$113 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 27, 2015 Check-out: Mar 28, 2015

The Grand at Trafalgar Square

4 stars
View map of 8 Northumberland Ave, London, WC2N 5BY

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mjc262
Business
Fairfield, CT
Apr 12, 2013

London getaway

Great location, convenient walking distance to many major sights. Our room was very quiet. Staff was helpful & responded quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
econk486
Business
Connecticut, USA
Jan 7, 2013

Great hotel, great location!

We stayed at the Grand for our honeymoon. It was in a great location just down the road from Trafalgar Square and a walking bridge to the South Bank. Could't get any closer to the action for the great price we paid. The hotel was clean, comfortable, and a great place to stay! We would stay again any time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Clauric
Business
Dublin, Ireland
Aug 22, 2012

Centrally located hotel

2 minutes walk from Trafalgar Square, The Mall, Whitehall, and the Embankment. Hotel was very clean, staff were professional, and knowledgeable about attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ANNE FITCH
Business
FITCHBURG MA
Aug 9, 2012

OLYMPICS

PEOPLE WERE GREAT. COMPUTER SYSTEM HELPED WITH TICKETS. ROOM WAS COMFORTABLE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rules restaurant. Oldest restaurant in London. Great food and a dining experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
luvwandering
Business
Wyoming
Aug 7, 2012

Perfect location, nice rooms

Very pleased with room, would recommend to friends and family as a clean, comfortable, and very nice hotel. Location on Trafalgar Square and distance to tube stations was excellant. Great overall stay and experience with this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Purchase Oyster card at Heathrow and use for Tube and Bus transprt within London. Very economical and easy to use.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sturla
Business
Dallas Texas
Aug 6, 2012

Perfect Location! Just Brillant

Perfect location 3 minutes from the National Museum and a 10 minute walk to Buckingham Palace, Big Ben and Westiminister Abbey, 4 minutes to the House Guard Parade, and 15 - 20 minutes to St. Paul. The staff was generally good but a bit stuffy at times...the would not allow me to sit on the stair in front of the hotel and eat my hamburger bought from another business, and then when I moved inside to the lobby they would not let me eat there either because it was "too close" to thier restaurant. This was a bit irratating because as a guest I expected to be able to sit in the lobby and enjoy a quick bite to eat. The lobby and bar area of the hotel is gorgeous and clean. The room was smalll but fine for 1 person. The AC worked great. The daily maid service was great. Ooverall the room was nice but not opulent or great, and a bit on the small side. But the size of the room was definitely compensated for by the BRILLANT location. I would definitely consider staying here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Big Ben, Parliment, Buckingham Palace, St. Martin's church, National Museum, Piccadilly Square, St. Pauls are all in easy walking distance of this nice hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World Tripper
Business
LA
Aug 5, 2012

Olympic stay

Great location, outstanding front desk staff! Price was high, but they all were. Loved the purified water that was available with plastic bottles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DRBelen
Business
Belen, NM
Jun 18, 2012

The Grand was Grand

The stay was great. Hotel provided the rest and convenience we needed after a busy week in the country. And, we will stay at this location again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

St. Martins on the Green

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler 1110
Business
New York
Jun 18, 2012

great but touristic area

Excellent value. Impressive hotel with free internet, coffee and mineral water. The area is very central, right at trafalgar Square but because of that very touristic. Very hard to get a taxi on the street which was really the only downside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GRKGRL
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Great Stay, Incredible Location

We had a good stay at the Trafalgar Grand. The lobby was really pretty and the staff was lovely. I loved the fact that they would deliver exercise equipment to your room upon request (I didn't do it because we walked soo much there wasn't a need to workout). We did tea at the brand new restaurant which opened while we were there...delish! They had little guest request closets on each floor which had all the little amenities guests typically ask for...pillows, iron boards, mouth wash, coffee, etc. It was great because you can just go in there and take whatever you need without making a call the the concierge and waiting forever. Big plus. Now the best thing about this hotel was the location! You are right near two underground stations, two great pubs across the street, Trafalgar Square right down the block (like a min walk to the corner and you're there). A few minute walk and your at Soho, Covent Gardens, Picadilly Circus or the Palace, Parliment and Westminster Abby. You can see the London Eye from the hotel and its a short walk over the Bridge across the river to get there. All in all I highly recommend the hotel and would stay there again. (it was a little pricey, however, i would guess thats due to the location)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Covent Gardens has great shopping! Also Notting Hill...the Portobello Market and all the little boutique stores are fabulous.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top