$196 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 14, 2015 Check-out: Jun 15, 2015

The Cumberland Hotel

4 stars
View map of Great Cumberland Place, London, W1H 7DL

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Cumberland Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
152 out of 152
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandmother Jean
Business
Amherst, MA
Jun 6, 2014

Location and Comfort

The location is great - right across from the Marble Gate and Hyde Park, with tour and city bus stops. Good coffee shop right on the corner. As senior citizens, we appreciated the convenience. Room comfortable. Lobby very stark & modern. Hotel guests were fun to watch - people from all over the world. I was especially grateful for the advice and help the customer service desk gave me, as I had left my backpack with passport in it somewhere after arrival. My husband and I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 10, 2011

Great Hotel, Price and Location

Firts time to London for us and the hotel and location were great. On the NE corner of Hyde Park with the Marble Arch tube stop around the corner and about 8 bus lines running right near by. I was very pleased with the hotel. Very modern styling, big inviting lobby with plenty of staff to help if needed. Room was nice and service kept it very clean. I would definintely recommend this to others and would stay here again myself. Only downside is that Wi-fi is expensive and hard to fine Free hotspots in London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Switzerland
Mar 28, 2011

Great Location

Really great location, just around the corner from the tube, close to the oxford st shops, a nice restaurant lounge/restaurant. The room was a bit on the small side, but the shower was large and everything was clean. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Busy mom.
Business
SF, California
Apr 22, 2011

Great location

Even though the age of the building is noticable from the hallways, the location is great. The rooms are quiet. Walking distance to shopping, underground, buses. The floor level housekeepers practically don't speak any English. I had to call the housekeeping for a minor request.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

UNDERGROUND: If you need to use the underground more than once during non peak hours, use the day pass. You save a lot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler For Business and Touring
Business
Frederick, Maryland, USA
Apr 18, 2011

Highly recommended for many reasons!

This is a fantastic hotel, with a large, spacious lobby and modern, spacious rooms. Even though there are over 1000 rooms, everything seems to be clean and neat, and every single staffer I encountered was friendly, personable, and helpful. This included numerous people at the front desk, several different concierge workers, maids, waiters, and waitresses. My room was a single, and was larger than many others I've seen. Whenever I asked for something, it was brought to the room very promptly. Also, the location is perfect for most, right in the middle of town, with a subway stop actually in the same building, just a few steps outside from the hotel lobby. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J.J.
Business
Yonkers, NY, USA
Aug 26, 2011

Great vacation hotel

Good value for money and friendly staff. The location is wonderful too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
Sep 17, 2010

Artistic Modern Hotel

Lobby was very artistic and clean. Elevators small and slow. Close to subway lines and restaurants. Rooms were great for a couple or individual. Orbit representative put me by the wrong subway line so I had to walk 1.5 miles to hotel from where I was supposed to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix
Jun 22, 2009

Great location for the price

This was a wonderful hotel as far as location for the price. They should have, however, a magnifying mirror in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LandN
Business
Des Moines, IA, USA
Aug 14, 2011

Fun trip to London

Hotel is in a great location for hitting all the major tourist attractions in London. The Tube is just around the corner if needed, but many places are within walking distant. The room was adequate although not large. It was very typical for a city the size of London. The hotel is at the end of Oxford Street so it is great for shopping. We also walked to the London Eye, Houses of Parliament, Harrods, Picadilly Circus, and Leicester Square among other places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norwalk CT
Aug 30, 2009

Hotel cumberland Unbeatable location

Thhe hotel's decor was different but interesting - very, very modern with strange statues and lighting. The staff was extrememly nice and very helpul. We were able to make all our bookings through them. Great with giving us directions to the various sites. Housekeeping was very good as well. We encountered no problems. If we called they were very prompt to respond to whatever we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of restaurants in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top