$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

The Grand at Trafalgar Square

4 stars
View map of 8 Northumberland Ave, London, WC2N 5BY

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lola NYC
Business
New York, NY
Dec 8, 2009

Amazing location!

Great hotel with friendly staff and amazing location. The maid service was inconsistent. While the rooms were left clean, not all towels taken were returned - I didn't have a washcloth for 3 days and soaps and shampoos were not replenished. One day the complimentary coffee and tea was not replenished either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The National Gallery is located around the corner and admission is free. You can walk anywhere within 20-30 minutes of this hotel - no need to spend money on a taxi or public transport because there's so much to see and do along the way.

Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
washington DC
Jul 2, 2011

great business hotel for theater lovers

my third stay at the hotel (which is part club-The Club Quarters). Fully renovated, rooms relatively small but great beds and linens, free internet, purified water. Limited food in the hotel, but quite good quality. I plan to go back again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great for theater lovers, a short walk to almost all the west-end theaters.

Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Judy, Ms Perfect
Business
Ft Worth, Texas
May 5, 2011

I will be back!

We stayed here two years ago. The experience was great. So we chose The Grand again. The staff was helpful( we had an early check-in to make a desired excursion), the room was lovely, comfortable and small touches like available bottled water and tea were welcome. The location to landmarks within walking distance and transportation to anything you want is a plus. only difficulty was room was too warm, the staff offer new accomadations immediately. will be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wendif
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 10, 2009

Great stay at a nice hotel

I travel to London a lot and usually stay in Bloomsbury but got the Grand at a great rate. I lvoed the location because I like to walk everywhere. It was easy check-in - there's a computer right next to the desk which I used instead of waiting in the small queue. The hotel room was very decent sized for London standards. The room seemed new with nice furniture, a comfortable bed and a good bathroom with a nice shower (no tub in my room). Also, in the room was a flat panel TV with about 20+ channels, a hairdryer and an umbrella. My room was quiet and I never heard my neighbors. I would stay here again if I got another good rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Art Buffs
Business
Cambridge, MA
May 26, 2010

Location Location Location

Right off Trafalgar Square, so very close to the National Gallery, an easy walk to the theatre district, and a pleasant stroll along the river to the Inns of Court (an amazingly quiet oasis in the heart of the City -- don't miss the Templer's Church if such sites interest you). The hotel itself would be about two-star by US standards. Our room had no easy chair, and barely enough room to open two suitcases at once. On the other hand, the bed was very comfortable. The price is right. They were very helpful about letting us stay an hour beyond the normal check-out time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GRKGRL
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Great Stay, Incredible Location

We had a good stay at the Trafalgar Grand. The lobby was really pretty and the staff was lovely. I loved the fact that they would deliver exercise equipment to your room upon request (I didn't do it because we walked soo much there wasn't a need to workout). We did tea at the brand new restaurant which opened while we were there...delish! They had little guest request closets on each floor which had all the little amenities guests typically ask for...pillows, iron boards, mouth wash, coffee, etc. It was great because you can just go in there and take whatever you need without making a call the the concierge and waiting forever. Big plus. Now the best thing about this hotel was the location! You are right near two underground stations, two great pubs across the street, Trafalgar Square right down the block (like a min walk to the corner and you're there). A few minute walk and your at Soho, Covent Gardens, Picadilly Circus or the Palace, Parliment and Westminster Abby. You can see the London Eye from the hotel and its a short walk over the Bridge across the river to get there. All in all I highly recommend the hotel and would stay there again. (it was a little pricey, however, i would guess thats due to the location)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Covent Gardens has great shopping! Also Notting Hill...the Portobello Market and all the little boutique stores are fabulous.

Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Going again Grandma
Business
Eureka, CA
Jun 27, 2010

I'd Do It Again

This hotel is in a superb spot to take in the sites of London. Across Trafalgar Square sits the National Gallery and the Portrait Gallery. One block down the street is the Thames River with tour and commuter boats arriving and leaving every few minutes. We were able to walk to "Phantom of the Opera" and many good restaurants. Charing Cross station is around the corner and Waterloo Station is down the street and over the bridge if you want to take a train. The underground, Big Bus Tour and regular buses are all available within a block of the hotel so seeing the city was easy. Really, it couldn't have been better for what we were looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun loving, 40's, businessman, traveler
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Dec 15, 2009

Center of everything

Great place, excellent location, pretty friendly and fairly knowledgable staff (seems most people working in London are not from London).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

1 Block to Trafalar Square (the center of everything). Food, fun and touristy stuff.. its all within walking distance from this hotel.

Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Mackies
Business
Aberdeenshire
Sep 22, 2010

Fantastic Hotel for All!!

The hotel was a great central base to see Art Gallery/Museum and Theatres. The hotel was excellent, clean modern rooms with great facilities. All the staff were friendly and helpful and the food was superb, I cannot fault any part of my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jason G.
Business
Rochester Hills
Jun 29, 2015

Good location

Hotel was right in the middle of everything we wanted to do. Good value for the money, laundry on site, and fast internet connection. Only downside was that the room was a little on the small side, but it was bearable for a few days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top