$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 25, 2015 Check-out: Jan 26, 2015

The Gresham

3 stars
116 Sussex Gardens, London, W2 1UH
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
33 reviews
Best hotel i tried out of 6 hotels i tried before in london

I most certainly want to go again Comfortable Clean Quiet Besides an important train... See full review

  • Essam damatty
  • Feb 1, 2014
Excellent value and location

An easy walk from Paddington , this hotel was plain but had everything we needed, including free... See full review

  • Very proud OSU grad's mom
  • Apr 21, 2014
Basic comfort, personal service close to Paddington Station

The Gresham is a smart choice for travelers seeking service and convenience without sacrificing quality. The hotel's prime central London location is just steps away from the Natural History Museum and other top sites. Rooms are basic yet comfortable and feature Wi-Fi (fees apply), mini-bar and coffee and tea making facilities, typical comforts that make the hotel appropriate and relevant for anyone seeking 3-star quality.

Highlights
  • Prime location minutes from Paddington Station
  • Triple and quad rooms available
  • Handsome neo-Georgian style building
Rooms

The Gresham's rooms are comfortable yet simple and feature cable and satellite TV, direct-dial telephone, mini-bar, coffee and tea making facilities, hair dryer and in-room safe. The décor is homey, providing a comfortable, relaxing retreat at the end of a busy day. Families and groups will appreciate the triple and quad room layouts, affordable options that make the Gresham accessible for nearly any budget.

Features

The focus at the Gresham is on location, with its prime central location a convenient launching point for exploring London's top sites and attractions.

The 3-star hotel is a capable stalwart whose staff prides itself on first-rate service. Families and small groups will appreciate the triple and quad room options, and business and leisure guests can catch up with all of the news from home with reliable Internet access (fees apply).

An intimate lobby bar serves a range of beers and cocktails, the perfect way to start or end an evening.

Transportation
  • Marylebone tube station (1.6 mi./2.5 km)
  • Edgware Road tube station (1.7 mi./2.8 km)
  • Paddington tube station (1.9 mi./3 km)
  • Heathrow Airport (14.3 mi./23 km)
Attractions
  • West End theaters (0.5 mi./0.8 km)
  • Hyde Park (1.7 mi./2.7 km)
  • Royal Albert Hall (2.4 mi./3.9 km)
  • Science Museum (2.5 mi./3.9 km)
  • Natural History Museum (2.6 mi./4.2 km)
Business
  • Internet access (fees apply)
  • In-room safe
  • Secretarial services
Policies and Fees

The hotel charges a 5 percent surcharge for payment via debit or credit card. Additionally, advance purchase rooms are non-refundable and non-transferable.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Gresham also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

The Gresham Rooms

Standard Single Room
Room offers 1 single bed with satellite TV, direct dial phone, safe, coffee/tea maker and bathroom with hairdryer. Maximum occupancy for 1 guest.
Standard Double/Twin Room
Room offers 1 double bed or 2 single beds with satellite TV, direct dial phone, safe, coffee/tea maker and bathroom with hairdryer. Maximum occupancy for 2 guests. No additional bedding options available.
Standard Triple Room
Room offers 1 double bed and 1 single bed with satellite TV, direct dial phone, safe, coffee/tea maker and bathroom with hairdryer. Maximum occupancy for 3 guests. No additional bedding options available.
Standard Quad Room
Room offers 1 double bed and 2 single beds with satellite TV, direct dial phone, safe, coffee/tea maker and bathroom with hairdryer. Maximum occupancy for 4 guests. No additional bedding options available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Paddington Station: 0.3 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0.4 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.5 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.6 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Queensway: 0.7 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 0.7 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.7 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.8 mi
  • London Business School: 0.9 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.9 mi
  • Paddington Station: 0.3 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0.4 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.5 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.6 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Queensway: 0.7 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 0.7 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.7 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.8 mi
  • London Business School: 0.9 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.9 mi
  • Park Lane: 0.9 mi
  • Lords Cricket Ground: 0.9 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 1 mi
  • Bond Street London: 1 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 1 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 1 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 1 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 1 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 1.1 mi
  • Harrods: 1.2 mi
  • Oxford Street: 1.2 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1.2 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 1.2 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.2 mi
  • Maida Vale: 1.2 mi
  • Imperial College London: 1.2 mi
  • University of Westminster: 1.3 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1.3 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 1.3 mi
  • Science Museum London: 1.3 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 1.3 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.3 mi
  • Regent's College: 1.3 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 1.3 mi
  • National Art Library: 1.3 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 1.3 mi
  • London Palladium: 1.4 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (33)

Ratings and reviews for The Gresham

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 33
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
4
Value:
3.2

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wltam
Boston, MA, USA
Nov 19, 2011

Geat location, reasonably priced, can't ask for more!

My wife and I were in London for 3.5 days and needed an affordable hotel to crash at night since we were mostly sight-seeing. Located just 5 min from Paddington St, with trains to practically all major attractions. Most convenient for travelling from Heathrow via the Express with no subsequent train transfer. Room is expectedly very small, but clean and decent. With wi-fi and new TV, recently renovated washroom. Friendly and helpful reception staff. We would certainly be back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

While on the Heathrow Express, consider getting a Day Pass that allows you to visit unlimited paid sights for a day. Pay a little more for two or three-day passes. Worth the money. But does not include the London Eye, a must-visit attraction.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NNNN
Business
Japan
Sep 11, 2012

Worst hotel I've ever stay.

Please dont choose this hotel your stay in London. I cant recommend anyone this hotel. They dont know how to clean the room, and take care of the customer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Channel
Business
Helsinki, Finland
Sep 3, 2012

Easy access to the public transportation

Paddington station is just around the corner From there you have easy connection to the tube lines. If you use the Heathrow express to the airport you really don't have to reserve long time for the trip - the trains keep the time table and the travelling time is only 15 min.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

It is worth even for the adults to visit the Hamleys - there you can see what interests the children today

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lady Critic
Business
uk
Aug 31, 2012

I would never go back

I don't know how this got 3 stars. I stayed there for one night, as I was going out in Central London. There was mould/damp in the bathroom; The paint on the window was chipping away; The room was extremely small and hot; The room looks like it had recently been painted, but it hadn't been done well. The worst thing was the toilet wouldn't flush and they sent someone up to fix it. They took the lid off the cistern to flush the toilet, it was embarassing. The staff were pleasant, but I didn't see them much. You have to leave your key with reception when you go out for your own safety, which isn't a bad idea. If this was the last place that had a room and you're desperate I would go here, but I don't believe it deserves 3 stars. The furniture was out dated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
China girl
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 15, 2012

Good for London

Room was pretty small for 3, but normal for London. Excellent location near Paddington station, small stores, Barclays ATM, and lots of places to eat. Free wifi which is excellent value. Hotel didn't offer tour or theatre tickets, but a hotel around the corner did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Deal that offer cheap shuttle service to airport. 16 UK$ per person. Most places try to charge 35+ so this was excellent value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mach1
Business
reno,nv
Jun 17, 2012

Launch point

The hotel is close to Paddington station so it was convenient for our day trips in the city. There were places to eat nearby. The room was a little small but since we used it for a launch point it didn,t matter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
famous shameus
Business
london
Jun 16, 2012

perfect for short stay!

clean room ,staff very helpful and friendly,small room but good value ,maybe they should include breakfast for same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tonygold
Business
uk
Jun 10, 2012

staff great

the staff was great,got a welcome on arival and departure.really a warm place away from home. i will i am will return. kind regards tony

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Djay3jay
Business
Austin, Texas
Jun 1, 2012

Good location, adequate place

Good location close to Paddington Station. Room was clean and well lit. Good shower. Very tight lift and hallways. Desk clerks seemed suspicious, like they had to keep an eye on us! What was that about, we are an old geezer couple!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MikeRome
Business
Washington, DC, USA
May 28, 2012

Good value

This was a good value hotel. Didn't exceed any expectations, but was close to Paddington, clean, and convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MSW.
Business
Canada
Mar 23, 2012

Fine for a stopover

Location is ideal, being close to London's attractions, tube station and Paddington. There are plenty of shops/restaurants nearby too. On the downside, the room had no towels, which I didn't notice until I needed one. Also the bathroom had a small trail of ants marching through it. Room is small but otherwise fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just around the corner (going left) is an award winning fish 'n chip shop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top