$162 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

The Cumberland Hotel

4 stars
View map of Great Cumberland Place, London, W1H 7DL

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Cumberland Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nick is not my name
Business
Amherst, Massachusetts
Jun 6, 2014

Fantastic location, confusion on check in

Once we actually got the correct room, it was fantastic having the park and shopping and the tube and city tour buses all right next door, and the room was very comfortable. However, we were assigned a room on check-in that was actually occupied, so when we opened the door the occupants were quite upset. We got a new room right away, but then decided to ask for additional bed for a 3rd occupant, and this took many phone calls to finally get this all arranged, with quite a bit of re-explaining what we wanted. Staff experience was excellent after this initial annoyance. Expensive place. Unusual lobby which is open and loud like an airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandmother Jean
Business
Amherst, MA
Jun 6, 2014

Location and Comfort

The location is great - right across from the Marble Gate and Hyde Park, with tour and city bus stops. Good coffee shop right on the corner. As senior citizens, we appreciated the convenience. Room comfortable. Lobby very stark & modern. Hotel guests were fun to watch - people from all over the world. I was especially grateful for the advice and help the customer service desk gave me, as I had left my backpack with passport in it somewhere after arrival. My husband and I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 10, 2011

Great Hotel, Price and Location

Firts time to London for us and the hotel and location were great. On the NE corner of Hyde Park with the Marble Arch tube stop around the corner and about 8 bus lines running right near by. I was very pleased with the hotel. Very modern styling, big inviting lobby with plenty of staff to help if needed. Room was nice and service kept it very clean. I would definintely recommend this to others and would stay here again myself. Only downside is that Wi-fi is expensive and hard to fine Free hotspots in London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Switzerland
Mar 28, 2011

Great Location

Really great location, just around the corner from the tube, close to the oxford st shops, a nice restaurant lounge/restaurant. The room was a bit on the small side, but the shower was large and everything was clean. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Busy mom.
Business
SF, California
Apr 22, 2011

Great location

Even though the age of the building is noticable from the hallways, the location is great. The rooms are quiet. Walking distance to shopping, underground, buses. The floor level housekeepers practically don't speak any English. I had to call the housekeeping for a minor request.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

UNDERGROUND: If you need to use the underground more than once during non peak hours, use the day pass. You save a lot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler For Business and Touring
Business
Frederick, Maryland, USA
Apr 18, 2011

Highly recommended for many reasons!

This is a fantastic hotel, with a large, spacious lobby and modern, spacious rooms. Even though there are over 1000 rooms, everything seems to be clean and neat, and every single staffer I encountered was friendly, personable, and helpful. This included numerous people at the front desk, several different concierge workers, maids, waiters, and waitresses. My room was a single, and was larger than many others I've seen. Whenever I asked for something, it was brought to the room very promptly. Also, the location is perfect for most, right in the middle of town, with a subway stop actually in the same building, just a few steps outside from the hotel lobby. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J.J.
Business
Yonkers, NY, USA
Aug 26, 2011

Great vacation hotel

Good value for money and friendly staff. The location is wonderful too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
Sep 17, 2010

Artistic Modern Hotel

Lobby was very artistic and clean. Elevators small and slow. Close to subway lines and restaurants. Rooms were great for a couple or individual. Orbit representative put me by the wrong subway line so I had to walk 1.5 miles to hotel from where I was supposed to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix
Jun 22, 2009

Great location for the price

This was a wonderful hotel as far as location for the price. They should have, however, a magnifying mirror in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LandN
Business
Des Moines, IA, USA
Aug 14, 2011

Fun trip to London

Hotel is in a great location for hitting all the major tourist attractions in London. The Tube is just around the corner if needed, but many places are within walking distant. The room was adequate although not large. It was very typical for a city the size of London. The hotel is at the end of Oxford Street so it is great for shopping. We also walked to the London Eye, Houses of Parliament, Harrods, Picadilly Circus, and Leicester Square among other places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top