$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 25, 2015 Check-out: Jan 26, 2015

The Gresham

3 stars
116 Sussex Gardens, London, W2 1UH
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
33 reviews
Best hotel i tried out of 6 hotels i tried before in london

I most certainly want to go again Comfortable Clean Quiet Besides an important train... See full review

  • Essam damatty
  • Feb 1, 2014
Excellent value and location

An easy walk from Paddington , this hotel was plain but had everything we needed, including free... See full review

  • Very proud OSU grad's mom
  • Apr 21, 2014
Basic comfort, personal service close to Paddington Station

The Gresham is a smart choice for travelers seeking service and convenience without sacrificing quality. The hotel's prime central London location is just steps away from the Natural History Museum and other top sites. Rooms are basic yet comfortable and feature Wi-Fi (fees apply), mini-bar and coffee and tea making facilities, typical comforts that make the hotel appropriate and relevant for anyone seeking 3-star quality.

Highlights
  • Prime location minutes from Paddington Station
  • Triple and quad rooms available
  • Handsome neo-Georgian style building
Rooms

The Gresham's rooms are comfortable yet simple and feature cable and satellite TV, direct-dial telephone, mini-bar, coffee and tea making facilities, hair dryer and in-room safe. The décor is homey, providing a comfortable, relaxing retreat at the end of a busy day. Families and groups will appreciate the triple and quad room layouts, affordable options that make the Gresham accessible for nearly any budget.

Features

The focus at the Gresham is on location, with its prime central location a convenient launching point for exploring London's top sites and attractions.

The 3-star hotel is a capable stalwart whose staff prides itself on first-rate service. Families and small groups will appreciate the triple and quad room options, and business and leisure guests can catch up with all of the news from home with reliable Internet access (fees apply).

An intimate lobby bar serves a range of beers and cocktails, the perfect way to start or end an evening.

Transportation
  • Marylebone tube station (1.6 mi./2.5 km)
  • Edgware Road tube station (1.7 mi./2.8 km)
  • Paddington tube station (1.9 mi./3 km)
  • Heathrow Airport (14.3 mi./23 km)
Attractions
  • West End theaters (0.5 mi./0.8 km)
  • Hyde Park (1.7 mi./2.7 km)
  • Royal Albert Hall (2.4 mi./3.9 km)
  • Science Museum (2.5 mi./3.9 km)
  • Natural History Museum (2.6 mi./4.2 km)
Business
  • Internet access (fees apply)
  • In-room safe
  • Secretarial services
Policies and Fees

The hotel charges a 5 percent surcharge for payment via debit or credit card. Additionally, advance purchase rooms are non-refundable and non-transferable.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Gresham also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

The Gresham Rooms

Standard Single Room
Room offers 1 single bed with satellite TV, direct dial phone, safe, coffee/tea maker and bathroom with hairdryer. Maximum occupancy for 1 guest.
Standard Double/Twin Room
Room offers 1 double bed or 2 single beds with satellite TV, direct dial phone, safe, coffee/tea maker and bathroom with hairdryer. Maximum occupancy for 2 guests. No additional bedding options available.
Standard Triple Room
Room offers 1 double bed and 1 single bed with satellite TV, direct dial phone, safe, coffee/tea maker and bathroom with hairdryer. Maximum occupancy for 3 guests. No additional bedding options available.
Standard Quad Room
Room offers 1 double bed and 2 single beds with satellite TV, direct dial phone, safe, coffee/tea maker and bathroom with hairdryer. Maximum occupancy for 4 guests. No additional bedding options available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Paddington Station: 0.3 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0.4 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.5 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.6 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Queensway: 0.7 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 0.7 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.7 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.8 mi
  • London Business School: 0.9 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.9 mi
  • Paddington Station: 0.3 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0.4 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.5 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.6 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Queensway: 0.7 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 0.7 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.7 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.8 mi
  • London Business School: 0.9 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.9 mi
  • Park Lane: 0.9 mi
  • Lords Cricket Ground: 0.9 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 1 mi
  • Bond Street London: 1 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 1 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 1 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 1 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 1 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 1.1 mi
  • Harrods: 1.2 mi
  • Oxford Street: 1.2 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1.2 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 1.2 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.2 mi
  • Maida Vale: 1.2 mi
  • Imperial College London: 1.2 mi
  • University of Westminster: 1.3 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1.3 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 1.3 mi
  • Science Museum London: 1.3 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 1.3 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.3 mi
  • Regent's College: 1.3 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 1.3 mi
  • National Art Library: 1.3 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 1.3 mi
  • London Palladium: 1.4 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (33)

Ratings and reviews for The Gresham

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 33
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.3

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PhillyFlyer
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 23, 2014

Good Value - Short Stay - Very Easy Trip to Heathrow

Small, (double bed + single bed) ensuite; comfortable, English breakfast available. Good value. Clean. Less than 5 minutes from Paddington Station for Heathrow Express (15 min. to Heathrow). Plenty of good restaurants on next block. Recommend for short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Susan from Austin
Business
Austin, Texas
Sep 16, 2014

One step up from a hostel

I booked this hotel b/c it was our last night after traveling throughout England and Scotland. It was cheap and super close to Paddington station where we'd be catching the Heathrow Express. I didn't expect it to be as nice as to the hotel by Kensington Gardens where we'd spent the week before but I didn't expect it to be this bad. People talk about just needing a "place to sleep" but London is an exhausting city & vacations should be fun & relaxing. This hotel was neither. There was no ventilation in the room (A/C, fan, nothing) so we had to open the floor-to-ceiling window to get some air. Unfortunately this meant we had to smell the cigarette smoke from all the smokers who stood on the hotel front steps all night long. The shower had one temperature setting: scalding. Both the shower and sink drains were very slow draining so you had to keep the water pressure low. While washing my face a piece of lettuce floated up from the sink drain which was definitely off-putting. The mattress sunk down on each side so I woke up in a lumpy pit. There was a fridge and the room didn't look visibly dirty but I wished I had remembered how to look for bed bugs. Again, I suppose if you're looking for bargain accommodations this might pass but I do need to be able to sleep comfortably and properly wash myself. Never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Very proud OSU grad's mom
Business
Cleveland, Oh
Apr 21, 2014

Excellent value and location

An easy walk from Paddington , this hotel was plain but had everything we needed, including free wi-fi. They stored our luggage when we arrived early, and the staff was uniformly helpful. We will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nearby Bizzarro Italian Restaurant on Praed is excellent, affordable, and relaxing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Robbert
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Oct 23, 2013

Row House hotel

There are several hotels all lined up near the Paddidngton station. These hotels are nothing special and offer you a place to sleep conveniently located to the station. There really is no value to be had in London, so why expect it here? You are paying good money for a shoebox of a room that you can barely move in. If you want a more comfortable place, be prepared to spend about double what this place costs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you want value in Europe, go East. Otherwise, bring money and lots of it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lady Critic
Business
uk
Aug 31, 2012

I would never go back

I don't know how this got 3 stars. I stayed there for one night, as I was going out in Central London. There was mould/damp in the bathroom; The paint on the window was chipping away; The room was extremely small and hot; The room looks like it had recently been painted, but it hadn't been done well. The worst thing was the toilet wouldn't flush and they sent someone up to fix it. They took the lid off the cistern to flush the toilet, it was embarassing. The staff were pleasant, but I didn't see them much. You have to leave your key with reception when you go out for your own safety, which isn't a bad idea. If this was the last place that had a room and you're desperate I would go here, but I don't believe it deserves 3 stars. The furniture was out dated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mach1
Business
reno,nv
Jun 17, 2012

Launch point

The hotel is close to Paddington station so it was convenient for our day trips in the city. There were places to eat nearby. The room was a little small but since we used it for a launch point it didn,t matter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Djay3jay
Business
Austin, Texas
Jun 1, 2012

Good location, adequate place

Good location close to Paddington Station. Room was clean and well lit. Good shower. Very tight lift and hallways. Desk clerks seemed suspicious, like they had to keep an eye on us! What was that about, we are an old geezer couple!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MikeRome
Business
Washington, DC, USA
May 28, 2012

Good value

This was a good value hotel. Didn't exceed any expectations, but was close to Paddington, clean, and convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wltam
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Nov 19, 2011

Geat location, reasonably priced, can't ask for more!

My wife and I were in London for 3.5 days and needed an affordable hotel to crash at night since we were mostly sight-seeing. Located just 5 min from Paddington St, with trains to practically all major attractions. Most convenient for travelling from Heathrow via the Express with no subsequent train transfer. Room is expectedly very small, but clean and decent. With wi-fi and new TV, recently renovated washroom. Friendly and helpful reception staff. We would certainly be back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

While on the Heathrow Express, consider getting a Day Pass that allows you to visit unlimited paid sights for a day. Pay a little more for two or three-day passes. Worth the money. But does not include the London Eye, a must-visit attraction.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
france
Oct 5, 2009

nice,clean and quite

the hotel was nice with good service, the rooms where smallish but where very clean and the shower was great, The only problem was the internet was down the whole time and i didn't seem to get a straight answer .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

very close to oxford st shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top