$135 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

The Grand at Trafalgar Square

4 stars
8 Northumberland Ave, London, WC2N 5BY
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
87 reviews
Fabulous place to stay

My wife and I spent 10 days at this hotel and it was a superb experience. The location is as... See full review

  • Neil and Christi
  • Jun 7, 2013
Absolutely Perfect Location

Between Charing Cross and Embankment tube stops on Northumberland will get you a great spot for... See full review

  • andyfrahm
  • Jun 2, 2013
Boutique hotel within a restored, historic landmark at Trafalgar Square

Steps away from Nelson's Column, the National Gallery and Big Ben and located with a historic landmark, the Grand at Trafalgar Square is a boutique hotel where opulence and functionality co-exist. Guest rooms combine turn-of-the-century decadence -- high ceilings, ornate windows -- with all of the amenities of the modern day, including ergonomic work stations, luxury bedding, free Wi-Fi, making the Grand at Trafalgar Square equally suitable for both business and leisure travelers.

Highlights
  • Complimentary delivery of exercise equipment to guest rooms
  • Custom designed furnishings in bedrooms
  • Complimentary use of a computer and printer with Internet access
Rooms

Rooms at the Grand at Trafalgar Square combine historical décor with modern amenities, convenient for business and leisure travelers alike. All rooms provide free Wi-Fi, comfortable bedding, flat-panel TVs, ergonomic work stations, two-line speaker phone with private direct dial number and voicemail, radio with MP3 player hook-up and complimentary chilled bottled water.

Features

In the heart of Trafalgar Square and set within a historic landmark, Northumberland House, the Grand at Trafalgar Square gracefully combines turn-of-the-century opulence with contemporary comforts. Rooms feature high ceilings and historic features, yet also include ergonomic work stations, luxury bedding, free Wi-Fi and MP3 player hook-up.

The on-site Boyd's Bar & Brasserie is a casual yet elegant restaurant serving fine food and wine at affordable prices. Furnished with stunning Italian marble and featuring a double-height ceiling, it is an exceptional dining option for both hotel guests and locals. Additionally, Boyd's bar is a traditional British pub, the ideal place to unwind at the end of a fast-paced day. Adjacent is Bianco 43, an authentic Italian pizzeria restaurant specializing in pizzas and traditional Italian cuisine. Guests receive an opening offer of 20% discount off the total bill when dining in the restaurant. 

The hotel offers free use of its fitness center and exercise equipment is even delivered to guest rooms. Other features include free Internet access, 24/7 concierge, instant registration/check-out, complimentary use of computer and printer, free chilled bottled water, same-day dry cleaning and 24-hour room service.

Transportation
  • Embankment tube station (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Heathrow Airport (14.3 mi/23 km)
  • Gatwick Airport (24.3 mi/39.1 km)
Attractions
  • Nelson’s Column (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • National Gallery (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Big Ben (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • St. James Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Houses of Parliament (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Buckingham Palace (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • British Museum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
Business
  • State-of-the-art meeting rooms accommodate up to 70
  • Newly restored ballroom accommodates up to 800
  • Complimentary on-site fitness room

The Grand at Trafalgar Square Rooms

Single/Small Double
Smaller room with 1 queen bed-desk- free WiFi-bottled water-coffee and tea.
Standard Room
Room with 1 queen bed-work area-free WiFi-bottled water-coffee and tea
Superior Room With Kitchenette
Spacious room with 1 queen bed- free WiFi and bottled water
One Room Suite With Kitchenette
Large room-queen bed- sofa bed-free WiFi-bottled water

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Executive level
Female executive rooms
24 hour security
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Grand at Trafalgar Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

51.5071 -0.1261
Nearby airports
Gatwick Airport, (LGW), 47.00, KM, W; Heathrow Airport, (LHR), 27.00, KM, E; City Airport, (LCY), 8.50, KM, E;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.1 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.1 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.1 mi
  • Port of London: 0.1 mi
  • London School of Economics: 0.1 mi
  • Nelson's Column: 0.1 mi
  • Canada House Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 0.1 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.1 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.1 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.3 mi
  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.1 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.1 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.1 mi
  • Port of London: 0.1 mi
  • London School of Economics: 0.1 mi
  • Nelson's Column: 0.1 mi
  • Canada House Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 0.1 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.1 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.1 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Courtauld Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cabinet War Rooms and Churchill Museum: 0.4 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • London Eye: 0.4 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Festival Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret: 0.4 mi
  • St James's Park: 0.4 mi
  • Transport Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • the Strand: 0.4 mi
  • West End: 0.4 mi
  • Big Ben: 0.4 mi
  • St. James's Park: 0.5 mi
  • River Thames: 0.5 mi
  • Hayward Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • London Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • Somerset House: 0.5 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace of Westminster: 0.5 mi
  • National Army Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.5 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.5 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Houses of Parliament: 0.5 mi
  • South Bank: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Waterloo station: 0.6 mi

Dining

Multi-Menu Delivery
Multi-Menu delivery to Club Quarters guests and menus are available in the guest rooms.
Boyds Bar and Brasserie
Guests can access the onsite dining at Boyds Bar and Brasserie which is a casually elegant English brasserie offering fine food and wine at a surprisingly affordable price.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (87)

Ratings and reviews for The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 87
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sad Southern Traveler
Nashville, TN
May 20, 2010

Just Plain Terrible.

Our stay in London started out in a bad way. Our flight was delayed from Chicago due to the Volcano Ash Cloud. [...] once we arrived, they were less than thrilld to see us and their staff was very unfriendly the entire time. The room was very small and our "view" was to a back alleyway. The bed did not even have a comfoter or blanket on it...only a sheet. When we called down to the front desk to ask for addtional blankets, they said we had to go down the hall to a closet and get it ourselves. Pretty pathetic, when you think about it. the location was great but not worth what we paid and the service we received. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sad Southern Traveler
Nashville, TN
May 20, 2010

Just Plain Terrible.

Our stay in London started out in a bad way. Our flight was delayed from Chicago due to the Volcano Ash Cloud. [...] once we arrived, they were less than thrilld to see us and their staff was very unfriendly the entire time. The room was very small and our "view" was to a back alleyway. The bed did not even have a comfoter or blanket on it...only a sheet. When we called down to the front desk to ask for addtional blankets, they said we had to go down the hall to a closet and get it ourselves. Pretty pathetic, when you think about it. the location was great but not worth what we paid and the service we received. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Am3y
Texas
Dec 30, 2009

Nice hotel and great location

The hotel was nice, but the hotel staff did not have a concierge. They were clueless on travel questions or locations of items nearby. Also, the guest area, situated between the two wings of rooms, had random people in it that were not guests , misusing the computer and television. Probably not the safest environment if the wing doors are not kept locked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Trafalgar square is a great location, almost center of everything to do in London. Just take a short walk to Charing Cross station and take the tubes to all of the great sites.

Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Am3y
Texas
Dec 30, 2009

Nice hotel and great location

The hotel was nice, but the hotel staff did not have a concierge. They were clueless on travel questions or locations of items nearby. Also, the guest area, situated between the two wings of rooms, had random people in it that were not guests , misusing the computer and television. Probably not the safest environment if the wing doors are not kept locked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Trafalgar square is a great location, almost center of everything to do in London. Just take a short walk to Charing Cross station and take the tubes to all of the great sites.

Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Clets
México
May 27, 2013

Best location

The best location in London near everything ! Near the tube station and the river embarkment as well as the train station

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sjpturfpro
Corona, California
Sep 24, 2013

Awesome Location

Convenient to all London Sites & Transportation. Our first time to London, and with Hop on Hop off bus, and a little education on the Underground, enjoyed most all of the city popular sites in 4 days. Had a great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Jun 14, 2010

Get location for the price

chose this hotel because of the great reviews. They weren't wrong. It was in a great location with a fair price. Very quiet and clean. The only negative was the key card device in the elevators. Had to fiddle with it to get it to work. Many guests just gave up and asked the desk clerks to do it for them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. Taco
Buffalo
Jun 2, 2013

Amazing location, everything else just OK

Excellent location for tourists, which was the primary reason we booked this hotel. We were able to walk almost everywhere while on vacation. Free bottles of purified water were a huge plus. Our room had a few small dead spiders that were left on the ceiling when we arrived. Housekeepers vacuumed outside of our room around 8:30 each morning and were often yelling to one another around this time which woke us up several mornings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Jun 14, 2010

Get location for the price

chose this hotel because of the great reviews. They weren't wrong. It was in a great location with a fair price. Very quiet and clean. The only negative was the key card device in the elevators. Had to fiddle with it to get it to work. Many guests just gave up and asked the desk clerks to do it for them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DRBelen
Belen, NM
Jun 18, 2012

The Grand was Grand

The stay was great. Hotel provided the rest and convenience we needed after a busy week in the country. And, we will stay at this location again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

St. Martins on the Green

Back to menu Return to top