$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 8, 2015 Check-out: Mar 9, 2015

The Gresham

3 stars
View map of 116 Sussex Gardens, London, W2 1UH

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
34 reviews
Best hotel i tried out of 6 hotels i tried before in london

I most certainly want to go again Comfortable Clean Quiet Besides an important train... See full review

  • Essam damatty
  • Feb 1, 2014
Excellent value and location

An easy walk from Paddington , this hotel was plain but had everything we needed, including free... See full review

  • Very proud OSU grad's mom
  • Apr 21, 2014
Basic comfort, personal service close to Paddington Station

The Gresham is a smart choice for travelers seeking service and convenience without sacrificing quality. The hotel's prime central London location is just steps away from the Natural History Museum and other top sites. Rooms are basic yet comfortable and feature Wi-Fi (fees apply), mini-bar and coffee and tea making facilities, typical comforts that make the hotel appropriate and relevant for anyone seeking 3-star quality.

Highlights
  • Prime location minutes from Paddington Station
  • Triple and quad rooms available
  • Handsome neo-Georgian style building
Rooms

The Gresham's rooms are comfortable yet simple and feature cable and satellite TV, direct-dial telephone, mini-bar, coffee and tea making facilities, hair dryer and in-room safe. The décor is homey, providing a comfortable, relaxing retreat at the end of a busy day. Families and groups will appreciate the triple and quad room layouts, affordable options that make the Gresham accessible for nearly any budget.

Features

The focus at the Gresham is on location, with its prime central location a convenient launching point for exploring London's top sites and attractions.

The 3-star hotel is a capable stalwart whose staff prides itself on first-rate service. Families and small groups will appreciate the triple and quad room options, and business and leisure guests can catch up with all of the news from home with reliable Internet access (fees apply).

An intimate lobby bar serves a range of beers and cocktails, the perfect way to start or end an evening.

Transportation
  • Marylebone tube station (1.6 mi./2.5 km)
  • Edgware Road tube station (1.7 mi./2.8 km)
  • Paddington tube station (1.9 mi./3 km)
  • Heathrow Airport (14.3 mi./23 km)
Attractions
  • West End theaters (0.5 mi./0.8 km)
  • Hyde Park (1.7 mi./2.7 km)
  • Royal Albert Hall (2.4 mi./3.9 km)
  • Science Museum (2.5 mi./3.9 km)
  • Natural History Museum (2.6 mi./4.2 km)
Business
  • Internet access (fees apply)
  • In-room safe
  • Secretarial services
Policies and Fees

The hotel charges a 5 percent surcharge for payment via debit or credit card. Additionally, advance purchase rooms are non-refundable and non-transferable.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Gresham also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

The Gresham Rooms

Standard Single Room
Room offers 1 single bed with satellite TV, direct dial phone, safe, coffee/tea maker and bathroom with hairdryer. Maximum occupancy for 1 guest.
Standard Double/Twin Room
Room offers 1 double bed or 2 single beds with satellite TV, direct dial phone, safe, coffee/tea maker and bathroom with hairdryer. Maximum occupancy for 2 guests. No additional bedding options available.
Standard Triple Room
Room offers 1 double bed and 1 single bed with satellite TV, direct dial phone, safe, coffee/tea maker and bathroom with hairdryer. Maximum occupancy for 3 guests. No additional bedding options available.
Standard Quad Room
Room offers 1 double bed and 2 single beds with satellite TV, direct dial phone, safe, coffee/tea maker and bathroom with hairdryer. Maximum occupancy for 4 guests. No additional bedding options available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Paddington Station: 0.3 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0.4 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.5 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.6 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Queensway: 0.7 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 0.7 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.7 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.8 mi
  • London Business School: 0.9 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.9 mi
  • Paddington Station: 0.3 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0.4 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.5 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.6 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Queensway: 0.7 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 0.7 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.7 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.8 mi
  • London Business School: 0.9 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.9 mi
  • Park Lane: 0.9 mi
  • Lords Cricket Ground: 0.9 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 1 mi
  • Bond Street London: 1 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 1 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 1 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 1 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 1 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 1.1 mi
  • Harrods: 1.2 mi
  • Oxford Street: 1.2 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1.2 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 1.2 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.2 mi
  • Maida Vale: 1.2 mi
  • Imperial College London: 1.2 mi
  • University of Westminster: 1.3 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1.3 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 1.3 mi
  • Science Museum London: 1.3 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 1.3 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.3 mi
  • Regent's College: 1.3 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 1.3 mi
  • National Art Library: 1.3 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 1.3 mi
  • London Palladium: 1.4 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (34)

Ratings and reviews for The Gresham

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
4
Value:
3.2

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wltam
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Nov 19, 2011

Geat location, reasonably priced, can't ask for more!

My wife and I were in London for 3.5 days and needed an affordable hotel to crash at night since we were mostly sight-seeing. Located just 5 min from Paddington St, with trains to practically all major attractions. Most convenient for travelling from Heathrow via the Express with no subsequent train transfer. Room is expectedly very small, but clean and decent. With wi-fi and new TV, recently renovated washroom. Friendly and helpful reception staff. We would certainly be back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

While on the Heathrow Express, consider getting a Day Pass that allows you to visit unlimited paid sights for a day. Pay a little more for two or three-day passes. Worth the money. But does not include the London Eye, a must-visit attraction.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Essam damatty
Business
Riyadh
Feb 1, 2014

Best hotel i tried out of 6 hotels i tried before in london

I most certainly want to go again Comfortable Clean Quiet Besides an important train station Perfect beautiful location Helpful staff Warm

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
China girl
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 15, 2012

Good for London

Room was pretty small for 3, but normal for London. Excellent location near Paddington station, small stores, Barclays ATM, and lots of places to eat. Free wifi which is excellent value. Hotel didn't offer tour or theatre tickets, but a hotel around the corner did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Deal that offer cheap shuttle service to airport. 16 UK$ per person. Most places try to charge 35+ so this was excellent value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Very proud OSU grad's mom
Business
Cleveland, Oh
Apr 21, 2014

Excellent value and location

An easy walk from Paddington , this hotel was plain but had everything we needed, including free wi-fi. They stored our luggage when we arrived early, and the staff was uniformly helpful. We will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nearby Bizzarro Italian Restaurant on Praed is excellent, affordable, and relaxing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
USNorwayUKtraveler
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 29, 2009

I recommend the Gresham

Fantastic location - Paddington station right around the corner (easiest access to Heathrow via Heathrow Express, and on Tube Circle line) and several minutes walk to Hyde Park. Rooms are typically small but neat and decent bed with no creatures. Bathroom adequate. Very friendly and helpful staff. FREE WiFi access throughout the hotel. Full English breakfast for only £5. ONLY complaint (and NOT hotel's fault): I'm not a city dweller and the street noise made it difficult to get a full night's sleep. But I imagine this is the same at most hotels in London. NOTE: Checkin time was incorrectly shown by Orbitz as 12PM; it's actually 2PM but the friendly staff let me check in as soon as the room was clean, shortly after noon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a one-day ticket for the Tube, or an Oyster ticket. HUGE savings over single tickets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
seattle wa
Oct 10, 2009

very good

It was very comfortable and the staff was helpful. I enjoyed it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to the train station

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kemo machine
Business
Lagos, Nigeria
Jun 7, 2009

"Fanstatic location for the price"

My stay at the hotel was nice and the location was central to the important places in london. The cost of services also pocket friendly, keep it up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel location is very prime in London and close to the station and that helps to make shopping easier.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AllanBusiness
Business
Massachusetts, USA
Sep 29, 2011

Business travellers be warned

This hotel is ok, but be warned that for a one night stay it's rooms are small and it is difficult to be comfortable enough to sleep quickly. For longer stays it's room layout would add to the stress of travel. However, there is nothing "wrong" with the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MSW.
Business
Canada
Mar 23, 2012

Fine for a stopover

Location is ideal, being close to London's attractions, tube station and Paddington. There are plenty of shops/restaurants nearby too. On the downside, the room had no towels, which I didn't notice until I needed one. Also the bathroom had a small trail of ants marching through it. Room is small but otherwise fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just around the corner (going left) is an award winning fish 'n chip shop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MikeRome
Business
Washington, DC, USA
May 28, 2012

Good value

This was a good value hotel. Didn't exceed any expectations, but was close to Paddington, clean, and convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top