$162 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

The Grand at Trafalgar Square

4 stars
View map of 8 Northumberland Ave, London, WC2N 5BY

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JLW
Couples
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Oct 12, 2009

Location, Location, Location

Great hotel and you can't bet the location....Right in Trafalgar Square. Only thing lacking was more days to spend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Definately purchase an Oyster card if you are in London for a week. The Underground is the best way to get around the City

Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Alexandria, VA
Oct 13, 2009

Lovely Stay in London

This was a lovely hotel experience. We felt very safe in the area and in the building. The room was was very clean, spacious and private. It was comfortable and provided a desk area and additional seating. The staff was very courteous and helpful with any of our questions and requests. There was internet access and a lounge/TV area. And we couldn't have asked for a better location. It is at Trafalgar Square near 2 underground stations, a train station and lots of restaurants and coffee shops, near a river boat dock, and just across the Thames (over a walking bridge) from The London Eye.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frogfly
Family
TX
Jan 21, 2011

Great price, location, and staff

Wonderful hotel. Room was very comfortable and large. Shower larger than a single shower. Staff was very accomodating and helpful. Free washer and dryer available. Very quiet. Right across the street from Sherlock's pub - GREAT local joint.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sherlocks pub is across the street. Great fish and chips, wonderful local atmosphere.

Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
massachsetts
Dec 29, 2009

The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Enjoyed the central location, many of the key sights were even within walking distance. Christmastime was not the best time to visit London as many places were closed on the 25th and 26th, but we found enough to do to make it pleasant anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Jun 14, 2010

Get location for the price

chose this hotel because of the great reviews. They weren't wrong. It was in a great location with a fair price. Very quiet and clean. The only negative was the key card device in the elevators. Had to fiddle with it to get it to work. Many guests just gave up and asked the desk clerks to do it for them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
New York
Aug 16, 2010

Location and more at this great hotel

The location of this hotel can't be beat. We enjoyed our stay so much, we returned to London and booked rooms at this hotel again. The staff is helpful and they have a closet open on the floor with extras you might need. They could use more front desk help during busy times--but no other issues here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teacher on Holiday
Single
Denver, Colorado, USA
Jul 14, 2009

Good care for a good trip.

The room was clean, the staff was very helpful, and the location superb. The shower stall was a bit small for a full grown adult, but there was always plenty of hot water, and the air conditioning worked great on those days when the heat became an issue. The room came with a small refrigerator and microwave which helped cut the costs a bit since London can get expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

From the hotel you're within a short walk of the theatre district, the south bank, the London Eye, St. Jame's Park, Whitehall Palace, Covent Garden, Charing Cross,Picadilly Circus, the National Gallery, and of course Trafalgar Square. You're also two minutes from the Underground and the Embankment Railway Station.

Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Quester
Business
Philadelphia
Apr 20, 2011

Location, L:ocation, Location

The Grand is very convenient, clean, a sort of rabbit warren of rooms and narrow hallways, but the rooms themselves have very good beds, showers, and wi-fi. The location could not be better and there are many good sites within a short walk. I'm very happy to have stayed there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very easy access to Museums in area

Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
We love Boris Johnson
Family
Long Island, NY
Sep 1, 2010

Great location in London

We enjoyed our stay and found everything to be well-done and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Cafe in the Crypt at St. Martin in the Fields Church was very unique and a good value.

Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hollister, Ca
Aug 30, 2010

Excellent

Excellent location. It was right in the middle of everything. Service was great, but I dont know much more because I was out sight seeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Right outside is the center of london. Big Ben, the palace, and everything else is walking distance.

Back to menu Return to top