$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2014 Check-out: Aug 12, 2014

The Gresham

3 stars
116 Sussex Gardens, London, W2 1UH
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
37 reviews
Best hotel i tried out of 6 hotels i tried before in london

I most certainly want to go again Comfortable Clean Quiet Besides an important train... See full review

  • Essam damatty
  • Feb 1, 2014
Excellent value and location

An easy walk from Paddington , this hotel was plain but had everything we needed, including free... See full review

  • Very proud OSU grad's mom
  • Apr 21, 2014
Basic comfort, personal service close to Paddington Station

The Gresham is a smart choice for travelers seeking service and convenience without sacrificing quality. The hotel's prime central London location is just steps away from the Natural History Museum and other top sites. Rooms are basic yet comfortable and feature Wi-Fi (fees apply), mini-bar and coffee and tea making facilities, typical comforts that make the hotel appropriate and relevant for anyone seeking 3-star quality.

Highlights
  • Prime location minutes from Paddington Station
  • Triple and quad rooms available
  • Handsome neo-Georgian style building
Rooms

The Gresham's rooms are comfortable yet simple and feature cable and satellite TV, direct-dial telephone, mini-bar, coffee and tea making facilities, hair dryer and in-room safe. The décor is homey, providing a comfortable, relaxing retreat at the end of a busy day. Families and groups will appreciate the triple and quad room layouts, affordable options that make the Gresham accessible for nearly any budget.

Features

The focus at the Gresham is on location, with its prime central location a convenient launching point for exploring London's top sites and attractions.

The 3-star hotel is a capable stalwart whose staff prides itself on first-rate service. Families and small groups will appreciate the triple and quad room options, and business and leisure guests can catch up with all of the news from home with reliable Internet access (fees apply).

An intimate lobby bar serves a range of beers and cocktails, the perfect way to start or end an evening.

Transportation
  • Marylebone tube station (1.6 mi./2.5 km)
  • Edgware Road tube station (1.7 mi./2.8 km)
  • Paddington tube station (1.9 mi./3 km)
  • Heathrow Airport (14.3 mi./23 km)
Attractions
  • West End theaters (0.5 mi./0.8 km)
  • Hyde Park (1.7 mi./2.7 km)
  • Royal Albert Hall (2.4 mi./3.9 km)
  • Science Museum (2.5 mi./3.9 km)
  • Natural History Museum (2.6 mi./4.2 km)
Business
  • Internet access (fees apply)
  • In-room safe
  • Secretarial services
Policies and Fees

The hotel charges a 5 percent surcharge for payment via debit or credit card. Additionally, advance purchase rooms are non-refundable and non-transferable.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Gresham Rooms

Standard Triple Room
Room offers 1 double bed and 1 single bed with satellite TV, direct dial phone, safe, coffee/tea maker and bathroom with hairdryer. Maximum occupancy for 3 guests. No additional bedding options available.
Standard Quad Room
Room offers 1 double bed and 2 single beds with satellite TV, direct dial phone, safe, coffee/tea maker and bathroom with hairdryer. Maximum occupancy for 4 guests. No additional bedding options available.
Standard Single Room
Room offers 1 single bed with satellite TV, direct dial phone, safe, coffee/tea maker and bathroom with hairdryer. Maximum occupancy for 1 guest.
Standard Double/Twin Room
Room offers 1 double bed or 2 single beds with satellite TV, direct dial phone, safe, coffee/tea maker and bathroom with hairdryer. Maximum occupancy for 2 guests. No additional bedding options available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Gresham also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

51.5159 -0.1718
Area served
London
Nearby airports
(LHR)London Heathrow Airport
Area description
Hotel is conveniently located near Bayswater ,Marble arch, Madame Tussad's Waxworks is just 1 mile away. Kensington Palace, Albert memorial are just 1.5 Km away from the Hotel.

Nearby points of interest

  • Paddington Station: 0.3 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0.4 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.5 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.6 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Queensway: 0.7 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 0.7 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.7 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.8 mi
  • London Business School: 0.9 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.9 mi
  • Paddington Station: 0.3 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0.4 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.5 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.6 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Queensway: 0.7 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 0.7 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.7 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.8 mi
  • London Business School: 0.9 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.9 mi
  • Park Lane: 0.9 mi
  • Lords Cricket Ground: 0.9 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 1 mi
  • Bond Street London: 1 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 1 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 1 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 1 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 1 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 1.1 mi
  • Harrods: 1.2 mi
  • Oxford Street: 1.2 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1.2 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 1.2 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.2 mi
  • Maida Vale: 1.2 mi
  • Imperial College London: 1.2 mi
  • University of Westminster: 1.3 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1.3 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 1.3 mi
  • Science Museum London: 1.3 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 1.3 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.3 mi
  • Regent's College: 1.3 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 1.3 mi
  • National Art Library: 1.3 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 1.3 mi
  • London Palladium: 1.4 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for The Gresham

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3.3

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
USNorwayUKtraveler
Boston, MA
Jul 29, 2009

I recommend the Gresham

Fantastic location - Paddington station right around the corner (easiest access to Heathrow via Heathrow Express, and on Tube Circle line) and several minutes walk to Hyde Park. Rooms are typically small but neat and decent bed with no creatures. Bathroom adequate. Very friendly and helpful staff. FREE WiFi access throughout the hotel. Full English breakfast for only £5. ONLY complaint (and NOT hotel's fault): I'm not a city dweller and the street noise made it difficult to get a full night's sleep. But I imagine this is the same at most hotels in London. NOTE: Checkin time was incorrectly shown by Orbitz as 12PM; it's actually 2PM but the friendly staff let me check in as soon as the room was clean, shortly after noon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a one-day ticket for the Tube, or an Oyster ticket. HUGE savings over single tickets.

Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Redlands, Ca
Jun 25, 2009

Good location and price

Good location. we walked to it, with luggage, in 5 min after catching the train from Heathrow to Paddington station. We used the subway system, "The Tube", for transportation around the city which has a station near by. Room was tiny, as was the bath and shower, but all we wanted was a bed (which was all that would fit) so that was okay. Good, friendly, helpful, 24 hr desk service. 5 Pounds for an "English style breakfast" in their dining area. There is a small bar for guests. very basic accommodation but convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Redlands, Ca
Jun 25, 2009

Good location and price

Good location. we walked to it, with luggage, in 5 min after catching the train from Heathrow to Paddington station. We used the subway system, "The Tube", for transportation around the city which has a station near by. Room was tiny, as was the bath and shower, but all we wanted was a bed (which was all that would fit) so that was okay. Good, friendly, helpful, 24 hr desk service. 5 Pounds for an "English style breakfast" in their dining area. There is a small bar for guests. very basic accommodation but convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kemo machine
Lagos, Nigeria
Jun 7, 2009

"Fanstatic location for the price"

My stay at the hotel was nice and the location was central to the important places in london. The cost of services also pocket friendly, keep it up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel location is very prime in London and close to the station and that helps to make shopping easier.

Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kemo machine
Lagos, Nigeria
Jun 7, 2009

"Fanstatic location for the price"

My stay at the hotel was nice and the location was central to the important places in london. The cost of services also pocket friendly, keep it up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel location is very prime in London and close to the station and that helps to make shopping easier.

Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas
Oct 4, 2008

Mediocre

Reasonably priced no frill centrally located hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Centrally located near Paddington.

Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas
Oct 4, 2008

Mediocre

Reasonably priced no frill centrally located hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Centrally located near Paddington.

Back to menu Return to top