$135 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

The Grand at Trafalgar Square

4 stars
8 Northumberland Ave, London, WC2N 5BY
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
87 reviews
Fabulous place to stay

My wife and I spent 10 days at this hotel and it was a superb experience. The location is as... See full review

  • Neil and Christi
  • Jun 7, 2013
Absolutely Perfect Location

Between Charing Cross and Embankment tube stops on Northumberland will get you a great spot for... See full review

  • andyfrahm
  • Jun 2, 2013
Boutique hotel within a restored, historic landmark at Trafalgar Square

Steps away from Nelson's Column, the National Gallery and Big Ben and located with a historic landmark, the Grand at Trafalgar Square is a boutique hotel where opulence and functionality co-exist. Guest rooms combine turn-of-the-century decadence -- high ceilings, ornate windows -- with all of the amenities of the modern day, including ergonomic work stations, luxury bedding, free Wi-Fi, making the Grand at Trafalgar Square equally suitable for both business and leisure travelers.

Highlights
  • Complimentary delivery of exercise equipment to guest rooms
  • Custom designed furnishings in bedrooms
  • Complimentary use of a computer and printer with Internet access
Rooms

Rooms at the Grand at Trafalgar Square combine historical décor with modern amenities, convenient for business and leisure travelers alike. All rooms provide free Wi-Fi, comfortable bedding, flat-panel TVs, ergonomic work stations, two-line speaker phone with private direct dial number and voicemail, radio with MP3 player hook-up and complimentary chilled bottled water.

Features

In the heart of Trafalgar Square and set within a historic landmark, Northumberland House, the Grand at Trafalgar Square gracefully combines turn-of-the-century opulence with contemporary comforts. Rooms feature high ceilings and historic features, yet also include ergonomic work stations, luxury bedding, free Wi-Fi and MP3 player hook-up.

The on-site Boyd's Bar & Brasserie is a casual yet elegant restaurant serving fine food and wine at affordable prices. Furnished with stunning Italian marble and featuring a double-height ceiling, it is an exceptional dining option for both hotel guests and locals. Additionally, Boyd's bar is a traditional British pub, the ideal place to unwind at the end of a fast-paced day. Adjacent is Bianco 43, an authentic Italian pizzeria restaurant specializing in pizzas and traditional Italian cuisine. Guests receive an opening offer of 20% discount off the total bill when dining in the restaurant. 

The hotel offers free use of its fitness center and exercise equipment is even delivered to guest rooms. Other features include free Internet access, 24/7 concierge, instant registration/check-out, complimentary use of computer and printer, free chilled bottled water, same-day dry cleaning and 24-hour room service.

Transportation
  • Embankment tube station (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Heathrow Airport (14.3 mi/23 km)
  • Gatwick Airport (24.3 mi/39.1 km)
Attractions
  • Nelson’s Column (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • National Gallery (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Big Ben (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • St. James Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Houses of Parliament (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Buckingham Palace (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • British Museum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
Business
  • State-of-the-art meeting rooms accommodate up to 70
  • Newly restored ballroom accommodates up to 800
  • Complimentary on-site fitness room

Hotel Map

51.5071 -0.1261
Nearby airports
Gatwick Airport, (LGW), 47.00, KM, W; Heathrow Airport, (LHR), 27.00, KM, E; City Airport, (LCY), 8.50, KM, E;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Grand at Trafalgar Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

The Grand at Trafalgar Square Rooms

Single/Small Double
Smaller room with 1 queen bed-desk- free WiFi-bottled water-coffee and tea.
Standard Room
Room with 1 queen bed-work area-free WiFi-bottled water-coffee and tea
Superior Room With Kitchenette
Spacious room with 1 queen bed- free WiFi and bottled water
One Room Suite With Kitchenette
Large room-queen bed- sofa bed-free WiFi-bottled water

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Executive level
Female executive rooms
24 hour security
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.1 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.1 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.1 mi
  • Port of London: 0.1 mi
  • London School of Economics: 0.1 mi
  • Nelson's Column: 0.1 mi
  • Canada House Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 0.1 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.1 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.1 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.3 mi
  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.1 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.1 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.1 mi
  • Port of London: 0.1 mi
  • London School of Economics: 0.1 mi
  • Nelson's Column: 0.1 mi
  • Canada House Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 0.1 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.1 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.1 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Courtauld Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cabinet War Rooms and Churchill Museum: 0.4 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • London Eye: 0.4 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Festival Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret: 0.4 mi
  • St James's Park: 0.4 mi
  • Transport Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • the Strand: 0.4 mi
  • West End: 0.4 mi
  • Big Ben: 0.4 mi
  • St. James's Park: 0.5 mi
  • River Thames: 0.5 mi
  • Hayward Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • London Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • Somerset House: 0.5 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace of Westminster: 0.5 mi
  • National Army Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.5 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.5 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Houses of Parliament: 0.5 mi
  • South Bank: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Waterloo station: 0.6 mi

Dining

Multi-Menu Delivery
Multi-Menu delivery to Club Quarters guests and menus are available in the guest rooms.
Boyds Bar and Brasserie
Guests can access the onsite dining at Boyds Bar and Brasserie which is a casually elegant English brasserie offering fine food and wine at a surprisingly affordable price.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (87)

Ratings and reviews for The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
We love Boris Johnson
Long Island, NY
Sep 1, 2010

Great location in London

We enjoyed our stay and found everything to be well-done and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Cafe in the Crypt at St. Martin in the Fields Church was very unique and a good value.

Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
We love Boris Johnson
Long Island, NY
Sep 1, 2010

Great location in London

We enjoyed our stay and found everything to be well-done and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Cafe in the Crypt at St. Martin in the Fields Church was very unique and a good value.

Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hollister, Ca
Aug 30, 2010

Excellent

Excellent location. It was right in the middle of everything. Service was great, but I dont know much more because I was out sight seeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Right outside is the center of london. Big Ben, the palace, and everything else is walking distance.

Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hollister, Ca
Aug 30, 2010

Excellent

Excellent location. It was right in the middle of everything. Service was great, but I dont know much more because I was out sight seeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Right outside is the center of london. Big Ben, the palace, and everything else is walking distance.

Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Aug 16, 2010

Location and more at this great hotel

The location of this hotel can't be beat. We enjoyed our stay so much, we returned to London and booked rooms at this hotel again. The staff is helpful and they have a closet open on the floor with extras you might need. They could use more front desk help during busy times--but no other issues here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Aug 16, 2010

Location and more at this great hotel

The location of this hotel can't be beat. We enjoyed our stay so much, we returned to London and booked rooms at this hotel again. The staff is helpful and they have a closet open on the floor with extras you might need. They could use more front desk help during busy times--but no other issues here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Noddy
Dublin
Jul 1, 2010

The Grand Trafalgar

We were in London to see Wicked Location was good but the air conditioning in the hotel was poor and noisy and the ice machines in the corridors did not work on several of the floors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Going again Grandma
Eureka, CA
Jun 27, 2010

I'd Do It Again

This hotel is in a superb spot to take in the sites of London. Across Trafalgar Square sits the National Gallery and the Portrait Gallery. One block down the street is the Thames River with tour and commuter boats arriving and leaving every few minutes. We were able to walk to "Phantom of the Opera" and many good restaurants. Charing Cross station is around the corner and Waterloo Station is down the street and over the bridge if you want to take a train. The underground, Big Bus Tour and regular buses are all available within a block of the hotel so seeing the city was easy. Really, it couldn't have been better for what we were looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Going again Grandma
Eureka, CA
Jun 27, 2010

I'd Do It Again

This hotel is in a superb spot to take in the sites of London. Across Trafalgar Square sits the National Gallery and the Portrait Gallery. One block down the street is the Thames River with tour and commuter boats arriving and leaving every few minutes. We were able to walk to "Phantom of the Opera" and many good restaurants. Charing Cross station is around the corner and Waterloo Station is down the street and over the bridge if you want to take a train. The underground, Big Bus Tour and regular buses are all available within a block of the hotel so seeing the city was easy. Really, it couldn't have been better for what we were looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Jun 14, 2010

Get location for the price

chose this hotel because of the great reviews. They weren't wrong. It was in a great location with a fair price. Very quiet and clean. The only negative was the key card device in the elevators. Had to fiddle with it to get it to work. Many guests just gave up and asked the desk clerks to do it for them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top