$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 17, 2015 Check-out: May 18, 2015

The Grand at Trafalgar Square

4 stars
View map of 8 Northumberland Ave, London, WC2N 5BY

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gallery Traveller
Business
Massillon, OH
Jun 10, 2010

A Wonderful Stay & Unbeatable location!

The hotel is a gem! The rooms were spotless. The hotel is near the tube, train station, and numerous bus stops. If we had any problem with directions, the staff was very helpful. We will defiantly stay at this hotel the next time we are in London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We had a studio room with kitchenette (microwave and mini-fridge) a must in London to save a few British pounds. There is a small convenience store on the corner from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Art Buffs
Business
Cambridge, MA
May 26, 2010

Location Location Location

Right off Trafalgar Square, so very close to the National Gallery, an easy walk to the theatre district, and a pleasant stroll along the river to the Inns of Court (an amazingly quiet oasis in the heart of the City -- don't miss the Templer's Church if such sites interest you). The hotel itself would be about two-star by US standards. Our room had no easy chair, and barely enough room to open two suitcases at once. On the other hand, the bed was very comfortable. The price is right. They were very helpful about letting us stay an hour beyond the normal check-out time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sad Southern Traveler
Business
Nashville, TN
May 20, 2010

Just Plain Terrible.

Our stay in London started out in a bad way. Our flight was delayed from Chicago due to the Volcano Ash Cloud. [...] once we arrived, they were less than thrilld to see us and their staff was very unfriendly the entire time. The room was very small and our "view" was to a back alleyway. The bed did not even have a comfoter or blanket on it...only a sheet. When we called down to the front desk to ask for addtional blankets, they said we had to go down the hall to a closet and get it ourselves. Pretty pathetic, when you think about it. the location was great but not worth what we paid and the service we received. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Mar 17, 2010

Excellent Hotel, Excellent Location

This was our third or fourth stay here. Location is great for theater, museums and restaurants.Most are within walking distance. As usual, there was the issue of getting a room upon early arrival in a sleepy jetlagged state. Requested same by email but it took a little persuasion to get the room early but the room we got was probably an upgrade without additional charge. The staff was very helpful and prompt. The only thing that would have been nice would have been a restaurant to get breakfast that was not a huge meal for a huge price. Obiqua was closed for alterations. The year before we were able to get a self-serve roll and coffee for 5 pounds at this restaurant. I didn't want to pay about $20 for a big breakfast that I didn't need. Also, the hotel should change the blankets that they use. They are much too heavy and cumbersome and the room heating only goes to about 68 degrees. They gave us a heater to make the room warmer. In sum, I definitely would stay there again. For what they offer, you can't beat the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hope to go back
Business
Indiana
Feb 5, 2010

great location great hotel

I had to work some of the time when over there but my wife and sister in-law got to travel the City. The hotel was in a great location for the subway. location was one block south of Trafalger Square. Was in a very safe area. Dinning and pubs close if you didnt want venture out very far. With in walking distance of major shopping. London transit system if the best! I think it would be hard to beat the location and Hospitaly of this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Jan 6, 2010

The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Right in the middle of the main tourist areas of London and very close to the Underground .... great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

HMS Belfast is a WW II Navy ship that has been converted to a museum. It sits on the Thames near the Lambert Bridge, easy to get to and a very interesting real-life museum conversion.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Am3y
Business
Texas
Dec 30, 2009

Nice hotel and great location

The hotel was nice, but the hotel staff did not have a concierge. They were clueless on travel questions or locations of items nearby. Also, the guest area, situated between the two wings of rooms, had random people in it that were not guests , misusing the computer and television. Probably not the safest environment if the wing doors are not kept locked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Trafalgar square is a great location, almost center of everything to do in London. Just take a short walk to Charing Cross station and take the tubes to all of the great sites.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
massachsetts
Dec 29, 2009

The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Enjoyed the central location, many of the key sights were even within walking distance. Christmastime was not the best time to visit London as many places were closed on the 25th and 26th, but we found enough to do to make it pleasant anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun loving, 40's, businessman, traveler
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Dec 15, 2009

Center of everything

Great place, excellent location, pretty friendly and fairly knowledgable staff (seems most people working in London are not from London).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

1 Block to Trafalar Square (the center of everything). Food, fun and touristy stuff.. its all within walking distance from this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lola NYC
Business
New York, NY
Dec 8, 2009

Amazing location!

Great hotel with friendly staff and amazing location. The maid service was inconsistent. While the rooms were left clean, not all towels taken were returned - I didn't have a washcloth for 3 days and soaps and shampoos were not replenished. One day the complimentary coffee and tea was not replenished either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The National Gallery is located around the corner and admission is free. You can walk anywhere within 20-30 minutes of this hotel - no need to spend money on a taxi or public transport because there's so much to see and do along the way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top