$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

The Grand at Trafalgar Square

4 stars
View map of 8 Northumberland Ave, London, WC2N 5BY

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
cincinnati/ft. lauderdale
Jul 5, 2009

best value in london

the location just doesn't get any better. you're right at the square and in walking distance to buckingham palace, st. james park, picadilly, soho, west end and you're two blocks from the bridge that takes you to the ramblas with the fassis wheel and the breath taking views of big ben. i was very please with the value of this hotel as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

directly across the street you will see a pub called sherlock holmes. just beyond that is a walking street of nice restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MKC
Business
Altadena, CA
Jun 5, 2009

Outstanding facility

We were looking forward to being "in the middle of things" and weren't disappointed. The hotel's location just off Trafalgar Square cannot be beat. Excellent restaurants, The National Gallery, the Portrait Gallery and two underground (subway) terminals are within steps of the hotel. The rooms are thoroughly modern with wi-fi and flat screen TV's. Beds are comfortable. Everything is new and kept spotlessly clean. It is one of the few hotels in the UK or Europe that will provide a washcloth. The front desk staff was very helpful in giving directions and in recommending restaurants and maing reservations. The only drawback is the limited and pricey hotel restaurant. Breakfast is of excellent quality but has the same buffet menu daily. The cost is 15 pounds per person (currently about $24 U.S. Dollars). An alternative is the two coffee houses near the Embankment station. A new restaurant, however, is under construction just off the hotel lobby. Having found The Grand at Trafalgar Square, we won't be looking for any other alternative on our next London visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The easiest way to get to the hotel is from the Embankment Underground station. Bear to the left as you exit the station and walk under the bridge. Turn right on Northumberland and the hotel is just over a block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MP-R
Business
New Mexico
Aug 6, 2011

Incredible value...great location

My husband and I spent 6 nights here before moving on to the "midlands". The location could not have been better. From here, we walked to the theater district, the National Gallery, Covent Gardens, St. James Park, the London Eye etc. When we wanted tube access, we had the choice of 2 nearby tube stations. Our room was clean and well appointed. The hotel makes available, at no charge, a laundry room, fitness room, and several computers for internet access. (There is free wifi throughout the hotel.) We will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hope to go back
Business
Indiana
Feb 5, 2010

great location great hotel

I had to work some of the time when over there but my wife and sister in-law got to travel the City. The hotel was in a great location for the subway. location was one block south of Trafalger Square. Was in a very safe area. Dinning and pubs close if you didnt want venture out very far. With in walking distance of major shopping. London transit system if the best! I think it would be hard to beat the location and Hospitaly of this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
apime
Business
honduras
Nov 15, 2014

fantastic place location is perfect

best time in London ever, the location is perfect and the staff speaks many languages

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

metro

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scottish Sandra
Business
Aberdeen
Sep 8, 2010

top spot!

The central location of this hotel, literally beside Trafalgar Square, was perfect for grabbing a rest midway through the day. Staff on hand 24/7 and helpful. Self-service laundry facility such a good idea. There was a relaxing and friendly ambience and it would have been easy to spend a few hours just relaxing in the hotel. HOwever, the excellent location meant this was never going to be an option! Surrounded by tube stops and stations, near the river, the London Eye, Trafalgar Square, the National GAllery and not forgetting St. Martin in the Fields with its great cafe in the crypt, try it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Trafalgar Square - 2 mins Thames - 5 mins London Eye - 10 mins Southbank 10 mins

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Mackies
Business
Aberdeenshire
Sep 22, 2010

Fantastic Hotel for All!!

The hotel was a great central base to see Art Gallery/Museum and Theatres. The hotel was excellent, clean modern rooms with great facilities. All the staff were friendly and helpful and the food was superb, I cannot fault any part of my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DRBelen
Business
Belen, NM
Jun 18, 2012

The Grand was Grand

The stay was great. Hotel provided the rest and convenience we needed after a busy week in the country. And, we will stay at this location again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

St. Martins on the Green

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler 1110
Business
New York
Jun 18, 2012

great but touristic area

Excellent value. Impressive hotel with free internet, coffee and mineral water. The area is very central, right at trafalgar Square but because of that very touristic. Very hard to get a taxi on the street which was really the only downside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World Tripper
Business
LA
Aug 5, 2012

Olympic stay

Great location, outstanding front desk staff! Price was high, but they all were. Loved the purified water that was available with plastic bottles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top