$152 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

The Grand at Trafalgar Square

4 stars
8 Northumberland Ave, London, WC2N 5BY
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
87 reviews
Fabulous place to stay

My wife and I spent 10 days at this hotel and it was a superb experience. The location is as... See full review

  • Neil and Christi
  • Jun 7, 2013
Absolutely Perfect Location

Between Charing Cross and Embankment tube stops on Northumberland will get you a great spot for... See full review

  • andyfrahm
  • Jun 2, 2013
Boutique hotel within a restored, historic landmark at Trafalgar Square

Steps away from Nelson's Column, the National Gallery and Big Ben and located with a historic landmark, the Grand at Trafalgar Square is a boutique hotel where opulence and functionality co-exist. Guest rooms combine turn-of-the-century decadence -- high ceilings, ornate windows -- with all of the amenities of the modern day, including ergonomic work stations, luxury bedding, free Wi-Fi, making the Grand at Trafalgar Square equally suitable for both business and leisure travelers.

Highlights
  • Complimentary delivery of exercise equipment to guest rooms
  • Custom designed furnishings in bedrooms
  • Complimentary use of a computer and printer with Internet access
Rooms

Rooms at the Grand at Trafalgar Square combine historical décor with modern amenities, convenient for business and leisure travelers alike. All rooms provide free Wi-Fi, comfortable bedding, flat-panel TVs, ergonomic work stations, two-line speaker phone with private direct dial number and voicemail, radio with MP3 player hook-up and complimentary chilled bottled water.

Features

In the heart of Trafalgar Square and set within a historic landmark, Northumberland House, the Grand at Trafalgar Square gracefully combines turn-of-the-century opulence with contemporary comforts. Rooms feature high ceilings and historic features, yet also include ergonomic work stations, luxury bedding, free Wi-Fi and MP3 player hook-up.

The on-site Boyd's Bar & Brasserie is a casual yet elegant restaurant serving fine food and wine at affordable prices. Furnished with stunning Italian marble and featuring a double-height ceiling, it is an exceptional dining option for both hotel guests and locals. Additionally, Boyd's bar is a traditional British pub, the ideal place to unwind at the end of a fast-paced day. Adjacent is Bianco 43, an authentic Italian pizzeria restaurant specializing in pizzas and traditional Italian cuisine. Guests receive an opening offer of 20% discount off the total bill when dining in the restaurant. 

The hotel offers free use of its fitness center and exercise equipment is even delivered to guest rooms. Other features include free Internet access, 24/7 concierge, instant registration/check-out, complimentary use of computer and printer, free chilled bottled water, same-day dry cleaning and 24-hour room service.

Transportation
  • Embankment tube station (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Heathrow Airport (14.3 mi/23 km)
  • Gatwick Airport (24.3 mi/39.1 km)
Attractions
  • Nelson’s Column (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • National Gallery (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Big Ben (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • St. James Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Houses of Parliament (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Buckingham Palace (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • British Museum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
Business
  • State-of-the-art meeting rooms accommodate up to 70
  • Newly restored ballroom accommodates up to 800
  • Complimentary on-site fitness room

The Grand at Trafalgar Square Rooms

Single/Small Double
Smaller room with 1 queen bed-desk- free WiFi-bottled water-coffee and tea.
Standard Room
Room with 1 queen bed-work area-free WiFi-bottled water-coffee and tea
Superior Room With Kitchenette
Spacious room with 1 queen bed- free WiFi and bottled water
One Room Suite With Kitchenette
Large room-queen bed- sofa bed-free WiFi-bottled water

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Executive level
Female executive rooms
24 hour security
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Grand at Trafalgar Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

51.5071 -0.1261
Nearby airports
Gatwick Airport, (LGW), 47.00, KM, W; Heathrow Airport, (LHR), 27.00, KM, E; City Airport, (LCY), 8.50, KM, E;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.1 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.1 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.1 mi
  • Port of London: 0.1 mi
  • London School of Economics: 0.1 mi
  • Nelson's Column: 0.1 mi
  • Canada House Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 0.1 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.1 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.1 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.3 mi
  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.1 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.1 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.1 mi
  • Port of London: 0.1 mi
  • London School of Economics: 0.1 mi
  • Nelson's Column: 0.1 mi
  • Canada House Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 0.1 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.1 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.1 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Courtauld Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cabinet War Rooms and Churchill Museum: 0.4 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • London Eye: 0.4 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Festival Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret: 0.4 mi
  • St James's Park: 0.4 mi
  • Transport Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • the Strand: 0.4 mi
  • West End: 0.4 mi
  • Big Ben: 0.4 mi
  • St. James's Park: 0.5 mi
  • River Thames: 0.5 mi
  • Hayward Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • London Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • Somerset House: 0.5 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace of Westminster: 0.5 mi
  • National Army Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.5 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.5 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Houses of Parliament: 0.5 mi
  • South Bank: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Waterloo station: 0.6 mi

Dining

Multi-Menu Delivery
Multi-Menu delivery to Club Quarters guests and menus are available in the guest rooms.
Boyds Bar and Brasserie
Guests can access the onsite dining at Boyds Bar and Brasserie which is a casually elegant English brasserie offering fine food and wine at a surprisingly affordable price.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (87)

Ratings and reviews for The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MP-R
New Mexico
Aug 6, 2011

Incredible value...great location

My husband and I spent 6 nights here before moving on to the "midlands". The location could not have been better. From here, we walked to the theater district, the National Gallery, Covent Gardens, St. James Park, the London Eye etc. When we wanted tube access, we had the choice of 2 nearby tube stations. Our room was clean and well appointed. The hotel makes available, at no charge, a laundry room, fitness room, and several computers for internet access. (There is free wifi throughout the hotel.) We will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MP-R
New Mexico
Aug 6, 2011

Incredible value...great location

My husband and I spent 6 nights here before moving on to the "midlands". The location could not have been better. From here, we walked to the theater district, the National Gallery, Covent Gardens, St. James Park, the London Eye etc. When we wanted tube access, we had the choice of 2 nearby tube stations. Our room was clean and well appointed. The hotel makes available, at no charge, a laundry room, fitness room, and several computers for internet access. (There is free wifi throughout the hotel.) We will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
washington DC
Jul 2, 2011

great business hotel for theater lovers

my third stay at the hotel (which is part club-The Club Quarters). Fully renovated, rooms relatively small but great beds and linens, free internet, purified water. Limited food in the hotel, but quite good quality. I plan to go back again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great for theater lovers, a short walk to almost all the west-end theaters.

Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
washington DC
Jul 2, 2011

great business hotel for theater lovers

my third stay at the hotel (which is part club-The Club Quarters). Fully renovated, rooms relatively small but great beds and linens, free internet, purified water. Limited food in the hotel, but quite good quality. I plan to go back again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great for theater lovers, a short walk to almost all the west-end theaters.

Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Judy, Ms Perfect
Ft Worth, Texas
May 5, 2011

I will be back!

We stayed here two years ago. The experience was great. So we chose The Grand again. The staff was helpful( we had an early check-in to make a desired excursion), the room was lovely, comfortable and small touches like available bottled water and tea were welcome. The location to landmarks within walking distance and transportation to anything you want is a plus. only difficulty was room was too warm, the staff offer new accomadations immediately. will be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Judy, Ms Perfect
Ft Worth, Texas
May 5, 2011

I will be back!

We stayed here two years ago. The experience was great. So we chose The Grand again. The staff was helpful( we had an early check-in to make a desired excursion), the room was lovely, comfortable and small touches like available bottled water and tea were welcome. The location to landmarks within walking distance and transportation to anything you want is a plus. only difficulty was room was too warm, the staff offer new accomadations immediately. will be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jacksonville, Florida USA
May 2, 2011

The Grand at Trafalgar Square

This hotel was amazing! Great staff in Boyds;[...] were great. Hotel was well laid out, great amenities, excellent food/drinks. Updated and modern rooms in old world setting. Great for business or holiday travel. Perfect location for all sight seeing and national events (I.e. The royal wedding). Secured access to room floors. Close to all public transportation. I will definitely be going back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

All major sites within a one mile walk or accessible by the local Underground stations.

Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jacksonville, Florida USA
May 2, 2011

The Grand at Trafalgar Square

This hotel was amazing! Great staff in Boyds;[...] were great. Hotel was well laid out, great amenities, excellent food/drinks. Updated and modern rooms in old world setting. Great for business or holiday travel. Perfect location for all sight seeing and national events (I.e. The royal wedding). Secured access to room floors. Close to all public transportation. I will definitely be going back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

All major sites within a one mile walk or accessible by the local Underground stations.

Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Quester
Business
Philadelphia
Apr 20, 2011

Location, L:ocation, Location

The Grand is very convenient, clean, a sort of rabbit warren of rooms and narrow hallways, but the rooms themselves have very good beds, showers, and wi-fi. The location could not be better and there are many good sites within a short walk. I'm very happy to have stayed there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very easy access to Museums in area

Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Quester
Business
Philadelphia
Apr 20, 2011

Location, L:ocation, Location

The Grand is very convenient, clean, a sort of rabbit warren of rooms and narrow hallways, but the rooms themselves have very good beds, showers, and wi-fi. The location could not be better and there are many good sites within a short walk. I'm very happy to have stayed there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very easy access to Museums in area

Back to menu Return to top