV, direct-dial telephone, mini-bar, coffee and tea making facilities, hair dryer and in-room safe. The décor is homey, providing a comfortable, relaxing retreat at the end of a busy day. Families and groups will appreciate the triple and quad room layouts, affordable options that make the Gresham accessible for nearly any budget.

Features

The focus at the Gresham is on location, with its prime central location a convenient launching point for exploring London's top sites and attractions.

The 3-star hotel is a capable stalwart whose staff prides itself on first-rate service. Families and small groups will appreciate the triple and quad room options, and business and leisure guests can catch up with all of the news from home with reliable Internet access (fees apply).

An intimate lobby bar serves a range of beers and cocktails, the perfect way to start or end an evening.

Transportation
  • Marylebone tube station (1.6 mi./2.5 km)
  • Edgware Road tube station (1.7 mi./2.8 km)
  • Paddington tube station (1.9 mi./3 km)
  • Heathrow Airport (14.3 mi./23 km)
Attractions
  • West End theaters (0.5 mi./0.8 km)
  • Hyde Park (1.7 mi./2.7 km)
  • Royal Albert Hall (2.4 mi./3.9 km)
  • Science Museum (2.5 mi./3.9 km)
  • Natural History Museum (2.6 mi./4.2 km)
Business
  • Internet access (fees apply)
  • In-room safe
  • Secretarial services
Policies and Fees

The hotel charges a 5 percent surcharge for payment via debit or credit card. Additionally, advance purchase rooms are non-refundable and non-transferable.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Gresham Rooms

Standard Triple Room
Room offers 1 double bed and 1 single bed with satellite TV, direct dial phone, safe, coffee/tea maker and bathroom with hairdryer. Maximum occupancy for 3 guests. No additional bedding options available.
Standard Quad Room
Room offers 1 double bed and 2 single beds with satellite TV, direct dial phone, safe, coffee/tea maker and bathroom with hairdryer. Maximum occupancy for 4 guests. No additional bedding options available.
Standard Single Room
Room offers 1 single bed with satellite TV, direct dial phone, safe, coffee/tea maker and bathroom with hairdryer. Maximum occupancy for 1 guest.
Standard Double/Twin Room
Room offers 1 double bed or 2 single beds with satellite TV, direct dial phone, safe, coffee/tea maker and bathroom with hairdryer. Maximum occupancy for 2 guests. No additional bedding options available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Gresham also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

51.5159 -0.1718
Area served
London
Nearby airports
(LHR)London Heathrow Airport
Area description
Hotel is conveniently located near Bayswater ,Marble arch, Madame Tussad's Waxworks is just 1 mile away. Kensington Palace, Albert memorial are just 1.5 Km away from the Hotel.

Nearby points of interest

  • Paddington Station: 0.3 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0.4 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.5 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.6 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Queensway: 0.7 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 0.7 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.7 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.8 mi
  • London Business School: 0.9 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.9 mi
  • Paddington Station: 0.3 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0.4 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.5 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.6 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Queensway: 0.7 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 0.7 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.7 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.8 mi
  • London Business School: 0.9 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.9 mi
  • Park Lane: 0.9 mi
  • Lords Cricket Ground: 0.9 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 1 mi
  • Bond Street London: 1 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 1 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 1 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 1 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 1 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 1.1 mi
  • Harrods: 1.2 mi
  • Oxford Street: 1.2 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1.2 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 1.2 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.2 mi
  • Maida Vale: 1.2 mi
  • Imperial College London: 1.2 mi
  • University of Westminster: 1.3 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1.3 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 1.3 mi
  • Science Museum London: 1.3 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 1.3 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.3 mi
  • Regent's College: 1.3 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 1.3 mi
  • National Art Library: 1.3 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 1.3 mi
  • London Palladium: 1.4 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for The Gresham

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3.3

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Squint
Tucson Az
Jul 30, 2010

Standard Small London Hotel

Nice enough place, but phone service was out the entire time. Front desk reserved their phone for their own use. I had to us the public phone on the street (very smelly).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lady Critic
uk
Aug 31, 2012

I would never go back

I don't know how this got 3 stars. I stayed there for one night, as I was going out in Central London. There was mould/damp in the bathroom; The paint on the window was chipping away; The room was extremely small and hot; The room looks like it had recently been painted, but it hadn't been done well. The worst thing was the toilet wouldn't flush and they sent someone up to fix it. They took the lid off the cistern to flush the toilet, it was embarassing. The staff were pleasant, but I didn't see them much. You have to leave your key with reception when you go out for your own safety, which isn't a bad idea. If this was the last place that had a room and you're desperate I would go here, but I don't believe it deserves 3 stars. The furniture was out dated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Squint
Tucson Az
Jul 30, 2010

Standard Small London Hotel

Nice enough place, but phone service was out the entire time. Front desk reserved their phone for their own use. I had to us the public phone on the street (very smelly).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NNNN
Japan
Sep 11, 2012

Worst hotel I've ever stay.

Please dont choose this hotel your stay in London. I cant recommend anyone this hotel. They dont know how to clean the room, and take care of the customer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego CA
Aug 9, 2009

Luxurious?

Great location - 5 minute walk from Paddington station. The ad says it's a luxurious 3-star; it's really a basic tourist hotel with small rooms (even by London standards) and old, tatty carpet and furnishings. On the other hand, the staff is polite and everything worked properly. Worth staying there if you're flying into Heathrow and don't want to spend a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several cheap places to eat (as well as 3 grocey stores) in and around the station, so you may want to skip the hotel breakfast. Also, forget the Heathrow Express train; it's a ripoff. Take the Heathrow Connect train to Paddington - it only takes 10 min. longer and it's half the price.

Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Robbert
Las Vegas, NV
Oct 23, 2013

Row House hotel

There are several hotels all lined up near the Paddidngton station. These hotels are nothing special and offer you a place to sleep conveniently located to the station. There really is no value to be had in London, so why expect it here? You are paying good money for a shoebox of a room that you can barely move in. If you want a more comfortable place, be prepared to spend about double what this place costs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you want value in Europe, go East. Otherwise, bring money and lots of it!

Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TwiceLondon
New Jersey, USA
Jan 19, 2012

SmallLondon

The room had just enough room to breathe once you were inside. The location was decent enough, right by Hyde Park and a short walk to Paddington Staion. You had to leave your key when you left, and would give it back without ID when you returned. You only needed the room number, I actually was given someone else's key at one point. Did not feel safe leaving valuables in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frugal Businessman 999
Business
Boston area
May 24, 2014

Very slow WiFi

Good location but very slow and unreliable internet. Not good for business use. Breakfast is five pounds extra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Heathrow Connect instead of the Heathrow Express. Much cheaper and not much longer.

Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Redlands, Ca
Jun 25, 2009

Good location and price

Good location. we walked to it, with luggage, in 5 min after catching the train from Heathrow to Paddington station. We used the subway system, "The Tube", for transportation around the city which has a station near by. Room was tiny, as was the bath and shower, but all we wanted was a bed (which was all that would fit) so that was okay. Good, friendly, helpful, 24 hr desk service. 5 Pounds for an "English style breakfast" in their dining area. There is a small bar for guests. very basic accommodation but convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego CA
Aug 9, 2009

Luxurious?

Great location - 5 minute walk from Paddington station. The ad says it's a luxurious 3-star; it's really a basic tourist hotel with small rooms (even by London standards) and old, tatty carpet and furnishings. On the other hand, the staff is polite and everything worked properly. Worth staying there if you're flying into Heathrow and don't want to spend a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several cheap places to eat (as well as 3 grocey stores) in and around the station, so you may want to skip the hotel breakfast. Also, forget the Heathrow Express train; it's a ripoff. Take the Heathrow Connect train to Paddington - it only takes 10 min. longer and it's half the price.

Back to menu Return to top